Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Nameless Horrors
Publisher: Chaosium
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:29:59

Do you love playing Call of Cthulhu but are sick of all that Mythos Mythos Mythos? Me too. Thankfully we have this wonderful set of scenarios written by the Good Friends of Jackson Elias. (that is a podcast) The hosts of that esteemed show combined to put forth what I consider to be their best effort. I have actually played THREE of these. (played one, ran two) That is the most gaming I have ever got from a single supplement. The cool thing is that this is just weird horror with no reference to the Lovecraft stuff.

I am just a normal guy. I like these type of games, and especially Call of Cthulhu. The problem with CoC is that it can be harder to run than a dungeon style game... what with clues and handouts and all that.... it takes a bit extra from the GM.

But this is pretty easy to jump into. It helps that the scenarios are interesting. You will read this and then pester people constantly to come and play until they do. Then they will be pestering you to run some more of this stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nameless Horrors
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dead of Night
Publisher: SteamPower Publishing
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:20:32

The rules are very straightforward. This is a well written set of instructions that will allow you to jump into your favorite hooror trope and roleplay the hell out of it. This sort of game would be ideal for convention play, or a one shot.

Are you looking for something to make your halloween game memorable? get this. Do you want something with simple yet elegant mechanics that can be run at a moments notice? This would be it.

This game would be useless to you if you have never seen a horror movie. It would be a quaint set of rules if you have a passing knowledge of the horror genre. This will be the vehicle that sets you free if you are well steeped in the tropes of the horror genre.

If you want to run it asap with a minor knowledge of horror movie, buy it, then watch... Cabin in the Woods, Scream, Evil Dead, Scary Movie, Drop Dead Fred, and Dead Alive.

then you will be a master of horror and the envy of your friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead of Night
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:10:31

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Villagers Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:09:57

Arion paper minis are my favorite of the paper minis. They are life like. they do not look like cartoons. That is what I want from a paper mini. This is a nice assortment of villagers from the medieval era. Blacksmith, lusty wench, begger... they are all here. POPULATE THAT PAPER VILLAGE!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Villagers Set
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:07:49

Do you want to run a zero level adventure, but dont care to plunk down the bucks to buy DCC? then try this. it is a good adventure that takes the characters from no nothing losers in a slave ship to heros.

it would probably work with DCC if you love the character funnel. NO SPOILERS... but it is a good little ditty that could really sing in the hands of a capable DM. It will run just fine in your joe average DM hands as well.

Looking for a great way to kick of a 2 year D&D campaign? look no further. I kicked off a 3 year campaign with this little bueaty, and we lasted a full 4 months! this is a record for our gaming group. I have system ADD. I blame drivethru.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N4 Treasure Hunt (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BTL004: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #4 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:02:15

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL004: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #4 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Spirit of 77 Core Rulebook
Publisher: Monkeyfun Studios, LLC
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:01:46

This is easily the best game I have bought and never played. I have read the rules twice. I have purchased 3-4 supplements. I have printed off character sheets IN FULL COLOR!!! hell, I even printed the whole book and bound it using my hot glue method.

I want to play this game so badly. If you like this Apocalypse World game engine, and the thought of kicking ass in the 1970's against the man sounds like fun, and you have people who like to play these games with you..... GET THIS GAME.

even if you dont have anyone to play with, buy it anyway. one day maybe you will find some people to play with. maybe it will be me! who knows. best to be prepared... I dont want to have to teach you the rules.... so buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of 77 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BTL003: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #3 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:56:00

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL003: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #3 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BTL002: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #2 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:55:32

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL002: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #2 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:54:49

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:50:58

The scan isnt the best, but what do you expect from a 40+ year old document that was printed on newsprint? You will not find a book full of random tables with the sort of old school content this contains.

Even if you never play D&D, buy this and enjoy rolling up random stuff. fantastic!!! at this price you can lose.

I rate this 7 out of 5 stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready Ref Sheets (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

d30 DM Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:47:30

This is the second best thing I have purchased from drivethru. The best thing was the D30 sandbox companion. This one is good too. useful stuff. buy a D30, then get this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 DM Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:45:46

This is the best thing I have ever purchased from drivethru. I have purchased 400+ things. this is the best.
If you dont own it, do yourself a favor and buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
Publisher: Mark Hunt
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 22:14:57

I just bought and skimmed through this. The artwork is nice, and the PDF looks beautiful. I just started a call of cthulhu game this year, and my players all gravitated toward prohibition type careers. (They manufacture and sell booze. ) I bought this knowing the rules were not complete, but hoped i could get something useful to gansta up my CoC game. I think this will do nicely! I especially like the random tables for rolling up plot lines. I will certainly buy the full rules when they come available. I am interested in the criminal class as PCs. This game looks like a lot of fun. I am going to enjoy reading this 90 page intro to the game tonight! I am already thinking that it would make for good times to start with this gangbusters and work into some Lovecraftian horror later on.

If the full rules are still being written by someone who is reading this, please do not feel compelled to stick some lovecraft into the game based on my reason for purchase! I dont need anymore monsters or spells, just more of the flapper and gangster flavor!

If you are wondering if you should buy this, i suggest you do.

There is alot to play with here, and it is well done.

Trev



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GangBusters-The Blue Book Detective Agency Beginner Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
Publisher: Small Niche Games
by Trevor h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2015 22:04:13

I am currently running this for my players. They really enjoy it! This is a great little adventure! It has some great encounters in it that you can use before the party even gets to the meat of the actual adventure in the shrine, with plenty of npc characters. There is danger aplenty, but not to difficult for my group of second level characters. It is simple and easy to run..... which is perfect as I am just getting back into playing again. Experienced DM' s should have no problem making this short adventure really shine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA006: The Shrine of St. Aleena
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates