Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mermaid Tavern Winter Edition Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2021 18:01:34

I agree with other reviewers, this model was fun to build. It has wonderful detail and, along with the winter touch, has ended up becoming one of my favorite Graffam models. Dave always creates the best-looking paper structures across the internet, and their size makes them perfect for use in tabletop gaming. Plus, they look really great even when only displayed for enjoyment. One more thing, the instructions for this model are exceptional, which make construction easy for anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mermaid Tavern Winter Edition Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Grungy Dungeon Tiles
Publisher: Maps 4 Minis
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2019 12:46:07

The style & coloring of these Grungy Dungeon Tiles is amazing! They look fantastic when assembled into a layout and I think they'll add an element of intrigue to adventuring sessions. I printed out 22 different tiles so far, and tried various configurations to see how they'd look as areas to explore. They did not disappoint me and I'm sure my friends will agree that they are exceptional. You get a lot for your buck nd I'm very happy with my purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Grungy Dungeon Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Popup Dungeon: Deep Caverns
Publisher: RPGPapercrafts
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2019 13:01:18

I bought this purely out of curiosity: I wanted to see how it would go together and what the finished product would look like. I was impressed with the ingenuity of the design and I did like the special-looking graphics. Assembly was easy, aside from slightly vague instructions for the small mushrooms. If you decide to get the Deep Caverns, then pay close attention to the photo of the finished cavern to aid in getting it together. The designer also offers contact help if you need it. It seems these days the idea of being able to "fold-up" & carry the assessories you would use in a tabletop game has become a bit popular, but I've seen very few of them that actually look good when unfolded. I think Deep Caverns falls short of being a usable gaming base for a skirmish or even simple exploration during an adventure. The designer suggests placing a "heavy object" on the center floor to keep it from folding, but I know I would consider anything foreign to be in the way of proper gameplay. Perhaps I'm being too strict? Lastly, I think the current price (of $8) is a bit steep for such an uncomplicated display (by comparison, just look at the beautiful constructs of Dave Graffam on DTRPG and the affordable items he offers). I'm not so sure $3 per month for RPGPapercrafts on Patreon is worth it, either, once you've downloaded all the base sets. However, even with the negatives, I still applaud the designer(s) for the creativeness and overall looks of the Popup Dungeon. They've got a good idea going... it just needs some tweeks by them or the customers to make the idea really take off. A final note: an optional floor grid for the cavern would be nice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Popup Dungeon: Deep Caverns
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your detailed review and honest feedback! I've taken your playability feedback to heart and decided to scale the maps to bigger 8x8 segments. After several prototypes I can say that playability is greatly increased with this scale. It'll take a bit of time, but scaling up the caves are high on my priority list. When they're done, this product will be updated with the newer, bigger maps. I hope that would increase the value for you.
Inn of the Crescent Moon VTT Map
Publisher: Jade Tower Studio
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 10:17:01

Got this last night and it sure was a lucrative purchase! The whole product is beautifully made with great graphics and some valuable back-story of the Inn of the Crescent Moon tavern and involved characters. I'm anxious to drop it into a side-quest for my current mini campaign (as soon as I can find the best spot). The clean, straight-forward design of the tavern is a perfect setting for any number of adventure ideas and now I am going to be looking ahead to future products like this one from the guys at Jade Tower Studio.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inn of the Crescent Moon VTT Map
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review, Gary! Please let us know what other kinds of maps you are interested in to use as adventure aids, etc.
Casalan Tavern
Publisher: Mystic Mountain Productions
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2018 20:59:43

This is, undoubtedly, a beautiful model. As much as I love it, I am still not a fan of fold-flat products. They never have the solid appearance of the normal tabbed versions, and I've even found them to require way too much time assembliing, unassembling and reassembling just to take advantage of the "easy storage" feature. I have built one of these in the vein of the fold-flat ability, but now I'm going to attempt one by implementing normal tabs I'll create. If it is at all possible, I personally think that an option to build it the standard way with glue-tabs would be a nice feature to have included in the future flat storage models. I'd rather have to deal with storage & transport difficulties than to spend hours constructing a model that loses some of its charm and effect due to a less-than-attractive appearance. But Mystic Mountain and also Dave Graffam products are still the best on the market!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casalan Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Scrivener Street
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2017 19:54:15

The artwork, as in all Heroic Maps products, is astounding and truly adds to the feel of realism during game play. I love writing my own adventures for the small three-person group we have on Wednesday & Thursday nights, and Scrivener Street almost pens a story by itself! The incredible detail makes it easy to conjur up ideas & directions for adventurers to go without having to imagine thinmgs that aren't there. Even the great out-of-focus sreets and of lower ground level areas make it obvious to players that they're on an upper floor. I've got some work ahead of me as I put together an in-town adventure story, but that work is going to be easier because of the beautifully detailed art created by the people at Heroic Maps. My thanks to everyone there!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Scrivener Street
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Endless Miniatures - Heroes Volume 1
Publisher: Nemo Works
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2017 16:43:02

What great-looking miniatures! A pleasure to look at and use in my games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Endless Miniatures - Heroes Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Endless Dungeons - Basic Set
Publisher: Nemo Works
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2017 16:40:10

All of the previous reviewers are correct... Every one of the products in the Endless Dungeons series are fantastic. The artwork is outstanding and the way the tiles are created make for any easy, quick setup of a random dungeon. I sincerely hope NemoWorks plans on continuing with the line, as I will definitely be buying anything & everything they release for Endless Dungeons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Endless Dungeons - Basic Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2012 18:10:31

I give this a bad rating because everyone who bought into this series got screwed when the company kept few promises and then discontinued the game. The same for Chronicles of Blood. The games themselves are okay and play well, but I purchased everything in the Chronicles releases only to be left in the cold when Crystal Star Games pulled the plug (and right before a promised release of a Part Two scenario!). I will not buy anything else from this company ever again.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Infinite Futures Free Preview
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2010 10:40:08

I wish to comment only on the grammar/spelling of the free preview. I do believe most buyers would not pick up on the problems pointed out by Lucas Jung, but I sincerely hope the publication will be run through (at least) a spell-checker before its final production. The internet has exposed the poor education many people have, but I cannot help expecting a major product to contain as few spelling errors as possible. My own education is extremely limited, yet I do know how to run a spell checker. Although misspellings in the preview are few, it would be nice if the editor would fix them and others that may exist in the RPG before I.F. is made available. I still give it 3 stars because everything else about the game seems great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Futures Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

T-Builder - Desert
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2010 16:06:13

Unfortunately I purchased this item without knowing it does not have a Save feature. The ads for the Bundle or the individual products do not state that. But luckily there are screen capture programs to solve that problem, otherwise I would have given T Builder only 1 star. The graphics are good, the process of using the program is not great, but the final product looks decent. However, I don't think it's worth buying. I bought it, and I'm sorry I did. I do not recommend T-Builder



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Desert
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I am sorry that you disappointed in this product! We updated the descriptions to all products. The PDF includes many interactive widgets. If you don’t use it for printing but you want to save your work, then we suggest to use a "print to file" plug-in or a screen capture program. Thank you for your tolerance and understanding!
T-Builder - Mansion
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2010 16:05:36

Unfortunately I purchased this item without knowing it does not have a Save feature. The ads for the Bundle or the individual products do not state that. But luckily there are screen capture programs to solve that problem, otherwise I would have given T Builder only 1 star. The graphics are good, the process of using the program is not great, but the final product looks decent. However, I don't think it's worth buying. I bought it, and I'm sorry I did. I do not recommend T-Builder



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I am sorry that you disappointed in this product! We updated the descriptions to all products. The PDF includes many interactive widgets. If you don’t use it for printing but you want to save your work, then we suggest to use a "print to file" plug-in or a screen capture program. Thank you for your tolerance and understanding!
T-Builder [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2010 16:04:08

Unfortunately I purchased this item without knowing it does not have a Save feature. The ads for the Bundle or the individual products do not state that. But luckily there are screen capture programs to solve that problem, otherwise I would have given T Builder only 1 star. The graphics are good, the process of using the program is not great, but the final product looks decent. However, I don't think it's worth buying. I bought it, and I'm sorry I did. I do not recommend T-Builder.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I am sorry that you disappointed in this product! We updated the descriptions to all products. The PDF includes many interactive widgets. If you don’t use it for printing but you want to save your work, then we suggest to use a "print to file" plug-in or a screen capture program. Thank you for your tolerance and understanding!
DTiles - Essential Toolset
Publisher: Undermountain Games
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2010 13:35:27

I, too, purchased DTiles when it was $19.95, but can't complain about the new discount because I am quite happy with the product. It's just about the easiest tile mapping program I've ever used: Within a few minutes I had several attractive (although basic looking) hallways & chambers designed and ready for print! The interface is extremely easy to understand and use with absolutely no need for instructions, and the final printout is excellent. Now I am looking forward to the planned DTiles expansion packs which will make this unbeatable tile software.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DTiles - Essential Toolset
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DTiles - Essential Toolset
Publisher: Undermountain Games
by Gary N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2010 19:09:35

Five minutes after I bought & downloaded this program I had completely constructed two sections of a dungeon setup... that's just how easy it is to work DTiles! There's no learning curve and the finished job looks excellent. The printout was perfect. I have Windows Vista and the program proceeded flawlessly. I'm looking forward to their future expansion products which I will definitely be buying. For a great, easy to use tile mapping program this one is the best.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DTiles - Essential Toolset
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates