Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Forests
Publisher: dicegeeks.com
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2016 01:09:06

I hate to be too critical of free pdfs, but there's literally nothing here but some vague terminolgy on why forests should be interesting, plus some links to Youtube sound effects and (seriously) Wikipedia articles. This is an incredibly thin piece that would have been served better as a blog post.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Forests
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bag End Floor Plans of a hobbit house
Publisher: Dreamworlds
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2015 11:18:45

While it is nicely illustrated, (and free,) this map does not make for a plausible Halfling estate, much less the canonical Bag End by Tolkien. Rooms seem strung together almost at random. There are 7 scattered bedrooms, two kitchens right next to each other (and several doors down from the dining room) and no cloak room.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Bag End Floor Plans of a hobbit house
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your comments, Matt, I\'m glad you liked the illustrations. My little sketch was based entirely on the two opening paragraphs of the Hobbit, and fit that description pretty well, I think. The rooms are arranged as a medieval or historic house of some age might be; i.e. rambling, much altered and added to. There are no water closets or cloak rooms because these were not invented until the 19th century. Garderobes existed in medieval castles, of course, but they would not easily work in single storey underground dwellings. I also referenced the Iron Age houses at Chysauster in Cornwall, which I have visited and studied. Whilst not strictly hobbit houses such buildings could well have been the sort of ancient dwelling Tolkien had in mind when describing Bag End. There are similar semi-underground dwellings in the Orkney Isles, which I have not been lucky enough to visit. Tolkien mentions fires (which implies chimneys) and panelling. These both indicate a 16th or 17th century dwelling rather than a \'medieval\' one, so there are plenty of challenges in balancing the \'fantasy\' description in Tolkien\'s novel, with historic building styles and techniques. I enjoyed exploring these issues when drawing the plan, but certainly can\'t claim it is in any way an \'authoritive\' view - just a bit of fun! Regards, Cornelius
Adventure Seed 1a: A Knife in the Dark
Publisher: Final Redoubt Press
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2014 01:11:25

The adventure is a fairly thin outline of an assassination plot against the PCs. It offers a couple interesting twists and characters, and breaks down suggested events into a helpful sequence of Acts, but the book offers very few details and no mechanics.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Seed 1a: A Knife in the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

E.N. Guilds - Adventurers Guild
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2014 14:09:24

Mostly equipment and service price lists, plus the ubiquitous spell-list/magic items/feats/prestige class that have little if anything to do with the topic of the book, and barely anything about the structure and operation of a Guild.

Not entirely without value, but very disappointing if you want to add an Adventurer's Guild to your game.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
E.N. Guilds - Adventurers Guild
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Take on Establishments
Publisher: TakeOnRules
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2013 18:17:55

Great for fleshing out urban environments and giving locations more character. Could have been longer...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Take on Establishments
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Take on Magic Items
Publisher: TakeOnRules
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2013 18:14:05

A great set of treasures that conform to the Dungeon World theme very nicely, and provide helpful inspiration for creating your own.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Take on Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Thornburg
Publisher: At the Table Games
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2013 10:40:25

A small collection of places and characters. Some may find it a helpful launching point, but personally I found them too close to parody.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Thornburg
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Publisher: RoleplayingTips.com
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2013 15:08:27

I'm sorry, I know it's free, but "A bunch of hombres wander around looking for a waffle-house” is not an adventure hook.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Locations & Rooms
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2013 15:02:06

As a free sample, I'm sure it's a helpful demonstration of the other products in the Helpful List line, but it's just not useful. If I wanted random words paired together, I should at least get to roll dice for them.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 Locations & Rooms
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Below The Tower - Dungeon Map
Publisher: Fantasy Map
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2011 23:40:27

Not without value, but I wouldn't recommend using as-is.

A third of the rooms are behind secret doors? In the middle of a hall? Who would find that?



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Below The Tower - Dungeon Map
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates