Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
53 4
22 3
7 3
8 0
3 0
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2019 15:47:27

Like this document. Many of my players have asked about unusual weapons and many of them are listed. I love the fact that these weapons have special rules that work well for the item. The best part of this document is the expanded packs. I love the specialization of collections within these.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2019 07:00:45

Really enjoyed this product. Aside from the lack luster layout. The content is really well done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2019 12:11:39

By and large I like these, especially the Expanded Equipment Packs sidebar. My only real quibble, which also applies to the PHB, is that the equipment packs do not show the weight of all the gear included.

Although gathering that info is no real chore, it's something that would be nice to see at a glance when equipping a character before play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Grant B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2019 15:26:26

I loved this! I have the devil's own time coming up with new weapons beyond those in the PHB - especially for my poor poor Monks. This did all the heavy lifting for me, plus I love how the special properties translated to special moves that could be performed with each weapon. Only other suggestion is maybe to include a picture of what the various weapons look like to save us the 5 - 10 minutes that my players all dive onto the internet to see what their new shiny looks like



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Larry H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2019 14:54:55

I enjoyed the expanded weapons list. I miss more choices for my players. Gives great flavor. I think the weapons are well balanced and well thought out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 15:04:02

Has some exotic weapon reference. Mostly asian weapons. Not bad, but I was looking for something a little more comprehensive.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2017 15:34:51

Awesome resource and one that every game should include at their table



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Early T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2016 15:21:35

not a lot going on here but it is basic and simple and easy to reference. Over-all feel is MEH, but for some pocket change, it's worth a grab.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2016 19:31:36

Ignore the oddly low ratings. This is a five star product that brings much needed weapon diversity into 5e.

There is another review up here that states that this product does not provide a cultural context for its weapons, and is therefore incomplete. This is misleading - in fact, its brevity is part of its appeal. As a DM, I don't want a reference document telling my players an item's context or history - that's my job. If I want to make half-orc, half-dragon pirates forging katanas normal in my realm, then that's how it is, was, and will be, and I don't need a reference document document telling my players otherwise. Just like the original PHB weapons table, this equipment list gives you only the relevant physical properties (specifically, the combat properities) of an item and nothing more, and that's a good thing.

Rant aside, seriously, give this list a look through. The "super heavy weapons" (katana, bastard sword, full blade, etc.) give a much-needed buff to STR fighters over DEX fighters, and the new equipment packs make for excellent flavor drops when the party encounters a fallen adventurer. Overall, massive price of free, this product is an easy addition to any DM's binder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e - Expanded Armory & Gear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 07:29:45

Like a lot of past attempts to add "new" weapons to RPGs, this adds fresh complexity while reducing both interest and playability. With no descriptive detail on most of the new weapons, nor even basic drawings, you've either got the choice of hunting around online or through books to find out what the things should look like and how they're used, or to just ignore that angle, and pick a near-equivalent from the extant 5e rules. In which case, why bother with a new name and maybe a marginally different damage die? Or worse still, with extra oddities to forget in the heat of combat?

There can be options to introduce fresh weapon and weapon types to D&D, providing they're fitted to particular cultures, races, or areas - there are plenty of historical real-world examples to draw upon for this, certainly. However, they need to be presented as a complete package with the culture, etc. (giving at least some background and flavour notes), rather than an almost random collection - albeit heavily influenced by Japanese weapons - as here. Plus in such a case, illustrations and descriptions of the items and their uses aren't optional extras; they're absolutely essential.

What's provided here isn't necessarily bad or "wrong", just it needed a lot more thought and preparation first, and maybe a reconsideration of whether so many minor variations on the current D&D weapons really adds anything useful to the game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates