Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Kaya's House of Repose
by Heidi J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 16:35:29

The map was really glorious with a reasonable number of fancy rooms, offices, a restaurant, and more, as well as fully fleshed out proprietors (with history appropriate to Chult) and a colorful barkeep. Fun menu my players will appreciate, and the design is really evocative of Chult. I plan on putting side-quest givers here and allowing my players to use the rumor table for the establishment together with the generic Port Nyanzaru rumors table. I'm excited to see if they pick this inn vs the Thundering Lizard, which was also a great supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kaya's House of Repose
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Thundering Lizard
by Heidi J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 16:32:12

First of all - the map is fantastic! So atmospheric of Chult and includes the things that are frequently missing from DnD maps like bathrooms and storage rooms. The menu is a great handout and the descriptions of the proprietors useful. I think planting a few NPCs here for the Chult rumors table (in addition to the inn rumors provided) or a few of the side quest givers is a great move to get the party moving. I also appreciated the author's work re-publishing the content to enable cut and paste into VTT format!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Thundering Lizard
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Village of the Reconstructed
by Hypatia A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 16:30:59

Fun setting and characters, intriguing story. Very easy to use and follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village of the Reconstructed
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Warm Up Roleplaying Questions For Players
by Flint F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 15:23:00

As the DM for some absolute newbies who are still wrapping their heads around the basic mechanics of the game, it's nice to have something I can use to remind everyone that there's more going on here than rolling dice and stabbing goblins. This collection of questions forces the players to make some real decisions about who their characters are, what they care about, what their goals are, and why they became adventurers. This is an incredibly useful tool for the start of the session, helping to get everyone just a little more focused.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Warm Up Roleplaying Questions For Players
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

D&D 5e Rules On A Page
by Flint F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 15:13:32

I stopped regularly playing D&D just before the launch of 3rd Edition, but recently got back into it thanks to ample downtime of the COVID-19 quarantine. While the rules of 5th Edition are extremely streamlined and simple, I still find myself defaulting to the ways things worked during the THAC0 era. This one-page guide has been extremely helpful for getting up to speed. Thanks for putting it together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e Rules On A Page
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Lost in Shadow
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 14:13:29

This is an unbelievably awesome introduction to the Shadowfell, a brilliantly different take on the building block of the Phandelver (Shadow Remix) & a great through line absolutely packed with flavour, elements, locations & notable folx. I'm running it now & having a ball!

I'll be posting a full in depth review in the next few weeks. There isn't a better time than now to pick up this key to the Plane of Shadow, whether you want a brief sojourn in the darkness, start a campaign there or expand Ravenloft & beyond!

Lost in Shadow Interview

Valentine was kind enough to agree to a short interview about Lost in Shadow, which it is my honour and pleasure to share with you.

CoS: First of all, I wanted to say just how clever and brave endeavour, taking something so well known and loved as The Lost Mines of Phandelver and flipping on its head. Where did the inspiration for this idea come from?

CV: I had been reading a lot about the Feywild and Shadowfell and how they overlap areas of the prime material plane. They could have the same things, or altered timelines and be missing things. Or they could have new things altogether. Thinking what that might look like, I took a familiar setting (LMOP) and used those as a base. Some ruins might not be ruins. Some prosperous areas may be blighted. Some things may look exactly the same but be wholly different due to their inhabitants or uses. I took that and ran with it.

CoS: You clearly know your stuff when it comes to the Shadowfell. What is your history with the Plane of Shadows and what made you want to create a starter campaign chucking folx in the dark end?

CV: I am a lover of horror and dark settings. Shows like the Outer Limits and Twilight Zone. Both focused on the “what if” line of thinking. So, I drew from that and asked myself a lot of questions. I also read a lot of 4e and 3.5e material so I could see what had been done and what to draw off of. Gloomwrought had kind of done the same thing to a few places so I could see what one interpretation was like. One big inspiration was Cragmaw Castle, in ruins. What did it look like in its hay day? I was bound to find out.

CoS: There is something truly wonderful about seeing a player’s face light up or the studios confused look as they study the Castle Duskmourne map, suddenly realising they recognise this place! How did you go about using these well-known locations, building the story and placing Easter eggs?

CV: I wanted to add to the LMOP story. We see how that plays out but things are not as simple as we are led to believe. I like to think each plane influences the other. I wanted to see how each location might tie into its counterpart and how those ties manifest on the other side. This is exceptionally prevalent when we got to how the Forge of Spells works and where that magic energy originates. For Easter eggs, not only did I scan the LMOP book but all the hardcovers for a few as well. I wanted everything to fit within the continuity of the Forgotten Realms without any hiccups. A big obstacle was the D&D Essentials kit came out just as I was nearing completion. It added many new locations to the area so I wanted to take them into account too. I was very determined to make the story complimentary to the official releases.

CoS: Speaking of Easter eggs and extra goodies, there is just so much within the campaign starter itself, but so many references and options for further reading and exploration and fun. It really feels like you wanted to give a true taste of the many grim things the Shadowfell has to offer, and many more jumping off points for further adventures (and succeed). What was it like writing in threads to be pulled? Was it hard to resist the temptation to pull them yourself and do you have any plans for further adventures, perhaps exploring the machinations of Shar alluded to in the cellar of Duskmourne Castle?

CV: I DM a lot of adventures for friends and Adventurers League. A consistent bit of information I hear is that other DMs want to be able to build on the branches of the publication. They want to create new branches and bear their own fruit. I was just trying to setup the right trunk for them to manicure in a manner that fits their own garden. I very much plan to keep going with the story. If we’ve seen how the Shadowfell effects the prime material plane, we need to take a look at how the opposite yet equal pull of the Feywild is doing as well. I really like developing the stories so as long as people want to hear where they go or how deep we can reveal, I’ll be trying to comply.

CoS: I understand you are going to be writing adventures in the brighter reflection, the Feywild. How different is it working in this technicolour world after so much darkness, and is there anything you would like to share about this project?

CV: The Shadowfell is the dark reflection, the withered, the lethargic, and the apathetic. The opposite is true in the Feywild, we have an overgrowth of primordial energy and overzealous entities. As much as the Shadowfell let’s things decay, the Feywild over develops them. If we can imagine a realm where too much of a good thing is the norm, and passion is uninhibited even the simplest of things. The story will be focusing on the origins of the interplanar characters in Lost in Shadows, and some of the more important locations in the three planes. At the end we will ask ourselves, why is this location so prevalent in every plane and what does that mean? I’m trying not to give away too much but I will go much deeper with the story and make sure all planes are shown to influence the other. There will be more character interactions, as the Feywild has much livelier citizens. The adventure will be for tier 2 characters so that both supplements can be run back to back.

CoS: The adventure is clearly a labour of love and littered with Easter eggs. Are there any you would particularly like to share, Long with your hopes for what prospective DMs will do with them? Personally, I’m going to be running with Zahir and their Yuan-Ti cult stalking the party after taking their treasure at Watcher by the Water, ultimately culminating in a big snake temple. So thank you ever so much for the inspiration!

CV: So, this was actually my first adventure ever written, even though it was not my first to be released. I had put it on pause for a bit as I got a few smaller ventures under my belt, then I went back to it. In it I try to leave as many hooks for ongoing adventures as possible. This was twofold. One, to give DMs the ability to take their own campaigns anywhere they wished. Two, to give myself hooks to keep writing more material. A an easter egg I’m particularly fond of is all the wine located in the wine cellar. If one pays particular attention to where they all originated, you can see the breadth of the Necromaster’s travels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost in Shadow
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

High Forest Factbook
by Mark T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 12:27:41

4 stars for formatting and spelling, not that these issues are that bad, I'm just anal retentive. I'd give it 4-1/2 if I could. The content is top-notch. I love that I don't have to look at a bunch of sources for this material. Also found out a bunch of stuff I didn't know. This product shows that the High Forest is really a world in it's own right. Plenty of content for running a campaign just in this area.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Forest Factbook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Exploring Eberron
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 12:26:14

This book is going to take me forever to read. Not because of bad writing (the exact opposite is true), but because I can't seem to get through a single paragraph without my brain going off on a tangent of how I can use this new information in my next campaign. I'm barely through Chapter 1 (not even close to the sections I was most looking forward to) and I already have a vastly improved understanding of the world, and the people in it. My ONLY complaint has been that it took so long to come out, but now that it's finally here I can objectively say it was worth the wait. Every gaming group playing in Eberron should have at least one copy of this book for their table (and preferably a copy for everyone). If the price is keeping you away, my advice would be to check out Keith Baker's blog - if you like the writing style and the info he gives you there, then make your group pot luck your next gaming session and use the money you'd have spent on pizza to buy this book. You'll get a lot more hours of enjoyment out of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exploring Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Wow, thank you Daniel!
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 12:19:43

I like everything about this adventure except the map. I can't get the map grid to align properly in FoundryVTT or any other software. It seems the pixels are off somehow. It would be nice if there was a gridless version of the map since that would essentially solve this problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Most Potent Brew - A Basic Rules Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Exploring Eberron
by Sean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 11:54:10

I am so glad that this is out. I have not read it all yet, but so far I am enjoying everything and finding lots of new things to help flavor my campaigns with. Can't wait to see a Fantasy Grounds conversion for this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exploring Eberron
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Sean!
Blood Hunter Class for D&D 5e (2020)
by Sean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 11:52:40

This is a really fun class. I only wish that that there was a Fantasy Grounds conversion for the 2020 version of this class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Hunter Class for D&D 5e (2020)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Drider
by Randy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 09:49:15

This is an amazing product, I have wanted to make a Drider PC for a while, and this is just so perfect!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Drider
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

People of the deep, and the beasts who hunt them
by Rose R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 04:03:58

Nice addition to my collection. great detail and love the art style



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
People of the deep, and the beasts who hunt them
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Eat the Rich | Volume 1
by Blake O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 22:30:07

So I gave this a five star review because I love the concept and pretty much everything about the adventures in this volume. There is one drawback (which is not worth the loss of a star, in my opinion) and that is that the labels on the digital pdf aren't correct and you have to guess which adventure you're jumping to.

However, I particularly loved rolling in the warforged adventure into my Eberron campaign!

I can hardly wait for a volume 2!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eat the Rich | Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 22:12:57

This is a GREAT resource, and a definite must-have for the solo RPG-er. The only reason I rated it as 4 stars is because there is currently no way to do POD for this book. If that were available, I would definitely rate this one at five starts.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18784 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates