Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 14:45:39

"Conan the Exiles Sourcebook" is a 120 pages long supplement for the Modiphius D20 Conan RpG. Inspired by the on-line game, this book gives rules to roleplay it on tabletop, and stunning art from the net adorns many pages of it. As always, interesting character archetypes are given. There is a section about the Exiled Lands, but it is quite vague, so much that we'll surely prefer to have a look at the Conan Exiles wikia for more information. I don't understand why they didn't take back the rules from "Ancient Ruins and Cursed Cities". In fact, the real interest of the book lies in its many rules taylored to roleplay survival. They explain how players can create basic facilities with their bare hands and step-by-step improve them up to cities ! For this, hexcrawl rules are given, with "resources" generation for each kind of biome, and an interesting encounter table. The survival game can be played at different scales, at the individual one, with "ingredients", or at a group level, with "material". The only regret I have here is that no measure unit is indicated for how wide those hexes are. Apart from this, there are detailed rules for (bad) weather, settlement management and war. If you want to create a harsh setting with no stable power (no money, no national "pride") but day-to-day survival, then this book is for you !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan the Adventurer
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2020 06:57:13

The first thing that struck me about this sourcebook was the wonderful art. Modiphius' art is usually of high quality but this time it seemed especially enticing. This book details character creation for the Southern Kingdoms, followed by in depth descriptions of the Kingdoms, large scale events that could be used for campaigns, and finally the large range of magic, gods and monsters that could be encountered. When I read and review a book, I try not to get caught up on, for instance, a reference being listed as page XX instead of a proper page number. Instead I look at style of writing and the images in the book to see if they give me inspiration to run fun and rivetting adventures. This book definitely did that, doing a great job of capturing the feel of the multitude of cultures in the Southern Kingdoms while consciously avoiding as best it can the unfortunate racist undertones (And sometimes not so -under-tones) of Robert E. Howard's stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan the Adventurer
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan the Adventurer
by RODRIGO R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 11:40:02

This is an ok book, but it could have been a great source book. Maybe is too soon to write a review, and I think the publisher can edit a few typos. That's not the reason I granted the book the 3 / 5 ("average") rating.

The 3 / 5 rating isn't related to the art: the art follow Modiphius standards (it's great!). My verdict was settled due to inconsistencies and the want of a more elegant style (the way the information is presented):

  1. I failed to find in the book a description of the Stygian people (their phenotype), and if I’m not wrong the core book lacks it. I know there are the descendants of the “giant kings”, and they are tall and have lighter skin. But how about the majority of the population?

The other nations receive a better treatment. For example (p. 36): "The Darfari are a deeply dark-skinned, tall, and lithely muscled people with equally dark hair, often molded into symbolic shapes with twigs and dried mud, sometimes over a wooden base. The Darfari love to dance and chant, having ritual dances and chants for almost any activity."

  1. p. 65 mentions the Ammut demon and references p. 84. However, p. 84 says nothing on Ammut.

  2. The books fails to mention serpent men. The map (p. 30) shows a “lost colony of serpent men”, but says nothing about the place. Considering the book covers Stygia I can say it is a disappointment.

  3. Another place displayed in the map isn’t described at all: the monolith of Carcosa.

  4. Some locations mentioned in the text aren’t displayed in the map: the ford of Bubastes; the Bakhr river; the Purple Lotus Swamp.

  5. Minor inconsistencies. Compare the following two passages (both from page 65): “Whether this is a holdover from an earlier tribal version of the cult, or some mystical truism, it remains that the dead are important in Stygia. Petitioners often go to the tombs of their ancestors to ask for favors. For example, if a couple is childless, they may place letters at the tombs of their relatives asking them to speak to the gods in their favor for a child” x “Stygians place their dead in a Hall of the Dead, a broad dim-lit hall of colossal proportions in which rises tier upon tier of carven painted sarcophagi. Each stands in a niche in the black stone, and the tiers mount up and up to be lost in the gloom above. A Hall of the Dead is the silent grave of thousands of these mummies. Few see these halls save the silent priests of Set.” The first passage states the living relatives visit their dead often. The second passage state the dead are stored within Halls of the Dead, and that these buildings aren’t usually visited.

  6. Style issues (for example, p. 37). The section deals with conflict resolution withing Darfari society, but is interruped by a passage on foreign commerce:

"The method of handling intertribal conflict is much more complex but follows a pattern — and it is within this pattern that third parties enter Darfari affairs. If a villager commits some offense against a member of another clan or village, the wronged Darfari travels to a third-party village (or group) and demands to see their chief. When in the presence of the clan chief, the wronged Darfari explains that they were wronged, naming the village and the person who wronged him, informing the chief that the burden is now on them to correct the wrong. The third party Darfari and the wronged Darfari travel to the village of the offender, find the offender, and the third party Darfari demands payment for the offense. All parties then gather in front of a palaver house (the central hut where the headmen meet) and wait for the village to gather. When all have gathered, the parties tell their side of the story and talk it out in front of the village. If the village deems the offender guilty, the offender must either come to an agreement on how much will be paid to the party he offended and the third party, or risk sending the village into a pattern of raids and counter-raids between the three villages, which could escalate into a never-ending blood feud. The Darfari culture involves a third party to increase the cost of immoral behavior as a deterrent toward such acts. While largely hunter-gatherers, the Darfari do engage in some trade and this process may also be a way to involve adventurers in their affairs. The primary trading goods of the Darfari are cloth, salt, millet, and tobacco. When other methods of conflict resolution fail, raids between the clans and villages occurs. Raids typically happen at night and involve three raiding parties. One party, the ambushing party, hides along a trail leading from the raided village in the tall grasses, the swamps, or even the forest edges, and waits. A second party is the main war party, waiting on another trail. The third party consists of two men who walk into the village, knock on the door, and claim to be hungry travelers."

The few sentences on foreign commerce are sandwiched between the treatment of conflict resolution. That's bad style.

I still can recommend buying the sourcebook, but I hope next releases will not have the same issues.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Conan the Adventurer
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 10:09:38

this book focuses on the Southern lands of the world of Conan. Included in this book is tips for creating a charcter from this part of the world, various religions, and factions fromthe south. Several maps of key cities with information about them is also included. As in other Conan books new creatures and npc write ups are included. At the end of the book are ideas to help you run adventures set in teh Southlands of the world of Conan.
If you wanted to know more about the southlands and Conan adventures there then this is a book for you. In a 127 pages the book does a good job detailing that area and giving you help on creating a charcter from there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Pax Londinium
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 09:43:28

This book is about 90 pages detailing the city of London. Each chapter is about 5 to 10 pages long so finding information is easy. The book covers the city of London and how to use it in your games. Included is a map of the city with key locations marked and a good index at the back. Included are several references and websites to help you if your knowledge of London is limited. The book includes information on various factions in the city and how the related to each other. The information in this book could be used in other modern setting using London or even earlier times back to the time of greece and troy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Pax Londinium
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Liminal: Pax Londinium
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2020 06:06:49

This suppliment for Liminal is brimming over with interesting characters, places and plots all centered around Hidden London. From trolls under bridges to dragons full of bluster, the cast of NPCs to encounter are varied and full of life. There are secret societies to interact with and mysterious places to explore. Modiphius even left a page in the back for the new talent of Chronomancy. And although this book is written for Liminal, most of the information about magical London could be used for any game set there in modern times, making it perfect for any GM looking to run a London based game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 10:05:43

I've never played the Dishonored video game, so I'm coming at this from a newbie standpoint. As such, I really enjoyed the world presented in these pages and enjoyed the descriptions of the various Districts and accompanying plot hooks. Also the islands outside Gristol are detailed with broader strokes and some great adventure ideas are given for each island. Both the art and the writing really gave a great impression of the ambience of a gothic gaslight steampunkish world which will help any GM share this with their players.

It's a bit light on the rules, but that didn't bother me as I knew what to expect going into it. That being said, I found the idea of Player Momentum vs GM Chaos to be a fun mechanic that adds to the feel of the game.

Finally, the adventure at the end of the book is a nice gory introduction to the world of Dishonored and written so that players and GM get a good feel of the genre without a lot of prep work.

The team at Modiphius is also extremely active when it comes to correcting errors made in the original printing. As of the beginning of May, the corrections are listed in a seperate file but eventually a new file will be posted with the corrections made in the product itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dishonored: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Infinity: Location Card Deck
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2020 05:07:53

This deck contains 54 cards, each with a different location type suitable for adventuring in. Each location has a full color picture as a sample of what it may look like along with a list of 3 very different places that location type might be found. 2 sample Heat Spends are included as well, one lower and one higher for the different levels of difficulties PCs might encounter here. Among the uses for these cards are as random starting points for adventures or to be aside to use as easy references for preplanned locations that PCs will visit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Location Card Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Infinity: Adversary Card Deck
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2020 06:35:45

Another high quality product from Modiphius, this deck of 54 NPCs to meet as friend, foe or something in between gives a full color image as well as all relevant stats, description and plot hooks. This is a great tool when you need a random NPC to toss into the mix and they're detailed enough that they could grow to be a major NPC for use again and again. I only have two minor complaints about the product. The first is that a lot of the NPCs seem geared towards combat. If you run a high combat game, this is actually a bonus for you, but my players tend to prefer social RP rather than combat RP. The second issue is that I wished the character image didn't have the NPCs' name, personality and brief history on it. I'd want to show the image when I introduced the character but wouldn't be able to because of all the personal details about them that doing so would give away.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Adversary Card Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Infinity: GM Plot Deck
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2020 07:02:32

This is a deck of over 50 plots to run in the world of Infinity (or a game of your choosing with a little creativity). Each location has a full color image as well as a short description of the adventure, location, plot twists, obstacles, adversaries as well as a main and secondary objective. No stats are included of course, but for a GM who is looking for ideas to run with, this is a great source of adventures that can keep players engaged for an entire year of weekend gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: GM Plot Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
by Alan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 12:33:00

As always, the quality of this product is extremely high - it's something that I've come to expect from the Star Trek Adventures team. There's a wealth of information here, and is an exceptional purchase for the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Delta Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2020 09:35:31

This book expands on possible pc creation covering playing a person cast out by your civilization. Included are weapon and equipment charts to help flesh out your hero. The book also contains information on different geographical parts of the world and how they would effect your charcter. The magic section includes avatars from different gods and how to use them. The book also includes a section on settlements, how to build and expand them. The book also has a section on waging war and has tips and rules on how to play out a battle. A small section on new beasts is also included.

I liked the book for several reasons. First the concept of being exiled from your homeland is a concept on developed much in other systems so its nice to see. Second, the informastion on the different lands and how the enviorment plays a role adds some ideas players and gms might not think to consider. Third, the settelemnt section is great for ideas and rules on how to create and upgrade a location in a thoughtout way. Finally the section on waging a war gives some good tips and rules for including a battle in your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan The Exiles Sourcebook
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 06:42:48

Although I've never played the Conan the Exiles videogame, this sourcebook definitely makes me want to. It contains rules for starting your character cast out from civilization, left to wander the Exiled Lands to seek both shelter and glory. There are numerous character options as well as dozens of exciting locales to adventure in. There are also rules for creating and maintaining a settlement as well as rules for war on a large scale that are among the least cumbersome I've seen, making for simple but exciting resolution. I found the sections on Gods and summoning Avatars to be especially interesting and they provide rules for devastating powers that I can't wait to incorporate into my ongoing game. This book certainly follows the high standards of the prior Conan sourcbooks having both rules and ideas to fuel many enjoyable campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Repairer of Reputations
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 01:41:05

In the world of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - a Mephisto review

Repairer of Reputations

It begins with the suspicious death of a bookseller. After a few mysterious break-ins, it quickly becomes apparent that there must be more to the case. Of course, it's up to the crew of the players to solve the case - and to prevent worse.

Repairer of Reputations is another short adventure for Liminal, which only needs just 11 pages for its story. The interesting point of this adventure is the way the story is linked to the historical figure of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and events in his history. On the other hand, the options of the players in this story seem a bit limited, because they can only explore a handful of locations before the finale, which can be very flexible.

Repairer of Reputations is a short adventure with an exciting storyline and interesting details, but playing this story will probably require some additional input from the game master.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Repairer of Reputations
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Black Void: Dark dealings in the Shaded Souq
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 06:08:38

This is a well written adventure initiating PC involvement right away with a case of mistaken identities leading to the uncovering of illicit animal trade and more. The Black Void setting combines Arabian influences with fantastic creatures and dark overtones to create a compelling story to engage your players. I really appreciated that the beginning of the book detailed a brief description of the adventure as well as the people, places and factions that the PCs might encounter. It made understanding the adventure that followed easy for me as a DM, something that many written adventures lack. The artwork was also fantastic and added to dark mysterious ambience of the setting. In addition, there were suggestions throughout the book on both encouraging player involvement as well as suggestions to include PCs who don't exactly fit the mold of the adventure, a bonus for any struggling DM. This is a great product and I look forwards to future adventures and suppliments for Black Void.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Void: Dark dealings in the Shaded Souq
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 396 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates