Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
E-Z DUNGEONS: Hillside Dwelling
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2018 23:28:01

Why wasn't this done with layers? It really didn't need to take up so much space. Why did you use that inefficient framing system with no guidelines? It just left me trying to eyeball an approximate fit for the frame of the walls and struts on the floor pieace when a few straight lines put there by you could have given me something to line it up by? I've built real houses that were easier to line up straight than this thing was. Your models are bright, colorful, and relatively easy to cut out, but your directions are vague and the phtos are not very instructive. A few simple lines on the floor plate showing where to lay the braces really would have helped.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
E-Z DUNGEONS: Hillside Dwelling
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Abandoned Wagon Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 14:39:27

I recently dusted this off and built one of these again and I am glad I did. I remember when I first got the model. It was one of the first kits I bought and I really got excited. I was running an AD&D campaign with a caravan, so I printed three of these out right away. That was a mistake. I had built paper models before, but nothing as complicated as this kit. The directions were not as clear as they could be, as far as a beginner was concerned, and things did not go well. I ended up completing only two of the models, and neither of them were exactly what I had pictured going into the project. Some months later when I had more experience I went back and built a wagon following the directions and understood them clearly, but that was only after having gotten more experience. Building the kit now after not having seen it for a couple of years, I recognized a few of the areas where the directions were a bit, "ahem", less than clear, but still had no trouble assembling a beautiful, sturdy, and complete wagon as nice on my shelf as it is on the game table. This is a good kit, but I recommend it for experienced modelers. Beginners attempting the kit should build it slowly and opt for simpler builds without sides at first. Do a couple of squre canvas tops before trying the rounded one. You'll be glad you did.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abandoned Wagon Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Steampunk Building No. 1 Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 14:19:04

This is an easy build with good reinforcement that makes it a sturdy model that will see a lot of gameplay. The hard part will be choosing which skin elements to use. There are a wide variety of them and they combine in so many beautiful ways there is very little chance of finding one favorite look among them. You're going to end up building more than one of this model. I know I am.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steampunk Building No. 1 Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fletcher's Shop Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 14:08:43

I just finished this kit and it is very nice! I found the roof a bit fiddly, but I probably should have realized that the configuration would be something different from the image of the completed kit. A test fit probably would have helped, too. It still went on fine and looks good. The model is very sturdy. I was a little disappointed that there was no half-timbered skin option, but the three skins (two bricks, one stone) and optional stucco covering are all first class. The windows on this model are particularly nice. The kit also comes with a bonus wheelbarrow that is easily assembled and looks super. It comes in two versions, as well. This kit is definitely well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fletcher's Shop Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cabin Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2017 13:55:32

This is a true gem. I really like the versitility of the model and the simplicity of the construction. It is also very sturdy and should last through many hours of gameplay. The multiple skins allow me to use it in fantasy, steampunk, and even frontier settings. That is a lot of value in one slim package. I've built one and have already printed another. I plan to have a total of at least four. The only thing I could ask for is a base plate for the design that would be as versitile as the model itself. That would make it perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cabin Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Contraption Set One: The Black Unicorn vs Thugs
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 11:43:22

A nice, clean set with excellent character art, I bought this set with no idea who the Black Unicorn is and I still don't know. I run a 2e AD&D campaign set in 1890 on an alternate version of Earth and needed figures for a good steampunk setting. David's Contraption sets were just the ticket. I bought sets 1 & 2 and hope there will be more. I don't know quite what to do with the Black Unicorn, but the 44 thugs, er, gentlemen that accompanied him have made quite a contribution to my campaign. The blokes handling those chains were a bit of a bother to cut out, I recommend a fresh blade when you start on them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Contraption Set One: The Black Unicorn vs Thugs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Potion & Other Drink Names
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2014 20:05:47

This is a fun little list that is especially useful when you are a game master who is running off-the-cuff. It is true that most of the items on the list are elixirs, potions, and other mixtures that definitely sound like they are more suitable to be useful in a setting where magic and/or alchemy is available, but many sound perfect for exotic drinks in a sci-fi setting. After reading the list the first time, I was instantly inspired to write up some of the magical brews for my Advanced Dungeons and Dragons campaigns (yup, I still run AD&D) and some of the others for Champions, Mekton II, Star Trek the RPG, and Traveller. Imagine that, a generic role playing supplement that is actually usable in multiple game systems and in multiple settings. Admittedly, this product is most useful in fantasy settings - but the only true limitation to it's usefulness is the imagination of the game master using it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Potion & Other Drink Names
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wizard's Shop of Rake's Corner Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2014 14:53:26

This is a nice little model! Like most of the Rake's Corner buildings I've purchased so far, this building lacks alternate layers. This means that when you've bought this shop, you've only bought one model. Wrong! Like many David Graffam models, the Wizard's Shop of Rakes Corner can be customized by using parts from other models. The quickest and easiest modification is simply reversing the roof to place the chimney in the front and move the dormer to the rear left side of the building. You can always craft new signs to cover the one printed above the door. Printing out an extra first page and playing with scissors can give you yet another variation, too. Why build multiples of this model? Well, any Merchant's Quarter can use them. The reinforced dormer supports a lot of rooftop action (easily holds two lead figures) that adventurers crave in cities and this is a good value! The model comes with a good footprint that makes lining up the walls a snap when the model is finished. You have the option of putting the ground piece on a piece of foam core board and gluing down the covers for the edges or cutting the edges of the ground pieces off and gluing the model to a thicker piece of cardboard.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard's Shop of Rake's Corner Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pantheon Generator
Publisher: Chaotic Shiny Productions
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2014 13:12:30

This little item is more of a novelty item than a serious gaming accessory, but then, creating a pantheon for your campaign setting requires careful thought and planning, right? I've got to say that I have gotten some results on this little gem that have gotten the whole crew scratching their heads and more than a few that have got them laughing. Its free, its fun, its chaotic, and its shiny. I use it to generate little-known cults and the religions of travelers from distant kingdoms with strange ways and unusual customs. Its really good at strange ways and unusual customs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pantheon Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Swan House Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2014 11:34:51

The Swan House was one of my first purchases from David Graffam after downloading his free Coach House and Hovel Models. It was a quick, easy build for even a beginner and looked very handsome on the table, so a second was quickly built and added. With the Swan House sign I suppose it is meant to be an alehouse or some other establishment, but my players preferred them as upper middle class homes. We now have three, two modified with parts from other kits, and probably will end up building more. That is the testament of the versatility of this and other David Graffam models.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swan House Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Publisher: RoleplayingTips.com
by Paul a. M. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2014 23:03:37

You're tired, you've had a hard week, and your gamers are going to be over in 30 minutes! Been there, done that? Guess what! This just be your lucky night! This book contains enough good ideas and just enough information to CYA without disrupting your campaign by bringing in extra stuff you don't need. It is also handy to have around when your gamers do the unexpected (yeah, like you never caught caught completely off guard!) and all of your prep work for the night's adventure just went out the window. It is written in the age of Pathfinder, Dungeons and Dragons 4.whatever but it is still generic enough that I have no trouble using it in my Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Campaign. (Yeah, that's right, AD&D! I'm 50 and still gaming with college kids.) I can't believe these guys are giving this thing away for free! Grab it while you can! I mean it! Now!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates