Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Space Patrol
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2017 00:32:55

A four page introduction is followed by sections on the History and Mission of the Space Patrol. It's generic enough to fit into any campaign. Then there are several sections on codes of law, prize money, jurisdiction, interstelalr law enforcement, legal and court systems. I haven't looked at these sections in depth yet, but they seem like they would be quite useful, particularly if your player characters tend to skirt the law a bit. Next comes sections on organisation, rank and careers (creating a Space Patrol Officer). A must for any module describing a new organisation. Next up is ships and equipment. also a must when presenting a new organisation. The section on Space Patrol campaigns describes what sort of setting works best, and how to integrate the space patrol into existing campaign universes. Helpful advice is always appreaciated. The final sections provide some typical (or atypical npcs), adventure seeds and some scenarios. Again very useful and a must in this type of book.

The layout is pretty good and sections are fairly easy to find, and I didn't notice too many typos. All in all, a pretty good book, that adds useful material to the referees gaming arsenal. Buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Space Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your great review!
Agent of the Imperium
Publisher: Far Future Enterprise
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2017 23:55:30

I have to admit I am biased, I'm a Traveller player and therefore am predisposed to like this book. The story is quite good and a fantastic idea for playing traveller (or any other sci-fi game for that matter) when you are short of players. All you need is one referee and one core player, new players can be slotted in at any time, for a one shot appearance or occasionally a recurring role.

The story is presented in numerous short periods of activity, separated by extended periods of time (much like game sessions). It's like an ongoing Traveller campaign that was planned for only two regular players and whoever else can be coaxed into playing for any given game session. The two regulars are the referee and one player who plays the main character, most other characters in the story are npcs, a few are pcs when players are available.

Btw.... this is not a game module this is a Traveller novel.

I found it to be a fascinating read, a brilliant idea for game play and an interesting addition to the OTU.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agent of the Imperium
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Near Space
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2016 19:39:18

I'd been looking for an easy way to depict the near earth stars in a map, finally found it. It's hex based and thus 2d rather than 3d. This is the standard approach with traveller like games as it simplifies space navigation for the gm and players, letting them concentrate on the story elements more. If you want 3d maps there are plenty available. Near Space is a 13 page pdf booklet with four maps, which plot the known near earth stars with as much accuracy as a 2D map allows. The maps are a quarter the size of a Traveller sector map, encompassing a 20 x 16 parsec area of near earth space. Two of the maps include additional fictitious stars to fill gaps making travel easier and two have only real stars plotted. Each pair of maps includes one with a white background and one with a black background. The booklet includes 3 pages of Star System data in Traveller style UWP format. System data is basic, in that only the main world data is provided and all provide only world size, atmosphere, and hydrographics figures, the rest are for you to develop. The details provided for earth are a full UWP code, however it is meant to reflect our contemporary earth, not a future earth. The booklet provides some expanded world generation rules, compatible with the Cepheus Engine, an OGL sci-fi rules set, but are readily adaptable to any of the Traveller rules sets as well. I am working on my own system data for the map, and plan to use this product as the base setting for my sci-fi RPGs and Wargames. I hope that Stellagama Publishing publishes some more maps expanding upon the region surrounding earth. I recommend this product to anyone interested in near earth gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Near Space
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the excellent review!
Trilaterum
Publisher: Trilaterum Miniatures
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2016 22:38:37

Trilaterum was designed to provide a rules set specifically for Stan Johansen's figure ranges, many of which are or were originally designed for the Space Opera RPG by Fantasy Games Unlimited. I bought the pdf but I understand it'S also available in book form. The pdf is 44 pages in length, with the pages 1-27 covering intro rules and special rules, (I'll be honest here, I did not buy this book for the rules I bought it for setting information on Stan Johansens figures, so I haven't read the rules yet).

Pages 28-36 provide a one page brief on each faction and unit stat blocks for the Trilaterum rules.

A few pages are devoted to makeing custom units with other figure ranges. Three pages of scenarios

and a quick reference sheet.

Ok not having read the rules means this review is far from complete, but the rules layout apperas logical and easy to follow.

There is a points system for those who need one.

Seeing as I purchased this for setting information only and not the rules, I can only rate it for the parts I will use. That being said, those parts are well organised, clearly written and easy to understand and I would love to give this pdf a high rating.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trilaterum
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system
Publisher: Nordic Weasel Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2016 04:02:42

Published by Nordic Weasel Games, Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system is apparently a departure from their usual product range, in that it is system agnostic and not designed to work specifically with one or more of its other products. It is clearly aimed at wargamers, specifically those wargamers focusing on the brush wars of the last century, this century and the near future. The pdf has twos ections. The first section consists of tables for generating "imagi-Nations" for wargaming, these tables cover about 10 pages and are designed to be modularm, so that a player need not use all of the tables if desired. The last section is about 28 pages long and covers campaign rules, designed to overlay your wargames rules, again, they are modular and you need not use them all.

While not aimed at Sci-fi (my favourite genre) I can definitely find a use for this pdf in both my wargaming and roleplaying games. There are even rules for figuring the relative tech level of the imagi-Nation and a table for generating the name of military operations, I rather like this table and will definitely use it a lot.

I'd definitely recommend it.

I deducted one rating point, only because it is not broadly useful across all game genres. Having said that it would still be fairly easy to adapt it to your favourite genre.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Not Just a Brush War. Brush war campaigns for any war game system
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bug Hunts: Surviving and Combating the Alien Menace
Publisher: Osprey Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2016 03:15:57

If you've ever read the Colonial Marine Technical Manual you'll have a pretty good idea what to expect from this book. Although Bug Hunts: Surviving and Combating the Alien Menace clearly has a more general focus. Its 81 pages the first 45 of which are devoted to indepth studies of three bug species, a xeno-parasite, an arachnid type and a crab-like species, followed by a briefer look at six other species. The next 4 pages provide a timeline of the more infamous infestations. The last 30 pages are devoted to an in depth look at the forces and organisations whose task it is to deal with bug infestations, their organisation, equipment and some of the more well known personnel.

The book provides setting or backrground material only, there are no rules of any sort in this book. As a resource it is very useful and adaptable to pretty much any rules system you could think of. I'm a wargamer and roleplayer with a distinct preference for Sci-fi and I love it. The aliens are similar to, but clearly different from, some of the big franchise aliens out there. This means that the book material can be used with little modification to represent those franchises in your games. The same can be said of the forces deployed against them.

My preference is for sci-fi wargames and roleplaying games. Bug Hunts: Surviving and Combating the Alien Menace has become a valuable resource in my gaming. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in playing bug hunt scenarios in RPGs or Wargames.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bug Hunts: Surviving and Combating the Alien Menace
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

D66 Compendium 2
Publisher: Mongoose
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2016 20:56:20

Very useful, despite my limited RPG time these days, I find it useful for both RPGs and Sci-fi wargames.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

By Dagger or Talon
Publisher: Ambush Alley Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2016 16:49:06

I found this to be a very useful expansion to the Tomorrow's War rules. The book provides a short history on alien contact in the Tomorrow's War universe, which describes mankinds encounters with the three non-human species. The next section provides a brief overview and some details on non-human biology and psychology, and their game effects, furthermore it looks at humanity through the xenopsychology microscope as well highlighting mankinds defining psychological qualities for game purposes. Next is a section on special operations forces which discusses the unaugmented operator, power armoured operator, nanite and genetically enhanced operators, cyborg and synthetic operators and hybrid operators. Having discussed non-humans and special operations forces, the next section moves on to detail the specific traits that make them different and how they apply in game, expanding on the limited descriptions contained in TW. With their traits described, the book then provides a section on sample forces such as the Dhargaur, Dhargaur Slave Races, Marshborn, DPRG Victoriuos People's Guard (Powered Armor SOF), DPRG Special Reconnaissance Platoon (Cyborg Special Operations), 1er Régiment de Forces Spéciales Améliorées (Les Marteaux de Dieu), Republic of Arden National Guard Special Operations Force (RANGSOF), US Army Detachment Zulu (Genies), US Army Special Operational Detachments (Paragons), USMC Force Special Operations Command (Nannies). These forces need special vehicles and weapons, which the next two sections details. Finally the book provides over half a dozen scenarios involving these new forces. Even if you use a different set of rules this book is worth buying as a game resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By Dagger or Talon
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2015 07:49:21

I was feeling lazy and needed a warehouse floor plan, for $7 I got a series of maps that showed a split level warehouse with a few loading docks, and a couple of offices overlooking the warehouse floor. The series included maps in two different sizes, one is suitable for standard printing the larger version seems to be designed to be used as a battle mat for miniatures. The maps also came in different versions, for instance there is an overview map, a complete map, a map without labels, and another without labels and furniture. This particular pack also includes the same sort of maps for an average strip mall and a high rise building. These will prove equally as useful as the warehouse maps. Now, I know, I could just as easily have spent a little time and drawn my own maps, however as I stated earlier I was feeling lazy and for $7 this saved me some time and effort. If you don't want to or don't have time to draw your own, get this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates