Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
FiveCore Retro Collection
Publisher: Nordic Weasel Games
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2018 18:31:41

I really loved what I have found in this bundle: a full game, perfect for skirmishes, where each soldier is not a list of stats with numbers attached to each. In fact most soldiers don't have stats, they have a weapon and it's enough for what they are supposed to do. Rules use 1D6 and definitely aim at being quickly playable. On each case (hit, spot etc) only rolls of 1 or 6 will indicate an important effect on figures.

But it is not a simplistic game either, there is everything one expect to find in such a game. The trick is that the author is able to explain complivated things clearly and efficiently. Many games claim to be easy to learn but this one really is. There is the basic rulebook and each other file is a choke-full of details on one aspect of skirmishes. that way to write is really efficient because the basic rulebook is 32-page long only and makes a good apethizer for further rules needs on this subject or another.

I think that I have found a complete, detailed but manageable set of rules in a skirmish games universe where people mostly take too much time giving relevance to details. Here, if you are not about details or rules lawyering, you may not even need the additional data about character's skills, wounds levels, or partisans equipments to name only a few within dozens of detailed, separate chapters in the extensions.

When I am going to play again firearms-like skirmishes I will use these rules. A beautifully engineered little gem of a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FiveCore Retro Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Libre Solo Role Playing - Training Wheels Adventure
Publisher: Brian Washburn
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 13:04:00

An introductory adventure cleverly designed as to teach you the rules while you are already playing the game.

The system itself is a simple d% roll when needed with a table that gives you a yes/no answer according to actual conditions shifts. Each scene is described by a few "scene qualities" rolls that will give flavor to it. Like an encounter taking place in an open place, with stairs somewhere and music being heard. You must get a certain number of yes to pass to the next scene and you can even roll to know if a detail of your invention is present or not. However, adding such details after details improves the chance of a random encounter.

I have no complaints about the game except that the character sheet is not that readable (any simple comic sans ms font would have been better) and that in the body of the text, the real actual rule details could be enwidowed to be clearer because there ain't that many and you need to highlight the document.

This adventure really gave me a desire to know more about the game and visit the designer's page. I am not a fan of solo play, but in all objectivity, as a solo system, the way it includes random encounter and player's input is really very good nd anjoyable.

Really loved it, this booklet deserves its 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Libre Solo Role Playing - Training Wheels Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Aliens & Asteroids Quickstart
Publisher: Gallant Knight Games
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 12:43:39

Seven Stats are rolled on 2D3+8. Then you have a class that gives you a skill and a homeworld that gives you a +1 to a stat.

Tests are made on 1 or 2D20 vs stat with the classical advantage/disadvantage process of using 2 dice and keeping best or worst. So the grid of difficulty is a mere 3 pints setting. Why using D20 for such a simple procedure? A single couple of D6 would have been plenty.

Also I think the document is incredibly bland, no editing, no pics, no setting info, no whatever. Frankly: no more than 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens & Asteroids Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Madman Protocol
Publisher: OopsWeLostOne
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 12:22:16

"Echo 6 to Delta 2, we got a bogey moving in your direction, whatcha gonna do? Delta 2 to Echo 6, grab the hole-making equipment from pages 9-21 and blast it down. Echo 6 to Delta 2, i add D10 + Marksmanship + Assault Rifle and it's 14. Delta 2 to Echo 6, done, you blazed it"

This pretty much sums up the spirit of the game, which is enforced further by the many military pic inside the book. However, this is really a role-playing game. I'd say that this is not really the kind of game that I would play but it is an interesting one. So let's go:

Character creation is not very explicit, you have 60 points to spend on stats & skills, stats costing 3 times as much. It's not that the system is bad (it's quite nicely made with a list of skills that are adapted to the theme and not only about killing things), it's just that one full example would have been nice. There are quite a few computations to make afterwards but nothing that complicated. I noticed a few funny points like the "base movement" is a 10 meters per second which is close to Jesse Owen's performance at the 1936 olympics. All this quick with an assault gun... Good drill!

Combat is quite interesting with a nice system of one turn equals one second. You are given 2 action points, one minor action costing 1 and one major costing 2. Or you can do nothing and get +1 next second so you'll have 3. Fine with me. Equipment lists are quite exhaustive, as far as killing things is concerned.

To sum it up, I think its MAIN flaw is that it has no "soul". It reminds me of the Morrow Project but it lacks the very themed atmosphere of this game that allowed us to forget all its (many) flaws and to blend into the story being told. A single scenario could have helped or a one page desciption of how a military unit really works would have given us insight about what we are supposed to do.. Or even best a 2D6 entry table which would give you a single mission like "You are the Recco team of a US Army division and you are sent to X to secure this" or "You are H section ofa Marines battalion sent to recover hostages here" should be enough.

With that I would have given it a 5 stars, I stay at only 4 because it is a free game and an obvious labor of love.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Madman Protocol
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Action! System Core Rules (Free Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 12:11:42

A real nice point-based system. There are different levels of purchases limits according of the campaign you plan to run (cinematic, realistic...).

Amongst all noteworthy features I especiallt appreciated the vast list of advantages & disadvantages that (albeit there's quite nothing new here) all have their base levels and costs carefully estimated and compared one to another. The skill list is also impressive with the possibility to buy a skill, boost a specialization or buy a whole skill group, each with distinct costs. Combat also offer quite an awesome numbers of choices, like action points (read hero points) do.

All in all a very open system if you have the time to finely tune & tailor it to your campaign. I'll keep on using the (dis)advantageskists nearby for all games I sometimes play that are none.

Great pick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Iridium System Core Reference
Publisher: HinterWelt
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 11:59:17

Stats bonuses tables that look like AD&D's Backstabbing bonuses table that look like Palladium's fighting proficiencies bonus table Damage table according to strength that looks like gurps' Critical damage tables that look like merp's

However skill list is nice, classes bonuses list is nice too, and some criticals are fine. But all in all, just another rpg.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Iridium System Core Reference
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

ePublisher PDF Creator
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 06:59:55

I never thought I would write games or books, but seeing all the details that there is to check just con vince me i've always been thinking right. If I ever change my mind i'll devour this book.

Very helpful, albeit sometimes outdated data.

Impressive work anyway.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ePublisher PDF Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Iridium Lite Core System Reference
Publisher: HinterWelt
by Philippe D. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 06:54:02

Nice little game that tries to fill up all 6 pages with as many rules as possible.

Characters have skills level (almost 50 are shortly presented) + aptitudes levels (like a class bonus, 6 are presented) + stat bonus (11 stats) + modifiers from +4 to -10. All that gives you a basic chance of success that you roll against on a D20. You have a few karma points that you can use to reroll (costs 1) or do the roll (costs 3 but must be spent before rolling). So very classic, and that's an advantage. It's also quite easier than many systems with D20 because you roll against the computed BCS, like in old FGU games. All is done by dropping the given points where you want.

However, as usual, this mutli-layers of numbers adding can be boring, like in combat because you have to sbustract the DEX of an attacker if you parry or the AGL of a defender when you attack. Any attack has a BCS of DEX stat + Fighter Aptitude + Weapon Use skill - Opponent’s AGL +/- other modifiers. It's all logical for sure, but there is always the tempations to add "just anpther layer of bonuses" like say, weapons accuracy, or magical weapon power or armor ability to deflect blows, or target's fighter aptitude. And every parry or dodg will have the same kind of computations.

It is just my opinion, but I believe that for a "Lite Core" it gives quite a Rolemaster like feeling that can be frightening. Giving a character sheet that shows how BCS are computed already (basic stat + aptitude + skill levels) would have been compforting. Players would have known that it will be about looking at a single value and adding a modifier or two. In fact it's my biggest complaint: the game is solidly grounded with sturdy and logical principles but given the fact that there is a whole column left on the last page, making an effort to present them in a "softer" way would have been mercyful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Iridium Lite Core System Reference
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates