Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Heroic Maps - Ships: The Bloody Sunrise
by Bruce R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 04:21:05

Happy with this ship, which we're now using for Savage Worlds 50 Fathoms.

The images are clear and evocative, perfect for a group of scurvy dogs who are going to prey on poor merchantman. I highly recommend this ship map.

The only thing that I don't like is the positioning of the helm - why is it so far forward rather than on the poop deck? Also, doesn't the helm connect to the rudder via a mechanism in order to enable steering - it looks like this has been missed out on the lower decks.

I wish there were some way to add/remove details to these maps - eg: change the Bloody Sunrise so that it only has 4 cannons, or no cannons. No problems with this having 8 cannons - it would be great to change little details though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Ships: The Bloody Sunrise
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Dvoltech Industries Processing Plant
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2021 21:51:20

This was my first purchase from your Heroic Maps line, but it most assuredly won't be the last. An excellent product for a reasonable price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Dvoltech Industries Processing Plant
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Day & Night: The Caravanserai
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 22:59:28

Nice and detailed. Long overdue to have something detailed and ready to go for a desert or Dark Sun campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Day & Night: The Caravanserai
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Fronte Cover Books - Bookshop of Secrets
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 22:58:39

Great map. I really like how I can use this city location for a variety of tales due to its different and detailed components. The quality of the artwork is excellent and really helps seal the deal. I use these in fantasy grounds unity and works just fine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Fronte Cover Books - Bookshop of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - The Hand of Vanth
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2021 22:54:41

Simple but effective. Sets a glorious mood for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Hand of Vanth
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Hot Spring Bathhouse
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2021 22:48:26

Hot tub adventures for those thinking something a little samuri or perhaps Austin Powers and the Fat Bastard pool scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Hot Spring Bathhouse
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - The Lost Airship
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2021 22:47:17

Its a nice map. I can see players being surprised by what is inside. The graphics and design is nice as always.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Lost Airship
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Haunted Mansion
by Bernard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2021 18:55:27

They look good, probably work well printed off as a map, but definitly not "VTT" ready for a more casual user of VTT's



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Haunted Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
by Terrelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2021 10:39:31

I used this map as the finale confrontation with my version of "Zhengyi, the Witch-King" who had built his "lair" in the Shadowfell. This map was great having the Adventurers exploring his lair, encountering various creatures and encounters, and then encountering the final battle with Zhengyi, the Witch-King in the throne room. The map esthetic was appropriate for a setting. I would like to see some additional add-ons for this map. However, it was great for the final encounter with this Lich in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - The Christmas Village
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 05:29:19

This is one of the best looking, most high quality maps for D&D commercially available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Christmas Village
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Castle Darkspire
by Njål M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2021 08:26:26

Castle Darkspire is the most spectacular map ever made by Heroic Maps and is a stunning work of artistry that is easily the equal of the famous Castle Ravenloft. Unfortunately it does have two major flaws, one of them is about what the Castle isn't and the other is about the specific layout of the Castle which in at least one instance is bizarre to the point of ridicolous. Normally such a thing would not be a problem but it concerns the most important area of the castle for any DM hoping to use this as a location for the final dungeon of a Campaign or as the finale of a sprawling adventure and that is, of course, the throne room.

In Castle Darkspire the Throne room is strangely remote and is tucked away at the top of the third floor, this is by itself curious but not really something that merits a deduction, it might even be an advantage as the throne room is often located too close for the entrance which can drastically reduce dungeon length. The actual problem is that there seems to be only one way to access the throne chamber and the path goes straight through the master bedchamber. If the throne room is the most public place in a castle then surely the bedchamber is the most intimate and for the two to be positioned so closely together strains suspension of disbelief. Throne rooms are the most natural place for a DM to prepare a big setpiece encounter and consequently are the area of any map that I scrutinize most closely.

Perhaps its second issue is a tad unfair but I think it is nonetheless extremely important to mention and that is the poor versatility of this product, it features all manner of things you'd expect from a gothic castle and this includes cobwebs, cobwebs, even more cobwebs, dirt and some additional cobwebs. Castle Darkspire is a castle for Undead generally and Vampires specifically and while it excels in this the bitter truth is that while all DMs will have great use for practically any and all castle maps this spectacular example is probably not what you're looking for 90% of the time as it fulfills a very specific fantasy, this would not be as much of an issue were it not for the fact that most other Castle maps are ALSO vampire castles that feature cobwebs and dirt prominently and thereby drastically reduce a DMs ability to use these stellar pieces for the countless other scenarios that he or she might desperately need a castle map for. In fact, another fantastic castle made by Heroic Maps is Schloss von Nachtherz and that TOO is a Vampire Castle with cobwebs.

Those are its issues as I see it, but make no mistake, this is a phenomenal map with dozens upon dozens of possible rooms, making it a megadungeon waiting to happen and if you DO need a Vampire Castle then either this or the recently updated Schloss von Nachtherz are easily the best options available. Regrettably though, the problems with the Castle are major enough that I'd consider it dishonest to award it anything more than 4 Stars. Though it very nearly earned a 5 Star rating regardless.

Hopefully this is useful for anyone deciding whether or not to buy this product.

Njål Randby Michaelsen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Castle Darkspire
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Njål, Thanks for taking the time to review the map :) With regards to your comment about throne room. We didn't actually envision the tower throne as a 'public' place at all, and more like a secluded chamber where the vampire can brood for decades at a time, planning and plotting. The dining room and audience hall are the public spaces, and where they would entertain people (before eating them!) If you're looking for non-Vampire castles, you might be interested in any of these: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/229565/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-Kennelfield-Winter-Castle https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/287160/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-Ragnars-Keep https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/308973/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-The-Moving-Castle--Forest https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/243767/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-High-Edgmoor-Hall All the best, Joe
Heroic Maps - Temple of the Demon's Heart
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 03:21:22

Serioulsy awesome in full resolution. Exactly what I need to add flavour and sparkle to my Descent in Avernus campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Temple of the Demon's Heart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Maze of the Queen of Hearts
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 03:20:31

I like this as it has lots of flavour and I am really looking forward to putting my PCs through the maze using line of sight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Maze of the Queen of Hearts
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - The Dark Sword
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 23:56:24

Nice map I really think the colour scheme works well and I am looking forward to dropiing this into my Descen into Avenus rift game. I am looking forward to making the lava move using one of hte fantasy grounds effects



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Dark Sword
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Shedyet
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 05:14:23

Excellent resource of high quality maps that you can put together to essentially create various dungeons with an ancient-Egyptian style theme. Thr artwork and detail is excellent. The maps work in virtual tabletop (VTT) programs easily. There is no lag or slow down, but maps retain the quality. I highly recommend this resource for Dungeons & Dragons games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Shedyet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 394 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates