Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX2-03 The Drowned Tower (5e)
by Joel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 14:29:15

A pretty decent mod. The writing was good and prep was relatively easy. The combats felt quite underwhelming at the table I ran, though perhaps it was the group that was overpowered.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-03 The Drowned Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Joel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 14:27:42

Very well put-together little module. Does a great job of outlining the possible outcomes at the end. Easy to read and run in a pinch with very little prep time. Well written also.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Jeremy X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 00:32:47

I've played and run this module. Overall, Mind Flayers are always fun. It's a little odd to have Gith allied to a Mind Flayer, even a rogue one, but I can work with it. I think I've had it stay around its 2 hour design target, though usually a little over (having a party whose APL is below the target probably makes it run long).

This is a nicely contained module to run since, aside from introduction and cleanup, it's a four room dungeon plus the boss room. Each of the rooms has its own interesting nature. Note that I say interesting rather than particularly deadly. If the dice are particularly unlucky, particularly on saving throws and party composition, this module can turn super deadly in a couple of places, but without bad luck it's flavourful while still within a party's capabilities (disclaimer: I've only played and run this module with Very Weak / Weak parties; I'm certain that if I threw the Very Strong version of this module against a Very Weak party, it would be deadly). I have not yet seen the boss get to his flee condition, because he has always been defeated before it can take place.

The puzzle / trap room was fun to run. I suggest being ready for players to try all sorts of things to avoid their character triggering the trap (use Mage Hands, Unseen Servants, 10' poles, etc.). Since the damage is most psychic, I explained that it followed the chain of intent back to the PC triggering the tiles to be revealed. Side note: Paladin auras can really take the sting out of that room.

Oh, right: I kept nearly forgetting (or outright forgetting) about the faerzress wild surges; they added some hilarity to the table, though they can slow things down a bit (I keep a printed copy of the wild surge table with my notes for the module).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
by Eric J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 12:32:53

This a very fun adventure. My home group wanted to go to a ball in Waterdeep and participate in Waterdeep "high society". This was a fun way to introduce the Cassalanters to my party (and provided a nice reason for the Cassalanters to loan my PCs some funds to finish fixing up Trollskull Manor). I highly suggest it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 01:51:54

TL;DR: Old school D&D in it's full glory, exactly the way its creator (Gygax) played. Sacrifice those two cups of Starbucks coffee and pick this bundle up, you are in for a great time!

Full Review:

This is a PDF copy of what's referred to as the "white box" or "3 brown booklets" or "OD&D", the game that kicked off the entire D&D craze back in 1974. Nothing has been altered, these booklets have everything you and your friends need to begin playing D&D the way Gygax played. Contrary to popular belief, Gygax didn't really use the Advanced D&D rules that much. In fact, the final campaign he ran for his players before his death in 2008 was using these 3 booklets. You'll find strange conventions here, such as Fighting Men (fighters), constant references to the Chainmail ruleset (not required), and the fact that every player class uses a d6 for hit points and all weapons/monsters deal a d6 for damage on a hit. As strange as all this sounds, the rules are very workable and allow for truly amazing games of dungeon delving and exploration. No feats, no rules-lawyers arguing about X rule, just you & your character against a very deadly and hostile dungeon that will eat you alive if you're not careful. Fun times, can't recommend this enough!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Ian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2019 12:10:01

Good adventure for preparing low level parties for the jungle. Pt Nyanzaru has a lot of potential that can be missed if a group charges into the jungle early, and the wilderness encounters will likely be too dangerous.

We play on a grid with a full party of 7. The party nearly TPK'd with 4 soulmonger deaths from the thugs/ruffians ambush at the end of the first adventure. They had exhausted many of their abilities in the trap room and encounters beneath the city, and forgotten to rest.

Ziggurat was a memorable combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The World of Greyhawk (1e)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2019 03:33:42

I bought the PDF and the POD. The printed product is great. Waiting to see the 83 boxed set in POD next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The World of Greyhawk (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

RA1 Feast of Goblyns (2e)
by Skip O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 18:39:00

OMG! All the kids in the neighborhood were waiting - what seemed like forever - for this thing called 'Ravenloft' to arrive. After I got my hands on Feast of Goblyns, they would stop crowding around my bedroom door (where I posted updates & teasers)! I ran it in the dark on a table made from a slice of a huge tree with a big candle in the center and a blacklight. One of the best adventures ever written!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RA1 Feast of Goblyns (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Chris E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2019 18:36:19

I loved this adventure. The hooks, the storyline carrying and the impending doom of the giants building. The only thing I am finding lacking on this one, was the combat encounters. The combat encounters even with exhaustion were not that difficult for my party, I even bumped it 1 notch above the recommended APL and they seemed too easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Chris E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2019 18:29:00

Just ran this two weeks ago. My players are those that dont like to hack and slash through every encounter. They came up with some innovative solutions, but settled on one of the solutions that was in the book, but put that together themselves. Even used a few of their backgrounds to establish how to get around some of the other issues and how their characters would use it. I like alot of the 5th season modules because of they present some good options and allow non-killing with the new S8 rules. They have fun doing so, and even more so, telling of their adventures later. It's great to hear veteran players who enjoy the challenges over the combat challenges.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Connor S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2019 20:19:04

Not a bad mod to run for a new dm. Characters level a little fast and it does not reward players well



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
by Oliver W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2019 06:07:47

I ran this as module as my first ever DM session and thoroughly enjoyed it. That said I did run into some problems in each section of the story that I will go to in a little bit of detail. The module says its balanced for a group of six 3rd level characters, I ran this module with four level 1's, one level 2, and one level 4. I found most fights were pretty straight forward and simple, but I didn't feel as if my group was particularly challenged by any of the encounters. For example, when reading the wasp encounter I was worried that this would cause an issue for my players if they couldn't meet the con save required, leading to several PC deaths, but instead my group dispatched with the wasps in one round of combat. But thats how the dice rolls some times I guess haha.

For a first time DM I found the first chapter to be easily the hardest, I only had about half a days prep time to get familiar with the module and the first chapter leads a fair bit to be desired in preparing you for introducing the setting of Mulmaster. There are prompts of rumors and talk that your party can hear as they explore the city, but aside from that there isn't much detail as to what the city is like, what it looks like and how to play out characters within the city. To make it a bit easier on my players I had Captain Holke offer them board at a local Inn, giving them direction in the town and allowing them to overhear rumors in the tavern and interact with a little old lady who was once an adventurer too. This might seem like a minor detail around the lack of description for the town, but for a new DM this was a big point of stress and struggle. If I had more prep time this could have most likely been avoided but I thought I would share my experience and ideas of how to introduce rumors for other would-be DM's.

I was worried about chapter 2 as from reading other reviews people said it could get a bit dry and not very enjoyable. I found this to be the opposite for my group, which I think was more likely to noone having a perception over 12 which made for a much more interesting combat. Worried that the highest level player is going to get away with an easy fight because of high AC? Giving the mage magic missle helps to put him back in his place and teach him that spending his AL DM points to make OP characters will not go unpunished. Traveling on the north road can get pretty boring as its several days travel with no real encounters, a random encounter could be included but this will stretch the time of the module even further. I found throwing in a random woodland creature or farm animal to make the characters keep on their toes while keeping watch at night was a fun way to spice up a few dull and dreary days on the road.

The third chapter was easily the most eventful, having a scroll of comprehend languages included in the second chapter makes interacting with the lizard folk so much easier and enjoyable for the group. To stop my players from being murderhobo's I made sure that as soon as one of them was rude to the first of the lizardfolk that the others made their presence known, just to avoid any shenanigans from the party. Using the comprehend languages spell allowed for an interesting form of communication in the ways of hand signals and noises, making it the perfect time to award players inspiration before entering several fights. The final fights in the module seemed pretty straightforward and easy to fun, I particularly enjoyed my players trying to work out where the purple fungus was attacking them from, assuming it was some massive bog monster only to find it to be a 5ft movement mushroom.

Overall I loved running this module and It pushed me to invent my own characters, settings and scenarios. I think it's always going to be difficult when your players want to pickpocket every NPC, kill every character and want extra gold for every task. Faking love letters, cake recepies and backstories will always be great fun but I hope that my chair dosent collapse on me again before the first round of combat! haha



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2019 23:09:45

I enjoyed running this adventure a lot. The combats were really close due to some low rolling on my party's part. My major complaint is the sandstorm in the middle of the adventure lacks guidance on what the NPCs do - they come accross as completely hopeless which is worrisome for people who apparently make the journey often.

The final encounter is sort of shoe-horned in with the party having no real way to avoid it without getting into another big fight where they are on their last legs.

It seems that I have a lot od negatives but this module is great for everyone, first timers and experienced DMs alike.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
by Jen V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2019 06:05:27

This was fun adventure to play including using the Magic cards as items. The pregenerated characters really help bring the flavor out as they have levels of drama built into them (really, try to play with a full crew if you can, the second time I played was better because of it). The richness of the Ixalan setting provided an excellent backdrop.

Caveat: I know the authors.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Samantha G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2019 11:24:06

What a revelation this set of modules has been to me as a new DM. I am running a women-only table at a gaming cafe. All new players and me, a fairly new DM (but massively influenced and inspired by Matt Mercer) had a great time. First rule of table top gaming is ensure that you rplayers have fun. We have explored role play, combat, planning, skill checks and character interaction in so many ways. The party rogue in particular has delved deep into the Factions in Phlan and all players are eager to keep going through the missions. Thanks WotC, you're making a proper DM of me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5361 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates