Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Rising Sun Form 10s
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2020 11:53:33

This claims to provide all the form 10's for Rising Sun, it is a lie. There are no Revenge or Repulse, so no Force Z; The entire Indian Ocean Fleet is missing, so no Raid into the Indian Ocean. I only spotted 2 US Battleship's so no Pearl Harbour.

On a positive note there appear to be sufficient ships to fight the Java Sea battles and Exeter is shown post River Plate refit, the only query I have is to her size as she appears to have shrunk by over a 1,000 tons.

To conclude if you are too lazy to write your own form 10's or prefer nice neat printed one's like me don't bother purchasing as you will not find what you require here.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rising Sun Form 10s
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

America's Aircraft
by Alfred I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 20:25:57

Good information well done. But the errata is not up to date at the time of printing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
America's Aircraft
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Russia's Navy
by Alfred I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 20:23:47

Good information well done. But the errata is not up to date at the time of printing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Russia's Navy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

America's Navy
by Alfred I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 20:20:50

Good information well done. But the errata is not up to date at the time of printing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
America's Navy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Harpoon V Jumpstart
by Rodney G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2020 15:19:01

Been following and using Harpoon since my days in the Blue Suit. The latest iteration is great, and I look forward to finding some players for play by e-mail.

One fairly serious quibble with the Jumpstart scenario.

I was EWO and Electrical officer on a Leahy with cross deck time on a Balknap. The Mk-42 mount 5"/54 had both Fire Director control, Aft Plot control, and local control. Even with CIC wrecked one of the alternate control methods should be available. References support on-mount local control...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harpoon V Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Harpoon V
by NICOLAS H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 03:41:35

Sorry for my poor English (English is not my mother langage).

I kwon Harppon III. I was a hudge fan of Harpoon IV and I was thinking that the previous version was very hard to improved. I'm discovering this new version with a great pleasure and I'm greatfull to Larry and Chris for the work they maded in the last version. Great job ! it's beyond my expectations.

We used to say that during of WWII the naval combat changed from the age of battleships to the age of carriers and trans horizon battles. But just think of the changes between the end of WWII and nowdays (missile, cold war, jet aircraft, combat systems, decoy, nuclear propulsion, homing weapons, terrorism,..). The ships, aircrafts, submarines changed so much. This game just cover the entires after WWII periods till 2020. Possibilities during this period are only limited by your imagination. You can simulate a quite simple commercial trafic protection mission in Somalia gulf, but you can also simulate an Uchronie during cold war or today.

Because the goal of the authors is to simulate real naval combats with a maximun of accurency but keeping it playable, this is a very detail wargame and quite complex simulation. But this is the price to pay to get a real simulation. (Don't buy this game if you need a quick game where luck is more important than reflexion).

With American and Russian navies and aircrafts, I'm sure to play for years and never lack of confrontations, But I'm waitting the others countries. (China, europe, middle east,...). If you dont want to design you own, with NAVAL SITREP publications, you will get all the scenarios you will need.

To my opinion, who will win a game is not important in Harpoon. The important aspect of these simulation is the amout of preparation it require before playing the simulation. You will learn the caracteristics and how many componants works together to be efficient. In that way, harppon is a manner to improve your knowledge about naval combat.

If one day, as it was done for command at sea WWII pacific period, you publish ready to used forms, I'm ready to bought them.

This game just have no equivalent for those whose period and this combat type.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Harpoon V
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 18:55:42

This is a good addition to FG&DN. It gives you all the information that you need to play naval wargames in the EUROPERAN THEATER. For that the authours have chosen to cover thos navies that operated in European warters. This includes the Austro-Hungarians, Germans, Italians, British Russian and French. Only a few Japanese ships are coverd - the important ones that were involved in the Great War. I noticed that one of those ships was the Ibuki, which was involved early on in the hunt for Garf Spee's squadron.

I feel that this suppliment covers in detail most of what it has set out to do. I notice that it has had some bad reviews which I belive is due to percieved ommisions in this data annex. I think that this is a bit unfair, because when I read the blurb before purchase, it was quite clear to me that the subjetct matter is essentially the war in European waters (including Australia/NZ and other salient periferal areas). This is quite clearly not a Pacific US vs Japan what-if and appears to be outside the scope of the suppliment.

As I said, the US fleet is not included in this suppliment. When I purchased this suppliment, I understood that it was not included - yes I did read the blurb before buying! Having said that, I will still argue that for completeness, there should be some US ships in this suppliment because a squadron of US battleships was attatched to the British Grand Fleet from 1917, after the US joined the war. This became the 6th battle squadron. In addition, the authours could have considered the United States' contribution to the war against the German U-boats after they had joined the for. If it is the authours' intent to concentrate in European waters, then this is quite clearly a serious ommission, and some gamers will quite clearlly feel let down because of this. This is something that the authours might want to fix up in an update in order to preserve gppd will with their customers.

Over all, this is a good, solid and well reserched suppliment for FG&DN. I should really give them 5 stars. The ommsions described above, however, means that I can only give them four stars. Apart from that, well done!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
by Charles H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 22:53:46

Ditto, missing data from version one. Wish i had looked more closely to notice the omissions.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
by al h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 09:15:00

According to the blurb on their website; The High Seas Fleet Data Annexes booklet provides the ship data needed to play the High Seas Fleet Scenarios, as well as data for the major units of other countries (USA, Japan, etc.)". Too bad the USA section was apparently deleted.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #52 (April 2017)
by Tuomo E A K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2017 12:38:45

Solid piece of Naval SITREP. Main articles just were not in my interest but if you like learn more about optical rangefinders or are interest to play out war between USA and GB in 1937 Atlantic then I'm certain that you would give full 5 stars for this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #52 (April 2017)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

La Guerre Navale
by Richard D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2016 08:41:00

Really helpful for the French. A friend and I are playing one of the scenarios this week. Lots of good ideas for actions, and good ship info.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Guerre Navale
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Naval SITREP #49 (October 2015)
by PRZEMYSŁAW M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2016 02:10:19

Very interesting issue, centered on Russian weapons (SAms and fearsome Kirov-class revival). As a supplement to the text on Admiral Nakhimov's modernization, look into this article (requires online translator from Russian):

http://svpressa.ru/war21/article/155672/?cbt=1

Seems that the third proj. 1144 battlecruiser “Admiral Lazarev” (ex-“Frunze”) will be repaired, overhauled, re-engined, upgraded and re-armed in the new huge Pacific shipyard built near the existing “Zvezda” shipyard in Bolshoy Kamen’ inlet. That shipyard is constructed as a joint-venture of Russian companies Rosneft, Gazprom, Sovkomflot together with South Korean Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering Co. (note that South Korea did not join the anti-Russian sanctions declared by the US) and will also feature huge dry dock(s) large enough to house such large ship as “Lazarev”. And though this shipyard is destined for civil (commercial) shipbuilding, as President Putin declared that “this venture will help into shipbuilding and overhauling activities of the Navy in the Far East”, it seems that its dry docks will be used to make a new life for “Admiral Lazarev”.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #49 (October 2015)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Naval SITREP #50 (April 2016)
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2016 08:33:42

These are a lot better quality, thicker cover and the print is easier to read as the paper is whiter than the old printed issues

Rich



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #50 (April 2016)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Naval SITREP #47 (October 2014)
by Jake C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2016 13:08:34

I purchased this for the H4 scenario between China and Japan. Sadly, while the SITREP includes data for the vessels involved and some of the weapons it neglects to include data for all the new guns on the Japanese and Chinese vessels. For example, the 052D destroyer has a new 130mm gun for which there are no published stats. The Chinese CIWS may have stats in some earlier SITREP, but I shouldn't have to buy that just to run the scenario I've already paid for.

A bit disappointing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #47 (October 2014)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Naval SITREP #49 (October 2015)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2016 21:43:05

Great issue. The detail provided on the S-300/400/500 SAM series is superb and provides a great unclassified breakdown of this threat. The book review on COMBAT LOADED was also interesting and reinforced my decision to read this book. Look forward to the next issue of the Naval SITREP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval SITREP #49 (October 2015)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates