Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI $14.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 19
10 7
3 0
0 0
0 0
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2014 18:05:08

here Is a game I've been following for a while in it's development. It's a real labour of love from the dev, who continuously is looking at additions and tweaks for the system. it's a fairly easily played system that combines the best ideas of many products, along with a few novel ones to come up with a enjoyable easy play system that does not overly sacrifice realism.

Definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Gino B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2013 12:59:53

A simple and fast-paced wargame, basically platoon sized. The combat mechanics are not completely new, but they are blended in a very fluid and dynamic way. It's perfect for a not too intensive use and maybe campaign, and they look highly customizable too.

The unit creation tool is simply awesome, allows you to create an enormous variety of different archetipes and vehicles. The point system is sometimes buggy though, and you should use some mind to avoid overpowered results. However, it's the best creation tool i've seen around so far. There's a free version online here: http://www.gruntomatic.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Яы . [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2013 23:13:43

Great point based 15mm rule system. Comes complete with custom builders so there's not need for army books etc. to build a tabletop force. High production value and good artwork.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Ville O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2013 02:03:54

What can I say. One of the best miniature rulesets to come out in the last couple of years. While it is nominally presented at 15mm skirmish scale, the rules work equally well with 6mm, 10mm, 20mm and 28mm scales. Even larger if you prefer. Just adjust ranges accordingly. Personally I've played Gruntz with 15mm and 28mm/30mm scales and only range conversion needed was moving from centimeters to inches. The game plays reasonably fast but still feels that your force's tactical flexibility is not limited. There's also quite extensive alternative rules section to customize the game your personal preference and miniature collection.

One of the biggest draws of Gruntz is that it has point buy unit builder. All the sample armylists are build with the same structure and can be customized to your liking. Ever had a cool idea for a character, a vehicle or a unit but the fixed armylists don't really reflect your idea. With Gruntz you can do this. Downside of this is that unless you have a really clear idea what you want from your army units, the unit building can be a bit much for new players. Luckily the book gives good examples.

All in all, highly recommended for experienced miniature gamers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Mick L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2013 20:38:23

A solid, good quality ruleset with lots of examples and diagrams. Sharing many game mechanics with Warmachine (minus the cheesiness) means it has a familiar and well-proven core system. Obviously made for gamers, by a gamer. It's a game, not a simulation - it feels more space opera than gritty near future sci fi. The "build your own unit" system and support from pretty much every 15mm manufacturer is a major drawcard (although I'd say opponents could "min-max" a bit when making units if they were unscrupulous - I wouldn't call it a "competition" ruleset) Along with the grittier Tomorrow's War rules, I'd say this is pretty much a compulsory purchase if you are into 15mm sci fi.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2012 13:20:54

I was pleasantly surprised by this game.

I'm a long time Warmachine player and it was neat to see someone take a similar basic mechanic and take it in a completely different direction. Gruntz is about solid sci-fi wargaming and not at all about warcasters and combinations of powers and stuff like Warmachine.

Grabbed some miniatures from my collection, statted them up using the force building system and had a game. Played great. Rewarded sound tactics.

I'ts what a sci-fi miniatures rules set should be. I especially like the model count not being in the hundred of miniatures. 30 or so and a couple vehicles and you've got a big game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:57:21

Just reading the rules I know I will love this game. It has enough information for those that like pre-made army lists, but is generic enough to design ones own armys. Though it is written to a sci-fi or near future setting, it can be easily adapted to any genere where firearms are used. Game play is simple, though the game can be made more complex with the addition of more units and vehicles. As an added bonus the rules provide all the information to create scenarios based on B-Movies. If you want a Bug hunt, its there. You want zombies? The rules provide. You can even recreate such classics as an army vs. Giant monster scenarios. I also play games from Two Hour Wargames, but I think this game will become my goto rules for military action.

I must mention though that the rules did have a number of typos, but that is often normal and its still not as bad as other games I've read. The rules themselves seem to be put together rather nicely. Full color graphics throughout with plenty of diagrams to explain combat and movement. There is also a lot of support for the game. There is a blog and a yahoo group devoted to the game. Both offer numerous playing aids and army lists. There is also a unit building program in the works. The game is also support by a number of 15mm miniature companies both in the UK and the USA.

If your looking for quality 15mm scifi game rules and ease of play, you can't do much better then Gruntz 15mm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Greg F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2012 04:51:08

Excellent rule-system. Good mechanics, fast moving, tactical and I love being able to stat up any 15mm models for it however I want!

I don't think the point builder is super-balanced, so I think it could end up with imbalanced games between someone who min-maxes their force and someone who builds a force for stylistic reasons. All good as long as you and your opponents are similarly cheesy/otherwise ;)

That's really looking for a negative to balance this review though, I REALLY like this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Timothy V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2012 17:01:57

Overall the Gruntz 15 mm science fiction rules are fairly straightforward. Fortunately I've been following the yahoo group and the blog site did not have to design my troops from my first game. Thanks to the armored builder program that comes with the game is not overwhelmed. I may suggest putting to gruntz squads including their specialist in one or two examples vehicles in the book so first-time players of the rules can open the book immediately and try them out. I am experienced wargamer within wargaming for approximately 30 years so I had no problem understanding and using the rules. I really like the fact Gruntz the generalized enough that you can do any genre of science fiction for your games. After purchasing the rules, I made order to Ground Zero games, Eureka miniatures, blue Moon foundry and warnings for your online shop to purchase two starter sets of hammers slammers. With this system I'm reenergized about wargaming. This system is based in wargaming scale that is affordable to collect and game. I'm just hoping to find a few gamers in the San Francisco Bay Area open-minded enough to try it. Thank you Timothy Vidlak



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Juan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2012 12:58:05

Wonderful rulebook, very easy to learn but with a high degree of detaill.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by jeremy h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2012 21:59:46

I haven't had the chance to throw mini's on the board and give the game a whorl, that being said I have played a lot of games over 20 years and the mechanics are easy to grasp, the manual is put together well, and looks like a really fun fast paced action game. I also like the fact that you can add more if you like rather than try to "dummy" down some complex system. I would highly recommend this game to friends. PS the price can't be beat!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Luis M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2011 21:59:05

The rules are very interesting and I cannot wait to play a game. I have been looking for rules like these.If i could compare the rules to another game I would say that they are Almost similar to Hordes and Warmachine. I like the fact that you could use minis from any other company.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2011 04:04:02

As the product from a one man show this is amazingly impressive work. It looks good and reads great with some really fun ideas that plays well and pretty quickly too - I've been stuck too many times at the end of the night with an unresolved battle and a wife who's waiting up for me.... I've missed the 15mm bandwagon and am stuck with all my 28mm stuff but with a few mods (range, cohesion etc) the game still fits my table. The point system is fun - who doesn't enjoy tweeking their force, I'm no GW junkie but it helps to balance scenario design if you have some idea as to the force composure. I've got Tomorrow's War, of course, but there's more energy and passion in this product that carries brilliantly to the table. Well done, really well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Nikita K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2011 18:34:40

I've been looking for these type of Sci-FI rules for ages! Easy to learn, fast paced but depth set of rules with ability to create unit stats for all sci-fi toys you have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Publisher: Rottenlead Publishing
by Kawe W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2011 13:04:02

fast-paced skirmish at it's bets. The PDF itself is well layed out and as professional as this kind of procut can be. I wish I could spend more cash on related material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates