Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Aeronef Captain's Handbook
Publisher: Wessex Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:11:14

An expansion for Aeronef.

Same simple format, the rules are simplicity itself, and most of the content is tweaks & setting tech variation.

If you like Aeroef, you'll want these, and for this price they're worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aeronef Captain's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Aeronef
Publisher: Wessex Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:08:32

A very, very simple set of flying battleships rules, these make for a quick playing and fun suspend-your-disbelief-and-don't-ask-any-questions game.

No - they don't bother to model altitude. This would overly complicate what is otherwise a basic and simple rulesset, and their inspiration of pre-WW1 ships sailing along blatting each other in gentlemanly line of battle doesn't require it.

For the price, these are great fun rules, and if your so inclined, easily mod-able to fit your requirements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aeronef
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Platoon Leader Twofer [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Legionnaire Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:04:32

Excellent value for the price. I've reviewed the rules & expansion separately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Platoon Leader Twofer [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 6
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:03:19

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 6
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 5
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:03:06

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 5
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 4
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:02:51

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 3
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:02:38

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 3
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 2
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:02:24

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Avalon Starship Counters Set 1
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 16:02:09

Simple & inexpensive printable spaceship counters in a variety if shapes - nicely coloured too. Very nice and a boon for those who haven't the room for miniatures, or for those whom space gaming is just a sideshow to the ground battle.

Happy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Starship Counters Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Task Force Zeta Vol. 1: Ships of the Line
Publisher: Legionnaire Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 15:59:12

Having bought SL:PC an it's expansion I was tempted to buy these - mainly to scratch the itch I'd had ever since seeing them (when buying Starmada and womdering if I'd chosen the wrong horse!).

These rules are somewhat less densely formatted and slightly more clearly (and simply) written when compared to SL:PC, and I found much in the rules and system to like, so as space agmes go it's a pretty good one, although it has some tough competitors in Full Thrust and Starmada. However, again the record sheets are a bit of a let down (although superior to hand drawing your record sheets in ther games) - getting the editable ones is a great idea.

Like almost all space games (the better ones!) the game comes with a ship design system - like the rules this is quite complicated compared to some others but works well, and I liked the option for including varied tech levels. But I also felt the range of weappons wasn't quite as flexible or varied as perhaps that of Starmada (but which one is?)

Overall this is a good game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Task Force Zeta Vol. 1: Ships of the Line
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Platoon Leader: Strange New Worlds
Publisher: Legionnaire Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 15:45:47

As well as Platoon Commander I bought these as a slice of expansion fun & then found I had the same problem as I had had with the main rules, namely the densely written and formatted rules. These rules are expansions on an already fairly chwey and complex set of rules, so it's very much a case of if you liked the main SL:PC rules you'll be pleased with these, but if (like me) you found the rules a bit much, you'll be somewhat less than delighted.

Again the rules are worth a 4 but the solid, dense text, formatting and complexity make them a 3 for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Platoon Leader: Strange New Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Strike Legion: Platoon Leader
Publisher: Legionnaire Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2020 15:41:34

Looking for some rules to replace/supplement Stargrunt II, I bought these rules alongside both Grunts and PMC2640 (I wanted some options!)

Compard to both of the above SL:PC is much heavier on system crunch and rules detail - this isn't necessarily a bad thing but I found getting into the rules heavier going than I really wanted. A QRF is provided, but the dense format makes the rulebook feel like a slog at times, espcially when you want to find some minor rule in a hurry.

The actual game itself is pretty good but the record sheets, even allowing for the editable PDF's, are not so grand - the use of colour coded armour etc effectively requires the user to print in colour to get the best use from them - this can soon get expensive if you're a happy designer of your own forces (like me).

I've rated these rules at 3 - the game system itself is worth a 4, but the relative inaccessibility of the densely written/formatted rules, combined with the requirement for colour printing, means I think a 3 is more on the level.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion: Platoon Leader
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Starship Counters - Zorani Fleets
Publisher: Wydraz
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2020 08:38:34

These counter sheets are really nice - if you can't affored (or don't want, or have no storage space for) miniatures, then these are just the thing. Print, stick 'em to card and cut 'em out or laminate & you're ready to go.

Very nice too!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starship Counters - Zorani Fleets
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Starmada Core Rulebook
Publisher: Majestic Twelve Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2020 10:26:36

This is the ruleset that introduced me to Starmada & it's a good set to start with. The printed book used to be available from Lulu but I wasn't able to find it & ended up settling for the pdf =(

Whilst some might not like the stark b/w art & 'lack' of colour in the rulebook, I think it suits the game and looks good - no distractions. The layout of the rules is very good, well organised and pretty logical. The games features ...

  1. Hex map play - but it can easily be converted to table top
  2. Game play uses d6 exlclusively - to-hit, defence (expressed as 'Shields') penetration, damage, it's all done on 1d6
  3. Pre-plotted inertial movement - this is a good thing, but the rules are little unclear and led to a friend & I disagreeing as to correct interpretation
  4. Ship record sheets are simple to understand and use - and look good printed cheaply in b/w
  5. If the basic rules are good, the optional rules are excellent and widen a players choices enormously - this is the bit where SM:AE exceeds most other similar space games
  6. Ship contruction rules are included which are thorough and flexible - and you can design your own weapon systems too (but see below for problems!)
  7. You can also 'build' your own Fighter squadrons using some inluded fighter construcytion rules - this was a nice touch (but it can cause real problems, see below)
  8. An Excel ship construction program was available from the MJ12 site - hard to get a copy unless you know someone with a copy already, I got a copy off a friend

OK - that's the good stuff. And it IS good ...

However, there are some problems ...

  1. It's not easy to design a ship withpout the Excel builder unless you're Einstein & can work out the basic Hull/SU equation of "Total Space Units = Hull1.3 x 100" - neither my friend or I were able to make this equation come to the totals given on the Hull size table on page 28
  2. The points value system as given works OK as long as you don't make your own designed weapons too complicated, but once you start to create more radical weapons the PV system quickly breaks down to the point where forces equally matched by PV aren't even remotely equal forces - it is possible to create weapons that can end a battle in 1 or 2 shots
  3. The fighters that can be created with the builder can be created VERY powerful and a min/max'ed carrier can carry more than a few of them - anyone who's played SFB & had their D7 overwhelmed by 4 Hydran Stinger II fighters will understand what I mean ...
  4. These two issues mean that game play really needs to be regulated by player self-restraint - if you're not playing with any limits then the game will provide plenty of space for those of us who are min/max'ers to flourish ...

Despite a few niggles, Starmada:AE is a good introduction to Starmada and a pretty nifty space war game in it's own right. The rules themselves are worth a 5 star, but the lack of builder availability means it's gonna be a 4 instead.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Star's Reach
Publisher: Steel Dreadnought Games
by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2020 06:14:23

Bearing in mind what I've previously said about the CBF core rules, I decided to enlarge my options with this add-on & see if this improved my perception of the basic games limitations. Unfortunately, no ...

As with basic CBF it's a good rules system - the rules are clearly & plainly written with respectable/suitable art, but again it's a little too much tied to the setting provided within - players seeking a 'generic' one size fits all system to use in their own settings might be a little disappointed.

With many years of space gaming fun/experience, what I think what CBF could do with is a 'Shipyard Designers Supply Catalogue' of weapons, missiles & other systems, so that players working their own game setting can create ships to fit it.

For the rules I'd give it 4 stars as a fair representation of the system, but again it's a little too tied to the supplied setting for my needs, so bearing that in mind 3 stars is better.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Star's Reach
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates