Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy Pay What You Want
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 4
8 2
6 2
4 0
0 0
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Taylor K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2017 13:59:37

Easily the best and most balanced of the chrono-style magics available at the time of writing this. Flavorful, fun, and ready to use. 100% worth the download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2016 19:25:31

I am a big stickler on balance. These seems to have all the makings of a well-balanced wizard school. I'll add more comments once I see it in play in my game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2016 08:32:33

I like the ideas here, but as others have commented already, I'd be very reluctant to allow them for use in a character class. I could see this working as a rare NPC in a campaign though, particularly the whole Causal Paradox aspect.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gaetan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2016 10:35:52

Pro presentation. Good ideas, but too powerful.

As written I wouldn't allow this in my campaign.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Maximilian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2016 19:42:04

Interesting one-pager. The chronomancer class might be a bit overpowered (especially the 14th level ability which is functionally equivalent to a fighter's Action Surge, but usable every encounter), but for optional material that's probably okay, because at least it's not boring. Also Temporal Savant at 2nd level is written to apply to spells of (apparently) all schools, whereas I was expecting it to pick out specific wizard spells like Time Stop/Teleport/Arcane Gate for the regular "savant" benefits.

Production values are nice, and the ideas are fair. I would pay $1.00 for this but probably wouldn't allow one in my campaign unless the player was really a huge fan; and then I would have to think hard about what to nerf in addition to Temporal Savant. But at least it isn't boring!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2016 20:07:00

Positive: This distinctive article's presentation and quality are top-notch. Everyone wants to be a chronomancer, but worry that would be too broken. However, shooting things backward and forward through time is an elegant way of encapsulating this concept. I'm sure that traditional slow and haste spells are also welcome!

Negative: The only thing that bugs me is that causal debt applies to all non-cantrip spells, and not just levels 1-5. It would be great to see this sub-class along side several other quality presentations in a single book! :)

Overall: Articles like this are the envy of the community. I will recomend it to my friends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ra J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2016 14:16:24

Very well done indeed. It is flavorful, unique, doesn't create a whole new set of dice rolling that may slowdown the game. It works withing the existing framework of spells and spell lists. And it is not overpowered by any stretch, but a creative wizard player could definitely go to town with a lot of the features. I like it a lot, and can't really think of anything concrete that would make it better. Again, well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard Tradition: the School of Chronomancy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nick L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2016 06:40:50

Very nice idea and well done. Haven't tested it yet (that's what the missing star stands for) but when I do I'll update the review. It was a much needed addition. Thank you



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates