Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Beasts of the Jungle Rot
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 16:25:54

A must have if you're running Tomb of Annihilation. Not only is it packed full of fun new dinosaurs with which to surprise your players, but you've also got a selection of great zombified version as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts of the Jungle Rot
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chult: Adversaries and Allies
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:20:38

This is a solid addition to any Tomb of Annhilation library, with plenty of fun adventure hooks, NPCs, and handy tables to help you flesh out your campaign.

My party recently spent a memorable evening in the Thirsty Giraffe in, which is a really well done inn, especially when you compare it to the relative lack of detail given on the two inns included in the original module.

While the formatting is a little unorthodox, there's no faulting the quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chult: Adversaries and Allies
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Drabdon City Sewer
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:18:49

This is an absolutely superb map, although that is not unusual given this is Heroic Maps we're talking about.

I recently adapted a pair of DMsGuild/DriveThruRPG adventures (Sewers Under Sandwall & Druid in the Sewers) to fit with this exquisitely done map. There are plenty of little nooks and crannies in there for your players to explore, with the high resolution making it look terrific on VTT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Drabdon City Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chultan Death Curse: Revised!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:17:43

If you're as dissatisfied with the Death Curse hook in Tomb of Annihilation as myself and my parties have been, this is a must-have. It not only makes changes to the Death Curse mechanically, but also introduces ways in which it can be rolled out more gradually, ratcheting up the tension as the game progresses, rather than holding a proverbial gun to the party's head from the outset.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chultan Death Curse: Revised!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Druid in the Sewers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:16:36

This is a really well written and fun little sewer dungeon crawl. I fused it together with another sewer adventure to make a larger dungeon full of twists and turns, with the included spore hijinx and the new creatures added bringing plenty to the table.

The final bossfight presents you with plenty of options as to how you might challenge or protect your family, and it's open-ended nature makes this a great way to potentially introduce a recurring villain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Druid in the Sewers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Publisher: Absolute Tabletop
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2020 18:13:47

My players have had an absolute blast with this module. While it took a little tweaking to make it fit the sewers under Port Nyanzaru for our ongoing Tomb of Annihilation campaign, its mixture of weird environmental effects and kooky enemies has made for a real fun twist on a traditional dungeon crawl. The includes NPCs are a lot of fun to roleplay, especially when you have them essentially bidding for your party's allegiance.

The art included is top shelf and the writing is of a good standard. One of the better adventures I've picked up in my time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:09:14

Another terrific Tomb of Annhilation supplement, this collection of ready to use encounters and mini-adventures can be seamlessly plugged into your ongoing Tomb of Annihilation campaign to add further flavor to Port Nyanzaru.

With a mixture of this tome and Adventurer's League adventures, I've got my party so enamored of Port Nyanzaru that we're six sessions in and nobody is in a rush to head into the jungle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Jungle Treks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:07:48

This is a must-have Tomb of Annihilation supplement, with a number of wonderfully crafted and flexible encounters to introduce into your campaign. I lifted three of these and fitted them into two days of jungle travel in a recent campaign and my players absolutely loved the experience, with the whitewater river experience being a real highlight.

If you're dealing with hex crawl fatigue, a few of these mini-adventures are sure to spice up your sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jungle Treks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Monster Loot Collection [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:06:38

The Monster Loot supplements are some of my favourite sourcebooks out there and an element I include in three of my five ongoing D&D games. While 5E doesn't encourage giving out piles of magic items like previous edition, the ability for players to still take a little characterful loot from defeated enemies has made them much more interested in tracking down exotic beasts or seeking out valuable components.

The system itself is very simple to add to your game, and the in-depth tables (hundreds of them) are easy to interpret and work with on the fly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Collection  [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Silk Road Campaign Setting
Publisher: Gateway Roleplaying Games
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:05:03

I'm glad I didn't pay money for this, as it's little more than somebody's copy + pasted notes (including HTML) loosely formatted into something you might call a PDF.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Silk Road Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Adventurer's Domestic Handbook
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:04:30

I was a bit skeptical about what a compendium about marriage, romance, and home ownership might add to my games, but I was blown away by both the quality of the material and the enthusiasm with which my table reacted to its introduction.

In just one session of my hinting at the additional systems and ideas presented in the book, I've got one party member wanting to further roleplay the business she owns in her backstory and also wanting to take in an apprentice from our most recent session. I've also got those who had built beloved family members into their backstory suddenly seeing ways that those relationships can better connect with their lives of adventuring due to the optional spells and magic items included in the book.

Add to this the subclasses, NPCs, and well-written sections on potentially prickly topics like seduction and romance, and you've got a recipe for a must-have addition to any roleplay driven table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventurer's Domestic Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Legendary Bestiary: Legendary Actions for Low-Level Monsters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:02:18

This one is a game-changer and a super fun way to turn relatively run-of-the-mill encounters into genuine challenges. I've had a blast surprising my players with an especially nasty goblin, gnoll, or spider in a bossfight, with the ensuing fights not only proving a lot more challenging, but also a lot more fun as well.

I'd love to see this series continue, as there are plenty of mid-level monsters that I would love to see given a similar treatment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Bestiary: Legendary Actions for Low-Level Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Do Not Let Us Die In The Dark Night Of This Cold Winter
Publisher: cone of negative energy
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 16:56:39

This was just stellar. I inserted this terrific mini-game into my ongoing campaign, having the players help to popuiate the village ahead of the game and then watching as they realised with growing horror that these villagers they had grown attached to were going to die.

Over the course of three hours my players laughed, gasped, and cursed as they had to make difficult decisions and see people they'd grown attached to perish. I inserted several roleplay breaks in the play, allowing the players to interact with the residents and roleplay the residents of their homes interact with their fellow adventurers.

At the end of the session we'd lost 19 of 30 and the player had ended up with a motley collection of orphans and scarred survivors who wanted to follow them when they left the gutted village.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Do Not Let Us Die In The Dark Night Of This Cold Winter
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Second Black Dawn
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 16:52:34

I bought this one with plenty of excitement, but my players just didn't engage with it, essentially noping out of the module before we had completed chapter two. While there are definitely elements of the adventure that I found intriguing, it comes across as a little too aggressive in its edginess with the multiple references to rape and brutality. While I'm sure that would work with some of my other groups, it was a little too on the nose for my table. I didn't feel that the brutality added much to the overall story.

It's definitely a module I'll come back to, but it won't be everybody's cup of tea.

Putting aside the 'grimdark' element, I also felt that the adventure did not flow especially well from section to section. My players felt like they had hit dead ends on a few occasions, and eventually I gave up on nudging them in the right direction, instead moving onto something else.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Second Black Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hi, thanks for the feedback! I'm sorry you didn't like it. What are the plot points that you found forced? For brutality I put a specific content warning, but in any case I decided to upload a new version, to eliminate those two violent references, which I just uploaded!
Faerie Bargains (5E)
Publisher: Legendary Games
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 16:48:56

This is a really neat and unique concept, and one I've used to great effect in my own Tales of the Old Magreve game. Introducing treacherous and unpredictable fey bargains and fey mysteries, it is a really fun and flavourful way to maek your forest adventures have a bit more menace to them.

It adds a fun element of player choice in which they need to weigh the risk vs. the reward, with the long-term penalties for making the wrong choice offering up some fun roleplay opportunities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faerie Bargains (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates