Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Book of Random Tables: Modern
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:19:34

Of all of this author's products, I have probably used this one the most. I find myself running games set in the "normal" world more and more often. This is a great tool that makes filling the modern world with fun information that makes my games much more immersive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mage: the Awakening - second edition / Spellcasting guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:13:34

This is one of the single most useful things anybody playing Mage can use at their table. Spellcasting is the most central, but also most complicated aspect of the game. Being able to fit all the information onto a single, double sided page is brilliant. I couldn't ever think of running a game of Mage and not having this available for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: the Awakening - second edition / Spellcasting guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Gun Locker : A Genesys Android Shadow of the Beanstalk Firearms Catalogue
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:05:47

One of the only things lacking in the Shadow of the Beanstalk core book is the selection of equipment. I love the way this supplement puts all of the weapons together and adds a lot of new ones as well. Having a catalogue for my players to look through has enhanced my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gun Locker : A Genesys Android Shadow of the Beanstalk Firearms Catalogue
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cybernetics & G-Mods - A Body Modification catalogue for use with ANDROID: SHADOW OF THE BEANSTALK
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 15:01:08

Cyberpunk/Sci-Fi settings can always use more equipement and modification lists. It's my only problem with the base Shadow of the Beanstalk book. This supplement adds a lot of really cool ways to enhance your character. The only reason I knocked it down from 5 to 4 stars is because this book reprints some cybernetics and g-mods that are already available in the core book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cybernetics & G-Mods - A Body Modification catalogue for use with ANDROID: SHADOW OF THE BEANSTALK
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Superverse (SUPERS! Revised)
Publisher: TGI
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 14:54:25

I'm leaving this review as somebody who will probably never actually run a game wholesale set in the Superver Univserse. With that said; I found the ideas, mechanics, and art totally worth the price. All of the stat blocks and characters are written in a really unique way that I haven't seen from some other products. As I was reading through the book it really got my imagination turning. I really loved the way this book created new advantages, disadvantages, boosts, complications, etc. for the characters. It showed me ways of buildings powers and characters I never thought of before. It also showed me really unique ways of using the SUPERS! RED rules to build really engaging, but not overly complicated scenes and encounters. The art was absolutely great and I love just flipping through the book to see the different pieces.

My only major complaint is around some of the mechanics near the end of the book. Specifically the way the last encounter is handled with Malephon. It was very overwhelming to read how this encounter is supposed to take place. The author even created multiples tables and charts just to manage all of the moving parts. It was mainly for the reason I didn't lower my score. It does seem to be areally cool and epic finale. But upon first reading it's the only thing in the book that made me step back and say to myself "woah, this is a little much."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Superverse (SUPERS! Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Worlds of Android
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2021 14:34:32

I really enjoyed reading this book. The art is absolutely gorgeous and I find this book an invaluable resource for my Shadows of the Beanstalk Genesys games. If I had to pick the biggest reason why I enjoy this setting over some of the other cyberpunk and sci-fi media that's avaible. It would have to be just how "good" this future is. This setting seems like a more modern take on the future technological dystopia when compared to other similar worlds. That's not to say that there aren't problems; but the approach on technology, privacy, corporate, and governemnt influence seems much more realistic. For the middle class, life is actually pretty good. Everything you could ever want is just a click away. As long as you don't care about privacy or freedom.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Worlds of Android
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2021 09:57:06

This book provided exactly what I've been looking for. I've seen homebrew wealth rules posted in the Genesys community before and I find they're usually over complicated or not well explained. I'm also a visual learner; so seeing this formatted like a normal Genesys book made it a lot easier to grasp. This will most likely become the staple wealth system for all of my Genesys games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hope Prep School Freshman Handbook - Genesys Edition
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2019 19:52:29

I would like to preface my review by saying; I loved this setting, but hate the mechanics. The actual setting that is described within this PDF is really good. A lot of time, energy, and care went into creating all the lore within this book. The fact that each teacher was given a syllabus for their class room was amazing. I really enjoyed reading about how the different sports teams work, and it was very easy to read. The author made a great decision by designing this as a student's handbook; it sucked me in immediately. The notes and comments from other students were also really well done. I am currently planning to run my next super hero game using this setting, but it won't be with Genesys. I'm going to be using it with a different system.

Almost all of the mechanics section of this book was done either very lazily or just very poorly. It really feels like the author took a great setting and just bolted on Genesys as an after-thought. This book adds 0 new archetypes, it just tells the reader to Use any balanced Archetype from the Genesys Core Rulebook or from other sources." This really struck a negative chord with me and sets the tone for the rest of the mechanics section. The new skills are poorly explained and very unbalanced. There are way too many knowledge skills and the Power skill is not well balanced. All super powers using the same skill is extremely broken and all supers end up looking very similar. It's the reason that base Genesys breaks up the combat skills. The way the magic skills (Arcana, Divine, & Primal) are handled in this book are also extremely confusion and feel tacked on, especially because implements are removed and are really important for the way magic works.

The only things I like from the mechanics sections are how the super powers are constructed and how Cliques replace Careers. Using the magic system to build super powers and tying it to a talent works great. I really liked the idea of Cliques and that changing from one Clique to another could actually change your career skills. This really sparked my imagination and thought it was very creative. I just wish the rest of the mechanics were as good and interesting.

In summery; This is a great setting and I will be running it. Unfortunately I won't be using any of the Genesys mechanics presented in this book. The Genesys mechanics feel like they were added with the absolute barest minimum of effort possible. The only reason I'm not rating this lower is because I loved the setting so much. It feels like this was made for a different system and the Genesys logo was added to reprint it and make some extra cash with little effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Hope Prep School Freshman Handbook - Genesys Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Publisher: Angry Games, Inc.
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 20:02:10

I love the author's humor and his advice has become invaluable at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Angry: How to RPG The Angry Way
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dungeons for the Master
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 21:04:02

This is probably one of the single best resources I own as a Game Master. This book gives almost everything a GM needs to create a complete adventure for a night of fun. You can pick any of the 177 maps and just roll randomly to fill the adventure with tons of unique and interesting encounters and events. The level of creativity the author went into is truly mind blowing to me. Whether I want to just throw together an adventure for the evening, or want to spice up a detailed campaign this book is extremely useful. The reasonable price is an added bonus as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons for the Master
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Book of Random Tables
Publisher: dicegeeks
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 20:51:05

I've been a follower of the Dicegeeks newsletter for a long time and have nothing but positive remarks about the author and his creations. This very well priced book saves me a ton of time at my gaming table. While being able to randomly roll for content is part of the fun of these tables; they also serve as great inspiration for a scene. Sometimes I'll just go down the list and it helps inspire me to create much more immersive and interactive adventure settings. This book also helped expand my vocabulary with some of the items I found inside.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Random Tables
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Age Past: The Incian Sphere Revised Power Cards (APISRpc)
Publisher: Strange Machine Games
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 22:44:14

These cards serve as an excellent addition to any table running Age Past. Some of the powers have different ways of being uses, and these serve as a great aid to any character. It's also MUCH less expensive and more customizable than what other RPG games/companies charge for the same kind of item.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age Past: The Incian Sphere Revised Power Cards (APISRpc)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Age Past: The Incian Sphere Revised Edition (APISR)
Publisher: Strange Machine Games
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 22:33:35

I've played a few other RPG systems D&D (3.5, 4, & 5th Editions), Pathfinder, Star Wars D20, All 3 Fantasy Flight Games Star Wars RPG books, Hero System, etc. I've been playing with the old edition of Age Past for over a year now; mostly on & off with one-time adventures with my friends. I decided to try my hand at being a GM and picked Age Past: The Incian Sphere as my first attempt at creating my own campaign. I truly fell in love with this system as my time as GM. My campaign ran for a little over a year with the same core 6 players at our local Comic/Game shop. It was one of the most fun times I've ever had playing tabletop; the Age Past system allows for a nearly limitless amount of creativity without being overly complicated. One of the easiest parts for both my players and I was being able to easily solve mechanical problems and come up with creative solutions. In all of the other systems I mentioned we would have to occasionally open up the rule book in the middle of a session to try and solve the whacky and creative antics my players would get into. But the rule system for Age Past leaves enough wiggle room to solve these same problems without having to slow down the table by flipping through the rule book. It has a similar amount of creative freedom as Hero System, but with way less complexity.

This is where the Revised Edition has blown the old edition out of the water. The creator Jeff Mechlinski has done an amazing job at keeping the open ended nature of Age Past but making the rules even simpler. I currently have a new campign starting in a week using the APISR and I couldn't be more excited. For those that have played D&D; imagine the perfect marriage that was 5e. How it took great elements from 3.5e, but streamlined the rules. APISR does this in a similar fashion; all of the freedom for both players and the GM remain intact, but the mechanics are a lot more streamlined and easier to execute.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age Past: The Incian Sphere Revised Edition (APISR)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates