Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2020 23:06:08

This is the Star Trek RPG I've been waiting year to see. So in depth, so in universe, it is absolutly fantastic. Amazing art, great "in character" commentary, and the 2d20 system fits the federation team all working together perfectly. Theres also a great Living Campaign that goes with this, on top of the mountains of published adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Fallout: Wasteland Warfare - Terrain Expansion: Vault Tec Office Bundle STL
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2020 23:02:06

Very happy withthese. Printed on an FDM printer (Creality CR-10) at 2mm and they came out very nicely. I was planning on just using them as scatter terrain for other game, but I might have to make a whole Vault now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: Wasteland Warfare - Terrain Expansion: Vault Tec Office Bundle STL
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2020 09:57:50

Available in print and pdf from the Modiphius website and pdf from the Drivethrurpg website. This is of course the last quadrant of the Star Trek universe and within the pages of this book are the Borg. So I may as well say it straight off, you want Borg in your Star Trek Adventures game? Buy this book.

But onwards with the review. The PDF has 144 pages, that includes covers and end papers. You also get two versions, the normal version and then printer friendly one with a white background. Chapter 1 starts on page 3 and the last page of the index is 135. The layout is the standard two column of text per page with some inserts from various characters. Art is strong and there are many half page pieces within the book

The book is split into five chapters, Introduction, The Delta Quandrant, Species of the Delta Quadrant, Starships of the Delta Quadrant and Encounters and Adversaries which is consistent with the other books in the series.

Chapter 1 - Introduction It opens with a quote from Captain Janeway from the first episode where says she doesn't accept 75 years to get back to the Federation. The chapter is short, a mere 5 pages, giving a quick synopsis of the following 4 chapters and also a section with advice regarding the books usage in a campaign. It is worth noting the default timeline has been advanced again to 2379, four years after the end of the Dominion War (the Gamma Quadrant book moved it forward to 2374). There is advice for running it in the different eras.

Chapter 2 - The Delta Quadrant By far the biggest chapter in the book at nearly 50 pages, again the chapter start with a briefing from Captain Janeway which frames the new timeline, ultimately with the instruction to boldly explore. We then have four sub sections which are written from the point of view of Starfleet. The first is a write up of the species in the Delta Quadrant, listed in alphabetical order with the structure of firstly a summation of encounters with them, their technology and weapons. Secondly a description of their physiology and lastly Starfleet's thoughts on them, often with a eye to future relationships with them.

We have 14 species discussed. Delta Quadrant is not the friendliest place, quite of a few of them attacked first, being quite aggressive. One example is Species 8472 who even the Borg are afraid of. In some cases, things have improved slightly and there is hope for future co-operation. Of course some are likely to be good potential allies such as the Talaxians. Note the Borg are not in this section, they get their own, Closing out this section is Stellar and Spatial Phenomena. Oh, you have the normal weird stuff - temporal distortions, quantum singularities but also get some news ones Graviton Ellipses and the frankly very scary Chaotic Space are but two. Certainly life could be very interesting in the Delta Quadrant.

The second second section in chapter 2 is Worlds of the Delta Quadrant. As it says in it's introduction, we are talking about a quarter of the known galaxy and Delta Quadrant contains thousands of planets so this section gives a snapshot of a tiny amount of that, 20 to be precise. Where relevant the worlds are linked to the species involved. They are all quite varied. Of course the gamesmaster has the scope to create any amount of worlds that they want. If their players have watched every episode, it will still be possible to have something fresh for them.

Now it time for the Borg

A chilling site whenever one of their cubes appear, the Borg are, as the book says the single greatest threat the Federation has ever encountered. Most people recognise the phrase "Resistance is futile" demonstrating they have become one of the classic Sci-Fi bogeymen. In this section we get a thorough description of the Borg, how they are many species, altered cybernetically when they are assimilated. They are one conciousness, connected together throughout space via powerful subspace transceiver arrays on their ships. This gives them vast computational power and the communication between the Collective, as this conciousness is known, is very fast. When they assimilate new technology, it is almost instantly incorporated into other Borg.

We learn there is a Borg Queen but there is much conjecture of what this entity actually is in terms of the Collective. There is discussion on how to deal with the Borg. I suspect this part of the reason the timeline has been advanced as Capt Janeway and USS Voyager have had some success against them and Starfleet have started to develop countermeasures against assimilation.

Then there is their ships. The classic assimilation cube, the tactical cube and the Borg Sphere which is their scout ship. All are frightening and the other two, in most cases are more dangerous than the assimilation cube. The Star Trek Adventures corebook has the stats for the assimilation cube, the others have their stats in Chapter 4. The report describing the battle of Wolf 359, where in 4 minutes the Starfleet vessels were reduced from 40 to 16 by one cube, demonstrates how dangerous Borg cubes are.

The section then describes the Borg assimilation process and the drones that are created by it. It is worth noting that drones can be disconnected. They will seek other drones to re-establish a connection to the collective. If disconnect for a week or two they can potentially become liberated, Seven of Nine being an obvious example if you have watched Voyager.

Rounding off this section is Borg locations which rather than a list of planets it is how the Borg interact with planets and asteroids, as well as Borg structures in space called Unicomplexes. These dwarf Borg cubes in size. They are the Borg command and control stations. They are always heavily protected by Borg ships.

Chapter 3 - Species of the Delta Quadrant This chapter has 12 new species available for character lifepaths. At the start of each entry it says what era of play they are suitable for but the general advice is from Next generation onwards. It goes without saying these new lifepaths are only usable the GM permission. Some will be instantly familiar to fans of Voyager, Liberated Borg (Seven of Nine), Ocampa (Kes) and Talaxian (Neelix) as they have been, at some point, members of the Voyager crew. Each entry has 3 attribute adjustments, a trait and a list of their talents followed examples of names. Two of them have telepathic abilities, the Mari and Ocampa, though it is dormant with the Ocampa. Rounding out the chapter is Species Both Familiar and Strange - Disconnected Borg Drones, Silverbloods, Kobali and the last lifepath the Zahl. I guess it was to do with page layout and page count, I think it would make more sense to have the Zahl entry first.

Chapter 4 - Starships of the Delta Quadrant This starts with the Borg ships. As already mentioned the Assimilation Cube is in the corebook. Listed here is the Borg Octahedron which is a command and control ship for the Borg Queen, the Borg Probe ship which I believe is the Borg Sphere scout ship, the Borg Tactical Cube, which is quite frankly lethal compared to a typical Starfleet ship and the Borg Torus which is their contruction/transportation ship. There is also a section on Borg technology, including what they do when they assimilate starships (examples from the TV shows are listed).

The other ships of the Delta Quandrant have one entry from Starfleet, the Delta Flyer that the crew of USS Voyager designed. The Talaxians have a freighter, the Kazon/Trabe have raiders and carriers (the Kazon call them Predators). These ships were originally only Trabe but after the Kazon rebelled against they captured hundreds of ships. The Hirogen have two as do the Krenim including a timeship! Much potential for craziness there. A patrol ship and warship are the entries for the Lokirrim and they are armed with Photonic Disruptors as they are at war with holographic "terrorists". This can obviously affect holodecks and EMH programs on Federation starships. Filling out the chapter are ships from Species 8472, the Vidiian and the Voth. The Species 8472 ship is unique in two ways. Firstly it is a bioship and secondly it's weapon is capable of bypassing defense systems of the Borg ships.

Chapter 5 - Encounters and Adversaries This chapter is split into 2 sections, non Borg and then Borg specific. In the first section there are 6 encounter seeds including trying to escape the clutches of the Overlookers, a very strange situation on a Demon planet, straight up kidnapping and a couple that involve the crew potentially getting caught between two species. The adversaries are 30 potential NPC's that came be encountered. They are drawn from the species prevalent in the Delta Quadrant. They are categorised as either Minor, Notable or Major NPC. Most, but not all, species have at least 2 entries and they are generic like Haakonian Scientist or Hirogen Hunter. There are 3 named characters, they are all major characters. Strange being and deadly space has 3 entries, the Maw of Bliss, Photonic Lifeforms and Isomorph which highlight the strangeness of Delta Quadrant. This section also discusses running a campaign in the Delta Quandrant.

In the Borg section there are 7 encounters. The first Crossing the Hollow is a tricky journey across a sector of space due to various anomalies, one of which is a Borg transwarp conduit. The second Evacuation is about helping a planet's population get offworld - The Borg are coming! Another couple of seeds deal with Borg technology incl the ship being infected by it. Also discussed is campaign based around the Borg, the real potential for npc crew of the players starship to be assimilated.The encounter seeds continue with relevant Borg and Federation NPC's included. The Borg Queen gets a full page to herself and there is two pages on defeating the Borg Collective. After this is the index and the end of the book with two pages of adverts and the endpapers.

Overall, a very strong book. It contains the big bad of the later eras of Star Trek and closes out the known universe. The encounter seeds are just that, seeds that will require fleshing out by the gamesmaster. The Borg is this book are upgraded from those that are in the corebook especially regarding the assimilation process. Space itself has more anomalies than in the other quadrants. The PDF is well hyperlinked and easy to navigate. the book follow the same structure as the other Quadrant book I have seen so I presume it is the standard format of them all. As I said at the start, if you want Borg buy this and realistically if you plan to venture to the Delta Quadrant you are going to want this book. from the point of view of the players the Delta Quadrant is ripe for exploration with plenty of dangers that could be encountered though i wouldn't advise going toe to toe with the Borg. Fair disclosure Modiphius provided the pdf this review is based on



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Elder Scrolls Call To Arms Core Rulebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2020 05:37:16

It's been a while since I looked into a miniatures game because the rules always seemed cumbersome and complex. Call to Arms is the exact opposite. This 104 page rule book boils down combat, magic, races, terrain and everything else you need to know about in an easy to understand format that allows for gameplay to start soon after you get the book. Each section is clearly defined in the contents so you don't have to flip around trying to find a rule for a specific situation. If my state wasn't in lockdown, I'd go to my local gaming store today to look for minis to play it with today. But I guess that's what the internet is for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Elder Scrolls Call To Arms Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 15:04:09
This book follows the same format as the other quadrant books in this line. This book focus solely on the Delat quadrant which is also the quadrant the tv show star trek voyager was based in. If you watched the show then the inforamtion in the book wil be familar to you. At the same time even someone who knows the show well will still learn some interesting things. The book starts off with several maps showing the route voyager took getting home. The various diagrams throughout the book are excellent. I liked the one for the the borg cube and voyager. The major factions and races from the show are included giving you enough information to play them and use them. The ship section was well detailed covering the delta flyer, kayzon, hirogen and other major species from the show. A good portion of the book covers the borg. Everything you eve wanted to know about the borg is in here. Various intell reports from the Alpha and Beta Quadrant species are included. A very detailed look at Borg space and how they operate. even a section on running a campaign through Borg space. Like the other quadrant books, the section on how to run a game in the quadrant is helpful especially if you are not familiar with the tv show. Suggetions on running an exploration focused campaign and delta quadrant focues campaign ideas are included. Enough is included to run various campaigns from a Borg focused one to a hirogen hunters or the kayzon. You could easily run a game just using the delta quadrant species and nothing else. This is well worth $15.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 14:44:49
I have never played the video game this is based on. With that said, this is a very interesting gaslamp style game. The game is set in victorian era with a european influence. The book has a large section devoted to the game world, going over in good detail each sub-section of the game world. The maps are very helpful and the artwork is an excellent combination of the historical age and gaslamp/steampunk feel. If you are familiar with the historical era combined with the inforamtion in the book then you should have an excellent feel for the game and how to play or run a campaign. Having played their star trek and john carter games, I like some of the different game mechanics used in Dishonored. Some of the new game mechanics are truths that you pick and how they influence the world. Others are the viod points and chaos pool. These all play a part in how your actions affect the game world and how they affect your PC. I like the Bonecharms and how they work with the void points. The key themes are will explained and how you can use them as both a Gm and a player. The NPC section is very detailed and covers everything from archtypes, to common npc like various street gangs common to the era. The equipment section was lacking I thought. I was surprised the listed was pistols and rifles but not a shotgun. Overall this is an excellent game set in a victorian era setting with a few twists.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan PDF Master Collection
by Andy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 16:47:57

I bought this collection prior to the release of Scout, King, Adventurer, Wanderer and the Kull supplement, and just downloaded them as part of the update. I read a lot of criticism about 2D20, but despite that, I was still very interested in playing the system. I recently found a group playing and joined a new adventure. After 2 sessions, I have to say... I'm hooked. The flow of momentum, fortune and doom are pretty smooth (of course, the GM I'm playing with has been playing 2D20 for some time, so that helps). One comment he made while we were talking about playing is that 2D20 is designed to help the PCs succeed. I like that, and it makes the adventures pretty epic. I've been saved a few times already by taking advantage of the momentum pool. The only reason I give the collection 4 stars instead of 5 is that there appear to be several typos in the PDFs (I don't own most of the books, so I can't say if there have been corrections). However, I understand that publishing is hard, especially gaming books, and the typos don't detract from the playability of the game or the system in my limited experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Conan PDF Master Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2020 04:34:47

If you ever wanted to know anything about the Borg this is the book for you. It has details about their culture, vessels, lifestyles (If they can be called that) and all the information you need to run them as an adversary or play one as a character.

This sourcebook also gives a good amount of detail concerning the varied races and worlds of the Delta Quadrant first as an in character explanation from Starfleet and then in the second half of the book with all the rules needed for your game.

If there was one complaint I had it would be that the Delta Quadrant Starships section didn't have images of all the starships. Certainly they're readily available online but it would have been nice to see them in the book especially given the high quality of the art used.

All in all, this is a great Sourcebook for any Star Trek fan and an indispensible reference for any Borgiphile out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
by Laszlo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2020 03:13:46

I already had bad experience with 2d20 (it's one of the worst systems I've played) but as I'm a huge Star Trek fan, I thought I’ll check this out and maybe I'll like it. Wow, was I wrong. It's even worse than I feared.

  • What's with all this black? My eyes fall out by reading it. Even if there was an option to turn off the background (there is none) it would be too much white. I wouldn't buy a printed book with all black or all white background, so this one is already a no-go for me.
  • The system is still as bad as I remember from another 2d20 game, I won't get into details, I really don't like it. If the other aspects were great, I might overlook it, but they aren't.
  • The adventure is really bad. Yes, this is a free product, but I have no idea how a Star Trek adventure should look like. After reading this I get the impression that they are bad / useless, and I shouldn't bother. /> - So, the adventure. What ship are you on? How did you get there? What happened on the way there? Why didn't you scan the planet before beaming down?
  • You open your tricorders after beaming down and you should see the Romulans. They should appear as two life signs a couple of meters away. Why isn't that so?
  • There is this part where you can spend momentum (one of those irritating 2d20 resources that all the systems seem to have) to get information. This makes no sense. Why would you get this info by spending some strange resources? Who tells you this? Why not use your skills to figure this out? Is the adventure this badly written, or is the system supposed to work like this? I don't know which one is worse.
  • What about those colonists? Who are they, how did they get there and what are they doing there?

If all the adventures are this bad, I am not interested in this game and it's a waste of time to even read them. If they are better, why are you putting this bad product out there to scare people away?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
by Steve W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2020 20:10:48

This is top of the line stuff. Art, story, scope! The subclasses provided range from solid to amazing (the Amazonian Conclave ranger character is what locked one of my kids in, once she saw the picture of the Amazon, we were playing this game, or else.) In addition to all the usual, the story includes Epic Paths for each character, foretold destinies they can meet head on. The epic paths each include story hooks deeper in the game, and help tie the characters into the overall story of titans, gods, dragons, and doom.

I've got two campaigns going now - one with my suspicious, untrusting, crusty old gaming friends from college, and one with a crew of kids who read a lot of YA fantasy with dragons on the cover. Both groups are enjoying this adventure a lot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Tribble Player Character (FREE)
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 05:10:29

I've been waiting my entire life for this character sheet. THANK YOU :D :D :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Tribble Player Character (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Strange New Worlds - Mission Compendium Vol. 2 Supplement
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 04:59:44

This is a pretty standard mission bo0k. a good spread of mission types and eras. But the best thing about this book is the layout and graphic design. The Art is top notch, as is usual for this awesome Star Trek RPG (this book as possibily the best of i've seen so far), but each individual mission in the book is layed out and themaned for the era that its set in! The Enterprise era layout is particulry cool. There are lots of maps, both of systems, planets, large and small ground areas and ship areas. Generally a fanstastic addition to the line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Strange New Worlds - Mission Compendium Vol. 2 Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords - Character Sheet (FREE)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 10:02:31

I used a paper cutter and corner cutter to make this sheet look even more fantastic.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/w9YPz9BpZgczqM1i9



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords - Character Sheet (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 18:03:09
  1. I may be missing the healing rules or they simply are not part of the Quickstart, which confuses me if the latter is the case.
  2. The adventure presented is rather combat heavy. It doesn't feel as much like Star Trek. I guess it would be a good introduction for people who play more combat heavy games but after seeing adventures that are true to Star Trek (e.g. The Living Campaign) I would not recommend the adventure that comes with the Quickstart.

Please understand that this is a review purely of the Quickstart and not the full product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Gamma Quadrant Sourcebook
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2020 07:54:35

I was really impressed with this sourcebook. Not only are there a lot of new ideas and hooks for gms to use for a DS9 or later era game, there are some great PC options as well. This joins the Operations division book at the top of my favorite Star Trek suppliments!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Gamma Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 420 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates