Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2021 12:08:23

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game. In this fun adventure, you create a character and undertake an exciting and dangerous dungeon crawl with little more than your trusty weapon and wits. All you need is some paper, a pencil and three six-sided dice. The dungeon is random and could have up to 36 rooms.

For my first attempt, I used the RPG system Motif Action Engine. I found the boss in the second room I explored. I did win with that playthrough.

For my second attempt, I used four characters with the RPG system Tunnels & Trolls Classic 5th edition (1979). I used OSR Solo as the solo engine. On the first day, they killed six goblins, but Zach the wizard and Darius the elf took some damage. The group went back to Twilight Inn to spend the night and most of their money. They next day, they killed two orcs, two wolves, and the hobgoblin chief. They did win the adventure and only had to explore four rooms. Give this fun adventure a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Publisher: Peril Planet
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2021 19:53:06

For the last two days, I have soloed my way through Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game (24 pages). In this fun adventure, you create a character and undertake an exciting and dangerous dungeon crawl with little more than your trusty weapon and wits. All you need is some paper, a pencil and three six-sided dice. The dungeon is random and could have up to 36 rooms. When I did it, I explored 35 rooms and I killed 58 monsters. In the cistern room, I lost my balance, fell, and my treasure key bounced out of my pocket and fell into a crack never to be seen again. The boss battle was a real nail biter. It was so close, but yet, I died. Oh well, I will have to do this again sometime. Maybe you will have better luck. - - The attached image is of the castle during its glory years. The artist is at danielsmaps.com.(pinterist).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Kagegami High
Publisher: Yaruki Zero Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2021 14:39:03

A few days ago I soloed my way through Kagegami High (168 pages). This d6 dice pool system is described as a comedic role-playing game where you take on the role of Japanese schoolgirls at a strange, surreal high school. I used OSR Solo (DriveThruRPG) as the solo engine. Here are the highlights. So, I started with one character and started the first day: initiation ceremony. The next day was the first day of classes. During the evening, Shigeo was checking out the library and discovered a secret passage. She was trying to avoid detection, but was seen by Izumi. The two of them explored the passage, talked to a spider, and Shigeo was attacked by a four foot long poisonous centipede (there are no creature stat blocks and no rules for poison). Her stress went to zero (there is no dying, you “freak out”). Izumi dragged her out of there and Yoshiko Serene the NPC healed her (check out the attached image of her – artist has the same name).

On the third day, Shigeo bought an occult knife used for occult rituals. She killed a six inch centipede later in the day. On day four, nighttime, Izumi’s roommate was possessed by a ghost. She was acting like she was carrying a lit lantern. My two characters followed her to the docks. Shu then waved her lantern and a ghost ship appeared and came to the dock. She got onto the ship and my two characters got on also. The ship had several adventures and the two PCs just watched. They could not interact with the crew. Eventually the ship sank and the PCs (now three) were pulled under the water. At this same time, the school club, Apocalyptic Death Cult, was performing a ritual with a deep clawfoot bathtub filled with water. Bellatrix reached into the water to pull out Death. They had some questions for him. Instead, they pulled out Shigeo, followed by Izumi and Shu. Cool. The three of them did get into trouble for missing the classes on day five.

Give this a try! One hundred of these 168 pages contain random tables which are perfect for solo play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kagegami High
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Terms May Apply - A Lawman Adventure
Publisher: Critical Failure Game Studios
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2021 17:32:08

Terms May Apply is a funny 16 page adventure for Lawman RPG, but I used Hulks and Horrors Basic Edition (free at DriveThruRPG). To solo this, I used the solo engine - OSR Solo (same place) . This is a science fiction adventure for intergalactic bounty hunters. This short adventure will take between two and three hours to complete. If you were ever tempted to convert a sci fi adventure to your favorite sci fi RPG system, this is it (easy to convert). My P.C.s included an ex-soldier, a psyker, a scientist, and an empath named Sailor. Sailor broke a computer at the training facility and she was charged for it. All four survived their day of training. I do not want to say too much (spoilers) about this adventure because it is short. It does use “bad” words (adult language). Give this a try! - -This document includes one enemy stat block, three NPC stat blocks, and a map with twelve rooms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terms May Apply - A Lawman Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

CHEW: The Roleplaying Game - Quickstart
Publisher: Imagining Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2021 15:40:23

A few days ago I soloed my way through the adventure included in Chew: The Roleplaying Game Quickstart (51 pages, free at DriveThruRPG). This d6 dice pool system is described as a crime drama food game. It is based on a comic book series, so you could say it is cartoon roleplaying (it depends on your perspective). I used Mythic Game Maser Emulator as the solo engine. So, I created four characters and threw them into the adventure.

The first scene is where they pick up their quest from their boss. She is the head of the FDA office in Baltimore. Scene two puts them at a crime scene. The P.C. Rachel Mead finds a spilled bottle of alcohol and takes it as evidence and also because she practices the art of psychometry. Next, they chase a fleeing suspect but they are attacked by wasabi sushi rolls (Did I mention that this game is wild and crazy?). The P.C. Charles, who does magic tricks, took some massive damage. They lost the suspect, but Rachel did her psychometry thing and got three leads (destinations). When they got to B.U.T.T., they ran into the next bad guy (gal), Annabelle. Rachel used persuasion on her and talked her into giving up. They handcuffed her and then the P.C. Hack, the computer hacker, hacked her phone and they got the phone number for the villain Derek Cho. They went to their HQ and asked for some stuff they could use. They were given a device to track down Cho’s phone GPS microchip and explosives (nice). They discovered that Cho was on his own private man-made island. So, they went to the marina and Rachel used her persuasion on the owner of a 14 meter catamaran yacht (Kukai) that has a helipad. He instantly falls in love with her. He is twenty years older, but he does go ahead and put her in his will. When they get to the island they blow up all of the boats there (but not their boat). They took out a bodyguard and then had to deal with Cho. He took out two of the P.C.s with his tranquilizer pistol, did his villain speech, and then Rachel used her persuasion and the P.C. Arrow used his fast talking skill. They tranquilized him, cuffed him, and took him to the authorities. This was a partial win. There were a few henchman that got away. Give this a try!

. Note – I am not a fan of the combat system. There is enough material in this document to run a second adventure. If I do it, I will make changes to the combat system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CHEW: The Roleplaying Game - Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shattered: A Grimdark RPG
Publisher: It's Never Dark Enough
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2021 18:25:23

Flesh Golem Laboratory (DMDave) is fun 10 page adventure for Fifth Edition D&D, but I used Shattered: A Grimdark RPG (DriveThruRPG, 290 pages). To solo this, I used random word generator dot com . I used the four characters that are included in the rules. At the beginning of the day, the characters picked up the fetch quest – find the manual of flesh golems.

As soon as they approached the residential home, they were attacked by a partial flesh golem. Inside they had to deal with two more golems and a marionette. They then had problems finding secret doors, unlocking doors, and believing the lies that they were told. At this point Risk The Rekindled was badly wounded and Lorelei the vampire got hit with a crawling sickness. They had to exit the home and go to a temple (the attached image is of the priest that helped them – artist Ja Zirebiec who does commissions). They were advised to rest for the rest of the day.

The next morning they took Pravok out when he stepped outside to get the milk that had been delivered. They rested during the day and went to a wedding reception at a bar at dinner time (free). After this, they headed back to the golem home and ran into Yohilde as he was walking home. They took him out too. Inside, they killed Mazus. One strange thing they found was a cage holding spice-spider-mouse hybrids. In the basement they encountered a secret door which was locked with a key puzzle and an arcane lock. They attempted to solve it and even their attempt to axe-it-into-pieces failed. Well, they did have the quest item and 250 pounds of books to sell. So, they exited the building and went back to the quest giver for their reward. Give this a try!

      • Shattered comes with 7 stats, 8 races, 9 combat skills, 13 lore fields of study, 6 paragraphs of crafting rules, 10 genus creature categories, and 26 combat talents.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shattered: A Grimdark RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

3 Dice Dungeon Master
Publisher: Cat Wheel Table Top
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2021 13:43:40

For the last few days I have soloed my way through 3 Dice Dungeon Master (DriveThruRPG, 5 pages). I would describe it as an inexpensive version of Four Against Darkness using one character. I could have played it as it is, but I wanted to “spice it up”. So, I used the thief rules found in Dungeon Crawl Classics, and I used OSR Solo as the solo engine. This PDF does include a link to 3 Dice Dungeon and I recommend that you take a look at that too. So, my thief Char found a dungeon, explored three rooms, found a Tome of Clear Thought, a magic wizard hat, and a small dragon. He killed the small dragon, grabbed the gold pieces, and got the heck out of there. In town, he attempted to pick pocket a businessman, but he was caught by the thieves guild. They forced him to join their guild. Well, they did have a nice place where you could sleep. So, he slept there, got up, searched out of town, and found another dungeon. This one was bigger and had traps and locked doors. He explored eight rooms and found three potions, 12 monsters (he killed them), and more gold pieces. He used the secret tunnel to exit the dungeon. He now is second level and he can use magic. He’s trying to decide how much money to give to the guild. Give this a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
3 Dice Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OpenQuest Quick-Start: The Lost Outpost
Publisher: D101 Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2021 19:53:59

Recently, I soloed my way through the OpenQuest Quick -Start: The Lost Outpost (free at DriveThruRPG, 73 pages). I used The Solo Wilderness Crawler (1$ at DriveThruRPG) as the solo engine. For OpenQuest, I did use the adventure and the six P.C. characters that are included.

On the first day, they picked up the quest early in the morning. They had a quiet day of travel and came to an Inn surrounded by a clearing. Inside the P.C.s questioned the locals and discovered that an Imperial Patrol was in there also doing the same thing. The next morning, the P.C.s watched the patrol leave and traveled in the same general direction at a different angle. They travel for a few hours and then find a dungeon (they were not looking for a dungeon). Of course, they had to explore it. It had six rooms and they had to deal with a trap, a hag, a small maze, a magical locked door, and two prisoners. The hag did turn two of the characters into mice. They went back to their normal form after she was killed. They did find a magic ring (not impressive). The male prisoner gave them a lead for their quest – missing nobles.

They continued their travels, found the outpost, and discovered a trail and secret tunnel which led down and under the outpost. They explored an old barracks, a shrine, and then ran into a bunch of barbarians. After two rounds of combat a translator appears, and a discussion starts. Terrisa the P.C. wasn’t talking, she was unconscious. After some healing, they explore the tower and are attacked by zombies. Two P.C.s go down and the zombies are killed. They decide to stop exploring, they rescue Morgan the Noble, they cast healing spells, and head back to the closest Imperial Temple to get their reward. Great fun! Give this a try!

      • OpenQuest Quick -Start: The Lost Outpost, 73 pages. It includes RPG rules, 2 maps, 6 P.C. characters, 8 stat blocks for enemies, and an 18 page adventure. There are a few editing/typo problems.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OpenQuest Quick-Start: The Lost Outpost
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Solo Wilderness Crawler
Publisher: 5e Solo Gamebooks
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2021 19:51:37

Recently, I soloed my way through the OpenQuest Quick -Start: The Lost Outpost (free at DriveThruRPG, 73 pages). I used The Solo Wilderness Crawler (1$ at DriveThruRPG) as the solo engine. For OpenQuest, I did use the adventure and the six P.C. characters that are included.

On the first day, they picked up the quest early in the morning. They had a quiet day of travel and came to an Inn surrounded by a clearing. Inside the P.C.s questioned the locals and discovered that an Imperial Patrol was in there also doing the same thing. The next morning, the P.C.s watched the patrol leave and traveled in the same general direction at a different angle. They travel for a few hours and then find a dungeon (they were not looking for a dungeon). Of course, they had to explore it. It had six rooms and they had to deal with a trap, a hag, a small maze, a magical locked door, and two prisoners. The hag did turn two of the characters into mice. They went back to their normal form after she was killed. They did find a magic ring (not impressive). The male prisoner gave them a lead for their quest – missing nobles.

They continued their travels, found the outpost, and discovered a trail and secret tunnel which led down and under the outpost. They explored an old barracks, a shrine, and then ran into a bunch of barbarians. After two rounds of combat a translator appears, and a discussion starts. Terrisa the P.C. wasn’t talking, she was unconscious. After some healing, they explore the tower and are attacked by zombies. Two P.C.s go down and the zombies are killed. They decide to stop exploring, they rescue Morgan the Noble, they cast healing spells, and head back to the closest Imperial Temple to get their reward. Great fun! Give this a try! - - the attached image is of a zombie rabbit at the bottom of a well. This is where the zombies came from. The undead rabbit could not get out of there. - - OpenQuest Quick -Start: The Lost Outpost, 73 pages. It includes RPG rules, 2 maps, 6 P.C. characters, 8 stat blocks for enemies, and an 18 page adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Wilderness Crawler
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Real World; A Rules Lite Surrealist RPG
Publisher: Alley Faint Wurds
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2021 00:48:14

So, this is the first time I have had my characters in a surreal world. I have done dream worlds, which are a bit different. During the last few days I have soloed my way through The Real World A Rules Lite Surrealist RPG. (72 pages, DriveThruRPG, pay what you want). If you don’t like the setting, you could use this for a dream world or a cartoon world. This RPG is unique because you start with zero skills and that you can not die. However, you can be hit with so much damage that you aren’t capable of doing anything. The good news is that you heal faster than D&D 5th edition. The bad news is that the bad guys/monsters heal that quickly too. I created two characters: an accountant (John) and a security guard. I soloed this with the Mythic Game Master Emulator.

I started this adventure at an amusement park in the province of B.C. Canada. The accountant was there with his wife and young (fussy) child. He decided that he would go into the Maze of Mirrors. He did not come out. The park sent in a security guard to find the man. The guard did not come out. The two men exit from the back of an office building which is mostly made of reflective glass. They find themselves in a parking lot with The Supermarket on the other side. As they walk through this lot, the ground tilts, they get a bit smaller, and the shopping carts get a bit bigger. Burt the guard takes damage from a cart. Burt’s weakness is that he gets the urges to dumpster dive. So, he went digging through the trash can in front of the store. No luck, nothing of value. They then enter the store and it is bizarre. This “place” is described in the rules along with 99 other strange places. The other places they explored were a cave mining complex, an air ship of ribbons (they were victims of mind control), and a tower. At the end of the adventure, John had picked up the skills fly (lvl 3), digging (lvl 4), and resist mind control (lvl 2). Burt picked up seven different skills and a bag of holding, a pickaxe, a shovel, an origami boat, a yellow crystal (this was powering the tower, but not any more), a lime colored crystal, and a gutter limp (described in the rules). This was great fun! Give this a try! -



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Real World; A Rules Lite Surrealist RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Origin: Core Rule Book Black and White edition
Publisher: TurtleFox Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2021 21:31:51

For the last few days, I have been using the Origin Core Rule Book Black and White edition (117 pages available at DriveThruRPG). This fantasy system is a 1d12 system. I used the Solo Adventurer’s Toolbox as the solo engine. I created four characters from this Origin system. I took the adventure from the Rupture Quick Start Guide (10 pages, same place). All four characters did survive the quest. My favorite character was my “Keeper of Secrets”/Cleo the magic user. She has a crafting skill of one, and she was wading through the ocean waves looking for crafting ingredients. This led to a skeleton attack and later, an octopus attack. Throughout this adventure, she took the most damage. Her Substantia magic came in handy. Against two skeletons, she fused the two thigh bones to the pelvis so that they could not walk. Cool! Theresa the healer was a big help (P.C.), and she got to keep the plus one magic dagger that they found. Give this unique system a try!

      • Origin Core has five character classes, forty abilities, eighteen monsters, five different kinds of magic, a formula for creating spells, and several spell examples.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin: Core Rule Book Black and White edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the awesome review! Glad you're having fun with the system and are enjoying the game!
Rupture RPG: Quick Start Guide
Publisher: Storycraft Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2021 18:16:55

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through The Solo Dungeon Crawler (1$, 2 pages available at DriveThruRPG). One way to use this is to print it off and laminate it. I left it in the computer and drew on it with Adobe Acrobat (highlighter and sticky notes). I used the Solo Crawler to generate my fantasy dungeon. The game system I used was Rupture RPG: Quick Start Guide (10 pages, free at the same place, a 1d12 system). It includes four characters and I did use them. To generate my treasure, I used my Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure book. I did use the solo engine which is included with the Solo Crawler. So, the good thing about the first day of adventuring was the group recruited a human female thief down in the dungeon. The bad thing was the rust monster which ruined a set of chainmail and several weapons. The adventurers went back to town, sold their loot, and replaced their ruined stuff. The second day went better until they ran into a ghoul. Luckily, Steadfast the warrior made his strength saves when he was wounded. So, they did make a profit and enjoyed a long evening at the tavern to celebrate.

The Rupture document does include a two page adventure, but I did not try it. The stats for one monster are included. There is a chart for generic monster A and generic monster B.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rupture RPG: Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Solo Dungeon Crawler
Publisher: 5e Solo Gamebooks
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2021 18:09:19

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through The Solo Dungeon Crawler (1$, 2 pages available at DriveThruRPG). One way to use this is to print it off and laminate it. I left it in the computer and drew on it with Adobe Acrobat (highlighter and sticky notes). I used the Solo Crawler to generate my fantasy dungeon. The game system I used was Rupture RPG: Quick Start Guide (10 pages, free at the same place). It includes four characters and I did use them. To generate my treasure, I used my Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure book. I did use the solo engine which is included with the Solo Crawler. So, the good thing about the first day of adventuring was the group recruited a human female thief (Kara, see the attached image) down in the dungeon. The bad thing was the rust monster which ruined a set of chainmail and several weapons. The adventurers went back to town, sold their loot, and replaced their ruined stuff. The second day went better until they ran into a ghoul. Luckily, Steadfast the warrior made his strength saves when he was wounded. So, they did make a profit and enjoyed a long evening at the tavern to celebrate. Give this a try! Easy to carry!

Note: Some of the words are "fuzzy", put Paul said that he is going to fix this issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Dungeon Crawler
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Bob! Yes the fuzziness issue is definitely fixed now. The text is super sharp and should print very clearly.
The Shannavale Conflagration (a DCC Funnel)
Publisher: Zardak the Dave
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2021 23:47:55

Recently, I soloed my way through a unique funnel adventure for zero level characters called THE SHANNAVALE CONFLAGRATION (17 pages) for Dungeon Crawl Classics. I did use twelve zero level characters, but I used Castles & Crusades as the game system. If you want to use C&C, google Troll Lord Games Forum, Zero Level Characters. I used The CRG Emulator as the solo engine. All four of these items are available at DriveThruRPG.

The quest is to travel and pick up a shipment of ale and spirits for a hobbit festival, and bring it back. The 12 characters have one stagecoach, two chuckwagons, and a premium pony (I rolled the pony up on the occupation chart). Things went smoothly until they got to Wallbridge. The elven guards were being difficult. So, the adventuring group set up a camp outside of town. The next day they met some interesting people in the town, did some recruiting, and picked up the shipment. Once the chaos plan was set in motion, they started to head back to Shannavale. They were in a hurry because they made a bunch of enemies back in Wallbridge.

So, there were some accidents (the zero-level wizard was decapitated by a low tree branch). There were some protestors (half of them were friendly). There were some raiders (they were a problem). Just outside of Shannavale things really did get crazy. My newbie characters just stood there and watched (they are not suicidal). They did complete the quest and seven of them survived. This is not the usual funnel adventure. You should check it out. Good times! The attached image is of the lead horse of the stagecoach.

This document includes campaign information, an occupation chart, a chase mishap chart, stat blocks for 6 mounts, 4 enemies, and 7 other NPCs, mounted combat rules, and one map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Shannavale Conflagration (a DCC Funnel)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
So many thanks for this! I am glad you had fun and thanks for the review! I am plodding away at the next adventure But I intend to keep adding and upgrading this one. More pics, more maps. Ardanak is my other world -- and I am compelled to share it! This review is completely encouraging for me. I appreciate it so much! Stay tuned for updates to your download, Bob! G'day, Zardak the Dave
Inferno - Quickstart
Publisher: Amazing Tales
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2021 13:42:05

Recently I soloed my way through Inferno Quickstart (for several players and one game master, free at DriveThruRPG). I did use the four characters that are in this module of Victorian fiction. I also added one more character, Sheila the Hedge Fey. To solo this I used the CRGE Emulator.

In the first scene, the four main characters are able to calm the crowd and discover the source of the problem (bomb). In the second scene, there is a ballroom dance at the Prussian Embassy. They invite Sheila to this. The Sky Pirate Robur (secondary villain) wants to dance with Jemima, but he ends up dancing with Sheila. She manages to get him alone and kill him. She tries to escape the embassy, gets captured, and the authorities take her downtown for questioning. The third scene is the Crystal Tower. The four characters are sneaky and get on board the sky ship at the top. The fourth scene is where the characters sabotage the air ship. It crashes. No one is killed or hurt. At this point, the main villain, Hans von Spark is arrested. Game over. A win! The attached image is of Sheila (artist – C. J. Beazley).

This quickstart is 84 pages. It has a unique system that uses decks of regular playing cards. An adventure is set up in scenes and players have to solve challenges. So, this system is good for rebels VS the empire. If you were going to do a dungeon crawl, the DM would have to set it up with challenges, traps, and puzzles, not lots of rooms filled with monsters. Give this a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inferno - Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Bob! Glad you enjoyed the game, and thanks for sharing your experience with it.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 165 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates