Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings $2.45
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 5
0 3
0 1
0 0
0 0
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Tom H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 18:28:11

Another winning set by this artist. I only gave it 4 stars because now I need a set of Vikings with bows and 2 handed axes, as well as someone for my Vikings to fight like a set of saxons or generic medieval folks. These guys work equally well as barbarian fodder for PCs to mow down.

Thank You!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2012 16:52:33

Extremely impressive! I didn't realize that for $2.50 I'd be getting a customizable PDF with 12 different (at least without looking ridiculous) options. This 5-out-of-5 is well earned. It's very nice, with good, crisp details, an excellent drawing style, and action-oriented poses that would really bring out the feeling of excitement in a tabletop skirmish.

I can't wait to put these miniatures to use, thank you so much for creating these! :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by chris h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2012 18:29:49

The figures are colourful and lively. Great stuff. Set suffers from a lack of any archer and only one figure with a mail shirt - and he has a rather extreme pose. Perhaps more realistic poses would give these figures a greater public - but the artwork is excellent in any case.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2011 20:25:16

Excellent! Twelve figures which can be varied by color and by weapon (or lack of weapon). You can even include or exclude the shield. Wonderful product and very useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2011 20:02:09

I can't write a good enough review for this project. I wish I could give this a 6 or even 10 star review.

What you get Front and Back figures. Multiple layers that gives each figure three different colors schemes, three different weapons swords, spears and axes and with or without shields. You get twelve figures on the page. That is the basics. Each figure is sharply done. Not too much detail and not too little. Each figure has its own character and personality. That means that you could easily use each figure as an individual character/NPC if you want to. There are ample poses and difference in gear that you can pick out a few of the figures to be leaders/commanders if you want and use the rest to build an army.

I will be using the first run of printed figures as wildmen in my Savage Suzerain campaign "Caladon Falls". You could also use this group for "Totems of the Dead". I have been eyballing the Whiplash Trigger set for a Deadlands campaign.

This set uses the available PDF technology effectively. The art is spot on. The price is better than ANY set out there for what you get.

Dislikes very minor. I wish there were archers. I wish there were more sets. For that matter I wish there were more David Okums out there making more sets! Specifically I would like to see some medieval soldiery...but I am sure we will get there.

Don't pass up this set if you like paper miniatures. This should be the standard that other paper minis should aspire to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2011 13:24:05

This is an absolutely great set to have for anyone using Vikings in there campaign. What I like best is the many variations of Viking Warriors that I can print out that are essentially each unique. there are 12 different poses with 3 different color schemes for each which =36 then each can have 3 different weapons which now equals 108 and if I feel the need to double that I can print them again without shields. Right now I think I can make do with 100 so I am giving this 5 stars and the price is great at around 2 and a half cents per figure. I wish he had done this for all of his sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2011 09:05:20

A very good and professional set of card minis!

Personally I'll use them for my Hellfrost games, but they are perfect for every type of Viking themed game. As said in other reviews, the layer options to have different items/shields/color scheme is awesome... Only a request/suggestment: could be possible to handle each fgure as a separate layer group? So I can customize the whole set printing it only once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2011 18:58:53

These vikings are a bit on the cartoony side but look good and they print out quite nicely. The layers in the pdf mean you get a fair number of figures for a low price. The pdf does not include bases but does give instructions on how to make them. I just superglued my vikings into slotabases.

I look forward to seeing more figures in this range.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Age Of Adventure Set One: Vikings
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Hayri A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2011 12:38:38

I am always looking for historical paper minis as an inexpensive way to play table top games. This set by Okum Arts is a fine set of miniatures that can be customized to make different warriors.

What you get: As the information says, there are 12 poses. Each pose can have a different colored outfit. There are three choices to choose from. You can give them a shield or no shield. You can give them spear, sword or axe. Some of the poses have helmets while others are bare headed. This is not customizable however.

Impression and Accuracy: The figures do look the part. As there are 3 kinds of weapons, it would be easy to print out an entire warband of many different looks. I have some minor problems with this set. First, the second and third figure on the top hold a weapon slightly across the body. The weapon appears that way on both the front and the back. The back should have hid the weapon partially from view. Second. No armored figures. I would have liked to have seen an option to put hauberk or chain shirt on some of these figures. Finally, there are no bows. Norse typically used bows in combat, often from the rear ranks of a shield wall. It would have been nice to see an option for at least a few bows, though I can understand why the designer didn't as some of the poses would be unsuitable for carrying a bow.

Over all: I like this set and hope Okum Arts Games continues with this line bringing out Saxons and, dare I say, Normans! Well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for catching the two figures. I have fixed them and updated the file. Now I can get back to drawing the next set!
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates