Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Game Geek Issue #1
Publisher: Avalon Classic
by Patricio C. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2021 00:28:19

As I browsed DTRPG site looking for some printable board games or mini-games I stumble upon this publication. Since I wanted to learn a more about games in general and considering the company behind the magazine was Avalon, a name I consistently see over and over again the games I browsed (including many of them in my wishlist), I decided to give the magazine a chance (it is one Dollar anyways).

There are two documents included in the product, one of the PDFs has 13 pages and the other one 52, I thought they were different but they (at least) start the same, the 13 page PDF looks lik a cut down version of he 52 page version but I do not know really the reason of such an attached document, perhaps a mistake in the moment of uploading the product.

In the first pages reading the magazine I learned about a company called Metagaming that dominated the niche of micro games in the late 80’s and early 90’s (something I totally ignored so the investment in the magazine started paying from the first pages). The Map of the Month section is a promising one, the map is reproduced for printing a the one seen in the section is unusable due to the prominent non related text over it.

Advancing the magazine I found some comics sponsored by ComStar games, probably from their own intelectual property I clicked on the link to see their games offer but the site is dead. I can see the magazine has a varied content up to these pages and after the comics I found a serialized novel.

Adding fiction to the formula is a great move to bring variety however I had rather prefered a stand alone story than a serialized novel and with two pages per issue, this novel probably will take long long time to fold, easy pass, not interested in starting something I could eventually never end to read.

Next comes a section called Multiverse that seems some sort of scenario for a game called S&G (what does S&G stands for?) which I deduce is a war game from the company but unless you are very interested in this game this seve-page game report looked as some sort of “fill in” pages. The publisher assumes the reader knows the game and plays it but as a newcomer I did not find any use of this section so I passed it. I think they could keep in mind that every magazine is first magazine for someone and at least have made a brief explanation about the game so the newcomers could catch up with what they are going to read in the section. Next there is a section called “Paper Make It” talking about some sort of mapping software.

The Review section talks about an obscure (at least to me) game system that is also available in DTRPG. The magazine does not review anything mainstream so after reading almost half of the publication I think the name is misleading, “Game Geek” is too ambitious for this magazine “Avalon Game Geek” or “DTRPG Game Geek” could have been a better choice to resemble the nature of the magazine.

In the other hand you can find some interesting information about things other mainstrain magazines does not cover as it is the Decoder Ring Theater podcast. Although the magazine is perhaps 80% promotion for the Avalon games the price $1 is more than fair if we take into consideration the large expansion (apparently exclusive from the magazine) for the Battle Axe game and the discount coupon for the Arcanum game.

All in all, the magazine feels more like a newsletter than an actual magazine but still is a nice reading for a low price and if you love, play and buy Avalon games, this magazine is a source for games you would want to consider.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Geek Issue #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cities & Towns
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Patricio C. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2021 12:07:47

Solid product with an overview of five different settlements with map, relevant places and adventure hooks. Tons of role-playing opportunities. My highest recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities & Towns
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Monster Player Races (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 08:03:22

I do not know exactly what are the expectations of the author about the future of this product but although I see a lot of potential here, there is a huge work ahead to make most people drop money in his hat.

First problem I see is the lack of details for the entries which are supposed to be playable races. No fluff information at all and the product assumes it is used by veterans that are able to get down to business. A freshman player would get lost on this product instantly.

If expectations of the author for this product is getting to the big leagues and print it, then personalized art for every race shoud be included.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Player Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Houserule Issue 3 (3.5e, 4e, 5e) - HR3
Publisher: Rebelsun Bestiaries
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 07:49:00

This is a free product filled with interesting ideas to incorporate to your game. This is a work of love I think and really glad I downloaded it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Houserule Issue 3 (3.5e, 4e, 5e) - HR3
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Map of Berem Town
Publisher: 1191 AD Publishing
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 07:42:49

It delivers what it promises so... why the complaints? 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Map of Berem Town
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

5e Racial Handbook - Over 40 New Races and Subraces
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 07:34:07

Although I am not in the business of finding mathematical balance and other technicalities moderm gaming has embarked on, I appalaud the efforts of the author to create an expanded races manual for players to get more options.

It is a fact this is a work in constant evolution and I assume the author is expecting gathering more financial resources to polish this product and eventually chage for it.

The only suggestions I have for the author are next:

  • Give every race a personalized color portrait at the style of the Player's Handbook.
  • Do not mix races information from one another, give any race its own page or group of pages. So people can print only the race needed and no other intrusive information is inside.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Racial Handbook - Over 40 New Races and Subraces
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Overton
Publisher: Certain Death
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2016 06:56:36

It is a fact you cannot expect much from a 18-page free setting but I still had the expectation at least it had a map of the area to explore. The descriptions are vague and all the burden of the development falls over the DM who only receives some ideas to develop adventures inside the setting. I am giving 3 out of 5 stars only because it is a free download. There is no way I pay for something similar to this.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Overton
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Forgotten Tomb (5e)
Publisher: R&D Adventures
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2016 09:47:55

I am giving the highest score to this adventure since it fulfills what it offers: an introductory adventure to be played in a single session. I tried it with my gaming group composed with new and veterans, this is the second adventure with which we are starting our all-new campaign and the story plays quite well. The adventure introduces the PC to one of the most recurrent aspects of D&D: the traps, and it does quiet well. I loved the fact the product comes with two maps, one inteded to players and other intended to the Dungeon Master with the location of traps, monsters and other features.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Tomb (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your comment. We\'re glad you liked our encounter!
D&D 5th Edition Character Sheet
Publisher: Matthew Perkins
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2016 09:37:43

This is the sheet I am currently using with my gaming group. I like the organization and the aids to track classes' special features that consume and require a short rest to recover. The sheet is quite complete and organized so it has managed to esqueeze a lot of data in a small space.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5th Edition Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Into the Darkness (3.0)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Patricio C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2016 09:25:19

The first time I tried this adventure was when Wizards of the Coast supported the D&D 3.5 edition and since I have been trying to find it online and finally I could find it again. I was so fond about this adventure due to the memories it evoked to me that I converted to 5e rules and tried it with my current gaming group. The adventure is very complete in the sense that almost every aspect of the rules is covered, such as illumination, movement, skills, combat, magic, traps, exploration and treasure finding. However when I tried with 3.5 rules years ago, I remember we had to reset the game twice because even though the adventure is intended to a 1st Level party the enemies are really tough and the group died twice and in the third time the group tried I reduced the amount of enemies so they could make the advanture. Years ago and using 5e rules, the adventure still is hard for a 1st level party. I think this is an excellent introductory adventure but it requires some kind of adjusting or wait until the characters achieve 2nd level to try it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness (3.0)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates