Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Spiders: Army Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:42:00

Every part of my arachnophobiac soul wants me not to sing this pack's praises, but come on - how are you going to run a fantasy or horror dungeon without spiders everywhere? And these spiders are up to the author's standard, which is to say, fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spiders: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hags: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:34:43

Anyone who turns this down is a poor unfortunate soul.

...Actually, despite the Sea Hag's vivid appearance and readymade soundtrack, it's the Green Hag on the cover that I think is the standout here. She's a fairly standard design, the hunched over green-skinned witch, but the use of colour and pose and style makes her pop in a unique way, and she's just fantastic. She could even work as a player model if you've decided to bring in a Pathfinder or Dungeon World witch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hags: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Goblins: Army Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:28:42

If you need goblins you need many goblins. There are many goblins here, of various excellent flavours.

And if you need anything you need a goblin archer with adorable goggles sticking his tongue out while he aims. There is one of those here. In fact there are many of those here.

Don't question me on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblins: Army Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:26:49

A friend of mine looked upon the velociraptors and announced "they have protofeathers yaaaaaaaas". And they do. And it's great. But really, I think all GMs just hold out for the moment they can put the Big Mini down on the table and make the players go AUGH, and the T-Rexes here - whether live, skeleton, zombie, or Attack On Tyran(nosaurus) - are perfect AUGH minis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prehistoric Panic: Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Big Trouble: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:22:56

More like tetsu-bo-rilliant.

...I'll see myself out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Trouble: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Scales & Slime: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:20:35

This is the only Trash Mob set I can't rate 10/10, but only 9.78/10 rounding up to 5/5. Which is to say it's still amazingly fantastic and would be cheap at twice the price and you should buy it immediately, but I kind of wish there was a page with more than two of the basic-ass snakes on it so that I could print a whole Indiana-Jones-frightening snakepit at once. Apart from that incredibly minor niggle these scaly monsters are generally ultimazing, and as a big fan of macuahuitls I like... that there are... macuahuitls. Anyway buy the snake set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scales & Slime: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Oozes: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:17:21

If you can look at the dopey little guys with their skull and axe and still not want to buy this set I don't even know what to tell you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oozes: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Mushroom Monsters: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:15:55

What I love about Trash Mob Minis, apart from the bold and colourful style that makes the tiny little cardboard really pop and stand out at a great distance (something more subdued, photorealistic, or brown minis can be a bit of a letdown about) is the imaginative and outré takes on old classics. The mushroom maidens here are eye-popping, instantly memorable, and could perhaps be the mascots for a vegan fast food restaurant ("SHROOMBURGER - out of the Underdark onto your tastebuds") that would be very snarky on Twitter. Fantasy Twitter. Waterdeepr. At the same time, this set shows the versatility of the style, because just as you've got the very cute fungi filles, there's the fungal-infected orc (c-orc-dyceps?) who takes the same bold and thick-lined style and makes it NIGHTMARISH. Not enough good things to say. Five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mushroom Monsters: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Undead: Theme Pack
Publisher: Trash Mob Minis
by Lynn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2018 19:43:40

I purchased this briefly before it got a Silver rating. So I am taking all the credit.

All of Trash Mob Minis's... minis... are bright, bold, and colourful, which - though it may rankle the Very Serious Real Is Brown type of GM - are important things for paper minis. As small things on a big table, they need to stand out from a distance, and to be immediately recognisable as what they are. With this pack, that's particularly worth mentioning, because undead monsters tend to have a palette of "white, black, very dark grey, and occasionally spots of blue if we're going to go nuts here". The closest to that in this pack are the low-rank mummies, being mostly in white and grey, and their bloodied hands and gaping maws provide just the kind of contrast they need to stand out. The ghouls use blues and spot yellows (and, yes, bloody claws) to make themselves stand out all the more. The more Impressive figures - the crypt queen and the lich - are just gorgeous, with the crypt queen's golden mask and the lich's gold crown and purple jewels making them easily stand out from the rank and file. Frankly, if Nagash had looked this good... I don't know how to end this sentence. But Nagash didn't look this good, and dollar-for-dollar it's even more ridiculous.

(And as someone with DEX as his dump stat and an imprecise Stanley knife, I appreciate how the crypt queen's loose bandages are in a whole big block, rather than being fiddly.)

The crown jewel, naturally, is the stillborn godling/atropal, which admittedly I probably wouldn't put on a table that didn't already have an X-card or safety flower on it. WITH safety tools, however... There's a certain joy as a GM when you put down the big horrible monster mini and the players suck an indrawn breath through their teeth, and the stillborn godling is definitely a candidate for that. (And also "AUGH WHAT IS THAT GET IT AWAY".) There's no denying that even in the bold and cartoony style the minis represent, the stillborn godling is a horror. (It's the veins. The awful, awful veins, and the semi-transparent skin they imply.) And as a horror, it gives a lot of potential for GMs who want their players to understand when Poop Gets Real - as well as a nice case of filling a need, with a major campaign having an atropal hanging around in it and no apparent official miniatures to be found.

In short, buy this product. Even if you can't use the godling, the lich is worth the price of admission in and of himself. Look at his happy smile. He's just loving life.

...well. Not life as such.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undead: Theme Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates