Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
d30 DM Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 18:20:38

A nicely designed throwback that can be helpful for any campaign you are preparing, regardless of edition (although it is defintely slanted towards OSR). Lots of fun tables to get your creative juices flowing. The dungeon mapping master key really brings back memories of grinding out random dungeons from the AD&D DMG. Thanks!

PS - while a d30 is useful, you can just use a d6 and a d10 to accomplish what you need to with the D30 DM Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 DM Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

D&D Denizens: Underdark Monsters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2018 18:09:52
Solid stuff. Creative and varied creatures to include in the underdark or in a crypt or even the sewers beneath a city in your campaign. I freaked out my players a little bit by introducing the Crypt Thing as they immediately thought they were facing a lich WAY too soon. The creature stats are all reasonable and the illustrations are admirable. Absolutely worth the investment. Nicely done Scott!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Denizens: Underdark Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Items in a Bandit Hideout
Publisher: dicegeeks.com
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 12:39:19

Need a little inspiration? You're a DM/GM, of course you do (from time-to-time)! This is a tidy little chart that can add some solid flavor to your descriptions and plant some nice seeds of further adventure. I used this in our homebrew campaign to put the finishing touches on a bandit camp that had been destroyed by some rampaging Bullettes. The caged snake and unsent letter the party discovered in one of the tents were particularly enjoyable in that they added some memorable roleplaying moments and tie-ins to the greater campaign story arc. Could you think of these things on your own? Of course you could, but would you?? It's free - just get it now! And... thank you Dicegeeks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Items in a Bandit Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OP4 - Leprechaun's Luck
Publisher: Adventures in Filbar
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 12:16:23

A pleasant, short one-shot that took us about 2 hours. I ran this one for my daughter, a fairly new player whose PC was a 3rd level Circle of the Moon Druid at the time. There are some great opportunities for combat and/or social interaction in most areas on the map. I added an encounter with a wolf to up the difficulty slightly. Bottom line: We had great fun playing it. Nicely done, Frank!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP4 - Leprechaun's Luck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Madness of the Rat King
Publisher: Maniac Brews
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2018 18:54:43

This short module was good fun. I ran it in two sessions for a party of two fourth level characters (my daughter (8) playing a wood elf moon druid and her NPC friend who is a stout halfling champion fighter). The hooks are decent, the cavern denizens are very creative, the custom magic items are really neat. I like how the author includes full stat blocks for the monsters and suggestions for difficulty level for each encounter. The boss battle is challenging and is not what you might expect. Great for a one-shot or to be inserted as a side quest in an ongoing campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madness of the Rat King
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I'm glad you and your daughter enjoyed it, Dave!
FC1 - Turret of the Frost Giant
Publisher: Adventures in Filbar
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 12:52:15

Nice one or two session adventure (3 to 4 hours each), depending on how you want to play it. I added this setting into my homebrew 5e campaign and it worked really well. Had to convert the monsters, traps, and treasure stats to 5e, but that was not hard to do at all. A winter wolf pet for Garr made the showdown at the turret more challenging for my party of 6. I'm liking the Filbar series and will explore some others to plug and play into our campaign. Thank you to the creators!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FC1 - Turret of the Frost Giant
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fantasy Rumors & Odd Jobs
Publisher: dicegeeks.com
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:48:07

Thanks for compiling this fantastic list. Really, any of these could fit into any homebrew world without too much effort. As a DM, just throw your d100 and away you go! Or, read through the list and get inspiration for a side quest or plot twist in your next session. Simply good... and can't beat the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Rumors & Odd Jobs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

5e Critical Hit and Fumble Charts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:03:14

Solid effort here with quite creative outcomes. Well balanced in terms of the probablity of each event occurring in relation to the outcome severity. Happy to see both charts formatted on one page to give us some options for viewing/printing. Would like to see some variation for melee/ranged/spell attacks, but this chart will certainly provide some additional flair to your campaign!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5e Critical Hit and Fumble Charts
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Non-Player Character Sampler
Publisher: Limitless Adventures
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2017 09:58:59

Just a taste and you'll be hooked: an order of Limitless Non Player Characters vol.1 will be in your future.

I plugged Beazel the Alchemist into a shop in a small town my players were exploring in our 5e campaign and he was an instant hit. I'm planning on an encounter with Ceaseus the Shipwright soon. I am now the proud owner of the aforementioned Vol 1 for help with populating our campaign world both deliberately and on-the-fly during our gaming sessions.

The Limitless team does a great job of giving enough mechanics and background flavor to make the NPC come alive with enough flexibility to allow you to plug the NPC in to most any scenario. The Further Adventure prompts are great in themselves, but also help to get the creative juices flowing for crafting your own home brew encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Non-Player Character Sampler
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Barovia Hand Drawn Maps
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2017 16:55:42

Players love handouts, right? I've printed one of these on a piece of legal paper to give to the players in our Ravenloft campaign. Better than copying the map from the Curse of Strahd book since it leaves a good amount of light space throughout the map for the players to make notes. Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barovia Hand Drawn Maps
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

D100 Minor Magical Items
Publisher: 3 Toadstools
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2017 16:50:24

These are fun - if for no other reason than to get the creative juices flowing for other single use magic items. They provide a good way to "test" a particular power in your game before giving a PC something more permanent that might unintentionally be overpowered for your campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Minor Magical Items
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I'm glad you liked them Dave!
Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
Publisher: Roving Band of Misfits Press
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2017 16:43:27

This mini-delve worked perfectly for our campaign. As DM, I included it as a side quest that the PCs unknowingly undertook for one of their nemeses. I added a few extra treasures and an Ochre Jelly in one of the general's crypts, but otherwise played it as written. The players enjoyed the details and had fun with the tour headbands, even carefully returning them to the rack after they cleared out the monsters. Well done. I will try to incoroprate a few more of these two page mini delves in our campaign. Perfect length for a 3 to 4 hour session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Two Page Mini Delve - Deepwood Memorial
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates