Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Battle Fortress: Build and Destory
by Ronald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 04:13:18

You really needto know what you are investing in with this game. This is a gateway game that is perfect for hooking young players. It may not be satisifying for more veteran gamers who want a more challenging fare. As a slightly experienced wargamer I was disappointed with the combat mechanics. The game uses a shot-range mechanic that is brutally simple. Imagine you have two infantry that are within range offive infantry bad guys. Infantry have one shot each. Your two shoot and two enemy infantry are removed. Infantry incover can only be killed by template weapons. Onlycertain units have template attacks. Itcreates a rock-paper-scissors system . Any unit can damage any other unit. This means infantry can hurt tanks. They will not make a huge dent and the tank will wipe them out with return fire. I find it odd. It hit me after thinking about it for a while. The mechanic reflects "I shot you, Lay down" system kids use when playing war! The game has a RtS feel too Your factories have so many points to make new units. This is secret. Knowing what to make is key to winning.   Firing first really makes adifference. What is odd is that it does not feel like a wargame. As another reviewersaid it is like a tabletop version of command and conquer. Just Fire up "Mechanical Man" and play!  Battle Fortress definitely breaks themold as awargaming model. Strategy isdifferent from other wargames. Numbers and having the right counter will decide the day. There are no super units. Though I would put ahero in every infantry unit and place artillery next to every factory. A wise opponent would make afew heavy tanks and punish that strategy. This can be played in any scale. I would suggest 1/72 scale plastics as they have a high model count low price ratio. They are also big enough for little hands to grab but still allow decent manuver room on the table. My only criticism is that artillery unit's attack is not listed on it's description in the rules. I found in on the tactical awareness sheet in the back of the rules. Artillery uses a 5"template. The other issue i have is that Japanese jungle fighters are invincible if they are in cover. That could create some issues.
I liked the special rules for the sci fi nations and the ww2 nations. With how simple the game is you could create your own units and rules. It is a sandbox of potential. b This is a great game for beginners and kids. It is not rules heavy although there is light bookkeeping involved. This game could be a success at a convention! I would definitely play this with my kids ...but i would pull out another game with like minded adults.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Fortress: Build and Destory
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: The Battle of Cannae
by Najyb A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 00:13:29

Decent historical background and fair map. Would like to see a color map with elevation gradients and better detail on the phases of the battle, setup, Roman movements, Enemy movements, turning point, etc from a historical perspective.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: The Battle of Cannae
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: THE FREE STUFF! [BUNDLE]
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 14:05:17

Good overview of Empires. Not my style of play. Rules are easily understood.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: THE FREE STUFF! [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: Campaign Scenarios
by Andrew F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2014 15:50:54

My Review of the Empires rule system was less than stellar. However I believe in giving credit where credit is due. The Campaign system is well thought out and easy to use. It makes playing a continuous campaign easy and enjoyable. I heartily recommend this product for players wanting to run a campaign using ANY ruleset. It is a job well done. The fact that it is free amazes me even more. Pick this up you won't regret it and pick up the core Empires Rules as well. With some tweaking on your part they are a great design idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: Campaign Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D6 Fantasy Rules Beasts, Wizards, Magic and Spells
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2013 16:49:36

Pros: Excellent expansion with good fluff and interesting characters. Magic is balanced nicely with the original rules and is good fun when it back fires. Cons: Don't take large expensive units with armour as they get annihilated with the magic; I think some units need magic resistance to counteract this. Verdict: Good expansion to the Empires series but some additional upgrades for Empires units would have been nice. Definitely worth a go if you haven't tried it. A solid 8/10 for the fantasy ruleset.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D6 Fantasy Rules  Beasts, Wizards, Magic and Spells
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D6 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2013 12:42:24

Most impressed with this for the price, if you enjoy warhammer fantasy you willl probably enjoy this and i can see why it is the hottest item at the moment. I cant wait to use my lizardmen for the magic rules against my friends bretonnians! A.Farn



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D6 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D6 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 11:06:33

Admire the publisher for making a rule book people can modify, hope it works as I would like to see some unique rules for the forces listed in the starting pages! Game itself is well paced (I play Warhammer mostly) and love the upgrade choices for my men. Eagerly awaiting the magic update.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D6 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 09:06:45

Saw these guys at a trade show so thought I'd have a go at this one, especially for my son who is getting into tabletop war gaming. Really enjoyed the style of play, lacking in pictures but very good overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: Campaign Scenarios
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2013 15:21:25

I think that this is a good expansion to the empires series and i hope more will come. After reading the reviews from the empire rules and this campaign scenario update, i downloaded the game and it is well worth a read, even if it is just to take some ideas for your own games or campaigns. Only gave four stars for the scenario updates as i think a few more scenrios would be good, but it is definately a step in the right direction.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: Campaign Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D20 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:06:07

Great game. Prefer this version to d10, but will be introducing this to my club next thursday for trial. Shame no other presence on internet (facebook page or website etc) hope there will be soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D20 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D10 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:00:01

Great game! Will be putting this game up there for my club to play next Thursday. There is good variation for different skill levels. I prefer the d20 version, d&d has an influence i expect...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D10 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D20 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2013 12:45:37

Played the D10 edition for this game and enjoyed it giving 4 stars as well. Same as my other review for the D10 edtion, the game may lack rules for specific forces, (so i will be making my own for the system), but the ruleset is very good, especially now as there will soon be campaign rules. Great for those with models before WW1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D20 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: D10 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2013 12:38:44

Good wargame, as with the last empires i would like to see some specific forces but i could probably write some for it. The 'incoming' campaign rules would make this more interesting i think. Those two things aside, definately worth a look for those with pre world war 1 models.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: D10 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: Diceless Edition Rules
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2013 07:15:12

excellent game, romans out you come, cant quibble for under a dollar, kinda hoping for some specific rules for different armies though but hopefully they will show up soon



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Empires: Diceless Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Empires: Diceless Edition Rules
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2013 05:42:25

good game, loads of room for expansion, needs a lot of thought when playing which is good, not bad overall HSkew



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates