Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
 
$1.65
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 7
0 4
2 3
0 0
0 0
0one\'s Blueprints: The Citadel
Click to view
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 12:29:44

Billed as a 'small' citadel, I think it's actually quite a spacious one, suitable for whatever political intrigues or bloody insurrections you may have in mind. The introductory material covers the customisation possible (showing or hiding fill, numbers, grid, and furniture) and presents a legend for map symbols - and also suggests that the grid be taken as 20' squares as the place is large! There are also some ideas for how the citadel can feature in your game. This might be the centre of a larger town, or a stand-alone and self-sufficient outpost. It's on a river (or sea shore) with a dock, as well as stables, a forge, inns, and other necessities.

The first plan shows ground level, the second shows the upper level, and the third the rooftops (perfect for parkour...). There are two further plans, one showing the caverns underneath, part of which has been altered to form a dungeon complete with cells, the other presents a sewer system.

There are well over an hundred rooms to play with. The temple is massive, either whoever rules here is quite fanatical about their deity or maybe this is the base of a religious rather than secular power. Although the introduction talks about stables, a forge, and drinking establishments, most of the chambers are able to be assigned as you wish - there are some obvious stables with rows of stalls.

The main courtyard boasts a massive structure which could be a flamboyant podium or memorial of some kind. Maybe this is where whoever is in charge holds audience, on dry days! There's accommodation, a cloister, halls, two entrances, and a smaller courtyard that has a gated entrance to the larger main one.

There's a lot to play with here. Have fun designing the centre of power for a faith or an area of your campaign world - or have even more fun gifting it to your party when they reach a resonable level or pull off an amazing feat that deserves reward, and watch them making it over as they wish (and then, of course, invade!). It's an unusual edifice, yet one replete with potential to do something quite unique!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2008 00:55:26

0one's products are universally good. For less than two dollars you get a nice professional image, usually able to be opened in Photoshop for modification to fit your own adventures, and which projects and prints nicely. One major advantage is that they deliver what they promise at a small price and download footprint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2008 00:55:19

0one's products are universally good. For less than two dollars you get a nice professional image, usually able to be opened in Photoshop for modification to fit your own adventures, and which projects and prints nicely. One major advantage is that they deliver what they promise at a small price and download footprint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jerry G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2006 00:00:00

Excellent product! The floor plans were unique and well thought out. I got a lot of utility of this product.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The versatility of the product. I was able to print what I needed for players and myself. They way the PDFs are set (in layers) I can pick and choose what to print and what information to print. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing comes to mind...good solid product<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2005 00:00:00

0one's no-frills approach to providing basic maps for adventure, so incredibly reminiscent of Classic D&D maps, that I almost regret NOT having a cardstock cover/folder holding the adventure booklet. Ah, how we miss the old days...<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The ability to add and remove details and print the map you need is excellent. The B&W maps are very hand if you want to spend a little time with map pencils to give a color handout to your players.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by I. P. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/06/2005 00:00:00

0one?s Blueprints are all about maps. For those of you that want to customize the encounters in your campaigns, but do not cherish the idea of mapping the various locations, these products are meant for you. ?The Citadel? is a 15 page PDF. Each map occupies one page in color and one page in black and white. In total this product contains five different maps. (2 levels of the citadel itself, the rooftop level, and two subterranean levels) In addition, there is a one page legend which does not appear on each individual map.

The first thing to be noticed is that each map has one toolbar. The black and white version of the map does not have its own independent toolbar. You must select the options on the color toolbar, even if you want to use the black and white version. This seems inconvenient for anyone that wants to use the black and white version.

The second thing is the use of 20' squares. Given that an electronic product such as this can be used online, or even used via a computer in face to face gaming, the product should incorporate a 5' grid. The ability to zoom is an important feature of electronic maps. By ignoring that functionality, and only supporting a 20' grid, the product left me feeling a little disappointed.

Also, the rooftop map does not have the option to select the ?fill? or ?grid? options. It only has the ?furniture? and ?numbers? options. What is a dungeon master to do when the adventurers engage in a rooftop chase that ends in melee? Get out the battlemap and marker and start drawing the outline of the rooftops, I guess.

Despite all of that, this is an interesting setting presented in an ?old school? layout for an economical price.

To rousing gaming and ample awards, I. Perez<br><br><b>LIKED</b>:

  1. Beautiful maps.
  2. Old school color scheme.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>:
  3. Minor issues concerning the exclusive use of a 20' grid and the placement of the toolbar only on the color maps.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Anthony R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/06/2005 00:00:00

The Citadel is part of 0one's Blueprint series. The PDF is fifteen pages long and fully bookmarked. There are a total of five different maps, each one in old-school blue and in more modern black & white. Layers like the grid and room numbers can be turned on and off by using checkboxes at the bottom of each map. This adds some functionality to the maps. The Citadel is quite large, with a 20' to square grid. There are a few adventure hooks included as well.

The Citadel is a good value if you are looking for a large complex for your campaign, especially if you need one that borders on a body of water. The dungeon and sewer layers are also useful if you lean toward the dungeon crawling style of play. It could serve as a large temple complex, monastery or a more secular fortress.

This is a simple but useful product if you are looking for maps to populate with your dastardly denizens. The only real problem I had with the maps is that with the large scale, it's hard to add much detail. Check it out. It's hard to go wrong with a price that's under two dollars. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It's inexpensive and the ability to control the layers is useful.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The large scale makes it hard to add much detail.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/29/2005 00:00:00

0one?s Blueprints: The Citadel Product Code: blu12. First edition 05/2005 Design: Mario Barbati 2D drawings: Guido Barbati Graphics: O?Bully Software Engineer: Anna Fava

0one?s Blueprints: The Citadel is a 15 page pdf that is a multi-level map of a citadel. Those fifteen pages include a front cover, introduction of the product line and info on the Citadel itself (which is available in the add copy), a one page legend of commonly used map symbols, maps of the ground floor, first floor, roof, caverns and dungeon, and sewer system (each map having both a blue map and a black map), and a key template so you can record what is in each room.

One of the greatest features of this blueprint and the whole blueprint line is its functionality. The people at 0one games have designed these blueprints using layers so for each page of maps you can alter the map in regards to the depth of its features. In Acrobat Reader 7, can:

Toggle on or off: room numbers, the tiled grid on the floor, the fill colour and the furniture on the maps.

None of these features worked in Adobe Acrobat 5. Make sure you have the most recent version of Adobe Reader.

The pdf is also fully bookmarked. For embracing these features of the Adobe pdf I was surprise to see that the key template is not a form.

The citadel is massive and uses a 20 ft scale that will require the Gamesmaster to do some mental gymnastics to convert the map to appropriate scale for the d20 system (if that?s where you intend to use it). It could probably serve well as a Keep on some Borderlands near some Chaotic humanoid caves, in fact you could probably base a whole campaign from this location.

One thing that disappointed me about this particular product was the dungeon level that really has a lot of waster space (only 40 encounter areas), you can see it on the ad page. It has a lot of space that could have had a more extensive dungeon, as I expected it would from the size of the citadel that rests above it. Maybe a small arena for prisoners to fight in?

The map is so large and compressed to only one sheet per floor it makes looking at a whole sheet impossible. When I printed the dungeon sheet on card stock my numbers were blurry and hard to read without squinting. It would have been better to do each floor over a number of sheets.

I have a number of the 0one Blueprints in my pdf collection and have been quite pleased with most of them. This one just isn't as functional a product as some of the other releases.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Easily Adjustable Features Fully Bookmarked Clean maps A location that is reminicent <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some levels seemed sparse to me The 20 ft. scale means I will have to adapt all these squares to 5 ft. The map is so big and is squished onto 1 sheet per level, I needed to zoom my Adobe to 200% to read the room numbers comfortably. It would have been nice to use if the product was enlarged so the each citadel level was 2-4 maps to make reading and use easier. Why isn't the template an Adobe form? <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Walter J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2005 00:00:00

I liked this product. For the price you get a sea side citadel. This is a great time saver when you don't have time to do a map. I've become a fan of the Blueprints Line and plan to get all of them eventually.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Ability to cut on or off parts of the map.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Roof top level only useful as a handout.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2005 00:00:00

Considering buying all of the Blueprints stuff. Like the scalability. A bit hard to see the detail at normal one sheet per page scale, though. For the price of one hardback supplement, you could have all the blueprints/megadungeons from 0one. Not a bad deal, if you like to run site-based adventures.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Scalability, huge scope, quality of the map<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could have been a bit clearer at the "zoomed out" size.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2005 00:00:00

I really liked this, especialy the old-school blue graph. Its just some maps, no adventure, but its exactly what I wanted.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2005 00:00:00

Very nicely done. These blueprints make it easy to create an adventure for any game system. Not enough can be said about this other then Awesome!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: looks like a nice place<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Could use some zoom ins to make it a little easier to read in some areas<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2005 00:00:00

Well this is just as fantastic as the rest of the line. As a DM always looking for great maps, 0One has really done a great job of keeping me satisfied. This will immediately go into use in my campaign. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Citadel
Publisher: 0one Games
by Gregory B S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2005 00:00:00

This could be your adventuring troupe's base. It's big.

It's very basic and clear. It neither thrilled me nor put me off.

I like many of these maps; this one wasn't the best. Check out the line yourself.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates