Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
0one Bundle: Complete Customizable Battlemaps [BUNDLE]
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 14:04:56

This ia fabulous bundle from back in the days before VTT, but are no longer practical, since they are just PDFs. If the publisher would include VTT-compatible images of these rooms, it would be awesome to return to these halls!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one Bundle: Complete Customizable Battlemaps [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0 hr: Demon Delve Cavern
Publisher: 0-hr
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 14:02:55

I love 2D tiles, and am a huge fan of 0One Games' skirmish tiles. The problem I've always had with them is that they lack an inner consistency. If you used any one pack of 0One games' tiles, you end up with the random dungeon crawl of bygone years (which is great - but not for thematic campaigns!). What's great about 0HR's line of 2D tiles is that they are entirely encapsulated environments - they take up a decent amount of table space, but every passage links to another - there's an inner cohesion to the whole thing. As I printed off the pages and put this cavern together on my drawing table, I got more and more excited - especially when the pages of the secret rooms/passages printed off. This is an excellent product for a perfect price point. If you're looking for a quick way to give your players a night of adventure with minis, then this is the ticket! It even comes with room descriptions, which can be tailored for whatever denizens you populate the Cavern with. The creators used a flying demon, but I've populated my cave with Spiders and Driders and Owl Bears (Oh my!). Okay, no owl bears - but many arachnid style creatures.

Two thumbs WAAAY up. Highly recommended.

Addendum, 2021 - Words fail me for how good the 0-hr maps are. I own all the fantasy ones, and printed them off back in the days before VTT. After the Amber Heart Inn, Demon Delve Cavern was the one I used the most. Unlike many products from "back in the day" (like the 0One maps, which I love, but can no longer use easily), 0-hr has the edge, because they included a massive poster JPG that can be used for VTT. I have some old PDFs I can't open in something like Photoshop to grab the images, so they're virtually useless to me, short of screen shots of zoomed-in-PDFs and a lot of puzzlework. So even though the physical printed version has given up the ghost, I know my players will be fighting for their lives in the Demon Delve Caverns again. I don't know what perils they'll find there, but I'm starting to think about how to use all the 0-hr maps in a tight little "Lost Mine of Phandelver" sort of setup, with the Amber Heart Inn and Lily's Tavern as the home bases...but what lies beneath? Very likely these caverns! Thanks for alll the good times and memories, 0 Hr!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Demon Delve Cavern
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0 hr: Blackwolf Manor
Publisher: 0-hr
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:59:48

Words fail me for how good the 0-hr maps are. I own all the fantasy ones, and printed them off back in the days before VTT. While I only used Blackwolf Manor once or twice, it was still a great map to have if you need to face off against an evil undead noble or confront corrupt power at its source. I printed the Manor, mounted it on foam core, and had it in our game room for ages. And unlike many products from "back in the day," 0-hr has the edge, because they included a massive poster JPG that can be used for VTT. I have some old PDFs I can't open in something like Photoshop to grab the images, so they're virtually useless to me, short of screen shots of zoomed-in-PDFs and a lot of puzzlework. So even though the physical printed version has given up the ghost, I know my players will speak truth to power with sword and axe and bow again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Blackwolf Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0 hr: Amber Hart Inn
Publisher: 0-hr
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:56:44

Every DM/GM needs a good Inn. And the Amber Heart Inn is a great one. Words fail me for how good the 0-hr maps are. I own all the fantasy ones, and printed them off back in the days before VTT. Out of all these maps, I've used the Amber Heart Inn the most. I printed it, mounted it on foam core, and had it in our game room for ages. My players fought monsters and solved mysteries in these rooms, or sometimes just spent the night. And unlike many products from "back in the day," 0-hr has the edge, because they included a massive poster JPG that can be used for VTT. I have some old PDFs I can't open in something like Photoshop to grab the images, so they're virtually useless to me, short of screen shots of zoomed-in-PDFs and a lot of puzzlework. So even though the physical printed version has given up the ghost, I know my players will be getting a room at the Amber Heart Inn again. I don't know what perils they'll find there, but I'm starting to think about how to use all the 0-hr maps in a tight little "Lost Mine of Phandelver" sort of setup, with the Amber Heart Inn and Lily's Tavern as the home bases...but what lies beneath? Or over the hill?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Amber Hart Inn
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0 hr: Lilly's Tavern
Publisher: 0-hr
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:53:25

Words fail me for how good the 0-hr maps are. I own all the fantasy ones, and printed them off back in the days before VTT. Lilly's Tavern was the site of many a first session bar fight (back before it was too cliche, lol) as well as a rest stop on long journeys. It was our go-to tavern for a long time. I printed it, mounted it on foam core, and had it in our game room for ages. And unlike many products from "back in the day," 0-hr has the edge, because they included a massive poster JPG that can be used for VTT. I have some old PDFs I can't open in something like Photoshop to grab the images, so they're virtually useless to me, short of screen shots of zoomed-in-PDFs and a lot of puzzlework. So even though the physical printed version has given up the ghost, I know my players will be returning to Lilly's Tavern on Roll20. It will be nice to be sitting down for a mug of ale or mead in familiar digs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Lilly's Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0 hr: Temple of the Moon
Publisher: 0-hr
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:50:06

Words fail me for how good the 0-hr maps are. I own all the fantasy ones, and printed them off back in the days before VTT. Had some great adventures in the Temple of the Moon. And unlike many products from "back in the day," 0-hr has the edge, because they included a massive poster JPG that can be used for VTT. I have some old PDFs I can't open in something like Photoshop to grab the images, so they're virtually useless to me, short of screen shots of zoomed-in-PDFs and a lot of puzzlework. The cartography of this space is gorgeous and epic. I can imagine so many adventures in this space, and am excited to send some of my players back to the Temple of the Moon in the coming year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Temple of the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol. VI
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:43:54

I absolutely love these Battlemaps - every volume was solid gold. I purchased these many years ago to print off for in-person play. Now I'm wishing there was a VTT version - you can't open these in Photoshop to grab the images off the PDF, and so I'm not sure if I'll ever have the chance to employ these on something like Roll20. That said, a really great product back-in-the-day. Printed, mounted, and used the heck out of these maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol. VI
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol.V
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:43:01

I absolutely love these Battlemaps - every volume was solid gold. I purchased these many years ago to print off for in-person play. Now I'm wishing there was a VTT version - you can't open these in Photoshop to grab the images off the PDF, and so I'm not sure if I'll ever have the chance to employ these on something like Roll20. That said, a really great product back-in-the-day. Printed, mounted, and used the heck out of these maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol.V
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol.I
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2021 13:42:07

I absolutely love these Battlemaps - every volume was solid gold. I purchased these many years ago to print off for in-person play. Now I'm wishing there was a VTT version - you can't open these in Photoshop to grab the images off the PDF, and so I'm not sure if I'll ever have the chance to employ these on something like Roll20. That said, a really great product back-in-the-day. Printed, mounted, and used the heck out of these maps.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemaps: Dungeon Rooms Vol.I
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2021 14:17:40

Decent map work. No complaints, as they did what I needed them to back when I bought them. But I far prefer other map styles now. These would work really well with a more "line art/Comic Book" look to minis or tokens.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Deciduous Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Candlekeep Mysteries: The Price of Beauty DM Resources Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2021 23:22:25

I can't give enough praise for Heroic Maps Candlekeep series. I've used both this map set/resource pack as well as the one for Mazfroth's Mighty Digressions, and they are simply the coolest addition to my Candlekeep games. In addition to the spectacular quality of the maps themselves, Heroic Maps have provided wonderful DM supplements. The Price of Beauty supplement is so fun--detailed information on nail treatments, massage oils, and great food and drink that are all a lovely mix of the spa experience with a D&D twist. My players spent a whole night just enjoying the R&R at the spa as a result of this resource pack! These maps and resources are more than worth the price, and the maps are really easy to drop into the Roll20 VTT modules for Candlekeep. Keep up the great work, Heroic Maps! Looking forward to the next installments!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Candlekeep Mysteries: The Price of Beauty DM Resources Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

When the Light Goes Out
Publisher: Chaosium
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 13:42:03

This is an awesome one-shot for those looking for a solid night of modern horror. My group is new to Call of Cthulhu, so I can't say if it's "the best Call of Cthulhu scenario ever, but I can say that it was one of the best one-shots I've ever run, that I loved prepping for it, and that my players had an excellent time. If your group is particularly heavy on dialogue and roleplaying, this might take you two nights (we ran it in three hours, but I had to cut some content, and everyone felt like it would have been better stretched to a two sessions (say, six hours) - take this with a grain of salt. My group is talky as a Tarantino flick).

The pregens are great, though you may have to doctor them a bit to ensure that all of the necessary skills are present with your group (I had to get my author to amp up his occult skill to make sure the players weren't totally in the dark about what was going on). But this is a minor quibble, as it's easy to fix.

I recommend that new Keepers take the time to listen to the author's (Megan Tolentino) podcast of her session running "When the Light Goes Out" to help you familiarize yourself with directions the game could go. I took that time, and it proved invaluable in terms of my retention of narrative points.

If you're looking for a cool old school soundtrack, I advise using some tracks from John Carpenter's The Fog and Prince of Darkness to set the mood.

In short, this is an excellent scenario, and I'd love to see more modern horror from Megan Tolentino!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When the Light Goes Out
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! I'm so glad your group had a great time with it. I'm working on my next idea now.
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
Publisher: BTRC
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2011 15:25:15

A As a long-time DM who has to convince other people to take time to make a character, I am a huge fan of character generators. Finding a good one is always a challenge, so BRTC's Character Creator for the Verne RPG is a real boon. This interactive PDF is good fun for steampunk fans who aren't interested in playing Verne at all, as the first steps in character creation is simply answering questions in character. When you're done, you hit "calculate," and your character race and profession are generated, based on the answers you gave. There's an option to do this randomly as well, but random or calculated, a character creator as cool as this adds up to one thing: less time messing around with character creation mechanics to devote more time to game play! Two thumbs up to BRTC for producing this little number. Other systems should take a page from BRTC's book and release aesthetically pleasing, bug-free character creators. It's fun to roll dice, but as a DM, it's more fun to get people into playing as fast as you can, and the EABA Verne Character Creator definitely does that. There's a version in the download for the iPad as well, but I could not review, as I don't own one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Verne character creator v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Barbarians Versus
Publisher: Mystic Ages Publishing
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2005 00:00:00

I've been a game master for about 25 years, give or take. In those years, I've played as a gamer only when there weren't enough PC's to round out a group. Always a ref, never a player. Until this past weekend. I requested to be a PC in a one shot game, run by my brother in law, who has been watching me GM for over a decade. Not wanting him to get lost in the rules, and wanting the "Ultimate Party Game", I downloaded BARBARIANS VERSUS as our system for this birthday party game.

I have GM'd serious campaigns and also one shot Bachelor Party games...and while D&D and Rolemaster are my weapons of choice for the serious campaign...BARBARIANS VERSUS has now become my choice for any PARTY RPG. Let's face it, any game with rules for how much liquor your barbarian can drink is a party game.

Fun is the watchword here people. Just a helluva lot of fun. Our barbarian crew unleashed bloody havoc on the Brugs, and had a great time doing it.

Suggested soundtrack music - WHITE ZOMBIE, or anything with heavy guitars. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Easy character creation, fluid improvisational format, whimisical rules. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The multiple dice - our mathematician in the group made a flowchart to replicate the same outcomes using percentile dice.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians Versus
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

0one Bundle: Complete Dungeon Rooms [BUNDLE]
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2004 00:00:00

These Battlemaps, and all the others made by ?one are awesome for quick adventure set up; I grabbed the bundle, printed my favorite maps and used them for a Bachelor Party I was DMing. Huge hit! People love the visual reinforcement. You can't go wrong with this product unless you're still using a dot matrix printer.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The colors, the richness of detail...great product.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing. Complete and utter satisfaction.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one Bundle: Complete Dungeon Rooms [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates