Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #50: Artifact Quality
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2015 14:56:38

Wisdom of the Wastelands is a regular favorite of mine to read and use in my P-A games. Number 50 - Artifact Quality is a must read for those that like to add a bit more realism to their game.

Derek and Chris have done an excellent job describing the rationale behind the need for such charts as well as breaking them down for ease of use. There are charts for weapons, armor, and much more here. Each one easy to use and gives an ML (or in my case, GM) a great tool for describing the PCs new-found toys.

Anyone playing in a post apocalyptic game knows that stuff is old and it breaks...regularly...and often at the worst possible time. This tool gives the players the ability to gauge their artifact value and usefulness, and, of course, gives the ML a means to reward or penalize PC actions.

Get it today and be ready for the next game you play!

Outstanding job, Skirmisher!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #50: Artifact Quality
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2015 10:44:25

100 Oddities for a Creepy House is a concise, but very useful tool to add flavor to your role-playing experience.

As the title suggests, the list of oddities are for a haunted house, which are typically associated with the Horror genre, but with a little imagination and a few subtle twists, could easily be adapted to Fantasy, Modern or Post-Apocalyptic games as well.

The list is your standard d100 roll in its simplicity, but I would simply pick from it for added description. In fact, there are several things on the list that could easily be linked to form a description of a room. That makes this tool perfect for storytelling games too.

I particularly like how the author pulled one selection from the list and expounded on it, giving the reader not only the basic read, but showed how to use these items as adventure hooks and lead-ins as well.

I great read and well worth the money. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Publisher: Draken Games
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2015 20:47:13

I picked this up because I was curious as to what method the author was going to use to teach this technique. I was pleasantly surprised that it was indeed good old-fashioned pencil (and pen) and paper.

This is a great resource for anyone that thinks they cannot draw. I, myself, can draw pretty well, but even I learned a thing or two (the highlighter techniques come to mind here). The author teaches in plain simple English and the results are great.

If you're looking for one of those "use this tool" how-to docs, then this is not for you. However, if you are just an average gamer who would love to make some cool maps without 4 years of Art school and thousand dollar computer programs, then this is just what the doctor ordered!

For a buck and a half you can change your skillset. Not many things today can deliver on that!

Buy it...and start mapping!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Template Pack #10 Steampunk
Publisher: Figu Design
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2015 09:49:27

Template Pack #10 Steampunk is a beautiful assortment of covers and pages for use in PDF and Print documents.

As I looked through these this morning, I was blown away by the detail and color of the pages. They made me wish I had hardback books that looked like this! Each of the pages and covers are intricately detailed and will drastically improve any document that uses them.

I will DEFINITELY be using these in my upcoming PDF releases...and Lord Zsezse, you will DEFINITELY be credited, despite not being required to do so. Work like this needs to be shared and credited!

Outstanding product I highly recommend to any and all witers out there. They even make beautiful scrapbook pages!

5 out of 5...Keep up the great work!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Pack #10 Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #4: New Races
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2012 12:49:29

I haven't had a chance to read through (or review) all of these issues, but I wanted to be sure that this issue got some props.

New Races is a great addition to Mutant Future (and any other similar PA-type game). It takes the basics and kicks them up a notch...several in some cases. They all fit well and will easily drop in to any game you have in progress as well.

There are seven races discussed, 6 of which are variations of the human genome, but much more detailed and well thought out. The 7th is insectoid. They are: Ancients, Aquatics, Body Masters, Exotics, Regular Humans, Mind Masters, and Insectoids. The first four are different spins on genetically enhanced/engineered humans. Each of these cover a specific form of modification as well as their original intention. The fifth, Regular Humans, gives everyone a glimpse into the true origins of mutant humans. Basically, they are the "true" stock in that they have not had any enhancement or modifications. Think of them as you and I. From this pool, the mutants were spawned. The last 2 are mutant varieties of human (Mind Masters) and Insect. Each of these are pretty much self explanatory.

What I like about these new races is their "out-of-the-box" usefulness in a game. Players can select any one of them and run with them without needing a separate book to describe their traits. Each is also detailed in that a background history for the characters should be easily (and plausibly) derived by a few moments of thought.

They all seem well balanced and will easily fit right alongside the standard Pure human-mutant-android list already in place.

If you want to add some variety and flavor to your campaigns or just create some cool new NPCs, pick this issue up today! Great stuff!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #4: New Races
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creatures of the Tropical Wastes (Mutant Future)
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2011 10:32:37

Skirmisher Publishing has been cranking out good stuff for years now, so it was no surprise when I opened this newest installment and found yet another gem.

Chris Van Deelen, co-author of the Outlanders novel "Mask of the Sphinx", pens a great list of mutants, mutations and more! I thought just to skim this originally, but was so caught up in what I read that I ended up reading the entire 60+ pages in one sitting.

There are a lot of devious creatures here...lethal, in fact...that GMs amd Labyrinth Lords alike will find to challenge their players. Chris uses the Phillipine mythos as a model for some of his creations. He fills his descriptions with excelent "wasteland" history as well as their traditional stories, making them an execellent blend for any campaign. Creatures, like the Ahas Folk lend themselves to possible PC types, whereas creatures such as the Palmers will be sure your players never look at coconuts the same way again!

I've laways been a fan of new mutations, so the selection included in this installment also caught my eye. I like in particular the concept of "companion mutations" (ones that remain dormant unless the PC also possesses another pre-requisite mutation), such as the Memory Erase mutation included here. I have created similar mutations for my players and the fact that they can build on one another makes their play much more interesting. There are others, such as Shapeshift and Unique Sense that are the blueprints for powerful mutants as well.

Chris and Derek Holland's personal commentaries set the stage and give you a glimpse into what the author was thinking when these goodies were devised. As a fellow writer and GM, I especially appreciate this sort of insight into a work such as this.

Bottom line: 5 Stars...GO GET IT!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of the Tropical Wastes (Mutant Future)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creatures of the Wastelands: A Menagerie of Mutants and Mutations
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2009 22:10:05

I've been waiting for Creatures of the Wastelands to be released ever since I first got wind of it being developed...and it was worth the wait! I have corresponded with the author over the years in a newsgroup we both frequent, so I already knew that a high quality product awaited me. Let me break this down into the main components and give you the pros & cons (if any) for each section:

Mutants: Mutant Future opened the door to "old school" ruins raiding and this product is a great first accessory for the game. With over 200 new mutants to choose from, the Mutant Lord (DM/GM) has quite an arsenal to throw at their players. Everything from the wild & wahoo creatures to the very deadly ones, this covers the whole gamut. I like the parasite mutants in particular, because sometimes, it's the little things that matter! :) It's easy to convince a party to stay away from a T-Rex, but the parasites have a way of putting fear into the toughest warriors. I wasn't too big on the various stones...for some reason, they just didn't work for me.

Mutations: What I like about this section is the idea that these mutations are generic enough to be tweaked, not only for Mutant Future, but for almost any P-A game out there, giving this product added flexibility and usefulness. The breakdown of them is also very helpful in finding exactly what you're looking for, without a lot of hassle; just look up the type you want (physical, mental, plant) and start reading. I find that the mutations are quite good as well. However, a few seem a bit out of balance and, depending on the way the players acquire them, could make for a very lethal character.

Terrains, Hazards and misc odds and ends: This collection of miscellaneous items was one area I would have liked to see more of. To me, these were good solid ideas...and teasers, leaving you wanting more (perhaps that's the whole point).

Artwork: As always, Skirmisher has great artwork included among its PDF pages. Some were excellent, others...well...not quite as good, but every picture was a great fit for the theme.

In Summary... Liked: The entire concept of expanding Mutant Future and the genre in general, and a great many of the mutants, mutations and misc. other goodies. Excellent writing, well organized and bookmarked for easy reference...and it includes a printer-friendly version.

Room for improvement (because I didn't really "dislike" anything): I feel that there was too much of some things (mutants) and not enough of others (terrains and hazards). I also feel that this is an excellent candidate for another Skirmisher series (like their City Builder collection). By breaking out the mutants, mutations and other items into separate PDFs, plus maybe some new expansions, each can get the true attention it deserves.

Bottom line: A solid, first product for Mutant Future. It's well thought out, packaged and full of great material...a definite Must-Have for all Post-Apocalyptic gamers!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of the Wastelands: A Menagerie of Mutants and Mutations
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

e-Adventure Tiles Weekly No. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2009 15:42:29

Ed's stuff is simply the best out there! I have a lot of his sets, but I can always work with more!

The "weekly" idea seems a long time coming...and something I'll look forward to. The greatest asset, I feel that this type of concept is variety. This is kind of a something-for-everyone idea...like a mini sampler...which not only adds to your existing tilesets, but allows you to try new ones. Couple this with the free bonus tiles that are available through the SkeletonKeyGames website and you can try out any set, then buy the larger ones of what you really like.

As the other reviewer stated, this also allows users of the Adventure Town to begin to flesh out their shops and such...something I really like and have been looking forward to for a while!

Thanks for another great idea and great product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles Weekly No. 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

City Builder Volumes 1-11 [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2009 20:34:43

For all of you that have been keeping this one on your wishlist...GO GET IT! :)

City Builder has been a wonderful set for me, not only to review for all of you, but to actually get use from as well. This compilation includes all 11 volumes at a discounted price. The price may be lower, but the quality certainly is not!

From the very first volume to the very last, the Skirmisher team has produced a fantastic product; systemless, reusable, informative as well as historically accurate. For those of you looking for "realism" in your games, you'll get it here. For those of you that want great ideas for various parts of a city, again, here it is.

I have used this collection, with very tweaking, for a post-apocalyptic campaign as well as right-out-of-the-PDF for a fantasy milieu. Excellent writing and quality art, along with adventure hooks make this a MUST BUY for GMs.

Bottom line...buy this one!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Builder Volumes 1-11 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Noble Wild Character Sheets
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2008 16:38:53

These are a GREAT idea...and you can't beat the price!!

NICE JOB!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Noble Wild Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Nuisances: Director's Cut
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2008 15:19:08

This book is a BLAST!! It's D&D: Unglued (for all you MtG fans out there)

Having never seen the original, I cannot comment on it, but Nuisances: The Director's Cut is loaded with some good old fashioned FUN!!

There is so much great material in here that it's truly hard to pick a favorite. I guess I would have to say the Jester Dragon would be my personal favorite (since I've always wanted to run a Jester character). Incidentally, those of you looking to spice up your game or add a bit of comic relief to all that dice rolling, this is the book for you!

I will say that this is definitely not for the sensitive gamer. Some of the material may be a bit offensive to some folks, but the authors make that clear in the description.

Overall, a great addition to the normal humdrum rulebooks...and just plain excellent to read!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nuisances: Director's Cut
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Advanced Fleet Designs: Titan Class Scout
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2008 14:43:54

Great quality product from Fat Dragon Games!

This a an outstanding edition to everyone looking for detail in their starships. Not sure how well it'll play for a miniatures style crew vs. crew fight since the tiles are a bit busy, but the detail is great.

Only one question...how do you get onboard? I missed the door/hatch to get in. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fleet Designs: Titan Class Scout
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Noble Wild
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2008 21:36:18

For those of you that want to spice up your familiars...or even your campaign...this one's for you!

I actually picked this up for the intelligent animal aspect, for my D20 Gamma World game, which is severly lacking in the animal department. With some minor tweaking, I'll have a host of new Mutated Animals for my group to play!

For its intended purpose, however, this brings a unique concept of Noble Animals to the fantasy game world, along with a true roleplaying challenge for those brave enough to try. There are so many possibilities for this book that anything I write will not do it justice.

A great idea, well written and thought out. Artwork, layout and content are all top notch and it covers everything the description lists...and then some.

Animal fans, and those of you with wild imaginations, will not be disappointed!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Noble Wild
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Experts v.3.5
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2008 21:19:03

I actually stumbled across this by accident, but I'm glad I found it! Once I read through it and found that nobody had reviewed this yet, I felt it necessary to share the qualities of this gem with the rest of the pdf-purchasing community.

This book is every bit as complete as the description says it is. Go back and look at the laundry list of features...they're all here! I was amazed at the wealth of information included in its 176 pages. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

The layout is easy to follow and you can tell that a LOT of thought went into not only content but presentation as well.

I HIGHLY recommend this book for any GM, especially those that like detail in their NPCs and depth in their campaigns.

Great job!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Experts v.3.5
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Future Worlds: Concrete Wastelands
Publisher: Arid Hills Gaming
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2008 16:25:28

I bought this product with the thought of using it in both my Gamma World games and an upcoming WWII campaign I plan to run...and I was not disappointed.

This is a great product, and, as the author states, prints out well on both cardstock (which I use) as well as standard paper (which I accidentally printed out on). :) The instructions are well written and add a sense of humor as well.

The artwork looks great for post-apocalyptic settings and as I suspected, works well with urban war based games as well.

Outstanding job!! I'd like to see ruined buildings and possibly overgrown ruins if you're looking for future ideas (Hint Hint!!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Worlds: Concrete Wastelands
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We're always interested in hearing what our customers would like to see in future products. Should you have any further suggestions or feedback, please don't hesitate to contact us by email. Our address is arid_hills@bigpond.com . If you're interested in receiving news on other Future Worlds products or customer discounts, don't forget to have your account details set to accept publisher mail.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates