Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Aden
by Arrigo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 08:31:24

Greg Porter achieved something extremely good here. Aden is indeed a very good game in a small ziplock. Contemporary urban combat game above skirmish are not very common, probably due the perception they are boring and unbalanced yet Aden proves this is wrong. There are plenty of scenarios inspired by the civil war in Yemen that shows both the dynamics and the problems of fighting in a large built up area with armies that often are nothing more than rabble. Its combat mechanic also aptly simulate the current tendencies in fire combat. The fact that you basically decide to pull out if you do not want to have losses and you have cover nearby is excellent. Modern combat can be either bloody or bloodless depending online of sight, and the game really get it right. Well done.

Disclaimer: Product received for free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aden
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Rifles in the Ardennes
by Eugenio m. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2021 19:23:07

Un buon solitario, non troppo impegnativo e di durata contenuta. Ottimo lavoro



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifles in the Ardennes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

In the Trenches: Doughboys
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:24:56

See Devil Dogs. In this, the Americans defend in the three scenarios. You do get tanks in this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Trenches: Doughboys
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

In the Trenches: Devil Dogs
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:07:21

When I finally got through the rule book I loved this game. Note the rules are not difficult, some things are not where I expected them to be, so be prepared to read WELL and maybe a couple of times. The idea of activation, and getting completely exhausted by simply moving is really good. The game moves at a good pace but presents you with all the problems that the First World War gave



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Trenches: Devil Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Devil's to Pay!
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 02:59:56

The precursor to the Longstreet Attcks seres by Revolution games. A beaurtiful Rick Barber map, chit pull mechanism which makes it ideal for solo play My only gripe is the combat system which seems a bit clunky at first. You need two rolls on two different combat charts. (the two rolls can be shortened by rolling different coloured dice together, suggested in the rules)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's to Pay!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gaines's Mill
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 02:54:21

Good little game that I enjoyed. It is a nicely designed product with very pleasing graphics.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaines's Mill
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Vermin From Beyond!
by Laimonas P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2020 18:44:14

It's a good game for the price. Easy to assemble, fun to play. Some rules are a bit vague, but the game is more about a narrative than a deep strategic planning, so that's not a deal braker. I wish there were more scenarios though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Vermin From Beyond!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Vermin From Beyond!
by Stephan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2019 03:29:00

This review applies ONLY TO THE DIGITAL EDITION, not the physical edition!

i initially gave this game a 1-star rating because the digital copy was formated in a way which was effectively unusable for consumer-grade printing. The publisher addressed all of those shortcomings in an update on 2019-09-18, which changes my rating from an unplayable 1 star to the 5 it deserves as an innovative, compact, solo-play war game.

THANK YOU, TINY BATTLE PUBLISHING, for updating the digital copy!

Of the three games in the series, this one in my favorite for a couple of reasons:

1) It is slightly streamlined with regards to the marines: there are no Stunned or Paralyzed states. A soldier is either fresh or disrupted, making them symmetric with the aliens (the other two games are entirely asymmetrical in that regard). Also unlike the other two titles, recovery from being disrupted is automatic, so long as the unit is not adjacent to an enemy, removing the annoying tendency of disrupted units to stay that way for the rest of the game just because they can't roll a 5 or 6 each turn.

2) Despite the alien movement being ostensibly nearly completely random, the way it interacts with the elements on the two maps introduces a thoroughly convincing illusion of intentionally tactical action. i.e., it doesn't feel random at all - it feels like they're doing exactly what they're supposed to be doing, yet without being entirely predictable/pre-programmed. This is a truly impressive feat of solo-play game design.

My one tiny nitpick is that the designer chose to "swap" the Landing Zone dice roll results compared to the other games and compared to the Jump Pack dice results, and it feels entirely/unnecessarily out of place (and the Landing Zone results are not recorded on the reference sheet, requiring a rulebook lookup from time to time).

i printed out the US Letter-sized rulebook in booklet form on A4 paper (so the booklet is A5 sized, taking up only 5 sheets of paper), and it's still crisp and readable, despite being relatively tiny. A millimeter or two of the front cover's edge were truncated via the process, but there was no loss/truncation of content.

=======(What follows is the original review from before the Sept. 2019 update by the publisher. Management Summary: it complains loudly about the (former) inability to print and assemble the game.)=======

i recently bought this title in digital form, along with the other two titles in this series, via the Bundle of Holding's "War on Everything" bundle.

The digital edition of this game is literally useless unless one has access to a printer capable of printing paper all the way to the edge of the paper (no margins). The maps are prepared in two formats: 18x12-inch and split into 8.5x11-inch chunks, but both sets cover the whole surface of their pages, all the way to the edge of the paper (i.e. no margins). On the 18x12-inch versions, it would be possible to print them out and lose a small bit around the edge of the map without actually breaking the map. On the more consumer-friendly 8.5x11-inch pages, doing so will lose parts of the map, such that the sections will not fit seamlessly together (hex numbers along the edges will get truncated, and those numbers are important during play).

Most consumer-grade laser printers cannot print all the way to the edge of a page because their paper feed systems require color-free edges of the paper to grip. Supposedly inkjet printers can commonly print all the way to the edge, but inkjet is "so 1990s."

One could, of course, print the maps at a smaller scale, but that would require printing the alreadytiny counters out at a corresponding size, making the components unplayably small for anyone without superb eyesight and exceptionally nimble fingers.

The counters, unlike those of the Attack of the 50-foot Collosi set, are mounted on a grid, so they can, with some effort and great care, be lined up front-to-back, but there are no guide lines along the edges/corners of the counters, to assist in this, nor a fold line between the two sides (which are on the same piece of paper), making it extremely difficult to align them properly if there's a piece of opaque cardstock between the two sides.

Currently the only way to get this properly assembled is to send it off to a professional printer which can print to the edge of a page (assuming they'll print copyrighted materials at all - i've heard tales of printers who refuse to print such packages).

On the plus side, unlike Attack of the 50-foot Collosi, this one has a printer-friendly rulebook, without a noisy/toner-wasting background image on every page.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invaders From Dimension X!
by Stephan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2019 12:30:00

This review applies only to the DIGITAL version of this title, not to the physical version!

i recently bought the digital edition of Invaders from Dimension X along with its two sister titles, Space Vermin from Beyond and Attack of the 50-Foot Colossi. All three titles had fatal layout mistakes which makes print-and-play assembly effectively impossible using consumer-grade printers, but in September 2019 the publisher issued an update of the latter two which addressed those problems. This title, however, was left out of that update.

Management summary: the layout of the counter sheets is entirely unusable for print-and-play purposes. Sigh.

Details:

First off, the counters have no grid, but instead have "alignment lines" along the sides of each counter sheet (1 front, 1 back). These are not only unhelpful, they're downright useless unless one is assembling the counters solely from plain paper, in which case (A) light can be shined through it to help with the alignment and (B) they're uselessly thin for purposes of playing.

Once the top or bottom edge of a sheet is cut off, the corresponding lines are gone, making it impossible to get proper vertical alignment for cutting out the counters. Once the left or right edge are removed, getting proper horizontal alignment is impossible.

The fact that some rows of counters have an extraneous gap between them and some do not exaggerates the problem further.

Here's a photo which demonstrates these problems:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/pzErVfPEA4jKVcWJ6

After importing these counters into graphics editors (Gimp and Inkscape) to attempt to create a grid for them, i discovered that the provided vertical alignment lines for the front and back sheets don't even line up 100% perfectly as-is (the horizontal ones do).

Secondly, the counter sheets use an exotic paper size: Arch A (9x12 inches), which is slightly larger than US Letter. The counters do not fit as-is on A4 paper (noting that A4 is far more widely-used than US Letter). Printing them in landscape mode, as intended, on A4 paper will truncate the bottom of the counter sheet. Here's a partial workaround: each of the two countersheet PDFs (one for front, one for back) includes two copies of that side of the counter sheet. Printing them in PORTRAIT orientation will print a full copy of the left-most block of counters and will truncate the right-side block. Printing both PDFs this way will result in 1.5 sets of counters (as opposed to the 2 sets which would fit on US letter). The major down-side to that approach is that the lines along the right edge of the countersheet, used for lining up the front and back sides, get truncated along with the right-most counters, so lining them up properly proves even more challenging.

i've wasted a full four pages of laser printer toner trying to assemble these counters and i give up. Unless one has superhuman patience, a superhuman eye for proper sub-milimeter alignment, and a superhumanly steady hand, assembling the counters for this game is effectively impossible. Without the counters, obviously, the game cannot be played. The one workaround i can conceive of is to hand-draw a grid over the counters before gluing and cutting them, but (A) that clearly falls under the aforementioned "superhuman patience" clause and (B) it's impossible to line up properly with A4 printouts because of the truncation problem described above.

Sigh.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Invaders From Dimension X!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Devil's to Pay!
by Campbell M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2019 03:07:42

Excellent game system, good looking and manageable print and play. Hope we will see more of the Blind Swords series done as a PnP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's to Pay!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Attack of the 50 Foot Colossi!
by Alexander J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2019 13:26:52

Fast and furious tactical gameplay, very accessible and full of surprises and interesting situations. Every time I play it the game manages to challenge me, every time I think I found the perfect plan, the random factor destroys my confidence. I really like this game as it's easy to get into rulewise, but can be hard as nails to win. The whole art design is perfect, capturing the movie-like approach of the game. The two maps (with different objectives) and the randomness, thanks to a card-draw mechanic which controls the enemy, guarantee almost endless replayability. My favourite aspect about the game is the atmosphere it evokes. It manages to make me feel as if I'm indeed in the middle of a desperate battle against the giant monstrosities that gave the game its name. While these enemies are brutal and terrifiying, they are not just mindless brutes but have their own rules, their own strict hierarchy and their different tribes act according to different rules. That way the game manages to give me the impression that my enemies, while in reality nothing other than random factors, act purposefully and by following their own primeval logic and their rigid social structure. That's one of the most fascinating parts of the game for me. The now updated PNP-version is very easy to assemble and absolutely worth the price asked. I can only recommend this game to everybody looking for a fantastic solitaire-experience and gladly give it the full five stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Attack of the 50 Foot Colossi!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Attack of the 50 Foot Colossi!
by Stephan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2019 07:25:12

(Updated 2019-09-14 to reflect updated PDFs by the publisher.)

On September 12, 2019, the publisher updated the PDFs to address several fatal shortcomings which made print-and-play unfeasible (detailed in an earlier version of this review):

1) Counters now have a consumer-friendly paper size: both US Letter and the original "Arch A" are now provided.

2) Counters now have grid lines: this makes assembly after printing less of a hit-and-miss proposition.

3) Printer-friendly Rulebook and Player Aid Card: the "noisy" backgrounds have been removed (the originals are also still available).

4) The 8.5x11-inch map PDFs now have some margin, so they won't be truncated when printing on consumer-grade printers. Unfortunately, this means that there is no graphics overlap at all for the two halves of the 8.5x11-inch map sheets, but the 11x17-inch copies are still available, for those who have a compatible printer or print them via a professional service.

With that, my review is changed from 1 star to 5.

THANK YOU, TINY BATTLE PUBLISHING!

(What follows is the review from before the publisher addressed the shortcomings described above...)

i unfortuantely have to give THE DIGITAL EDITION (only) of this game an extremely poor rating. i bought this as part of the Bundle of Holding's "War on Everything" bundle, along with the sister titles in this game's series (Invaders from Dimension X and Space Vermin from Beyond). i'm sure the physical copy is just fine, but as a print-and-play title, it has several fatal problems:

1) The counters use "Arch A" paper size, which is a US-only 9x12 inch format (229 × 305mm). Printing these counters on standard paper sizes (namely A4), within margin the limits of consumer printers, requires shrinking the counters even smaller than the 1/2x1/2(?) inches they are now. To get them printed at the intended size requires extracting the graphics from the PDF, splitting the graphics in half, then printing them across two pages (which complicates assembly of the dual-sided counters).

2) The counters are laid out such that they all fit on one page which "could" be folded in half to line up the fronts and backs of the counters... but there are no lines for such alignment, neither around the counters, along the edges of the graphics, nor between the two halves of the page. Folding them properly into place once there's a piece of cardstock between the two halves is an exercise in futility. There are no borders between the counters and the margin for folding errors is extremely tiny.

3) For PnP purposes, parts like the rulebook and "Player Aid" really need to have their noisy backgrounds removed (ideally two copies: one with and one without such a background). Those waste precious printer toner and they hurt legibility unless one prints at 600DPI or higher. The rulebook, in particular, with black text on a "muddy grey" background, is barely legible on the screen or printed on a consumer-grade printer.

4) The map PDFs are laid out all the way to the edge of the paper. Most consumer-grade laser printers cannot print all the way to the edge of the paper. The 11x17-inch map could, if one has a printer capable of handling that size, be printed with the truncated margins without breaking the map. The more consumer-friendly 8.5x11-inch map file is set up such that one would need to truncate "required" edges of the maps. There is some overlap in the two halves of each map, but it's impossible to say, without printing it out, whether that overlap is enough to account for truncation by a printer which cannot print all the way to the edge of the paper. The moral here is that laying out graphics all the way to the edge of the paper is an absolute no-no for consumer-grade PnP purposes.

@Publisher: no game should be released for PnP until/unless the publisher has actually attempted to print, assemble, and play the title as a home consumer would (this means, for example, without access to non-standard paper sizes and with a limited printer toner budget). This title, in its current PnP form, cannot be reasonably assembled and is therefore unplayable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifles in the Pacific
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2019 05:10:12

OK Basic premise is that this is a great game, the negative points I have are minore niggles. The basic system is very streamlined and gives a great gaming experience with many decision points in each turn. Quick game to set up, very clear scenario instructions, 8 scenarios but each scenario will be infinately variable for two reasons. The event chits you pull and place on the map at set-up will be different. and the terrain you put in each space (there are only 6 called stripes, and with this variety all games will begin differently. Add to that activation tables that depend on dice rolls and you will see each game will be unique.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifles in the Pacific
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Space Vermin From Beyond!
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2019 11:36:57

This a great solitaire game. It is quick to setup and run.

I really enjoy the mad scientist and secret weapons feature.

Thanks for this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Vermin From Beyond!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Revelation: A World at War - Dark War Series Novel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2019 16:09:15

BLUF: I cannot give this 5 stars. 4 stars may be too generous. I read this to get a handle on the lore surrounding the Dark War Rebooted game I bought from TBP. The game lore differs in dates from the book. The book says the war starts May 14th the game says it starts May 22nd. This is glaring as the book indicates several times when the war starts just as the game does. In each case the lore of both book and game differ.

(SPOILERS) The lore covering the encounter of Martin Witherspoon and the vampires is quite different between the book and game.

I am not sure which came first the book or the game, but I know that it is difficult to maintain suspension of disbelief when errors while small are so obviously different.

I realize that this is self published. I also realize the author is professionally published, but I also realize that the author is not a professional editor. If you are going to self publish I would ask that the author spend some time making the various stories published across the ouvre be consistent.

Having said all that the story is creative and entertaining. There are errors discussing tactics and equipment. The author was a Navy diver. I was a loader, gunner, and tank commander on the M1. I have also been a Night Battle Captain, Assistant S3, and Tactical Intelligence Officer in a M1A1 battalion; FIRST TANK! I joined the military in 1983. The war I spent my adult life preparing for was the war depicted in this book. I could tell the author gave it much love. This is where the 4 stars come in. The author's love for the subject matter.

This is not Larry Bond, Harold Coyle, or Tom Clancy. It is not that polished. Don't expect the depth, breadth, or tight plot of any of these books. It is a ripping yarn. Worth the 2 dollar price tag. I would not spend more than that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revelation: A World at War - Dark War Series Novel
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to review the book. And thanks for your service. BTW, personally, I think I kick Coyle, Clancy's, and Bond's ass, but your mileage obviously varies.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates