Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Gunderholfen
Publisher: G. Hawkins
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 10:49:27

I haven’t run it, only read it and feel remiss providing a review of a product I haven’t “used”. That being said there are no opinions on this work posted yet. In the interest of providing a impartial opinion, here are my thoughts...

Gunderholfen is well written and cleanly layed out. highly gameable and professionally edited. The art is all B&W with a distinct old achool amateur style and i mean that in the best of ways. The maps are B&W and well crafted. It is very much "good vanilla" without a lot of original content as far as monsters and magic items go. Gunderholfen uses existing ingredients to craft an intrguing dungeon and city for your PCs to explore.

IMO $10 USD for 420 page pdf is a very good value. The included city section and it’s associated tables which could be used as a base of operations by PCs into the dungeon section was one of my favorite parts. The entire book is full of sections that could easily be imported into almost any game with no modification. Highly modular. I have no relationship with the publisher and did NOT receieve a copy in excange for this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunderholfen
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Foe Folio for B/X Essentials
Publisher: Cross Planes Game Studio
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 14:43:33

Excellent production value and layout in a digest style like B/X Essentials. Splendid Full color art by David and Melissa Guyl of Awful Good Games and Rick Hershey of Fat Goblin Games. To have every monster so beautifully illustrated is a real surprise for me at this inexpensive price point. Monster descriptions are utilitarian and short, in the same succinct style as monster entires in B/X Essentials Monsters. My only quibble would be that the decorative woodgrain margins and stained parchament style page background will lead to excessive prinker ink use if a hardcopy is desired. A less graphically intense plain B&W layout could be offered to remedy this. A very solid neat little monster booklet from Mark Craddock. Well done sir!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foe Folio for B/X Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you. I'll work up a printer-friendly version without the background and have it up in the next few days.
B1-9 In Search of Adventure (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 16:41:27

This review is exclusively for the print on demand softcover book ordered on June 5, 2018. Print quality is identical in appearance to the current .pdf file. slightly blurry and not crisp. Completely servicable and useable but not as crisp as the orginal. Print has a faded grey color to it not the bold black of the orginial. Maps are serviceable with bluring and a hazy halo around numbers, this is also exhibited on page numbers throughout the book. All in all a very useable play copy that could benefit from a better quailty source scan.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
B1-9 In Search of Adventure (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

B/X Essentials: Core Rules
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 06:28:06

I recently had a chance to use B/X essentials 3 core books with a group of new players at a convention game. By new, I mean no tabletop RPG experience whatsoever. The organization, layout, tables, clarity and presentation are superb. Brand new players were able to quickly reference and understand information during character creation and play. Well done! In the future I'd like a DM screen too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B/X Essentials: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Publisher: Tenkar's Tavern Gamen
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2017 19:24:31

Swords & Wizardry Complete from Frog God Games is a clone of the entire original D&D (OD&D) rules from 1974-1977. S&W Light is rules light 5 page version of the same and S&W Continual Light is a 16 version of the same. This is a superb rules light game for introducing BOTH new and young players to the world of fantasy RPGs. Highly recommended. My only critque is the very plain character sheet at the end of the booklet. Lots of unused space in that sheet that could be filled with more lines and/or art. This is a nicely edited and cleanly laid out version of S&W Light which should provide you and your party years of new memories and spark some old ones. Easily compatible and expandable with other pre 1E AD&D editions. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
The character sheet is very vanilla. I'd be happy to throw some coin at someone that offers better - hint hint!
Blood Dawn
Publisher: SSDC, Inc.
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2017 18:53:02

The art and setting are excellent. A hidden post Apoc gem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OD&D Supplement I: Greyhawk (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2017 19:35:38

Lizard-man on inside front cover has right foot cut off in the edit. I dislike the revisionist cover.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Supplement I: Greyhawk (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

One Day Digs 5
Publisher: Outland Arts
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2016 12:43:37

Excellent short adventure for Mutant Epoch. I enjoyed running it and my players enjoyed it as well. Maps are clear and concise. I would put average playing time around 4 hrs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 5
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Black Pudding #1
Publisher: Random Order Creations
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2016 13:48:07

Really enjoyed this 'zine well worth the small price. Good production values and well written. Looking forward to issue 2!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Pudding #1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

B/X Labyrinth Lord Bestiary 6" x 6" cards (A-J)
Publisher: Gulf Road Games
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2016 13:04:05

A wonderfully executed free PDF product! I would gladly pay for these in pdf form. Adding art for each card would be a nice addition. I am hesitant to purchase a printed copy through drivethrurpg.com due my experience with poor print quality on books. With the cheapest US Post Office shipping option (I am in the USA, lower 48 States) the total cost of a printed set of unknown quality would be $30. I'd urge the creator, who has done a fine job to explore other printing options to bring this product to market in hard copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B/X Labyrinth Lord Bestiary 6" x 6" cards (A-J)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
The card quality from DTRPG really impressed me. Crystal clear, thick but not too thick, semi-gloss look. I would love to fund individual creature pictures for each one, but the interest in these cards has been next to zero, to be honest :( I thought of running a kickstarter to do so. It would need to hit about $500 to fund stock art images.
Splicers®
Publisher: Palladium Books
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2015 19:46:09

Splicers is a RPG about the desperate struggle of humans, on a planet other then Earth, who are fighting a guerrilla war against robots controlled by rogue artificial intelligences. The Machines have created a nano plague making metal impossible to use by ordinary humans. The human resistance has turned to bio tech weapons, weapons and power armor based on genetically engineered plants and animals to continue their fight against the machines.

A unique and imaginative setting which uses the Palladium Megaversal system. A self contained game book which will inspire your creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Splicers®
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Trapdoor
Publisher: Trapdoor Games
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2015 22:20:48

Really scratches the RPG lite, miniature based dungeon crawl itch. If you are a fan of long out of print dungeon crawlers like Heroquest and Warhammer Quest you will enjoy this game. Most gamers will already have all the components needed to play; dice, minis and dungeon tiles. Fast playing and easy to learn but with enough depth and character creation to satisfy many levels and ages of gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trapdoor
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Survivors of the Fire
Publisher: Friz Games
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2012 06:46:10

An elegant and fast playing D6 based combat system that includes vehicle combat! The layout, writing, rules and overall production value is high, especially considering this is a one man company producing its first (bargin priced) product. My only complaint is the art isn't very good and there is very little of it. The adventures in the back of the book are well written. I look forward to more SotF sourcebooks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survivors of the Fire
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates