Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Chronicles of Arax - Artifacts and Relics
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:44:50

This does the same for Artifacts and Relics as the expanded Equipment list did for equipment. That is, a must if you want to play the game. I only hope that they will make quest specific lists for powerful items so you can walk away from a quest with a unique item.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Artifacts and Relics
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - The Dark Citadel
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:40:58

Another fun quest in two parts (2 x 20 paragraphs). The only thing I miss is a dedicated Artifacts and Relics table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - The Dark Citadel
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Equipment
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:38:40

This product greatly expand on the equipment you can use in the game, so if intend to play more than the intro quest it is a must. I really liked the easy way it puts a limit on availability on different items. You have to roll over a certain number on a D10 (depending on the item) to find it in the shop, more potent items needing a higher roll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Battle Wizard
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:34:43

This new character starts pretty weak but grows powerful as is standard in fantasy RPG. Both new characters are well thought out and have their own twists and play very differently. I can't wait till I see more of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Battle Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Knight of the Steel Fist
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:31:45

This is a heavy melee fighter with some restrictions as he can't use any magic except weapons, armor and potions. Looslely based on the knightly orders of the Crusades he comes with a warhorse, usable in the latest quest. Good value at $1.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Knight of the Steel Fist
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Character Sheet
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 14:27:11

A standard character sheet that really should have been included in the core rules. But it is free (as is the core rules) so it is OK.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2011 16:42:37

This is a very simple solo fighting game with a very elegant playing system. Just the right thing to play when you have a few minutes to spare.

You start with what is a pregenerated character (more are available separately) and play the intro adventure included in the rules. The rules themselves are just 5 pages long, the rest of the PDF are lists of equipment et al and the adventure.

The adventure consists of 20 paragrafs which encounter in a semirandomized manner that works very well.

I must say I like the game, because it is an simpel and very playable game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

World of Men - Ranger Infantry
Publisher: Grimoire
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2009 08:57:38

Those paper minis just get better and better. A lower price for 3 distinct variations of a basic figure is a bargain. This figure is a little bit more fiddly to build than the Orc and the other human warrior as there are more and smaller parts, but not harder than the disappearing ratman. I am hoping for many more releases like this.

The only thing I find hard to build is the base, so I use foamboard and just fold the top of printed base down the sides. it is much easier and gives a stable platform.

And by the way, what happened to the Skaven ?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Men - Ranger Infantry
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your reviews :-) Yes, this figure is ranked 3, which I've reserved for minis with multiple parts or fiddly cutting out. In the case of the Ranger Infantry the latter applies. Good question about the Skaven. As far as I knew they were still out there wreaking havoc. Apparently not. I'll have a word with the RPG Now technical people and find out where they've gone. Thanks for raising the issue. David
Pulp Miniatures - Skaven Skum
Publisher: Grimoire
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2009 03:55:08

Those paper minis are just getting better and better. This Skaven is the best so far. Brilliant colours and it is possible to build several variations. It is a little bit more complicated than the first two. For a dollar it is great value for your money. The only thing I can complain on is that there is only one head variation.

Anyway it is a great leap forward and great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Miniatures - Skaven Skum
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pulp Miniatures - Vangard Platoon
Publisher: Grimoire
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2009 15:09:10

I had this product before my old computer crashed. Now I bought it again and was pleasantly surprised, a much lower price and and 3 new variations of the figure. And better colours. The figures are a little fiddly to build but are definitely worth the trouble. I like them and bought the orcs as well, so I have no problems in recommending them if you like building paper models. Are there more figures coming? I hope so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Miniatures - Vangard Platoon
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review Goran. Yes, there are more figures in the pipeline. Two more, hopefully, for this month, spare time allowing. Skaven and elven archer. If there's a particular miniature you'd like to see, please feel free to send me suggestions (email link on the splash page of the assembly instructions).
Steel and Glory, Set 2, Mini-Game #46
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2007 00:00:00

In this review I will go through the components in Steel & Glory set. I know I should have started with this but I liked the combat system so much so I just had to start with that. Please see my review of set 1.

Basicly there are four different sort of pieces. Rules, character cards, counters and battle tiles.

  1. The RULES. They are short easy to understand and to the point. 13 pages long and plenty of illustrations and examples so the actual text may be about 7 or 8 pages long. It also includes some very useful tips on how to assemble the different game components and 3 basic scenarios. Total lenght including everything is 19 pages. Oh, by the way in this set 2 you will get 8 each of Elves and human Barbarians as well as 4 independent characters, called Solos in the game. The elves are deadly but fragile and the barbarians are deadly up close.

  2. CHARACTER CARDS. They are printed on a pink-grey marbled background, sounds corny I know but it actually works out very well giving a good contrast both for the text and the illustrations. The cards have both front and back so you have to glue them together, and lo they will fit into a standard card sleeve. On the front there is an illustration of the character as well as all the combat stats and the back have the information on the modifications weapons and armor will give. And of course, all the special abilities the characters have. The design of the cards is well thought out and works well.

  3. COUNTERS. Are round or elongated in different sizes and the character picture from card is repeated on them. Actually it is rather tediuos to cut them out, but well worth the labour if you mount them on thick cardboard. There are no combat stats on the counters so you have to refer to the character cards for that. There are also smaller counters detaling different game effects.

  4. BATTLE TILE. The grass (green) tile in this set is much better than the dirt (light brown) in set 1. It is still a chess board but not so glaringly obvious as the dirt one. And it is much more pleasing to the eye. So this is quite an improvement. And the rock one in set 3 is really good.

In conclusion, this set is just as good as set 1, and the included battle tile is better.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steel and Glory, Set 2, Mini-Game #46
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, once again you have given a good overview of the game's value (Gee, we may have to hire you to write all of our reviews, you seem to do better ones then the staff here does) As to round counters, while we know they are a pain to cut out, in the long run we have found that round counters just last longer. Square edged counters after a very short period of time, tend to have the corners bent and or the glued on image peeling off. This does not happen as soon with round counters, if at all. So for those of you that hate the roundness, just think of the time and money we are saving you by forcing you to cut out round counters instead. As always, have a good time and play a good game with a good friend.
Steel and Glory, Set 1, Mini-Game #45
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Goran S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2007 00:00:00

I really like this game. It compares well to a similar skirmish game from a much bigger game producer

In this first set you get 20 different character cards, eight each of humans and orc & goblins, and then 4 ?solos? that are magical beasts and monsters. You also get a battle tiles with some moveable terrain and the rules of course. The cards hold all the information you need to be able to play the characters.

The combat resolution is fast as you only need one die roll to find out if you hit and how much damage you do. The characters are varied as there are five different stats plus health. And that is before you add the the special skill that really define the different races. In this first set there are humans and orcs and goblins. The humans seem to be pretty average and solid and the orcs and goblins are highly variable. The goblins are weak but fast and the orcs strong but easy to hit. The ogre and the troll are big and tough but slow and clumsy and have trouble hitting their foe.

Each character is defined by 9 different variables:

Attack, the only one that should be as LOW as possible. Defence Strength Speed, some characters can act two or even three times in a round. Movement Andrenal, defines how many times the special abilities can be used. Will, that is morale. Health, how many hit points the character has. Special Abilities, that is all the special moves and attacks the character can do at the cost of adrenal points. This is one of the really strong points in the game.

Combat is easy. You take the attackers attack stat and add it to the defenders defence stat, modify for weapon and sometimes armour. The number you get is what you have to roll over with usually two D6 and every point over the number is one damage point. When a characters runs out of hit points it is dead. Armour and special abilities can modify this as well.

The art on the cards and counters, I must say I like the delicate, almost fragile look. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The combat system, that alone makes this game worth buying.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The only thing I didn't like about this game is the combat tile, it looks more like a chess board than some terrain. It will certainly do what is intended for though.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steel and Glory, Set 1, Mini-Game #45
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, you got a good handle on the combat system and described it for everyone with a easy to follow example. We tried to make a system that is both fun and fast to play, but which can be learned or taught with little difficulty. While Steel and Glory may not be as expansive, or detailed as some table-top systems, its much cheaper, and far more easy to carry around. As to the Battle Tiles, yes they have a chessboard feel, but we wanted to make it easy for players to see what and where they needed to go and the like. You can of course turn the system into a table-top game, or even use other publishers 2-D tiles, E-Adventure tiles by Skeleton Key are great and easy to use, and far better then what we have provided with the game. Regardless of what you use, we hope you enjoy the game and look at the other sets in the system which will expand the game with Dwarfs, Undead, Barbarians, Elves and then a lots of monster and magic. In the future we will be producing more sets with more races, more characters for the core factions and more tiles. As always, have a good time and play a good game.
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates