Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos $4.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 8
2 1
1 0
0 0
0 0
Space Weirdos
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Sami S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2022 02:58:36

Light and fast miniature space combat system reminiscent of WH40k. At $5 getting this is a no-brainer. What are you waiting for? Just click 'Add to Cart' already.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2022 14:06:05

What a great minis skirmish game! It is the perfect weight for my son and I. He is not much of a gamer so he will lose interest in any game with too many rules. He enjoys this game because it plays quick and there are not a lot of stuff for him to remember.
I enjoy playing it because even though it’s light on the rules it still has neat effects charts, special abilities for the teams and just enough tokens in the play area. I also find the Die Type mechanic quite ingenious. So simple to grasp and even if you are rolling d4s vs. d10s, you always feel like you have a chance against your opponent.
I can’t wait to get more of my gaming buddies playing this. I don’t think it will be a hard sell at all. Also, what a great cover! Hats off to you Casey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2022 07:39:56

By far the best Sci-Fi skirmish game I've ever played! Very simple yet elegant and solid rules that don't need constant referencing to. The game plays very fast and is perfect for beginners and casual players in my opinion. It's flexible enough to develop own scenarios. All in all great fun! https://www.agentlemanlysport.com/tag/space-weirdos/ for some Space Weirdos in action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Andy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2022 10:25:12

I absolutely LOVE this game. The mechanics, ease of play, and flexibility are superb.
Space Weirdos has inspired me to dust off miniatures in my collection that haven't been used in years, and it's truly wondeful. I'm having a blast playing this game with the guys in my gaming group.

The author is very active on his Discord channel, and the community there is growing.
In addition, a fan of the game created a warband builder that's incredibly fun to use: https://spaceweirdo.netlify.app/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Jose M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2022 20:37:43

Really enjoy this game. It is simple and full of interesting mechanics that fills out a narrative experience. One can create warbands and fight in different scenarios. I think the dice mechanics are very good, opposite rolls with pairs of dice. Can't wait to see a Fantasy Version of the game with the same system, "Dungeon Weirdos". I recommend it to any one interested in small skirmishes and want to have the freedom to develop narrative in small groups of miniatures. One of my favorite games at the moment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2022 20:54:14

Dude. This game is awesome. You can read all the rules on a lunch break, and not even a long lunch break, I mean like a scarf down a bologna sandwich at the picnic table where the smokers hang out lunch break. This is the ultimate antidote to proprietary minis games with oodles of charts for different armies and rules that use some weird scale (35mm! or whatever), and call for gigantic tables. This is the game where you pull out some old Heroscape or clix figs or whatnot, toss a grass mat or a gray tablecloth ("look, it's a city now!") on a 30inch IKEA table (MELTORP), and start chucking dice and talking smack.

And! There's just enough decision making to keep it interesting and make it more than a "move your guys into range and hope you roll good" type of affair. I mean, yeah, you'll still be moving your guys into range and hoping you roll good....but there's also command points, which let you use moves like overwatch and dodge, but are scarce (using them at the right times and in the right ways is crucial to success), there's psychic powers, which give some figs neat abilities (TELEPORTATION, anyone??) and make the army types feel different, there's leaders and morale, but abstracted into simple dice checks that have easy to grasp effects, etc etc. The only way it can be improved is if there was MORE, more powers, weapons, etc. BUT: that's also a feature not a bug, as it keeps the book down to a few pages with nice large print that even an oldster with reading glasses from the CVS spin rack can read.

Oh, and the solo rules are really good, and easy to use. Oh! and there are only a few scenarios, but they are well designed and provide nice variety (kill as many dudes as you can, seize the objectives, find the most treasures and escape, etc.)

So anyways...get this game. It has everything that makes miniatures games fun and none of the stuff that ends up feeling like cumbersome work/bookkeeping. I must sound like a paid shill, but you know, I'm okay with that. Space Weirdos is that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2021 06:35:12

dear wargame weirdos, this fast-skirmish game is AMAZING, the artwork is weird and the rules are very simple to learn and involving as well.

The core base will tell you to use a 5" stick to perform move actions. A pair of polyhedral dices for different tests (shoot, fight, psychic etc.): each model will use their own 2 dices -> he higher wins. Against no enemy, you will instead test wih your stat dices against 2 fixed d6 (like a psychic power to teleport you on a point of table), There are no ranges for shooting attacks, each weapon will automatically reach the target (because you are supposed to play in a small table rich of sceneries and cut of LOS, although you can have malus with certains weapons if you are too distant or too close.

IT HAS SOLO RULES AS WELL each enemy will have a Type (thug, goon, psychic, big gun etc.), you roll a D20 and refer to its table chart, relating to the condition it finds in that moment (has los, has not los, in combat)

I encourage the author to keep supporting the game and encourage you players to try it, for few credits (wherever in space you are) it very worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2021 16:07:28

If like me you're limited on hobbytime then Space Weirdos is perfect. We'll to be fair it's pretty great even if your not, it just means you get to enjoy it more (you lucky thing).

Space Weirdos needs limited space, a 2x2 minimum table size, warbands starting from 4 miniatures and even a small rulebook that means limited time reading and learning the rules and more time playing.

However don't think that means the experience is limited. I had great fun on my initial few run throughs, albeit using the included solo rules rather than a IRL opponent. In fact the solo rules can give real character to even AI enemies. In my case (due to bad rolling) I had one enemy that spent the entire game moving up, then Cowering (a retreat action in the AI system) giving the model the character of bottling it and running away once he reached the enemy.

The concept of using the dice value as a modifier is great, if your base value is to roll a 2D6 but you gain a positive modifier you'll be rolling the next value die up, or in this example you'll move from 2D6 to 2D8. The more elite your troop, the higher their starting die. Overall it means you have a higher possible score the better you are as in some cases you get extra benefits for doubling the opposing players roll.

One thing to be aware of is don't expect to find expansive army lists or long lists of scenarios however. This embraces the old school mentality of giving you a toolbox to create your own adventure Although there are a few sample lists and scenarios. The big benefit is this is a well tuned toolbox, that is intuitive and fun, with which to do it. If, like me, you prefer a narrative game and are less concerned with perfect game balance (point systems are a general guide not an exact science in my mind) then you'll love this game as it feels built for narrative.

One thing is for sure this game will be getting plenty more playtime on my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Space Weirdos
Publisher: Garske Games
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2021 15:41:07

I mean just look at the cover. It's freakin great! I purchased the game just because of the cover and I wasn't let down. The dice mechanic is based around opposed rolls of 2dX with modifiers affecting the die type. It's intouitive and lightweight so you're able to focus on the action on the table rather than referencing rules. The warband builder is easy to follow and offers enough modularity to give flavour to whichever warband of oddballs you want to create. I highly recommend this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Gift Certificates