Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
T1 The Village of Hommlet (1e)
by Cory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 12:29:57

WOTC's scan of this module's maps is terrible. Their source file had stains and creases on the map, which were faithfully recreated in the POD book. Should have digitally cleaned up the source file before making this available as POD.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
T1 The Village of Hommlet (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

C2 The Ghost Tower of Inverness (1e)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2020 15:20:02

Once again print quality was perfect! Can't wait to throw this curve ball at my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C2 The Ghost Tower of Inverness (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

C1 The Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan (1e)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2020 15:17:53

Print quality is perfect! No complaints. Shipping was much faster with this one, than others. Seems like these older modules are printed quicker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C1 The Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
by Andrés L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2020 11:10:18

It is a really fun adventure! And I love the mockman map! Here are my 2 cents: 1) Players might not get the full experience, as they will most likely stop the evil barber before it can apply any of the fun stuff from the third level (hair color, monster teeth, hair driyer, etc). Maybe find a way to delay them a bit so at least the trapped character can experience the weird sheningans. 2) If players aren't curious, they won't even try the multiple "magic items" found here, as the grung colors or the prysmatic machine. 3) There should be a map file without the numbers, so you can use it on VTT. there isn't secret doors so it isn't that of a problem, but still weird to see the numbers on map. 4) Not a complain, but a suggestion to other DM, give inspiration to players that make hair puns!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon+: The Barber of Silverymoon (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Francis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 21:49:12

Excellent quality adventure, with engaging role-play and combat. In multiple run-throughs, I’ve found that players quickly get into the plot and become very engaged in the storyline. Run-time was usually almost exactly at 4 hours. A few tricks I like for DMing this (SPOILER WARNING): First: Once they’ve rescued the survivor, I find it can help lull the players into a false sense of security in the mansion if I emphasize that she may be able to answer questions in the morning; ideally, this sets them up well for the sneak attack. Second: The trickiest part for DMing is where the players need to “lose” by having the survivor be rescued or escape. I’ve found that most groups are actually very focused on protecting her. Making sure the fight(s) downstairs are challenging downstairs can help, and don’t be afraid to aggressively use the guards’ weapons coated with slumber resin. Although I haven’t had to use it, I also feel that if needed the DM could run a backup plan of allowing the party to prevent Ravia’s, and have her spill that she was part of a cult that is about to unleash an Azer on the city. The plot would then continue the same, with the players seeking the Chapterhouse of Eternal Flame in order to stop the cult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
by Jeffrey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2020 19:41:13

The scan of the printed text is not really that good but is readable. The module itself is pretty good.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crypt of Lyzandred the Mad (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Up Front Complete Game [BUNDLE]
by Clifton F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 19:32:10

This bundle is great; thanks for putting this outstanding game into the hands of a new generation. I plan to spend many hours playing against my son-in-law.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Complete Game [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Up Front Counter Sheets (2nd Edition)
by Clifton F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 19:30:52

Good clean scans. I would prefer a heavier stock for these. I'll probably print my own and mount them on Scrabble tiles.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Counter Sheets (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Up Front Infantry Personality Cards (2nd Edition)
by Clifton F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 19:29:48

Good cards and excellent cardstock. I appreciate having more room on the table during play due to their size. The print is a bit small for my old eyes. I plan to puchase the poker-sized cards too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Infantry Personality Cards (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Up Front Action Cards (2nd Edition)
by Clifton F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 19:28:34

These are very well done. The scans are clean and the size is great. The cardstock used is the perfect weight. I plan to keep them in sleeves to enhance their lifespan (heavy use anticipated).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Action Cards (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Up Front Rulebook (2nd Edition)
by Clifton F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 19:26:38

This is a good scan of the rules and I'm glad to have them. It would be even nicer if I could have purchased a printed and staple-bound copy. I'll get around to it my self eventually.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Up Front Rulebook (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

PG1 Player's Guide to the Dragonlance Campaign (2e)
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 14:57:28

I've recently gotten into Dragonlance after not gaming the setting during it's first go around. I've enjoyed a lot of the original source material but as someone who's prior Dragonlance experience was mostly limited to the original trilogy of novels I have to say; this is the definitive guide to that period in Dragonlance history.

This book is a great read, and filled with tons of art from the original Dragonlance run. For any fan of the series or anyone looking back with a nostalgic eye this is in my opinion the best source book for the original trilogy and it's world.

One of the other huge positives with this book is that although it's nominally a 2nd Edition AD&D title, unlike the Dragonlance Adventures hardcover there is no space given to game mechanics in this book so it requires no translation or adaption to use with other editions of the game. For me personally I bought the book with the intent of using it to shape 5e content for Dragonlance and Sithicus (Ravenloft) and it fits perfectly.

For anyone considering any legacy Dragonlance purchases to round out their collections, this is to date; the most complete, easiest to use, nicest looking guide to The War Of The Lance era on DMsGuild. A must buy and a bargain for five bucks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PG1 Player's Guide to the Dragonlance Campaign (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FR5 The Savage Frontier (1e)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2020 23:07:32

POD is in perfect condition! Text is clear. Came with maps in the back split up, no problem, I usually let the players draw their own maps. Can't wait to put them in this environmemt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FR5 The Savage Frontier (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FR6 Dreams of the Red Wizards (1e)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2020 22:59:08

POD came in perfect condition. Getting this from drivethru saved me a lot of money. In addition, I'm not at all bothered by the maps being split up in the back. Text is super clear. It's worth every penny for FR fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FR6 Dreams of the Red Wizards (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

FOR8 Pages from the Mages (2e)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/30/2020 13:04:34

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/09/review-pages-from-mages.html and is a followup to the post here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/09/this-old-dragon-retrospective-pages.html

The Pages from the Mages feature of Dragon Magazine was one of my favorite features and I looked forward to seeing what new spells Ed Greenwood would relay from the great sage Elminster. I was very pleased when I saw that the entire collection was pulled together into a single tome. The original Pages from the Mages spaned roughly 10 years from 1982 to 1992 and both editions of AD&D. For this review, I am considering both the original print version sold by TSR and the PDF version sold through DriveThruRPG. Presently there is no Print on Demand option.

Pages from the Mages

The book is 128 pages. Color covers, black & white interior art with full color, full-page art. Designed for the AD&D 2nd Edition game. The PDF sells for $9.99 on DriveThruRPG. The softcover book originally sold for $15.00 in 1995.

This book covers some 40 or so unique spell books from various spellcasters from the Forgotten Realms. Some of these spellcasters are well known such as Elminster and others less so or at least nearly mythic in the Realms. This is one of the book's greatest strengths. While this could have been just a collection of books with known spells, it is the stories and the myths behind the books that make this more.

While many of the spells found within these books are fairly well known, there are plenty of brand new and unique spells. This is what attracted me to the original Dragon magazine series. Within these pages, there are 180 or so "new" spells. I say new in quotes because most, if not all, these spells appeared first in the pages of Dragon magazine and then again in the pages of the hardcover Forgotten Realms Adventures for 2nd Edition.

Additionally, there are a number of new magic items and even a couple of new creatures.

The true value for me, as a DM and a player, is to provide these new spell books as potential treasure items or quest items. Even saying the name of some of these books, like Aubayreer's Workbook, is enough to get my creative juices flowing. Where is it? Where has it been? What other secrets does it contain?

I often refer to a product as punching above its weight class. This is one of those books. While overtly designed for the 2nd Edition game there is nothing here that can't be used with any version of the D&D game, from Basic all the way to 5th edition with only the slightest bit of editing needed.

While I have a print copy and the PDF, a Print on Demand version would be fantastic.

A complete list of the spells, spellbook, creatures and characters in this book can be found on the Forgotten Realms wiki, https://forgottenrealms.fandom.com/wiki/Pages_from_the_Mages



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FOR8 Pages from the Mages (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6029 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates