Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Morale Napoleon
Publisher: Rebel Minis
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2018 03:43:53

We play Napoleonic tactical games but I wanted to try a Corps level game. Most of the Corps level rules are about £40, a lot for rules that I may not like/use. Then I saw these. I read comments on TMP and the blurb on the cover and bought them. I’ve read them several times and have a solo game on the table – a simple French Corps of 2 infantry divisions and 1Cavalry division attacking a Russian corps made up the same for this test game. Haven’t finished yet but moves have been fine. Just getting to melee. My figures are based differently to those recommended but hasn’t made any difference to my solo game. The mechanics and the feel are different to my normal games and it may take several games to get used to these – it looks like it will be worthwhile. As to the rules they are well written and understandable. There are examples of everything with a few line drawings. No full colour pictures of painted figures – don’t need them. There are extensive army lists covering the major and minor armies of the period. There is one major omission – the Ottomans, and I frequently play my Turks against Napoleonic Russians. There is, however a general list of stats which should allow me to field a Turkish army. No mention of the US war of 1812 – I don’t play this and so don’t mind. Very interesting rules – I can see me (us) playing Corps games but not all the time – which was one of the reasons I was loath to invest £40 upwards in a set of rules. As well as one-of games there is a campaign system. Reinforcements are catered for, solo option and lots more. Good value for money and well worth trying for something different. Recommended won't give it 5 stars until I have played a few games but will give 4 and think it will be worth the extra star in future



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Morale Napoleon
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Sands of Blood, Sweat and Tears
Publisher: TFP Games
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2015 06:25:11

i do not use either of the 2 rules sets that this supplement was written to accompany, but I purchased it for the information it contains. I use the OOB for the early Japanese and early Marines for wargames with a different set of rules. However the info gave me a structure that suited my games. Lots of very useful information. Well worth buying - even better value if you use the rules they are designed to go with



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sands of Blood, Sweat and Tears
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

East Gate Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2015 03:11:40

My modelling skills are limited but I built this and it is one of my favourite pieces. Individual figures fit on the balcony and I can get a 50mm x50mm base on the office roof. I fixed Polish banners to the balcony making it an entry to a Polish estate/town/city and use it with my Poles (obviously), Turks, Russians and Thirty Years War armies. Without the Polish banners I fixed it would cover an even larger range of conflicts and armies and could go back to early medieval/Feudal times - my Lithuanians have been photographed passing through the gate. Like all Dave's models (I have more) lot of detail which means a lot of work putting it together but with patience anyone withe minimal modelling skills can build it. Very good value and highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
East Gate Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Late Anglo-Saxon Army
Publisher: Billy Bones Workshop
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2015 03:13:51

I have been waiting for Billy Bones to produce more sets since buying his ECW figures. These are very good. I have bought sets of individual figures but don't like them for more than skirmish games. These "stands" of figures mean a real wargame can be played with little bother. That the figures are in colour is a huge bonus - I enjoyed ECW figures but they were in black and white - these are much better. Waiting for the opposition. Cost is negligible since you can print as many sheets as you want to make any size and composition you require. Well done Billy Bones -highly recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Late Anglo-Saxon Army
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

VAUBAN siege warfare supplement for ULTIMA RATIO REGUM!
Publisher: AGEMA
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2015 07:06:20

This is an excellent and unusual set of rules, designed to simulate classic Vauban style siege warfare in the 18th century. It is meant to be used with Agema’s 18th century rules, but many of the rules and ideas can be taken, adapted and used with other sets. In some ways there is far too much, making the siege a complete game in itself, but this can be trimmed and the siege conducted to suit individual gamers. Whether you use Agema’s other rules sets this is an exceptional set of rules for anyone wargaming from TYW onwards – while not everything is suitable for every set of rules the basics given good examples and a place to start. Completely different from lots of rules, well worth buying and working with. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
VAUBAN siege warfare supplement for ULTIMA RATIO REGUM!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Saxon Village No Overlay
Publisher: DramaScape
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2014 04:12:43

I bought this, printed the exterior out on A4 sheets and glued them to 4 A3 foam boards. I don’t have any Saxons but I intend to use the village for my Rus and Byzantine armies. But I mainly bought it for my Cossacks – just the place to become a Setch and to be raided by either my Poles or my Russians. Very impressed – once trimmed everything fits together well. Well worth the price,.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxon Village No Overlay
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
We would love to see a Photo of your completed map, perhaps you could post it on our Facebook page or forum.
PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
Publisher: Billy Bones Workshop
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2014 03:50:05

I bought these despite having large (several hundred) 28mm metal and plastic painted figures of the same period. My figures are based for certain rules and I bought these to use with Stephen Danes Bloody Kingdom and possibly Father Tiley rules. These are easy to cut out – I bought individual figures previously but it takes so long to cut out and assemble. These are blocks of figures and since the rules use blocks this is fine. I downloaded the free samples but prefer this set which has back views of the figures. Presently assembling an Irish Army and intend to use it shortly. Good product, very useful and inexpensive. If you wanted to try a set of rules or different period this is the way to do it. Figures can be coloured or printed on different coloured paper. I’m thinking of adding flags but want to get the army assembled rather than stop for individual units. Of course if you don’t like the feel or style after a sample game you have only wasted a few pounds and your time. I hope there are more sets to follow – especially those periods where large blocks of troops were used such as the Wars of the 18th century – Marlborough onwards. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PB2 ECW Scottish Armies
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

ULTIMA RATIO REGUM 2nd edition grand tactical wargame rules (1689-1763)
Publisher: AGEMA
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2013 10:46:27

ULTIMA RATIO REGUM - grand tactical rules wargame rules for 1869 – 1763 These are rules that use a base of figures and there are no individual figures or casualties. A base of infantry represents a battalion of about 700 men whilst a base of cavalry a squadron of 150. Base sizes are given for the various scales of figures from 2mm to 28/30mm but since it is the BASE that counts rather than the figures mounted on it these can be ignored and your own previously based figures used. I have several armies for this period based up for a different set of rules yet they work just as effectively as those given. All units have different morale, training and weapons and the tactical differences in use by opponents at the beginning of the period are recognised – so that some infantry will fire by ranks, other by platoon, and cavalry will either charge home to take the enemy with cold steel or fire at them before going in at the trot. Some will fire at the halt and wait to receive enemy cavalry. Combat is worked out in what seems a complicated structure but is easier once tried on the table with figures than it appears by reading. Rather than play a game I put 2 opposing units out and fight the combat. When I fully understand the mechanisms I add more figures – cavalry or guns. The combat and morale works. There are some excellent ideas such as moving in March Columns which are not placed on the table until spotted by the enemy, and then they need to deploy. There are couriers to take messages to Brigadiers and their Columns. Well thought out and working well. The rules include points for Unit types so armies can be built and the rules cover pikes and lances as well as lines of trained infantry. All in all, a good set of rules with some interesting ideas and mechanics. Well worth a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ULTIMA RATIO REGUM 2nd edition grand tactical wargame rules (1689-1763)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates