Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Witch & Knave
Publisher: Things I Keep
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2020 16:38:29

A great solo rpg. Almost everything you need is contained in the book. Just add a question oracle and you're off and running.

I love the light setting, its all you need for solo as detailed settings can be restrictive. Character creation is quick but really detailed. The blood and doom track is really innovative. Encumberance is handled simply and has you contantly chewing your lip over how much you can carry, as it should.

The rules can be a bit vague at times but it seems that the author is updating so I'm sure it will all get ironed out in the future.

Recommended!

Update. This game is a work in progress. The latest update contains very big changes. It has most certainly improved and is much less vague. Monster creation is now completely unique. The magic sytem has improved and exploration is far more concise. Cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witch & Knave
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Motif Story Engine (Solo and GM-Lite Roleplaying Toolkit)
Publisher: Thought Police
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2020 11:45:59

Truly this is an excellent solo roleplaying engine. I haven't put it through its paces but in theory this could be the best I've seen and I've purchased most of them.

Finally someone has pushed the format forward instead of rehashing the standard mechanisms or making an engine that is either to minimal or too complex for your average gamer. Awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Motif Story Engine (Solo and GM-Lite Roleplaying Toolkit)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cat's Dream
Publisher: Tobie Abad
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2020 08:12:18

This is a great little storytelling game. Its easy to learn and produces great dream stories. The author has promised to make a supplement for it. I await eagerly!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cat's Dream
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Underworld Stories
Publisher: STUDIUM CMLXV
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 18:50:11

I agree with Stephans review.

This is a great rules light, Dungeon Crawl that takes up minimal space and plays swiftly. The combat is innovative!

I love games that I can play in an evening after work when I have limited time and I'm tired. This is one of those games. Score!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Underworld Stories
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Hannibal ad Portas
Publisher: STUDIUM CMLXV
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2019 19:14:43

For the price this is excellent. Its a small solitaire game that has a good balance of strategy and luck and tells a great story.

Good game and I can see great replayability.

If you are convinced that dice hate you you are in luck. The card deck in this game replaces D6 and will virtually ensure you never end up rolling a 1 after 1 after 1! Or indeed a slew of 6's. It tends to smooth out the number distribution. I might use it for other games. Of course, if that sounds bad to you then just roll D6's. It's your game...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hannibal ad Portas
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Adventure Crafter
Publisher: Word Mill
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 17:45:53

This book does exactly what it claims to do. it will create adventures for you with as much or as little detail as you require.

If you use Mythic GME it is an essential addition. It truly is an amazing add on for anyone who roleplays solo or a group without a GM.

Truly, I believe this is a stroke of genius. I reckon it's worth an Ennie. Also it is a shining example of technical authoring. It's easy to unserstand its moving parts because it's explained so logically with numerous examples.

Awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2018 17:43:20

Honestly, this book is essential if you have 4 Against Darkness. The setting and premise of the Flower Demesne is highly original and wonderfully evocative. You even have to forgoe a certain amount of combat and instead find yourself involved in weird courtship encounters!

The new classes are great too but the real winner (apart from the setting) here is the section on potions. Its incredible!

This book could completely change the way you play 4AD. Hunting for ingredients for potions is now a fascinating and lucrative objective that will see you seeking throughout many of the other books in the line already published.

I highly rate this supplement. Buy it immediately!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Publisher: Fishwife Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 14:57:07

More simplistic than Exiles of the Wicked Maze but easier to get going and has a different goal. Good fun! It would be a 5 star rating if there was more than one map like Exiles. 3 different mazes would be good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Maze 01: The Garden of Mad Alchemy (Solo Game)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition: Return to Merlantis
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:46:52

See my review of 'Deadly Missions 2nd Ed. - The Portal' for my main thoughts about the game...

The 3rd edition of Deadly Missions is chiefly just a case of more is more. More characters, more creature tokens, more villains and another tile set to romp around on. For me thats easily worth the price alone.

There are however a few more things worth considering though...

  1. The rulebook has been improved. It's a little clearer and has a slightly better layout.

  2. There are some new abilities that are great additions. particularly the ruthless 'Swashbuckler'!

  3. We have water creatures/characters/villains and new rules for them.

  4. There are now blank templates and a point system for creating your own characters, villains or creatures.

In short, there's more new content than you can shake a stick at, the game has been improved and you now have all you need to create your own custom content. Definitely worth purchasing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition:  Return to Merlantis
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition: THE PORTAL
Publisher: Grey Matter Games
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 18:03:24

Deadly Missions is a 'print & play' Dungeon Crawler. Does the world need another Dungeon Crawler? Yes, certainly and here's why...

If you look at the Grey Matter Games section on DrivethruRPG you'll see that Deadly Missions has been consistently improved and expanded upon over quite a few years. This means that if you like it's basic premise you can slowly turn it into one mighty big game chock full of monsters, villains, heroes and artifacts that will give it almost infinite replay-ability.

The aim of the game is to gather 4-6 heroes with varying skill sets and pit them against a villain or boss monster in a dungeon of randomised tiles. Monsters appear ranked from 1st level goons up to 3rd level bad asses. The combat rules are simple but effective and doors and difficult types of terrain are covered well. I particularly like the fact that rear attacks are in the rules. The popular Dungeons and Dragons board games don't actually have have this seemingly essential tactic! You can even run out of arrows for your bow. Then you have to hope you can find some more on a dead Goblin. Yikes! Heroes and villains have access to any of the 48 abilities in the rules. As you can imagine this makes for a very interesting selection of characters. I like to randomise the characters I play and find the best way that the group can work together.

The 2nd edition of Deadly Missions is a great improvement over the first both in terms of the art and graphics and also the rules. All of the character art for the standees and cards is produced by the author and this is what really makes Deadly Missions so unique to me. David Wears has a great cartoon style of art that blends very well with his vision of pure unabashed fantasy. I particularly like all the anthropomorphic heroes.

Deadly Missions is really a sandbox game. Suggestions are made for three adventures. 1, defeat the main villain. 2, rescue the prisoner and 3, find the summoning circle and defeat the boss monster. That's it really. Yet, if you look at the tiles that come with the game (or even better the expansion Fantasy Quest 3 or indeed any of the many tile sets available online) See Lord Zsezse Works!) then you can let your imagination soar and come up with adventure ideas only limited by your imagination. The rules are light and flexible enough to accommodate any ideas you have.

So yes. I believe Deadly Missions is essential if you love Dungeon Crawling and are prepared to print and create your own game. Huge fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition:  THE PORTAL
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
Publisher: Outland Arts
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2016 18:44:43

I have Mutant Epoch core rules. I only solo roleplay with it. This game supports solo roleplay extremely well. All their large adventure books are written to account for a solo experience which is so very rare.

I digress. These quick start rules are an amazing addition. Apart from their obvious reason for being they are perfect for solo roleplaying. I need a game to be rules light in order to keep the pace snappy. This concise 48 page edition (the adventure is an additional 42 pages plus setting material) is perfect for my needs and comes with another fantastic adventure for free! When the rules become second nature I can start adding more from the full 246 page core rules.

Really, what more could you want? Great artwork? Its got that too!

Richard Smithston



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch RPG Quick Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Rad-Hack
Publisher: Karl Stjernberg
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2016 13:30:29

Great fun. Minimalist rule set. Excellent illustrations. I hope it gets expanded just a bit! Too much would ruin it's "less is more" approach.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rad-Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics
Publisher: Imperium Group, LLC
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2016 14:58:35

I originally bought this from the owners website & therefore had to post my review in "Discussions". I now have a copy on Drive thru, so I'm posting my review here too...

This game is fantastic fun. Do yourself a favour and get the tokens and map professionally printed. It was only then that I realised just how good the art is!

This is a rules light, Sci Fi skirmish game that works very well when played solo. This game excels at being fast to learn and fast to play. Crunchy it is not. If you follow this BGG link it will take you to a solo system originally created for 'Song of Blades and Heroes'

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/73730/sbh-solo

It takes very little to adapt this for use with 'In Harms Way'. Now you have a neat A.I. For all your enemies!

Get both the expansions for huge replay-ability. The robot faction is very cool. Gaming heaven!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics: March of the Metal Horde
Publisher: Imperium Group, LLC
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 12:56:30

More stuff for In Harms Way. More is most definitely more here. The robot faction is the coolest. Officially they are the enemy but I can see myself playing these guys a lot!

Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Imperium Chronicles - In Harm's Way Tactics: March of the Metal Horde
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Publisher: Paper Make iT !
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2016 19:00:06

This an excellent sc fi/modern map maker. The interface appears daunting until you get stuck in. Then it all falls in to place quite quickly.

Support for the program is excellent. Claudio is a very amiable and helpful chap.

Be aware that if you see a catalogue number on the end of the program files they need to be removed or the program will only half work. Claudio is aware of this but the catalogue number is added by Drive thru. If they don't remove the numbers you must!!

Also, when loading a new map be sure to clear the screen first. If you don't it can get buggy due to old layers still present under the new map. Remember this rule and everything is fine.

Highly recommended.

I would love to see more content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shuffler - Modern and Sci-Fi Map Creator
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates