Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Age of Hannibal
Publisher: Greg Wagman
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2018 13:23:46

“Age of Hannibal” is a clone of Chipco’s “Fantasy Rules!” with a bend toward historical gaming, especially during the Punic Wars. Essentially all of the rank and file units of the original game are included, though several are modified to fit more with historical gaming.

The game is played in IGO-UGO turns. The turn order is Rally-Missile Fire-Melee. Once the first player completes these 4 steps, it is the other player’s turn at which time the turn ends.

The game uses a “morale” clock which starts at 9 points and is reduced if you took more losses in a half turn. It can also be instantly reduced if you lose a leader or get your baggage camp sacked. When one player’s clock reaches zero, the game is over and that player army has quit the field.

Unit that took demoralization hits may be rallied. A 10 sided die (D10) is rolled and the result compared to the units morale number. If it is equal or greater to the morale number, all demoralization markers are removed.

For missile fire, you roll a die and consult a table. If the result is ‘D’, the target takes a demoralization hit. If the result is a ‘K’, the target unit is eliminated. A unit is also eliminated if it accumulates 3 ‘D’ results.

You may move as many units or groups as you have morale clock points. A group of units must move together and may either wheel or move forward and up to 45 degrees oblique. Individual units move in the same fashion but simply pivot to change facing. Rough terrain will reduce movement. This is all similar to “DBA”, another popular wargame rules set.

Melee occurs between adjacent units. Each unit has a combat factor that is added to the result of a D10 die roll. The higher total between two units is the winner. The loser take a ’D’ result. If the winning total is twice or more larger than the losing result, the losing unit is eliminated. Like in missile fire, the accumulation of 3 ‘D’ results will also eliminate a unit.

The game comes with some siege rules, which I wil not comment on here as I have not played them and I am not terribly fond of siege games. Finally, the game comes with 3 battle scenarios including Issus, Trebia and Sabis.

So what do I think? I was a big fan of FR! Many years ago but became disillusioned with some of the more gamey aspects of the later versions of the rules. I’d played FR! A number of times as a historical set and like the results well. This set takes that a step farther by modifying the unit types even further to match more closely with the historical realities of ancient warfare. While I’ve not played THIS set yet, I can comfortably give it high marks for a game that is easy to learn and provides a bit more crunch than DBA. It will be great for an evening of fun with a group of friends.

On the author's YouTube Channel, there is a great overview and replay of Trebbia. I'm not normally a fan of video battle reports, but this particular video was well done and is pretty fun to watch. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nFv2z6kViE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Hannibal
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy House (whfb016)
Publisher: WargamePrint
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 19:20:46

These are some very fine, easy to build houses. I built one of the models in about an hour. While there are no instructions, the builds are quite simple complete with interior and exterior textures. The roof lifts off easily to reveal the interiors. As advertised, the buildings can fold flat although I made mine permanent construction. The file is layered so you can mix and match different looks and come out with several different building designs.

The one drawback which does not really warrent one less star is the file size. The file is about 45mb. I am a LINUX user. The native LINUX pdf browser could not render some of the textures. Even in windows using Adobe Reader, the file opened kind of slowly. I was able to print to a PDF which made a single building type at 5MB. That, I was able to print fine.

So, in all, this is a fine set to have to fill out villages and provide some interesting houses for any wargame table or role playing campaign. My only wish is that the author provides a lower resolution file that is more easily manageable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy House (whfb016)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Waterloo Style Buildings set 6mm
Publisher: WargamePrint
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2017 08:31:55

What a great set! I needed a couple of buildings for my portable wargame project. The buildings went together easily. After gluing everything, I realized they were supposed to be fold flat terrain. I can tell you , the fold flat for this size building is not necessary. They are small enough that space will not be an issue. I built 3 buildings but did not build the shed/extension yet. The graphics are high quality and the design is both simple to build yet very convincing on the tabletop. I've built several products from this publisher. I've been very happy with them. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterloo Style Buildings set 6mm
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Country Road Sections (1)
Publisher: WargamePrint
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2015 11:57:19

I was looking for some inexpensive roads and came across these. The roads are a detailed but repetitive pattern complete with grass edges. The repetitive part is important because no matter how you lay the roads down, the pattern will match up well. I printed them on heavy card stock and pressed them down with a book for a few days to let them lay flat. I plan on edging the grass areas with some flock to add a little visual depth.

The roads themselves are pretty wide...2-3" I think. This is good for larger scale figures. I reduced them to 50% of the actual side and spliced two of them together to make some longer (about 8") straight pieces, They look great with my 15mm Napoleonic armies. Image here. https://johnswargames.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/qb-turn5.png I did cut the round edges off and made them traditional terrain roads. This is a a great product and a very inexpensive way to get some nice looking roads for the tabletop.

Now if the designer would get me some water features....hint...hint. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Country Road Sections (1)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Orbit: JRR Tolkien: The True Lord of the Rings
Publisher: TidalWave Productions
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2015 11:42:42

Nice little graphic biography based on Tolkien's life. I think it is quite informative and taught me a good many things about the great man. The graphics are done in a style that are deliberately vague as if to evoke memories of days gone by. At $1.99, this is well worth the purchase for anyone wondering who Tolkien was and how he came to write his masterpieces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orbit: JRR Tolkien: The True Lord of the Rings
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Artillery #1 - 30 Years War
Publisher: PERMES
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:55:10

I mostly like this set. The figures are quite nice and have a variety of poses for working the various positions of the guns. My one problem with this set is the flat gun. There are three types of guns (Light, Medium, Heavy) bt each is simply a profile and is completely flat. This is a bit of a miss for me. I think the flat guns look a little "funny". It would have been easy enough to make a 2.5D version where the carriage is flat the wheels are separate and then there would be a flat cross piece to connect the carriage to the wheels. I've done this sort of thing with Junior General cannons. I hope the designer will consider updating this kit with that sort of model. It really adds a lot to the model.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artillery #1 - 30 Years War
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pikemen FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #2
Publisher: PERMES
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:50:54

This set has pikement and command in 5 colors. They can be combined with the flag mod set for even more variety. Very nice drawings and lots of poses like the musketeer sets with both side and front views. Like others you can use a paint program (GIMP) for making entire sheets of similar poses. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pikemen FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pikemen IV FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #4
Publisher: PERMES
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:48:40

This set is really a bit more of a command set with a few new pike poses. There are 5 colors in the set and a modular flag set so you can model different armies and so forth. Like the other sets, copy and paste is not disabled so you can import them to your favorite paint program and mod further or make entire sheets of similar poses. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pikemen IV FACTIONS - 30 Years' War #4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Musketeers #2 FACTIONS - 30 Years' War
Publisher: PERMES
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:46:09

What can I say? I delivers what it says on the tin! 30YW/ECW Musketeers both front on and side view. There is enough variety to make a good irregular looking unit or you can take your preference and do all side views or all front views. This set has something like five different uniform colors. You can import these and make entire sheets of a single figure type if you like. This is a must have if you plan on gaming Pike and Shot in paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Musketeers #2 FACTIONS - 30 Years' War
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Reiters - 30 Years War
Publisher: PERMES
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2014 15:43:17

This is a nice set of cavalry figures and there is enough to cover most mounted types for the TYW/ECW. There are no lobsterpot helmets but that is a pretty small problem. There is one trooper carrying a long arm which screams dragoon but he is wearing a breast plate. Again small issue. As copy and paste is not disabled in this set, you can import into GIMP and make your own mashups. A nice set to have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reiters - 30 Years War
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
Publisher: New Realms Publishing
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2014 12:55:58

This is an excellent and clever idea for solo gaming. It is a random dungeon deck. This deck has 50+ dungeon cards which represent the room or hallway discovered. these are drawn from the deck 1 per turn as the party moves from area to area. There are some ratings which gives the chance of finding treasuer, secret doors or the chance of getting an encounter or wandering monster. There is a strict order of play but it is not different from any RPG out there.

The monsters are generic and the player will need to consult the appropriate manual for there favorite RPG for the stats. Combat, of course, is also handled by the rules of the players RPG rather than the Dungeon deck. You can design your own encounters, treasures and search tables or you can get some prepared decks to add to this deck so you can accomplish all dungeon building tasks with the draw of a card and possibly the roll of a die. I also purchased the Hall of the Ogre Lord which has enough cards to fill out the Ogre Lord's hall and fight the evil minions within. It is an inexpensive way to try out the full system as you will only need Dungeon deck and Hall of the Ogre Lord to assemble all possible facets of the generator.

As already mentioned, THIS IS A DUNGEON GENERATOR! IT IS NOT A FULL GAME! YOU WILL NEED A ROLE PLAYING GAME SUCH AS DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS TO PLAY!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Universal Adventures Dungeon Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

15mm 3D Panzerjager I
Publisher: der Kampfflieger
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2014 15:01:42

I built this tank a few months ago. It was scaled up to 1/72 scale. The track system went together easily as did the hull and gun mount. I had some trouble figuring out how the gun shield went on. There are instructions but no explanations. just a diagram showing which part goes where. The gun barrel and recoil mechanism were more difficult. I could not roll them straight so I ended up using a couple of bits of Plastruct to form the gun barrels. 1mm dowel for the gun and 1.3mm dowel for the recoil mechanism. I also used a bit of an end of a tooth pick for the muzzle break.

In all, the model delivers what is promised. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
15mm 3D Panzerjager I
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Greek fortification (Built Up Area for DBA)
Publisher: WargamePrint
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2014 12:06:33

I bought and built this model a couple of nights ago. While there are no instructions, the model is relatively easy to understand. There are 3 towers and 3 wall sections. There is also a base to glue everything to. I do recommend using the base as it makes the whole model more stable. The towers are basic box construction with a peeked roof. Of the three walls one is quite short but square with a parapet on top. The second is a larger triangle shaped wall with a parapet. The last wall is an irregular triangular shape that connects the tall and short tower. It was the hardest to build and fit. My fold line for the parapet was off by a bit so any fitting problems were likely caused by this.

All but 3 of the folds on this model are peek folds. The parapet walls require a valley fold where it meets the thick portion of the wall proper.

I thought the base would be more natural looking if it were irregularly shaped. I cut the edges smoothly around the entire model roughly the shape of the fort itself leaving only the cobblestone on the ground showing. I printed my model for 15mm figures. Assuming 1/100 scale for 15mm figures, that would be 72% of the model size. Total build time was about 2 hours but the edges have not been painted yet. That will probably be another 15 to 30 minutes.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Greek fortification (Built Up Area for DBA)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Dear Hayri Acar! I am very grateful to you for your review. I want to offer you any one of my title free. See and choose any one here (http://www.wargamevault.com/browse.php?manufacturers_id=6198) . Write me (luterm@yandex.ru), please, the product title and i will send you the download link. Merry Christmas! Happy New Year! Sincerely, Ivan Golyjenkov
The Parthians; historical background - army lists - campaign game
Publisher: Jim Webster
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2013 13:02:32

This product is a quick but very interesting read. The author aims to provide a historical background for the Parthians and her enemies including rome and some from the east. There are suggested historical army lists from the early, middle and late period of the Parthian Empire. These lists are geared toward Impetus Wargames rules but could eaily be adapted to other rules sets that have element based units such as DBx or have homnogenous units (all units have the same amount of stands) such as Ancient and Medieval Wargaming. If you are interested in the Parthians and her enemies, pick this PDF up. You will not be diappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Parthians; historical background - army lists - campaign game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
Publisher: AGEMA
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2011 13:47:11

The game is as advertised, a wargame in the old school style. I am partial to such games as these because they are simple and easy to play without getting bogged down in the minutia of other "modern: wargames rules. The writing is easy to read and the rules are well explained.

One minor gripe deals with the deployment of infantry in the various firing systems. The rules suggest that platoon firing infantry should normally be deployed in a long single line while the rank firing troops should be deployed in a double line. While platoon firing infantry were deployed in shallower lines, it was not to the order of 2-1! The firing tables already take into account that rank firing was less efficient than platoon firing so I think it would be better to have them deploy the same with the front rank firing.

I would have giving this game 5 stars if there were a few army lists and maybe even a scenario. So it gets 4 but in my opinion it is well worth the money. Anyone who is interested in getting a quick play set of rules for 18th century warfare in the "old style" should give these a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
18th century GAME OF WAR wargame rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates