Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Medieval Cogs and Galleys 1/2400
by Sonny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2022 13:43:38

All of the various Cog bases are good for the scale, there is a mistake in Galleys file which prevents being able to print the gally base without all of the other bases also. If that gets fixed, it'd be great. Still recommend it, even if it wasn't free I'd recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Cogs and Galleys 1/2400
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Battle of Harfleur, 1415 - Lord of the Sea
by Phil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2022 09:42:33

All the "Lord of the Ses" modules are worth a look. Gives the gamer great ideas for an often overlooked battle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle of Harfleur, 1415 - Lord of the Sea
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Far Distant Ships
by Angus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2022 08:43:53

I've been looking for a fast-play set of Age of Fighting Sail rules for ages. I've tried several, including Trafalgar, Kiss Me Hardy and Fighting Sail, plus several others. None of them did the double trick of being as fast-play as promised AND reflecting the tactics of the period. These did though - and did it well. Sure, as another reviewer said, they could have been more comprehensive, and sometimes you have to read things through several times before you figure out what David meant. This was particularly the case for the very important escalation of damage system - a nice way of replacing endless boxes to cross off. That said, the rules really work. The system is impressively slick and intuitive - newcomers can pick it up in a few minutes.

In this period, games stand and fall by the effectiveness of the sailing rules. These were simple yet elegant, and worked a treat. The gunnery too, while abstracted, shows how cumulative damage gradually imacts the effectiveness of the ship. The morale rules too, while again they've been abstracted to ensure fast-play, actually do a good job of capturing the way things happened. So, all in all I reckon these are excellent. From hereon in they'll be my go-to rules set for Napoleonic era fleet actions. Well done Mr. Manley!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Distant Ships
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lord of the Sea
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2021 10:46:05

As far as I know these are the only rules medieval combat at sea, designed for combat with 1/1200 scale ships organised into squadrons (or independent ships in the tactical game). Two versions of the rules are provided for Fleet actions and tactical games. There are 10 different ship types with different factors for each. There is also a campaign game provided for England vs France. Finally there is a useful glossary of termonolgy some of which was new to me.

Something of a niche market, but enjoyable,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lord of the Sea
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Find, Fix and Strike
by glynn g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 10:22:40

I love the naval tech-geekery you'll find in Seekreig 5 or CAS but in truth great as they are those games can feel like hard work sometimes, particularly with more than a couple a ships each.

This ruleset tries something completely different and seems to focus on getting the outcomes about right rather than worrying too much about detail mechanics. Gunnery, air, mines, MTBs and simple campaign rules are all presented here and all resolved very straightforwardly with a couple of D6.

Given my standard new rules test runthrough with River Plate the games ran to a believable and varied outcome and got finished quickly enough to swap sides and try again. Nice to dispense with record sheets too as ship status is handled with markers on the table so very little writing - always a bonus for me.

With larger forces some house rules on limited manoeuver / squadron control would be in order and I'd be fiddling a little with the stats. For River Plate the Graff Spee and Brit cruisers are all listed at move 6" whereas knowing he was a few knots slower was an important factor in Capt. Langsdorff's decision to charge in at first contact; maybe rounding Spee down to 5" would do the trick. Likewise torpedo damage seemed rather mild in contrast with wartime accounts (nearly 50% Brit DD's hit by one weapon broke their backs and the BB Prince of Wales was effectively doomed after a single lucky aerial torpedo hit which is not a result you'll see in these rules unless my stats are well out!) but again, adding a point or two to torp AF or a separate underwater DF are easily done for those so inclined.

All in all really impressed with these rules and look forward to trying them out with a few more ships and maybe some planes on the table too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Find, Fix and Strike
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Far Distant Ships
by George S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2021 10:52:54

An interesting set of rules that contain some interesting ideas on sending signals from the commander to other admirals. They are let down by not being complete and clearly not play tested with players remote from the author's sphere. (A trait that seems to go through all games I have bought from them.) I have entered a few questions raised by my first read through and initial game. Let's see how this progresses.

Having played a fair few games now, the problems just seem to be magnified. So many instances cropped up that we had to make up own own rule for (in the spirit of the existing rules) we decided against continuing with them. So thanks for the effort, but I really think we will be moving on to other rules from now on.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Far Distant Ships
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Si Vis Pacem
by Francis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2021 01:08:34

Great system. Like the old General Quarters II, it covers every aspect (that I've tried) of WWI combat. Simple, but effective system. Handles smaller ships better than most systems. If you want large battles, or small, done quickly, try this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Si Vis Pacem
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Find, Fix and Strike
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2021 13:12:15

Very interesting set of rules. Simple, adequate operational coverage of WW2 naval warfare. Definitely download the free campaign pack. Similar to Avalanche Press's Second World War at Sea series of boardgames in scope and complexity - sans little hex map for tactical battles. Will play more like the Avalon Hill classic Jutland with each player having a hex map for hidden movement and battles being resolved on a table with miniatures or counters. I hope new campaign packs are forth coming. I own multiple rulesets from Long Face and have never been disappointed. The rulesets are always loaded with innovation and information.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Find, Fix and Strike
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Narrow Seas
by Bernd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 01:58:57

Yesterday we had our first Test Game We are really impressed by the rules. The game keeps every player in constant action. The card activation system for movement and gunnery often leads to rising tension around the table.

some Questions arose

  1. how are dummys moved? do they get an extra activation card or are they moved with their real counterpart
  2. sighting is constantly checked...at the beginnig of the gunnery phase all ships with a target in sight put their card in the stack. But what if a ship fires and could now be sighted by boats which till now didnt had a LOS? Will those additional cards be added to the stack?
  3. Do you get a max of 1 Suppresion or does suppression adds up for the advantage test?


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Narrow Seas
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
White Bear Red Sun
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2017 07:41:52

Just a really quick read of David Manley's white bear red sun rules.

I was a bit apprehensive that they'd supplant the lovely Quickfire that WTJ put out for nix, but I'm happy to report that the two sets fill different niches and I'll happily be playing both.

QF has point by point reduction for its ship stats damage effects, while WBRS' Tactical rules (called Broadside and Salvo) take a stepped approach (damaged, silenced, crippled,sunk) with each step modifying ship performance (except minor units) in the same way.

Movement and action are governed by per squadron action points d6

These two mechanisms will likely combine to reduce per ship stat keeping and allow fast resolution of much larger fleet battles quickly.

Something QF struggled with at more than a dozen ships a side. (It has good chrome for several sqns a side game)

This is the set you fight Tsushima with, which I think is what David is shooting for.

He's included a critical hit table for attacker 6, defender 1 results.. So you will all get a kabewm from this set sometime.

Gunnery is DBAesque (equal, greater, twice, etc)

Torpedoes are one shot attacks conducted similarly

I'm looking forward to these rules and I think they'll serve their purpose well.. nice one David (Go buy the rules if you haven't already) http://www.wargamevault.com/product/223354/White-Bear-Red-Sun

The front Matter is 7 pages of RJW campaign narrative followed by 2 pages of brief OOB for the 10 major actions of the RJW from Port Arthur to Tsushima.

For those of you who remember DBSA, well this isn't DBSA. it will play faster, David has removed the exceptions and corner cases which made DBSA combat results resolution a drudge. It flows and it shows.

David has indicated a SpanAm supplement is in the works

More tomorrow when I've digested the campaign rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Bear Red Sun
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Steamer Wars
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2015 01:16:06

A fun and easy to learn set of rules that provides everything you need to recreate the quirky naval actions that took place on lake Tanganyika in the 1st World War - just add models.

The rules are well set out and are towards the "fast play" end of complexity with most actions resolved by rolling dice and looking up simple tables. We had a good understanding of the rules half way through our first game.

There are no examples in the text but the as the rules are not overly complex this was not a problem for me, there is also no summery sheet for easy use in play - and I would suggest that the author considers adding one for the next edition.

The rules include some interesting pictures that give you period feel and a fully self contained campaign system for the lake Tanganyika conflict. This includes all needed boat and aircraft stats rules for "personalities" such as Spicer-simpson (known to the natives as lord belly cloth) and scenarios.

The rules conclude with Spicer-Simpson's own account of the campaign and links to manufactures that produce the models you need to get started.

Overall a great set of rules - very playable with the focus on fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steamer Wars
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Jeff, thanks for your comments, and for your excellent suggestions which I will take on board.
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates