Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Paths
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:05:49

I purchased this as part of the Dry Ravine bundle, and the overall collection is superb, if somewhat overwhelming. I'll be using these as part of an extreme badlands-type environment my Party will be adventuring in for 1 or 2 months, so it's perfect for the numerous encounters I have planned. The only thing this particular set is missing is an overview page showing all the different path pieces so you have some idea how to fit them together. With 64 sections in this particular kit that can be combined, let alone the other 3 kits that make up this bundle, it's wasteful to print them all out to figure out how to fit them together. Otherwise, this is another excellent addition to Heroic Maps' superb products.

Update: I just wanted to acknowledge that there is a graphic on the product webpage that shows all the pieces, although due to the sheer quantity they are somewhat small and hard to make out, at least for older eyes like mine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Paths
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 16:18:12

While I reviewed each of the bundle components separately, I just wanted to say that the overall bundle is simply excellent. The possibilities are mind-boggling. The Dry Ravine Complex is great on its own, but the options when adding the various other components is truly staggering for any sort of badlands-type environment. The artwork is excellent, including the topography of the ravine - you can easily tell which levels are up high and which are low. Looking forward to using these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Streams
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:14:57

I purchased this as part of the Dry Ravine bundle, and the overall collection is superb, if somewhat overwhelming. I'll be using these as part of an extreme badlands-type environment my Party will be adventuring in for 1 or 2 months, so it's perfect for the numerous encounters I have planned. The only thing this particular set is missing is an overview page showing all the different path pieces so you have some idea how to fit them together. With 64 sections in this particular kit that can be combined, let alone the other 3 kits that make up this bundle, it's wasteful to print them all out to figure out how to fit them together. Otherwise, this is another excellent addition to Heroic Maps' superb products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Streams
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Locations
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:13:23

I purchased this as part of the Dry Ravine bundle, and the overall collection is superb, if somewhat overwhelming. I'll be using these as part of an extreme badlands-type environment my Party will be adventuring in for 1 or 2 months, so it's perfect for the numerous encounters I have planned. This particular kit really needs to be combined with the Dry Ravine Paths or Dry Ravine Complex to be useful, but I suppose you could use one of the dry ravine locations on its own in a pinch. It's a little daunting when planning encounters for wildnerness travel, and just looking at these tiles has given me ideas for how to spice up random encounters with interesting locations along the way. As usual, the artwork is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Locations
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Complex
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:07:47

I purchased this as part of the Dry Ravine bundle, and the overall collection is superb, if somewhat overwhelming. I'll be using these as part of an extreme badlands-type environment my Party will be adventuring in for 1 or 2 months, so it's perfect for the numerous encounters I have planned. I really like that this isn't just a set of tunnels through a plateau or mesa, but also contains various depths or levels for the tunnels, which intersect at various points, providing high ground for potential ambushers, for example. Also, the topography, which could easily get lost in an indistinct, sandy/rocky environment, is very easy to read. Very well thought out with great artwork, and a great addition to Heroic Maps' excellent products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dry Ravine Complex
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - St Olfryc's Priory
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2018 14:38:40

This is another superb map from Joe and Sarah Bilton. The level of detail is breathtaking, such as the incredible artwork and variation in the mosiac tile, and the subtle lighting coming through the main windows. It sounds like a minor detail, but High Edmoor Hall has similarly excellent artwork, and my players commented on it. The layout of the priory/temple is very logical, yet sufficiently generic that it can serve a variety of purposes. In my particular instance, it will be the cathedral for the neutral goddess of death and rebirth in a large city, but you could easily use it as a monestary, a base for a knightly order, or any other type of religious building that doesn't have to be specifically evil looking. The only change I would have made is a little more living space so it could accommodate more clerics, perhaps as part of an optional second floor for those who want a larger cathedral? Still, this is great work and I look forward to using it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - St Olfryc's Priory
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review, Simon. We're really happy to hear that the detail and artwork in this map is appreciated, and will add something to your game. After a summer of visiting lots of ruined abbeys and cathedrals we just had to make a map that reflected that wonderful architecture and layout.
Heroic Maps - Edgmoor Manor
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2018 14:23:07

Overall, this is a very good map, with a well-designed layout and a high level of artistic quality. Also, the inclusion of both the "new" and "ruined" versions of the manor is a brilliant idea. I will be using it as the manor house for a minor noble who has fallen on hard times but still holds the family residence. It has the misfortune, in my assessment, of being compared to the superb High Edgmoor Hall, which I have already reviewed. I miss the high level of detail that's evident in the latter map. In comparison, Edgmoor Manor looks sort of empty and generic, and while this does provide greater flexibility as to what each space is for, I still dislike having essentially blank rooms. I also find the lack of doors extremely annoying. I know I can print out the free doors provided by Heroic Maps and glue/tape them onto my printout, but it's one more more thing I have to do to prep for the session. And really, doors? I didn't realize their placement was so controversial! Despite my criticisms, I still think this is a very useful map, and I look forward to using it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Edgmoor Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hi! Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoy the new/ruined aspect of the maps. There is a considerable difference in the quality and detail between this map and our new High Edgmoor Hall - that's the benefit of 5 years of practice and making over 400 additional maps! Still, we're really happy that this map is still going to add something to your game. The doors being absent, and the lack of furniture, is an artefact of the initial reason we started making battlemaps - as expansions for the boardgame Heroquest, where doors are placed with 3d model doors (in any position), as is furniture. Still, we're very pleased you'll find a use for old Edgmoor Manor :)
Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 08:13:32

This is the best battle map for a noble's manor house that I've ever run into, either stand-alone or from a published adventure. Most that I've seen are just too darned small, but this has plenty of room for bad things to happen, such as an attack on a nobleman's party, or an infiltration mission to sneak in and steal something. The layout is excellent, with plenty of doorways and places for someone to hide or flee through, which lends itself to a very mobile encounter going from one room to the next. The detail and artwork are excellent. And for anyone looking for the kitchen, it appears to be on the cellar level, directly below the dining room - brilliant! Really looking forward to using this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates