Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Black Pudding #4
Publisher: Random Order Creations
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 22:24:54

This is totally worth it to drop some money to pay the creator for a wonderful product. I paid the suggested $2.00, but it's worth so much more than that. James V. West has created a super fun collection of zines so far, but this one blows them all out of the water. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gnolls: Army Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 20:19:14

I have been waiting for this set for a long time because I was so impressed with the artist's innovative character designs and slick character design. It's hard to re-invent the wheel and gnolls are difficult to fit to a unique style without making them look not-so-gnolly. Hard work and raw talent has created a set of paper minis that will be a joy to plunk down on the table and flay the skin off the player characters. They are wackily hilarious, delightfully cute and terrifying menacing at the very same time. This is a very well done set of paper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gnolls: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Non-Human Player Codex for Swords & Wizardry Complete
Publisher: Old Lingolf House
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2018 09:16:42

This is a really useful resource for Swords and WIzardry. One thing that I really like are the Optional Traits to make the core race-as-class Classes interesting and add flavour. It's no fun having two Elves in a game and they just seem like carbon copies of each other. This makes it more interesting for sure. There is also a great Further Reading section letting you know where to fine playable Half-Giants, Vampires, etc. Full disclosure: my Darkfast Classic Fantasy Class Compendium is listed as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Non-Human Player Codex for Swords & Wizardry Complete
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

White Lies
Publisher: DwD Studios
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2017 12:48:33

I keep going back to this book because it has so many wonderful ideas that inspire me in everything from my modern spy campaigns to my OSR classic fantasy game. It's totally worth it. I have the print copy because it is handy to pass around the table during a game. Great character classes and tables.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Lies
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savages Settlements: Small Huts
Publisher: Papierschnitzel
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2017 07:51:59

There are so many options here it's wonderful. I can't wait to use this for Cavemaster. The ground tiles are worth the price of admission alone. Another excellent product by Papier Schnitzel!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savages Settlements: Small Huts
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Black Pudding #1
Publisher: Random Order Creations
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 19:43:56

This is an excellent and fun product. It makes the 16 year old in me want to play D&D (Labyrinth Lord) again. It would be great fun to run a campaign with all the classes in this zine. As fun as this is, it is a meaty product with lots and lots of play valure. I'm looking forward to more Black Pudding! How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2016 14:00:11

The wait for this was well worth it. Having a Swords and Wizardry White Box game with all the bells and whistles of WWII is an exciting prospect. The book itself is well organized and provides excellent advice on running a military campaign. Of special note was the advice on historical accuracy and limiting the scope of adventures so the Referee is not overwhelmed by the amount of detail that could bog them down. I think this is great advice for campaigns in any historical setting.

Overall, a wonderful game. I may throw in some schmeisser carrying orcs in my next Swords and Wizardry campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks, David! If the Orcstaffel makes an appearance, be sure to let us know! :)
Ultimate Elementals Paper Miniatures
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2016 16:13:03

Just WONDERFULLY realized paper minis. Everything about them is fun and they will add so much to my fantasy and even superhero and sci fi games.

One quibble is the lack of variety in summoners. I would think a real opportunity was missed here making them all the same. I would also like to print off just one of each of the 12 minis in the set instead of full pages of each element. I just think I will use one of each. Maybe a frugal page or two for those who are stingy with the ink.

Overall, a MUST BUY!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Elementals Paper Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tools of the Worldshapers
Publisher: DYS Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2016 12:13:15

Great content, but a bit uninspired with layout. A few more examples that seem connected and help build some kind of setting would have helped. The art ranges from excellent to not so excellent and seems a bit uneven. I was hoping for more information on what I saw on the cover (an evocative image just screaming for some kind of fluffy development).

Overall, well worth it and a great addition to White Star. Really I'd say this is 4.5 stars with a half star removed for uneven art and a somewhat bland presentation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tools of the Worldshapers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind review! You aren\'t the only one to comment on the layout. As I\'m still new to this, do you have any recommendations on improvements? I\'ll admit that layout is my weak point. Art is hard to source. And expensive when you do! The cover is a Powered Armor suit being built. I didn\'t want this to connect to a setting per se as I wanted this as a toolkit rather than something more limited in that way. My last book that was more connected to a pseudo-setting (Relics of the Akashics), while fun to write, didn\'t sell nearly as well as my pure crunch books.
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition: Return to Merlantis
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2016 11:26:29

First off... there is SO much in this set to love.

It's a complete system that is easy to pick up and has been lovingly playtested and developed over a long period of time. Everything from blasters and vehicles to monsters and aliens! It can do anything!

You get some pretty amazing game tiles for gaming. That alone makes this worth picking up from many gamers. I could see an awesome James Bond adventure with the tiles making up the big bad's base.

The minis are so fun! There is an anthropomorphic panda that is just amazing. It's my new favourite.

Top down counters for monsters speed up the process and make it faster to get playing the game.

All this and BLANK CARDS too. This lets you make custom characters to play the game.

Another great set from Grey Matter Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition:  Return to Merlantis
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Thorus: Lord Of The Super Gods
Publisher: Nemo Publishing
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 22:23:22

Do you like comics about cosmic adventure with a rich story in a well realized setting? This is the comic for you. The art is elegant and retro and the story is mythic with a touch of space opera and a dash of Kirby. Doctor Bigfoot is my new favourite thing! Doctor Bigfoot! There is a hint here at something much bigger to come and it is a great start to a fantastic adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thorus: Lord Of The Super Gods
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2015 15:49:52

This is a VERY fun set from Grey Matter Games! First off, the attention to detail with the product is brilliant, everything from the font choice for the front cover to the choices made to make the princesses 'playable' in a fantasy setting. The minis themselves are a great addition to any superhero to fantasy game. It would be really fun to see a "minion" set building up forces for each princess. There could be cold themed beasts, sea creatures, etc. to suit the background of each character. It's nice to see the artist getting back into hand drawn figures. His style really shines here and he has allowed himself to loosen up and create something very fun and cartoony.
Great Product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2015 00:28:21

As an avid player of Labyrinth Lord, I have always relied on Barrel Rider Games products to expand my campaign, but maintain the spirit of old school gaming. I had heard about White Box for Swords and Wizardry on the Save or Die podcast and was intrigued enough to download it and teach it to kids who were eager to run their own games. I was impressed by how fast everything went and how old school it felt. Fast forward to White Star, the science fiction equivalent of White Box. I picked this up as soon as it was released. My first game was on May fourth so it had some strong Star Wars elements including a down and out Star Knight and a galactic empire invading planets. We made characters and had our first adventure in no time. The game allows for lots of familiar character options with the classes and races. Many pop culture aliens and characters are emulated using these rules, much in the same way D&D emulated the works of Lieber, Vance and Howard. In a real sandbox approach my group created a Star Knight, a Lizard man warrior, a robot dog and a human mercenary. In an attempt to get the Star Knight to a set location there was a battle on the waterfront, an alien invasion, fancy flying, stowaways, Space Ogres, Anime Magical Girls and so much more.. on just the first night and in a fun and playful sandbox approach that is difficult to pull off with more cumbersome systems. My group of 30+ years loved it and I have lots of cool ideas just skimming the rulebook. I know much more will be released and I am keen to get in on the action myself. Great book! I love the simplicity and fun this game brings to the table. Adventure details available here: http://okumarts.tumblr.com/post/118179239713/i-got-to-play-white-star-tonight-very-fun



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Mercenaries
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2014 20:20:48

This set has a great mix of character types. I could see using these minis in a Fantasy RPG or even a steampunk or superhero genre game. I really love how 816-XC dominates the other figures. He is just a force to be reckoned with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Mercenaries
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition: THE PORTAL
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2014 09:00:24

I like how everything seamlessly fits together with this game. The vehicle rules are a nice addition to the core set. I want to run a wizards vs apocalyptic wasteland mutant game now. This is a great idea that is well executed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition:  THE PORTAL
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates