Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
by Brendon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2019 01:42:56

Charming little adventure with lots of character to dig into and explore with a party open to a little roleplay. This is especially great for new players and starting characters and it's easy paced and provides a lot of opportunities beyond just combat and fetching. Also a great introduction to the area if you intend to go on to CCC-UK-2 or onwards which are also wonderful. Be a little careful with the combat though if you are running this for level 1s, while this is a starting adventure the enemies are no joke and can pack a punch. Still a heap of fun and a great way to introduce people to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Compendium of True Evil
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 20:18:45

I don't often have interest in making evil characters, but I feel the title of this book may be a bit misleading. "True Evil" sounds hopeless beyond redemption. However, within these pages there is a lot of depth. There is the potential for darkness, but there is also the chance at returning to the light. While scanning through I could immediately envision what some of these characters would look like.

My initial top hits were: Sorcerous Origin: Shared Soul Marital Archetype: Crimson Blade Monster Within Turncoat

I am also curious to see how Soul Binder would play out. It seems to have an interesting sprinkling of different classes.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Compendium of True Evil
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Daerdan's Class Feats
by Don J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 17:45:47

Very unbalanced, to say the least. The ideas within are interesting, but many of them take things from other classes or subclasses in a way that steals their thunder. I'll have to make axe a bunch of them, and tweak some more, before I think about presenting this to my players. As I said, the ideas are interesting, but most of them are quite unbalanced.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Daerdan's Class Feats
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bearthazar's House of Familiars
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 17:03:08

The ideas kinda cool but the price is steep for what it is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Bearthazar's House of Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bearthazar's House of Familiars
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 15:47:00

As I recall, this project came about as a bit of a gag on Twitter but I'm very glad that the author and creators decided to make it a reality. The content is really fun and doesn't take itself too seriously, and the artwork is fantastic and justifies the price all by itself. If people are complaining about something being pricey, they need to realize that creators deserve to be paid fairly for creating high-quality work like this and adjust their expectations accordingly.

The one bit of constructive feedback I'd offer is that it would have been nice to have the base stat blocks included with all the familiars, but these can all be easily found with little effort even if a person doesn't own the monster manual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: Waterdeep - "Waste Not, Want Not"
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 15:12:31

Part 2 of the Leverage series is a good installment in the series, and keeps the urban investigation theme going nicely. I liked the story and setup, but had to do some significant tweaking by fleshing out the guildhall and scaling back considerably on the below ground component. I personally felt like the "dungeon crawl" aspect didn't fit well with a bakers guild - but that's just me. It was really an easy fix to make a guildhall with a reasonable basement. That said, the adventure is well-written and and entertaining addition to W:DH, and a heckuva a lot more fulfilling than Faction quests.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: Waterdeep - "Waste Not, Want Not"
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Fox & The Fey
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 14:53:59

This creative and detailed adventure is sure to delight anyone who wants to explore the Feywild, likes a layered adventure, or just wants to play some good old court intrigue.

The basic premise of the adventure is that our merry band is led into the Feywild and encounters a creature with a tragic backstory that needs their help. He entices the party with promises of high-level spells, magical items, and sob stories and shows them how to find the item he seeks -- in the depths of a heavily-guarded dungeon. However, what truly makes The Fox & the Fey unique are the layers within the story. DMs and players will have to plan and pay attention to catch all the twists and turns.

What I especially liked was the complexity of the adventure. Dungeon crawls can seem repetitive, but given the difficulty of this adventure and the layers of everyone's motivation, this kept me on my toes. Sometimes, I did wish there was a little more wiggle room (with slightly lower checks), but difficulty just makes you get creative.

One thing I would caution is to not let the initial exposition put you off. This is a long, complicated adventure, made more so by the pages of exposition up front. I know that some players and DMs like a full description of the adventure and all of its sections, but I personally found it a bit off-putting: I would have rather dived right in. Likewise, I didn't need or especially want the full length of all the descriptions and found myself skipping or summarizing when my players got fidgety.

However, I did find this adventure enjoyable and think others will too. My favorite adventures always involve a challenge, and this definitely fit the bill.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fox & The Fey
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Ire of the Wilds
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 14:15:27

If you're looking for an extensive one-shot that gives you access to a unique cast of characters, several sideplots, and a fun mystery, I think you'll like this.

Basically, the party finds itself embroiled in a local drama and have to learn more about the townspeople and the threatening events to solve it. You get to do shorter sidequests that would be especially good for new and inexperienced players and build up to a dungeon crawl and boss battle, potentially earning a lot of cool loot.

However, this module does require a bit of work from the DM to prevent it from getting too railroad-y. The module assumes that the party will take specific actions in specific orders, so the DM will have to be prepared for when they don't. It's also a bit wordy and repetitive, especially regarding overviews. This isn't necessarily bad as DMs can often use reminders and overviews, but it did get distracting from time to time. Finally, the monsters have been oddly named. For example, you have "Calcified Biped" instead of "Skeleton" and "Shadowy Visage" instead of "Shadow;" that was a bit distracting at first. I would recommend the DM thoroughly read through the module before jumping into play.

Nevertheless, this is an engaing and fun adventure with a lot of cool options. A good pick!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ire of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Morgrave Miscellany
by Alexander S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 14:08:10

Lots of really cool information and wonderful, flavorful player options. My only real criticisms are 1) the Bone Knight has some confusing, unintuitive mechanics, and 2) the way the book is laid out, you have to dig through page after page of fluff to find the actual mechanics, rather than having, say, all the subclasses in one section and all the class fluff in another.

Most of the book is basically official-level quality, though. Definitely worth the purchase if you're looking for more options.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Morgrave Miscellany
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Dark Archetypes
by Alexander S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 14:03:11

Very much a mixed bag - some of the subclasses are really cool and flavorful, some of them (Oath of Sloth Paladin comes to mind) are utterly overpowered and even make life difficult for other players. Needs some editing, needs some clarification passes, needs a LOT of balance work... and a few of the subclasses (the Monk's and the Wizard's come to mind) are so oddly niche that I honestly think they just need to be reworked.

Also, the Rogue Shadowborn has the first instance of an "encounter power" that I've seen since 4e and aside from an "encounter" being poorly defined here, it just gives me bad associations. (Also the Shadowborn "can extend your weapon reach by 10 feet as a free action once per round." I don't think 5e uses free actions anymore, and beyond wondering why you'd give the Rogue 15ft melee range, I have to wonder why you wouldn't just word it as "your melee weapon range increases by 10 feet on your turn.")

EDIT for dev reply: I think the equivalent wording to "encounter power" for 5e would be "when you roll initiative, if you have no uses of this power remaining, regain X." That's how the Monk/Sorceror/Bard equivalents work if I remember correctly. That said, the design goal is different - in 4e they used encounter powers as a way to gate the use of powerful abilities without resorting to the dreaded "15 minute adventuring day" where you take a nap when the wizard is tired, and it didn't work for a variety of reasons (one of which is that there were also DAILY powers which limited the adventuring day harder than spell slots ever did), whereas in 5e it's a way to actually extend time between breaks by letting the above classes keep some of their utility if they need to go a little longer without a rest.

The way 5e tends to tell players "you can use this ability pretty often, but maybe not more than once or twice a fight" is by giving them a number of uses per short rest. The reason this is cool from a game design perspective is that it gives the player choice from a bunch of angles; for one, there's the resource tension of "do I use this now, or will I need it later" vs "this is a hard fight, is it worth using this twice if it means I lose access to it until our next break," but if you give them uses based on ability modifiers or class levels then it also lets them choose whether to prioritize having that resource when character-building. If Shadowborn Rogue had, say, "a number of uses per short rest equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of 1)," then when the Rogue player hits level 4, they might look at their ability scores and decide to bump up their Wisdom rather than maxing out Dexterity - choosing to get another burst of mobility with their shadow hopping ability rather than getting the numerical damage/defense bonuses the way they would otherwise default to.

Regarding the Way of the Oni monk being niche: it's because so much of it revolves around the use of a homebrew weapon that isn't really available anywhere else, that doesn't have any magical variations, and - since it's classified as Heavy - cannot be used by Small characters at all without suffering disadvantage. It just seems like an arbitrary limitation to force players to use that particular weapon and no others in order to make certain abilities function.

Lastly, Oath of the Sloth Paladin - my concerns were actually with Aura of Lethargy, which 1) makes it impossible for a regular humanoid to reach your super-archer in a single turn if they start more than 40 feet away, and 2) specifies that it reduces the speed of ALL creatures, meaning it impacts your party members as well. Don't get me wrong, Divine Smite on arrows is totally wild, especially if you multiclass into something with extra spell slots like Bard, but having an archer who is essentially immune to melee combat is totally bonkers. (Off the top of my head - Oath of Sloth to level 7 for the aura, take Mobile at level 4 for +10 move speed, take 2 levels in Rogue for sneak attack and bonus action dash. 80 feet of movement per turn while still being able to shoot Divine Smite arrows, and enemies need to be able to move 100 feet in a turn to reach you.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
First of all thanks for your honest review! I will try to answer some of the questions you posed. 1) Especially with the Paladin of the Seven Deadly Sins we focused heavily on being on point themarically. That being said, (in my opinion) no power was sacrifised. During playtesting we found that in MANY cases, the ranged divine smite can be incredibly powerful so the Sloth's powerlevel had to go lower. Maybe we missed something though so I'll gladly take a look again! 2) I cannot see why the Monk subclass is... niche but I can see that with Wizard. Bear in mind that even though the Wizard is basically now a "anti-mage" they do retain their original spellcasting set. You do indeed specialize against magic users but you are not helpeless against traditional weapon users. 3) There are "encounter" powers in 5e but in the form of "you can use this ability again once you roll initiative". I do not currently remember which ability that was, (I may be mistaken indeed). With that being said, I don't see why a "once per encounter" ability is a bad thing. 4) The mentioning of "free action" was used to so that no one is confused as to if the player would have to use a bonus action or an action. But maybe you are right and the wordings on the Shadowborn will be reworked as soon as our next update drops in (which is very soon).
Regarding the "once per encounter" abilities. My actual purpose was to remove the "I don't want to use this now, what if I need it later?" feel. Because many players especially inexperienced ones tend to underuse their abilities, so even though I see your point, I stand by my decision on the once per encounter. The wording may change and you are right on this, I will look into it. Regarding the Monk. The "Guandao" is not actually a weapon. The "Guandao" is any heavy, two-handed weapon with reach (reach is not specified, it will be added in the next update, but that was the original plan) so essentially a Glaive or a Halberd. It does not have its own stats, you simply turn your heavy/2handed/reach weapon in the Guandao by using it. The Sloth Paladin may indeed be a bit broken with Mobile. I will have to look into this more. But then again, they don't have anything in particular to protect them from spells or ranged attacks. So I have to research and playtest more if their overwhelming strength against melee attackers is indeed too much while also remaining relevant against casters or ranged attackers. Thanks a gain for taking the time to answer! I can promise you that I will look into the "once per encounter", will clarify what a Guandao is and will look into all of the Paladins again.
Adventure Icons
by JEREMY G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 13:47:41

I am using these icons in my next DMs Guild release. (And I hope other Guild authors do too.)

What's most useful about the icons is how they work like traffic signs. They signal the reader as to the type of content on the page, and in the case of the adventure icons they allow the DM to quickly determine if an adventure is in the proper adventure tier and how long an adventure will take.

Very, very useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Icons
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Jeremy, I appreciate very much the kind word and you taking the time to leave a review! I will be sure to keep my eyes pealed for your adventure to share the link with my followers.
The Tree of Blight
by brad w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 13:44:33

I used this to expand upon the Agatha banshee encounter from the Lost Mines of Phandelver (LMOP Starter Set) and for that it was pretty perfect. My players had a lot of fun. Took 3 level 3 characters about 3 hours.

Overall this is a great adventure, maps are awesome, even comes with soundtrack suggestions.

This adventure is very heavy on a bunch of mechanics the author came up with. Some of them I thought were pretty good - the pit trap has a great treasure, or making the tree slowly flood as they get deeper in - others not so much (the door that can't really be opened - I changed this). Because it's so heavy on mechanics, it's perfect for dropping into your own campaign with an existing story.

In my LMoP game, Agatha the banshee had kidnapped a young man from Phandalin's Night Watch (the son of an NPC they liked). Agatha needed him for an unholy ritual - she crucified him to the tree roots in the big cavern below the tree and slowly drained him of blood. The blood dripped onto the altar/pile of sticks which animates the Demon Blight. So this gave them more motivation to go inside, and it kind of upped the horror aspect to discover this gruesome scene and made the Demon Blight... more demonic. For more variation in monsters/fighting tactics I swapped one of the Yet Another Blight Encounters with Gricks.

I like to use sound effects so I appreciated the music ideas and "clacking" for the big baddy as the players got closer - but I changed it to the sound of dripping (blood) which becomes the sound of a heartbeat as they enter the room and see what's going on. This was extremely effective, especially with the passage with the twitching vines preceding it. My players were scared shitless as they got to the last encounter.

My only complaint is that this is in desperate need of some editing and proofreading. Some of the "read aloud" passages are awkwardly phrased, like the author didn't bother to read them aloud themselves. The descriptions of the mechanics are way, way too long winded and hard to refer to in game since it's buried in several paragraphs.

Thanks my players had fun!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Tree of Blight
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Xanathar's-Style Page Backgrounds and Graphics
by JEREMY G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 13:42:14

This product is everything I needed for my next planned release to the DMs Guild.

It's nice to have the option to break away from the standard parchment page look, while retaining a style that's familiar to anyone who's purchased sourcebooks from Wizards of the Coast.

I hope Darren decides to release more styles in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Xanathar's-Style Page Backgrounds and Graphics
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Clockwork Combat Championship: A Glittergold Donation Celebration
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 13:37:49

I greatly anticipated this module coming out and, when I told my group that we were going to play it, they were extremely excited too. Who doesn't want to build and fight killer robots in a fun, prank-filled environment?

In my opinion, the best part of the module is the bot combat, and you can easily lift that part and put it in any other campaign. There are a lot of options, and you can be creative. Setting up the arena is also a lot of fun, and, since the DM has a lot of freedom, you can easily increase or decrease the difficulty.

I overall liked the setting of the Communion of Laughter and how it tied into Garl Glittergold, but I think it would have been best to develop that a little further -- maybe have a table of pranks or different machines the party could interact with. However, keeping it deliberately vague gave me as a DM and my players the freedom to explore our own humor and be creative; my personal preference is just having more guidance.

This module is 150% worth purchasing and playing, not least because the proceeds go towards Extra Life. Give it a shot -- you'll love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clockwork Combat Championship: A Glittergold Donation Celebration
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Bearthazar's House of Familiars
by Trevor T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 13:00:10

What a fun read! An awesome tool for Dungeon Masters to use when coming up with awesome familiars for and with their players! Awesome opportunity to roleplay fun and quirky creatures to accompany you throughout all of your adventures and HEY! Who could resist the possibilities of interacting with a TALKING BEAR! Highly suggest this book :) Short read that is quick to give you the information you need to have a blast while still giving you the want for more! Loving this supplement!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bearthazar's House of Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 13926 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates