Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Naval Warfare : Space big battles
Publisher: Geoff Curran
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 12:45:48

A simple system that scratches an itch to handle fleet-sized engagements. This is basically WWI/II in space. Systems are generic, so you won't see references to your typical sci-fi weapon tropes. Clever mechanism to differentiate damage. I've developed a fondness of using ship stat cards because of this system. The system recognizes two different styles of combat tropes; ships that favor forward attack, and ships that favor broadsides. Beware of fighters and bomber rules; the die roll mechanic is the opposite of ship batteries, but you'll quickly adapt to make the mental switch in modes after a few games. I recommend this for anyone who wants nice naval actions with a sufficient veneer of spaceship goodness. There is no ship design system with this version, although the rules provide a sufficiently larger variety of starship types that match up with most wet navy classes (and since most sci-fi tropes are based off wet navy classifications and naming conventions, it's no big deal).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Warfare : Space big battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times 6
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:45:31

My only complaint is that I'm left waiting for more! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times 6
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times 5
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:44:37

Magnificent as usual! Looking forward to more. Stygian Fox doesn't fail to please with this fanzine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times 5
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times #4
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:43:04

Colonial Times never fails to please, leaving me eagerly waiting for more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times #4
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times #3
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:42:13

The quality continues to improve. A solid fanzine that doesn't fail to evoke the setting on every page! Excellent work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times #3
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times #2
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:40:32

An enjoyable read, and one of the best fanzines I've come across to a dedicated setting. May not be much from a standpoint of rules-related material, but it evokes the setting wondefully! I'm always looking forward to more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times #2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Colonial Times #1
Publisher: Stygian Fox
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2016 23:39:47

An enjoyable read, and one of the best fanzines I've come across to a dedicated setting. May not be much from a standpoint of rules-related material, but it evokes the setting wondefully! I'm always looking forward to more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Times #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Harnic Christmas
Publisher: Columbia Games Inc.
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2008 23:48:27

Okay, apart from my leaving a review on this product about a year after it was first issued (which is no reflection on the quality, mind), I decided to follow up with a review after Columbia Games, Inc. appears to be blessing the various holidays with Harnicentric supplements. Harnic Christmas was the first, and certainly not the last (may we see many more to come)!

Being free doesn't mean being cheap. Where I've downloaded free product before and been regularly disappointed, I find these little gems to be consistent in quality, creativity, and overall value. True it's specifically written for the Harn setting, but a little creative writing can work around that. That said, this is a great product if you happen to be a Harn fan (a more dedicated and die-hard fan group I've never seen...and one I'm glad to throw myself into whole-hearted).

And if you've never experienced Harn, give this a download and check it out...you might be surprised at what it leads to!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harnic Christmas
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Grave-Wights
Publisher: Columbia Games Inc.
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2008 23:29:27

Although this product is best suited for use in games using the HarnMaster system, it's value is not limited to such. Cost aside (meaning, FREE), I've found Harn products by Columbia Games to be top notch in overall quality, presentation/format, and utility. So, imagine my elation on finding Columbia Games celebrating the various holiday seasons with free supplements!

Harn by its nature is a low-fantasy setting, meaning it's not replete with godlings, dragons under every rock and vorpal swords in every broom closet. CGI and the various authors who write for the Harn setting strive to present as "realistic" a setting as possible but not at the cost of the staple of roleplyaing. This article seeks to maintain this format.

Thus, I find "Grave-Wights" to be something you would find from an encyclopedia (harkening back to the old Encyclopedia Harnica days), with game stats and rules mechanics efficiently blocked for presentation, but not drowning out flavor text. Being a jaded gamer, I never hesitate to convert stats to equivalents for other systems I might use. CGI leaves the history/origins of grave-wights up to individual referees to decide. Artwork by the Harn regular Richard Luscheck is spot on, as usual (although seeing a female grave-wight is not as appealing as nubile female adherent to Halea! :) ), and even includes color!

So...the short of it, I say "Thumbs Up!" Looking forward to more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grave-Wights
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dunir Keep
Publisher: Columbia Games Inc.
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2008 23:43:38

Check out my review of Selvos Castle...the same applies here! Harn is a wonderful setting; internally consistent, detailed, full of flavor, not to alien but certainly not your typical fantasy fare. This keeps me looking for more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dunir Keep
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Selvos Castle
Publisher: Columbia Games Inc.
by Shawn B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2008 23:38:47

I've come to expect quality and consistancy with CGI and their setting of Harn, and I've yet to be disappointed. I'm glad to see them coming back into offering product in digital format (now I don't have to fear two-year olds and inadvertant coffee stains!) If you are looking for a comprehensive setting, detailed and internally consistent, ith quality art and an eye for atmosphere, then Harn is for you, and Selvos Castle will not let you down! A++



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Selvos Castle
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates