Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Greece, Rome & The Celtic Nations: The History Of Dress, Arms & Tools Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:29:51

While this one has considerably more art than most of the others that came with the bundle I got. It's essentially images ripped from some other book that clearly had more information that this doesn't. This one doesn't infuriate me as much as the others as it has more than one page. (Quite a few of the others I had didn't.) It's not bad, but it's not good either as there's not any descriptions of what you're looking at. I'm more interested to find the book this was taken from, as it probably would have the descriptions attached to give more insight into the costumes, arms, and tools. And in all likelihood it's probably considerably cheaper...

Word of advise, you're better off googling these costumes and consulting wikipedia. Sadly this just isn't anywhere near as useful as it could be, and should be.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Greece, Rome & The Celtic Nations: The History Of Dress, Arms & Tools Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Egypt, Africa & Asia: The History Of Dress, Arms & Tools Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:19:24

A series of (likely stolen) images on various cultures from ancient Africa, Egypt, and the near-East. No labels, no descriptions, just page after page of images that are clearly from other books. Not worth the price. Google images and Wikipedia will get you a lot more, save your time and money and don't buy this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Egypt, Africa & Asia: The History Of Dress, Arms & Tools Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Greco-Roman: National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:12:02

One of the better products in this series, but that's not really saying a lot. Thankfully this one consists of more than a single page unlike most in the series. It suffers from the same problem most of them do with no descriptions, labels, or information. Also the images are from various artists, which makes me think that the artwork may be stolen. This has the feel of something that was slapped-together from google images and compiled into a product designed to scam people out of their money.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Greco-Roman: National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Rome: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:05:55

This is a single page of 'clipart' that has a smattering of various Roman armors and uniforms with no labels, no descriptions, etc. There's also not one civilian or female roman outfit as well. And be warned, most of this 'reference' series is just as awful with the better ones not being all that good either.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Rome: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Greece: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:03:21

This is just a single page with a bunch of random Greek drawings on it, with only one civilian outfit, and covering almost entirely military garb such as armor, spears, etc, it's far from comprehensive. To make matters worse there's no descriptions, labels, etc. So you're just buying overpriced clipart that you can't use for anything.

Save yourself the money, visit wikipedia or google images...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Greece: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Egypt & The East: National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 06:01:08

Compared to the other products in this series, this one's actually got enough to make it a okay reference. Not a good one, or a great one, mind you, just okay. It lacks any info, descriptions, labels, etc. to make it truly useful, but considering it's more than one page (most of the products in this series aren't) it earns the $3 pricetag a bit more than the others.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Egypt & The East: National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient European Tribes: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 05:58:56

Like a lot of the other products in this collection, the meat of this product is a single page that has various costumes on it. Not a single women's outfit, and not enough to justify the $3 price. There's no labels, no other info, just some overpriced clipart that you can't use for anything.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient European Tribes: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ancient Gaul: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Publisher: Matomaton
by Philip S.
Date Added: 05/30/2019 05:56:43

I thought this was going to be some sort of reference with information. What I got was a single page of pictures, with no text, no labels, etc. There's not even a comprehensive amount of images to really span the scope of ancient Gaullic society. It's not a useful product, and it's certainly not worth the $3 pricetag. This is essentially buying a page of clipart that you can't use for anything.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Gaul: Large Format National Dress & Period Costume Reference Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dwarves III Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2012 18:15:58

As always, this set is of high quality that one comes to expect from Arion. This features mostly dwarven warriors wielding pole-arms like halberds and axes (as one would expect from dwarves). Also featured is a dwarf berserker that reminds me very much of the demon hunters from Warhammer fantasy. While not an especially big fan of dwarves, I do like the detail, and can certainly appreciate the surprising amount of variety in the figures here, yet they are generic enough to use as standard NPC's in any game. Last but not least, I couldn't help but smile at the inclusion of the cannon (which I'd say looks like a small bombard due to the size of the barrel itself) and a mortar, which is especially useful for those playing Warhammer Fantasy or are a fans of artillery like myself.

Even not being a fan of dwarves, I found nothing bad to say about this one. It's quite simply another well-done work by Arion games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dwarves III Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Murphy's World
Publisher: Peregrine
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2012 17:23:37

This Role Playing game is nothing short of an instant classic. With a great wit, loads of personality, and a setting that's absolutely hilarious, this is an RPG for anyone who wants to take a step off the well-beaten path. This setting is a wonderful comedic fantasy that is very addictive and will create moments that will live on for years and years afterwards for players. It's a very simple system, and is very open and flowing, made to keep from having the rules get in the way of a good time. With this game you'll turn conventional role-playing on it's head, and have a blast doing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murphy's World
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

SciFi Assault Squad Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2012 19:02:42

Very awesome work, with an excellent assortment of firepower, comes with armored vehicles and is especially great for Aliens-style RPG with dark industrial sci fi. As with all the other Sci-Fi sets I've bought, these are versatile, well made, and always make the tabletop much more exciting for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SciFi Assault Squad Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Skeletons x 10 paper minis 3D
Publisher: Mega Miniatures
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2012 15:25:53

Altogether a very decent deal. Not bad for the price at all. As other reviewers have stated, this is good if you want a good number of skeletons on short notice. The bases are a solid black color, but if you're like me, I replace the solid black base with my own textures in Photoshop, and since I have paper miniatures printed on card-stock at Office Max at $0.66 a page, even if the miniatures are dark, it's not a problem for me. So as far as I'm concerned, the finished product looks very appealing, and for $0.50 this is well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skeletons x 10 paper minis 3D
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Crusaders II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2012 16:28:50

As always with Arion games, the attention to detail is impressive, and the selection is excellent too. I can't wait to put these to use. Admittedly there are a few slight historical inconsistencies, such as the shield the Templar would actually use would be solid white with a black band on the very top... However, these are only slight and aren't really much of an issue for most players, as most wouldn't even notice or know any better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crusaders II Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Utopian Sci-Fi Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 14:14:23

As always, these are of a very good quality to be expected of Arion's works.

(PS, I've lost my username and password to your site, could you e-mail it to me again? I'd be very appreciative)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Utopian Sci-Fi Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Post-Apocalyptic Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Philip S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2012 09:59:35

Admittedly, I had high hopes for this, being a massive fan of Fallout, Mad Max, The Postman, and many, many other Post-Apocalyptic settings. I'd had my sights set on acquiring this one for a good while. After all, Arion's top-notch quality meant it had to be good. And for the most part, it was.

I was a little disappointed for the fact that a good number of the road warrior minis are actually repeats... However, the amazing selection of vehicles featured in here of all types, sizes, shapes, and even a swamp-boat did manage to win me over in the end. So all-in-all, I've given this one a 4/5, it wasn't the quality I'd normally expect from Arion, but it certainly wasn't bad enough to give a three... So even though I was a little disappointed, I do hope Arion comes out with a Post-Apocalyptic II.

A final note, this set has 8-or-so different and very interesting vehicles. And would make for a great "Mad Max" style setting, as that seems to be the biggest influence on it. Even if the miniatures are repetitive, if you love post-apocalyptic car-battles, this one is a must-have for the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post-Apocalyptic Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates