Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Chrome Hammer Ascension
by Teemu H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2022 11:46:25

This is currently my favorite miniature game. Very "your dudes" heavy with many customization options, special actions and random events during campaign turn. Sneak and reinforcement system makes balancing during scenarios fun. Do I risk exposing myself and giving more reinforcements to my enemies or should I play more carefully and miss additional loot/lose time/risk things elsewhere? I can heartily recommend this solo experience.

My only gripe (and reason for 4/5 instead of 5/5) is that rulebook is a bit fiddly to use and rules could be written more "solid". Still, best cyberpunk miniature game action I've ever had!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Hammer Ascension
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 05:34:44

Imagine to wake up and be a kid again. Not simply going back in time, rather being able to feel again the awe and wonder of seeing the world for the first time, but with the full consciousness of the experienced adult you are now. You would get with a friend and play a game with toy soldiers together. A joyful, simple and intelligent game that feels profoundly "yours". That game would be Squad Hammer Core.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
October Hammer. RCW gaming on the cheap!
by Daniel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2022 17:44:29

I played a solo game tonight to figure out the rules. Very easy to pick up and fast paced. It took around an hour and a half to play through 6 turns (rear guard scenario from Trench Hammer using Friekorps vs Baltic Nationalists) with a bit of paging through the rules. It seems like it will be very easy to scale up from the 4 units per side that I used - going to give this another try soon with some more troops and players but so far I'm impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
October Hammer. RCW gaming on the cheap!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Klicks From the Zone Chapter 1
by Earl W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2021 18:24:52

I got into Five Klicks because I liked the idea of a solo game set in a post-apocalypse that focuses on fighting your way up from the bottom in a world circling the drain. What I got was a hobby I now love, and a gateway to so much more. I've played almost fifty campaign turns between my main campaign and other, differently-flavored campaigns using the same system, and I've loved every minute of it all. Absolutely my most favourite game ever, and I'm excited to see even more content for it in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Klicks From the Zone Chapter 1
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2021 04:53:15

Simple rules, fast gameplay and plenty of narrative aids to build a gripping story for your campaign as well as the characters involved in it, both your heroes and the villains. The game has plenty of "sub-systems" that help conveying the feeling of progression and growth of your abilities and at the same time let you begin with fewer things to keep track, which is a godsend for the solo gamer. This way the player doesn't feel overwhelmed by too many little options all at once, as they gets added to your "arsenal" once your pilots and staff advance in experience. This also lets the player have the time to assimilate prior mechanics and lets them feel less worried of risking to forget using the new abilities/options available. Another solitaire-game that is an absolute winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 16:40:40

Simple rules packed wirh lots of action! solitaire focused so it tells a great story as your campaign plays out. one of the easiest mech games to get to the table and to keep getting it to the table over and over again. Ivan keeps updating it as well so it will only get even better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2021 14:18:15

This review is being written based on version 0.92 Weasel's Counterattack. Weasel-Tech will continue to grow based on the visions of the author and the input of the players so if anything in this review conflicts with a later version, my apologies.

This is probably the first full on solo space opera anime episodic campaign heavy tabletop skirmish game ever created, so there's not a lot to compare it to. The only other solo mech game I know of is 5150 No Quarter - Mecha Combat and that is an entirely different gaming experience. Other mecha games have a bolt on solo system that can work well, but Weasel-Tech was built from the ground up for solo play.

You start the game with a stable of 8 Mecha, 6 Pilots, and 6 Command Staff. Unlike most 5 X from Y systems such as Five Parsecs from Home, Five Leagues from the Borderlands, and Five Klicks from the Zone, Weasel-Tech does not have background generators for your characters. I used a random anime character generator to form my 6 Pilots and used a combination of characters I've been holding in my head and a random name generator to form the Command Staff. You start with 2 styles of mecha frames to choose from, and have 4 of each. You choose from available weapons and equipment to load them out and gain access to better tech levels as you increase in experience. This allows for more advanced mecha frames as well.

Not only does Weasel-Tech offer the fluid gameplay of campaign and combat as seen in most of the 5 X from Y systems it also has the single most important addition to gameplay that I had no idea I was lacking until I read it upon these pages.

The Social System.

It is an optional rule, but intergral for a true character driven experience. Personal encounters create plot importance, friendship, rivalries, love, and the potential love triangle shenanigans that could ensue. While it is not currently part of starting a campaign, I would highly recommend starting Turn 0 of your Operation with a roll through the Social System. Frank Castillo of Jaguars Den Games first suggested it on the Facebook group, and it is a winner.

Here is an example of how my Squadron is starting the game:

Pilot Orochimaru and Intel Officer Ami Mizuno meet in a Private Location. They have no known feelings for each other. An Unexpected Event occurs. While hanging out, Pilot Happy shows up. Orochimaru and Happy have a heated exchange.

Orochimaru and Happy are now Rivals

Before the arrival of Happy, Ami Mizuno and Orochimaru had spent some time together and got along well, strengthening their relationship.

Ami Mizuno and Orochimaru are now Friends

Happy and Ami Mizuno spend some time together after Orochimaru leaves, strengthening their relationship.

Happy and Ami Mizuno are now Friends

And that's how Operation: Strong Biscotti starts for Battlecats Squadron.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
by Frank C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2021 13:15:42

This game is great. I was the one who suggested rolling on the social table at start of campaign 1st David! hehe all joking aside this game is what ive been waiting for. ive spent the last two days creating my own squadron and playing out the operations. the social rolls are great for story telling. ill be honest towards end of game im itching to wrap it up just so i can see the saturday morning cartoon drama between my Mech Jocks and the other command staff. 5 out of 5 stars and its only going to get better as Ivan is great about taking input from his community. cant wait to make some vids of this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weasel-Tech. High Octane Cybernetic Warfare
by James A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2021 10:11:44

Weasel-Tech does what it sets out to do: help you tell a story of anime-style mechs battling each other, as well as the extra layer of interpersonal drama that is central to those shows. Gameplay itself is straightforward and brutal, and your mechs zip about the field blasting away across the table with glee (this is why cover and breaking up fire lanes with terrain is so important)! As stated in the description, it is being updated and adjusted currently, so wait to print this one for a little while. Definitely a fun way to kill some time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
From Shako to Coal Scuttle
by Nigel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 04:02:46

An excellent system which handles fire power combat, ebe and flow with an elegant single dice. Fully adjustable for many periods. Really enjoyable, playable and give a real period feel. Well worth a try. 5 star....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
From Shako to Coal Scuttle
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 23:25:29

I do love how versatile and malleable this game is. You certainly can't beat the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 12:31:44

If you wat to have a great time getting your butt kicked by the game system, Five Parsecs: Bug Hunt is a good way to go.

It's in the Five Parsecs from Home family of rules done in the old NWG format so it's very printer friendly but lacks the flash of the Modiphius book. Like the current edition of Five Parsecs, it's based on 2e with some mechanical tweaks. In this case you start with a team of three military operatives and you roll for extra support and weapons for every mission. You face waves of blips that spawn enemy melee types (bugs, zombies, cybernetic nightmares) and try to accomplish your objectives before calling for evac. It's fun, brutal, and when your military folk muster out you can add them to your crew of Five Parsecs from Home.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs: Salvage Jobs
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 02:32:25

5p made me a NWG fan. This module turned me into an unholy shill for these games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs: Salvage Jobs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs From Home
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:03:22

Liked the campaign system but not a fan of the resoltion of combat



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
by Alden T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 22:03:56

I am new to miniature gaming. I picked this up for something to use my minis with since solo gaming is all I have time for now I love that I can use whatever I have instead of having specific sets.

The rules are enjoyable and fairly straightforward. It took me two games. (1.5hrs for the firs and 1 hr for the second) to get the rules down. The randomness of it gives good replay value and keeps it challenging. You'll get the most out of it if you create a narrative to gowith each game. I also recommend finding a group to share your battle reports with if you like playing with people but don't have time to coordinate schedules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 117 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates