Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 13:59:47

This book is amazing just for the theme alone! The author definitely did the research necessary to build a believable setting that is based on real-world examples of organized crime. And there's so much to it as well! I'm still reading through it all. Lots of great material in here. And even if you aren't running the setting directly, the tools and options presented can be used in other settings as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Mutation Deck
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2019 17:01:06

3 of 5. The cards are dated now that SWADE has come out. With 52 chances to make 52 different mutations I felt like there seemed to be a number of mutations that were quite similar. I like that each card has hinderances and edges. Using the cards as temporary effects for mutation trappings powers was intriguing but there were no examples of how this would work in game. For example, draw a card from the mind power suit when using a mind power if you critical fail a roll and suffer the hinderance on the card for the duration of the power. If you get a raise on a skill roll draw a card and take the edge from the card for the duration. Add an Arcane Background and a setting rule or two compatibile with SWADE. Make sure the cards reflect the new rules (consequences on Critical Failures instead of 1 on the skill die etc). I love that this set has 4 Jokers and have large numbers and suit for easy reading across a gaming table. I would recommend a lower price point until this is updated. I would also recommend that previous purchasers get a discount for purchasing a new version.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutation Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 03:25:37

Excellent product overall! "Friends of Ours" will see use in my cyberpunk games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by chuck t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2019 16:19:16

an awsome add to any GMs tool box. this is a beautiful book and very well thought out. having good guidlines for game mechanics is usefull and appriciated. i look forward to the next installments of this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2019 15:36:48

This book is an incredible resource. The more I read it, the deeper and more elaborate I discover it to be. I can't imagine any type of campaign or even system that would not benefit from using this book. The author really hit this one out of the park!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 15:19:06

Top notch product! It's obvious a lot of love went into this jewel!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2019 14:24:15

This is an awesome book. The combination of a full Vegas mafia setting and a toolkit, that can be of use in any SW game that has at least some unsavory characters, be it fantasy, sci-fi or modern. Also the various Extras and Wild Cards will be handy in any modern setting. The author obviously knows a great deal about the topic, so it doubles as a (lite) handbook on organized crime :-) The art is just perfect and layout is cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by José P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2019 11:25:22

Now, I've wanted such a book to exist for years. The cinematic mafia is rife for roleplaying, especially for people tired to play the "good guys". This book doesn't disappoint. It has a great "toolkit" approach in which you can use as many or as few elements as you like, but should you want to have a setting, 1995 Las Vegas is ready for a Crew with the guts to try and plunder it. I can't wait to try in out at my table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: The Savage Guide to Organized Crime
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2019 14:04:33

JII makes you an offer you can't refuse.

If you ever wanted to play on the wrong side of the law before, this is your chance. Eric Lamoureux goes into great detail about how the Italian-American mob was formed and now you get a chance to play a goodfella or an associate to a crime family. Las Vegas is the playground and its glamour and glitz make for an amazing backdrop. Play your cards right and you could end up in charge of Sin City, or you might find yourself in hole out in the desert.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys JumpStart
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2019 13:07:17

Great job guys! Wiseguys looks like its going to be a hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys JumpStart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wiseguys: A Flock of Vultures
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2019 07:09:16

Very nice and funny adventure showcasing the setting of Wiseguys. I like the way the rules from the Adventure Tool Kit are implemented.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wiseguys: A Flock of Vultures
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Winter Eternal maps
by Gavin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2019 00:21:02

TL/DR: Look great, can be awesome handouts, you don't need the adventures to use these maps.

I don't own the Winter Eternal set I am a map junkie who is always looking for cities to pop randomly into my campaigns. These were better than I was hoping they would be. The preview doesn't do this set justice as these maps are useable both as a GM and for sharing with your players. They are high-level maps of the cities with detail at the block level, not individual buildings (except the very largest buildings and for the two smallest cities). Each one is sepia toned (Just like the preview overland map) so easy to print out and make them look like parchment or a scroll. They have a distinct style and flavor but are easy to read and nagivate.

I love finding maps that I can use in multiple games or settings and these fit the bill nicely. From a small village in a cave with segregated districts each walled off from the others, to a large city built vertically up a column with the government at the bottom and workers at the top, to a port city on a massive sea with only one tiny dock, to a series of unique cities with repeating motifs that are clearly related and from the same culture, each of these maps tells a story even without any words to accompany them (those are in the adventure modules). Paying attention to the maps and pulling ideas out of the small details is rewarded here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter Eternal maps
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Whacked in the Wicket
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2019 03:47:18

This was highly anticipated and with the brilliant bonces of a couple of limeys, this has not disappointed one bit. Barmy and brutal. Will play again, and again, and maybe even again. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whacked in the Wicket
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Whacked in the Wicket
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2019 10:27:16

A long awaited follow up to the smash hit "Punted In The Bonce". The book not only has great content, but looks amazing as well. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 16:12:31

This is one of the adventures I played at Savage Con in July last year, and it was hilarious! As with Just Insert Imagination's other plug-and-play adventures it's really more of a sandbox scenario, so every game will be completely different -- however it comes with a small town map showing the major locations, which is very helpful for less proactive players, as it gives them a clear idea of where they can visit, without the GM needing to lead them by the nose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens vs Rednecks
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates