Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Saxons Set $3.00 $1.80
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 10
0 5
1 1
0 0
0 0
Saxons Set
Click to view
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2018 08:29:55

All melee guys , foot and mounted , and some non-combatants!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2017 14:39:48

I thought the images were good, but when printed, I felt they lost much of their detail due to the small size. Also the coloring was a bit dark as well which contributed to the loss (though this could have been a printer issue).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by DALE T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2013 19:19:29

Great set of paper minis. Will purchase more from this vendor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2012 10:11:46

Superb-looking miniatures, with quite a selection supplied (e.g. a noblewoman and peasants to add to the expected fighting figures). Historically-accurate to the best of my knowledge. I'll definitely be getting more of these sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Raymond F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2012 20:13:25

Picked up this set and the companion Normans set to try out a new set of miniature rules. They were a great buy and with the quality of the artwork, I may never get around to painting actual minis for the rules. The set had a nice selection of characters, and having the option of three styles (A-frame, single fold, or triangular) of figure was a bonus.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Tristan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 12:06:12

Just what I've been waiting for. The Saxon period of English history is one that is of great interest to me, and I'm glad to find affordable miniatures that I can use for games set in this era.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:47:13

I can't say enough good things about the Arion paper figures. The artwork is glorious, and the inclusion of bi-fold and tri-old figures is a great plus. I wish I could give them more than 5 stars. A stellar effort, which is all I'd ever expect from Arion Games.

I realize I post the same comments for each of the sets I've reviewed, but I really do mean it. These sets are amazing! Try one; you won't be disappointed



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2011 12:58:45

Great set. There seems to be great promise for use with Song of Blades and Heroes rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2010 04:28:31

A nice product that lives up to its description and gives the player an opportunity to both knock up a quick battle group or a few individual characters depending on their requirements. I would like to see a top view option for all characters as this would enable me to produce so effective flats for larger scenarios but, that issue aside, these packs are very useful and also cost effective.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by larry s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2009 00:37:09

Excellent value for you money. Arion Games is a great source for inexpensive, light weight and hard-to-find props. Their historical, medieval, pulp, modern and scifi paper minis look good and add an extra element to gaming. I use both plastic/metal minis and paper minis. The option of flat or tri-fold is great- the tri-fold fit better with the 3D minis i have, but the option for flat is nice to have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jamie W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2007 14:35:58

Great artwork but what makes these counters top-notch are the great poses the characters are in. Most have a sense of movement which is important. I know it shouldnt matter but static-looking characters remove some of the feel.

Worth the download and incredible price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2006 00:00:00

Very nice Artwork and realistic miniatures. Especially for Gamers , Gamemasters this Set is a very useful tool to get a lot of nice miniatures at a very low price. I use them for GMing or for my tabletop skirmishes:-)<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The graphics are very detailed and the miniatures look very realistic. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/28/2006 00:00:00

If you are like this reviewer, you have neither the desire, or space, or cash, to ?collect? traditional miniatures. Yet, with the tactical combat systems used in many game systems these days, being able to bust out the battle mat and a set of minis is often necessary. Thus you find yourself looking for a practical and inexpensive option for your miniatures needs. Paper miniatures meet this need. When they are packaged as a PDF, you are provided with a readily available source of minis for your games, being able to print as many of a particular figure as you need, without having to invest too much money in them,or time and effort, in the case of those who paint their minis. Additionally, should you feel the need, you can engage in some army man pyrotechnics after a particularly spectacular battle (note, do not attempt!). In short, paper minis are an attractive option for their low cost and convenience, and are also logical options for collectors needing a particular miniature, or several of them, for their game.

The figures in Arion Games? miniatures sets come in 3 styles, ?A-frame?, ?Flat?, and ?Triagonal?. The ?A-frame? and ?Flat? figures can be constructed from the same sheets, depending on how they are cut out. The ?Triagonal? minis are constructed from a separate sheet. These construction choices provide additional options in preparing your minis for use in the game, major characters or monsters can be constructed as the ?Triagonal? versions to provide a more visual flair, and to emphasize their importance. Other figures can be done as ?A-Frame? or flat versions to make them easier to handle or distinguish them from each other, thus providing a functional use beyond their graphical characteristics.

The instructions are easy to follow and assembling the minis is quick and painless, just requiring a bit of work with scissors and some glue. There are also instructions provided on how to prepare a custom sheet of figures to meet your specific needs. The minis look good, even when printed on plain paper. Each figure is drawn from a 3D rendering (done in Poser using figures provided by DAZED, according to the credits), providing sharp detail and life-like shading, even when printed.

This 3 page PDF (7 with cover & assembly instructions) provides a set of paper miniatures featuring historical Saxon figures, including 4 mounted figures. The set includes two Saxon Thegns figures, who most likely have brawny thews, three Saxon Fyrdsmen, stout yeoman no doubt, three Saxon Huscarls, doughty fighters all, two Saxon Peasants (one male and one female), one Saxon Coastguard, one Saxon Ealdorman, one Saxon Noblewoman, looking back over her shoulder, one Saxon Sailor, and a Saxon King figure. The mounted figures include a Mounted Saxon Thegn, a Mounted Saxon Ealdorman, a Mounted Saxon King, and a Mounted Saxon Coastguard.

Overall, this is another excellent product from Arion Games, providing a historically accurate selection of authentic looking Saxons for your historical and fantasy miniatures needs. Adding in the fact that you can print as many as you need, and prepare your own figure sheets, this is excellent value as well. I recommend it to anyone looking conquer some barbaric Celts or looking for some Saxon dogs to be subjugated by your Norman pigs.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Overall Excellent graphics, ?triagonal? minis as well as flat/A-frame. Mounted figures are nice. Authentic details and historically accurate armaments.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Noblewoman figure is indistinct and hard to tell which direction she is facing, skirt is washed out looking. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Robert J. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2006 00:00:00

Another good set from Arion. I don't know how many people out there are planning to recreate the battles of Alfred the Great, but this set would also be quite useful for any generic medeival setting.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Historical accuracy, image quality.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2005 00:00:00

Saxons - yes the are. Now admittedly I'm not in this for historical stuffs or miniature wargaming, I just want a good range of figrues for roleplaying purposes so I stnad some chance of having a good stand in for whatever comes up so I figured more blokes with swords and stuff was a good bet. And that is what I got here, a couple of the figures in particular stand out to me as looking pretty cool/badass and several others just have that thang that suggersts thye will most certainly be of use to me for what I want.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The couple of ladies was a real boon as - understandably, this like most sets is predominantly male.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates