Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Ashes of Malifaux Expansion Book - M3E
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2024 16:25:23

Very fun advancement of the Malifaux metanarrative and an exciting look at a bunch of really fun multi-keyword models with some interesting abilities. As someone who used to be a retailer who always saw people playing Malifaux but never got my own chance, it's fun to dive into the setting more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ashes of Malifaux Expansion Book - M3E
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
by Paul G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2023 08:28:38

Another solid Penny Dreadful from Wyrd.

Through the Breach is well-served for odd little prewritten sidequests, and Lantern Festival is a fine addition.

It will never be the focus of a whole campaign, but as a shorter quest between chapters of a campaign, it offers a solid, slightly creepy (which, lets face it, is one of the things Through the Breach does best) adventure with stakes that ramp nicely and add a little chaos to the proceedings. As a Fatemaster its nice to be causing the chaos for a change, rather than the players making my life miserable!

All in all, good fun, and well worth picking up for a Fatemaster (or a GM running a different system who wants to adapt a bit of mysticism for their game).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
by Marc M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2023 21:47:04

Art and Production Values - Solid as always for Wyrd products, some reusing of assets from their games but thoughtfully so

Plot - Fun and relatively straightforward; unrelated from any major meta plot but a fun and "thematic" way to give the Fated something to mix things up - and offers a possible "in" to any Ten Thunders faction plays that would interest Fatemasters

Variety - Offers players a mix of social, challenge and combat which I always enjoy for party flexibility - as well as options that all play into how the conflict gets resolved'

Overall - Solid adventure, solid production values, recommend for any group looking for some thematic flavor or something involving the community of the Little Kingdom or Ten Thunders



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
by London S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2023 23:24:19

solid adventure, got a little hectic in spots but otherwise amazing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hey Landon, Reach out to us directly so that we can drop a From Shadows on you. Thanks for the review!
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
by Raymond W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2023 09:41:04

(Light Spoilers, players shouldn't read.)

Simple but odd one-shot. Without going into too much detail it really feels like a one-shot that would best be suited as almost a rest for a party between multiple story points in an already existing campaign. Combat in this adventure is quite light and even with the optional rules to make the final confrontation more difficult it doesn’t seem all that particularly bad. This adventure is odd in that the events occurring can possibly leave players feeling like their involvement really didn't matter or potentially made the situation worse. Depending on the players, that could leave a bad taste in their mouth. But overall, if they wouldn’t have been there it could have been worse than if they didn’t get involved... it’s odd. You could call it dynamic in that aspect, and it certainly can be, but it’s mainly just the circumstances to the events and the npcs involved. Their motivations make sense, their lack of communication makes sense, it all makes sense, but it is odd in terms of traditional adventure structure.

The strength of this one shot would depend on the fatemaster’s awareness of those oddities before you run it. Due to the nature of this one shot somewhat encouraging players to split up it is possible for a combat encounter to occur against a single character if they complete a particular task by themselves. In theory this shouldn’t be a difficult fight for most characters, even solo, (the enemies by default want to ignore them, not kill them) but the environment of the encounter can make it go deadly in an instant if a solo player would become debilitated such as a crippled chest (very specific but it’s exactly what happened to one of my pcs). We all agree it was bad circumstances, but hey, maybe the fate deck will hate your players like it did mine as well. Overall, I give it a 4/5 because it has potential to be very exciting if you play up the festivities with your players and allow them to explore between their “jobs”, but if you treat it as just a side romp and skip over the small details to get to the meat, then it could end very quickly and feel flat. The quality is there, the flexibility is there, it has the potential to be a really fun adventure, but it is... odd.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Lantern Festival
by Danny L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2023 19:24:07

The Lantern Festival is a pretty nice quest, that has a few combat encounters and alot of investigation. I won't spoil the beans here, but the double plot twist is the cherry on the sunday. Minor flaw in the quest is maybe the lack of importance of the story in grand state of things in Malifaux. But then again, this quest may be a good adventure in a running campain between 2 important arcs of a story. Overall Good quest, will be running it for my fated after they deal with an illegal soulstone mining operation run by the cult of the burning man....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Saloon Fate Deck
by Brennon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2022 11:48:49

Cards came in today, box seems sturdy and the material feels very rigid. The art on the front and back of the cards is very crisp and consistent with no noticable blemishes or misprints. There are 14 pieces of character art included, 3 for each of the 4 original factions and one for each joker. The character art is exactly whats advertised, raunchy pinup style charicatures of the women of malifaux, while some of it varies in quality it is ultimately well done and if you're ordering this deck, you will likely be pleased with the result. The non face cards are broken in weak/moderate arts, with a less flashy version of the suit for the weak and a more detailed/flashy version of the suit for the moderate, this art looks good and is a nice inclusion. These cards do have a drawback though wehre the top right of the card only includes the suite and the severity while the number of the cards are on the top left/bottom right, which means that the full information of the card is not where you are normally used to looking and this could have been done better. Ultimately, that is my only complaint about the deck and would recommend it to anyone interested.

Characters Included: Rams: Lady Justice, Perdita, Sonnia Tomes: Kaeris, Collette, Rasputina Crows: Molly, Reva, Kirai Masks: Pandora, Lilith, Titania Black Joker: Ma Tuckett Red Joker: Viktorias



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Saloon Fate Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Saloon Fate Deck
by Clint W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2022 21:43:01

Just got my cards today. Not what I exopected but damn if these aren't all you said and more. Perfect for any game using stanard cards and the theme is perfect for Deadlands as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by William D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2021 13:01:42

Beneath The Baumwood is a Through the Breach, One-Shot adventure that’s a fun nod to the old Fairy lore. It’s well suited for a Halloween celebration, capturing the spirit of the season with Tricks and Treats.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by Nathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2021 23:34:03

Played this with some friends to celebrate the halloween festivities. It was very detailed for the Fatemaster and the halloween theme was very prevelant. My favorite part about this One Shot was the plot twist at the end. Our group certainly feel for it as we were burning high cards to ensure we properly "completed" without realizing we were setting up our own doom.

I would certainly reccomend this to a friend -- I would note that the whole potion brewing "puzzle" is a lot of fun but does require the Fatemaster to be somewhat organized.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Congratulations on winning our review contest! Please reach out to hobby.assistant@wyrd-games.net with your shipping information.
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2021 20:44:31

Read through it after playing with some friends. I liked that it offered a few different ways to seemingly 'win' and 'lose' for each challange. We definitely lost each challange and thought we were winning. And the fight at the end was fun, and the chicken legs were cool. Instantly made me want to find a Baba Yaga hut and make some terrain for Malifaux. One thing that was difficult was that there wasn't much of an indication whether you were going in the right direction or not. Rhymes/poetry was great though!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by Colby G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2021 10:46:55

Through the Breach is a neat system that takes the rules of Malifaux and turns them into a roleplaying game. If you like halloween and swamp witches, this module is definitely for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by Joris d. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2021 09:43:52

This oneshot is the first adventure I read for this system. I'm really looking forward to actually playing it with my group. What was especially apparent, was the MUCH clearer structure of the adventure. It's especially nice for a Halloween evening, as your group gets stuck in a magical forest. To escape, they need to solve a couple of challenges presented to them by a misschievous forest creature... I do like the fact that there are multiple paths to the same ending. The PC's don't have to solve everything, but it does help in the end..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by Chase F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 13:52:50

This one shot was so fun! I ran this for my Fated and they loved the setting, the challenge of figuring out what was happening, and the chance to use their non-Combat skills. The various callout boxes to add extra challenges or clear obstacles let me fine tune the adventure as we played, making for an overall great session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Beneath the Baumwood
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2021 07:10:05

Loved this one shot. Our group had just finished a more fighting related one (siliuid showdown) and it was great to take a break from that and do something where the win condition wasn't so clearcut. It's a perfect little adventure for your TTB party to embark on during spooky season.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 97 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates