Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Fistful of Lead: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Jaye Wiley
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2019 13:45:30

Easy to learn and fun to play. Much less convoluted than some other "simple" rules. Scenarios can be designed for any period of history or fantasy/sci-fi. Player creativity encouraged.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fistful of Lead: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Irregular Wars: Conflict At The Worlds End v2.0
Publisher: Vexillia
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2016 18:20:48

I like these rules. Tim and Ronald have pretty much said it all.

I think Neil'scomment on "holding attention" is largly up to a scenario or campaign designer. For example, some armies might have an "army break" morale dependent on the over all situation. A small force that might find it difficult to retreat back to a safe place (fairly common with small forces in a new land) might accept 60 or 80% (in stands or unit points) losses before losing a battle while local forces with many safe locations to withdraw to might only take 40 or 50% losses before saying "you win for now but we'll be back".

Irregular Wars covers 200 years with a worldwide view. The history is too large to include in a simple set of rules. It's really up to a scenario or campaign designer to create an interest. These rules provide a good foundation to work with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Irregular Wars: Conflict At The Worlds End v2.0
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

1676 Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Jade Tower Studio
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2016 20:37:24

Nice rules covering a conflict usually missed by gamers. Probably the best chance Native Americans had to eject Europeans from New England.

Rules could use more editing but work well and are fun.

Mad Dogs & Englishmen supplement adds alternate Native & colonist forces, some beliefs of the time, witches, Native mythological beings, and 4 "regular" European forces: British, Dutch, French, & Spanish.

Needs only some artillery to portray some of the worldwide conflicts these powers got involved in during the 1600 wars of exploration and trade.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1676 Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review, Charles! I agree completely about the editing. If you have any edits or suggestions, please send them to me - I'll give you credit, of course. We playtested artillery rules, but didn't include them in the final version because they aren't as "fast play" as the rest of the rules. I'd like to make rules for artillery (and maybe simple naval rules) - again, if you have any ideas about artillery rules, please let me know. Kind regards, Rob Lusk blaheee@gmail.com
Thank you for the review, Charles! I agree completely about the editing. If you have any edits or suggestions, please send them to me - I'll give you credit, of course. We playtested artillery rules, but didn't include them in the final version because they aren't as "fast play" as the rest of the rules. I'd like to make rules for artillery (and maybe simple naval rules) - again, if you have any ideas about artillery rules, please let me know. Kind regards, Rob Lusk blaheee@gmail.com
Panzer Flats Common Base [BUNDLE]
Publisher: StrikeNet Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2016 14:15:05

Excellent value. Wish all ths had been available a couuple of decades ago.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Panzer Flats Common Base [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Trench Storm
Publisher: Nordic Weasel Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2016 02:56:12

Trench Storm is a nice interpretation of company/battion level WW I, subsequent civil wars and disorders. The rules can apply to both trench and open warfare without becoming too detailed or excessively abstract. The author understands the period and provides easy rules for extending the game to playing a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trench Storm
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Battles Before Time
Publisher: Jade Tower Studio
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2016 08:00:00

A fun, tongue in cheek game demonstrating why we are superior to other pre-modern humanoids (huh?).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battles Before Time
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

A Fistfull of Miniatures 2E Basic PDF
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2016 09:13:15

I played the fantasy version long ago and like this historical update. The "advanced' rules mentioned would be interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Fistfull of Miniatures 2E Basic PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Queen and Planet Core Rules + Boxer Rebellion Supplemen [BUNDLE]
Publisher: First Command Wargames
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2016 03:27:13

Not played yet but my impression is that games with 1 or 2 "commands" per side would be the most played because of the many movement, fire, close combat, and morale modifiers that will probably slow the game. The VSF options are a nice, easy adaption for Sci-fi for those interested.

There are some interesting rule mechanics but I think a QRS would be quite large due to the many action modifiers.

I especially like the scenarios for Rise of the Mahdi and the Boxer rebellion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Queen and Planet Core Rules + Boxer Rebellion Supplemen [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Imperial War
Publisher: HinterWelt
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2016 03:08:13

Imperial War is a good strategic level game playable in an hour. Some thought about your position on the map and the cards in your hand suggest your options. Very good examples of game turn.

The map is simple and could easily adapted to other periods as could the "whims of the gods" be converted to other period significant events.

One player suggested that the game could be used as the strategic background for a battle (board or miniature) game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial War
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates