Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 06:59:24

This is what the original Vampire: The Masquerade should have been all those years ago. This is a beautifully presented, clearly organised, professionally edited, detailed and helpful piece of work. The artwork is also high quality and evocative. Something you can use for imagery if gaming online. Very well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition: Fall of London
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 06:36:59

Taking time out to give this product credit where it is due. If every roleplaying game supplement was like this, the roleplaying hobby would be in such a better place. I would rate this as one of the top two Vampire: The Masquerade supplements (V5 or any other edition) ever produced. This is a really well thought through, beautifully presented, detailed and super helpful product. There's everything a GM/Storyteller could want - notes and stats on a wealth of interesting NPCs/SPCs, good flavour and notes on key locations, maps of the key parts of the city, and an expansive ready-to-roll adventure that is a rollercoaster ride your players might take in more than one direction and have great fun doing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition: Fall of London
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2021 08:28:42

Another short easy to run adventure for the world of Achtung! Cthulhu. The premise gets the characters started right away and the investigation and action are quick paced. The NPCs are clearly described and a page of handouts to print gives the players something tangible to make the session feel even more real. Also included is a printer friendly version of the adventure for those who prefer to run a session with paper instead of computer. All in all, it's a solid addition to the growing list of adventres for this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2021 00:54:59

I immediately liked the game from what I saw in reviews, but I wanted to wait until I played at least one campaign turn to get a better grip on it.

So far, I'm really liking it.

I'm playing the battles on Tabletop Simulator so I have access to minis and terrain, and playing ther pre-battle and post-battle phases on my desk. I had mostly used TTS to play Castle Ravenloft, so my collected minis didn't quite fit the theme, but I think over time I'll build a better sci-fi collection to pull from. I'm even considering buying custom figures from Hero Forge. Entirely due to this game.

I like that on the first playthrough, I didn't have to read everything. A lot of the stuff only needs to be read if it's pertinent at the time. For example, my crew consists of three humans, a feral (felinoid) a precursor and a robot. So I could skip reading about the other aliens for now.

Combat is real simple to learn, but more thorough than it looks. Finally, a combat system that separates defense from the 'to hit' roll.

Five Parsecs really does have an X-Com or Heroclix feel to it as far as the tactics go. Another game it reminds me of is Avengers Alliance Tactics, a game I loved but flopped because it couldn't find its audience.

Something else Five Parsecs reminds me of is a little-known game that only appeared in a magazine - Star Wars: Corellian Smuggler. It was a solo game that had a Daily Activity chart and random events for traveling, arriving on a planet or just hanging around at the starport. I liked it a lot, but it faded out of view and barely made any impact. Likely due to its limited release.

The reason I bring these up is because I've been house-ruling most of these things from these different games into my rpgs, with varying results. Recently, I got Star Wars: Outer Rim and was working on adapting parts of Corellian Smuggler over to it.

Then I discovered Five Parsecs from Home. The price tag scared me off at first. I rarely buy anything on DTRPG over $10. Unless it's a physical product. But then I saw the in-depth review by TheSoloWargamingShow. Wow. After a day of pondering it, and realizing that I could've bought two $10 games on DTRPG that I'd crack open once then forget about, as opposed to a $20 game that I may really like... I finally dived in.

Five Parsecs is just elegant. It does what it sets out to do. Gameplay is really smooth. Once I finished reading the rules (ending at the weapon list), I was ready to start playing. Everything else I learned as I played the game.

One thing that should probably be mentioned sooner is to keep track of the first non-robot hero that takes out an enemy. For dealing out the XP later. Fortunately, I knew it was one of two heroes and one of them was a robot. So I figured it out after the fact.

I also don't mind that there's really no ship combat in the game. I was always more of a Wing Commander: Privateer player than an X-Wing Starfighter player, so I'll survive. I may house rule the modular combat from Corellian Smuggler over to it later.

Before I started playing, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't a quickstart available for the game. Especially since it's $20. But once I started playing, I realized that a quickstart would be almost impossible to do without it giving away all the rules. And if you're going to play it, you really want all the charts that are in the book.

I tend to buy PDFs first, then if I really like the game, I'll buy a physical copy. However, with Five Parsecs, it shot itself in the foot by not only being $20 for the PDF, but alao being so much more expensive in print. Ordering from the Modiphius site, the physcal copy is $37. Plus shipping to the US for $32. A total of $69. After I've already spent $20 on the PDF to see if I liked it.

Make no mistake about it: I really, really do like this game. I love it, even. But spending $89 total would be a bit outrageous for me. You're still getting five stars, because it's an amazing system and I see myself playing for many years. I'll also be on the lookout for upcoming products for Five Parsecs, as well as any updated Five X from X games.

Congratulations on a job well done. And finally giving me the framework I needed for my homebrew games.

Detailed gameplay here: https://reprep.blogspot.com/2021/06/five-parsecs-from-home.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review! We actually give the PDF price as a discount on the hard copy if you decide to trade up - just contact support@modiphius.com We will have local shipping in the US from our webstore from the end of June, though copies won't be shipping there till August - hope that helps!
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 22:30:25

If you like Dune or were on the fence about playing Dune the rpg game, this product will help you decide if you should jump in.
Whats included: several types of premade pcs covering mentats, bene gesserists, ginaz swordmaster, to common types The artwork is similar to the up coming movie. Intro to the game universe the basic rules so you do not need the corebook for this adventure but it can be useful discusses how conflict works and has a conflict chart for easy reference The adventure takes place on Dune before/during the movie and is 5 scenes long. You can play this in one session if you wanted to as a stand alone adventure or as part of a campaign easily. At the end of the adventure are plot hooks for more adventures. I would suggest if you are interested in trying Dune rpg or even the 2d20 system give this adventure a try. Its pretty straight forward in design and does not need a lot of game prep to run. Also if you like to show and tell your players a quick google image search and you can find images to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 22:15:37

This adventure can be played in one session. Easy to use as an intro adventure but it is set in mid 1940 so depending on where your campaign is set you might need to do a little reworking. The adventure layout is similar to the other adventure for this game. The maps are helpful and well done. I like how the npc stat info is layed out and easy to use for a game master. One thing that I like that you do not much is a dedicated handout section is included for a game master to use for player handouts. Another thing I liked was the further adventure/campaign ideas given at the end of the adventure. If you know some british folklore or do a litlte research those ideas can be developed with little effort. The only negative comment I have is that the adventure seemed short compared to the last one. I felt like the adventure needed another part or needed to add more to another part.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by William E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 04:36:28

Excellent little solo skirmish campaign game. The combat might be simple compared to some crunchier games but that all helps facilitate rapid engagements and pushing your personal campaign forward. The various character creation options, equipment lists, enemy types, and objectives stimulate the imagination and make each turn interesting for the sake of seeing what will happen next. Sometimes some ill-equipped gangers ambush your crew and are wiped out in two turns, other times you're up against trained mercenaries, alien horrors, or overwhelming odds that push you to your limit and make retreat seem like an attractive option - this is truly a game where you'd rather live to fight another day.

The author has already announced continuing support to bring optional crunch in for players hungry for more, but the current difficulty options as well as the dangerous and deadly Red and Black Zone missions are enough to keep anyone going with this book alone for a long time. The built-in "prestige" system and ability to bring in characters from the related Five Parsecs: Bug Hunt game to join your crew feed into the core strength of this game: it wants you to play, play, and play, and you can't help but buy in just to see what will happen next.

This is THE solo sci-fi skirmish game if you want to find that balance between creativity, speed of play, and entertainment value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 02:35:46

I'll admit, I was skeptical of this new edition but I was just being a hipster. Once I actually took a look through the book I was glad I got it. The finishing and editing, all the polish sets this apart from other NWG titles. I hope to see more titles get the modiphius treatment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Solo Adventure Wargaming
by Erik R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 09:51:16

This is really a stellar game. It's a neat blend of wargaming, rpgs, campaign systems and solitaire play. For the uniniated, you take a band of heroes out into the far fringes of the galaxy and play out a story. It's something like Firefly meets Trigun meets Mass Effect, and you're the poor jerks just trying to make a living out there. The game really shines in its campaign system, with tables and events that don't feel random but rather like part of an evolving plot if you let your imagination run. The combat gameplay is fine, complexity wise it's well suited to solo play. Some players might find it a bit too simple for their tastes, but it's easy enough to tweak (or even outright replace).

To be fair, I've been a fan of Five Parsecs and Nordic Weasel for a long time, so my review is not without bias. But, that said, this is definitely the best version of the game that I've laid eyes on. For players of the second edition, there are some new surprises, but overall it's the same game. But it's clear that Modiphius has really stepped up to the plate and turned what was already a great game into an excellent product. The color and layouts are neat and the art is pretty good. A much appreciated section on the "Unity" universe has been added (though it will seem quite familiar to fans of Renegade Scout), and there are plenty of extras and goodies. It's well worth the price and I really look forward to seeing what else Nordic Weasel and Modiphius can do together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 22:12:17

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard System- Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Producer- Modiphius Price- $6.99 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/355128/Achtung-Cthulhu-2d20-Operation-Vanguard?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- Almost perfect but not what I wanted. 97%

Basics- Time to go, soldier! You just stopped a Black Sun ritual, so now it’s off to stop more Nazi shenanigans! What could they be doing off at sea?

Mechanics or Crunch-Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 does almost all the things I want and does them right, and this adventure has that as well. Solid monsters and encounters lead you through a stealth to destruction mission with lots of fun along the way. Just well done crunch if you like the 2d20 system. 5/5

Theme or Fluff- The theme/fluff/story is where I have my one major problem. The story itself is great. Investigate Nazi base, destroy, stop bad guys-all the fun things players want to do in Pulp Weird War II. But, this was billed as the sequel to the starter adventure, and it is, but it's just a second adventure after the first. They are not connected in any real way. It doesn’t tell as much of a continuing story aside from "go destroy more weird stuff." Go destroy the weird stuff is honestly 90% of A!C 2d20, and that’s why my players and I are here. But, I wanted the escape from France of the last adventure. My players LEVELED the castle in the last one as nothing stops evil like 40 TONS of stone to the head. So my expectations were slightly let down. If you don’t have the same expectation, you will have a blast. 4.5/5

Execution- PDF? Yes. Hyperlinked? Yes, extremely well done. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. A page with pictures to cut out to give to players for handouts, hyperlinks EVERYWHERE, easy to read, nice stat blocks, and TWO VERSIONS as a less graphics intensive one makes my tablet run better all make me a happy GM. This is how I want books made. 5/5

Summary- Oh A!C 2d20… you make me so happy. It’s a well done, slick system, and this is a well done slick adventure for it. I just wish this was more "direct sequence" and less "continuing adventures", but oh well. If you don’t have my singular crazy obsession with continuity, then you will absolutely LOVE this book. From crunch, to story, to just general production, I’m glad to have this one. 97%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Anarch (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 05:12:49

Most of the products in this line and from this publisher are excellent. This item, however, is chock full of bad fluff and has little in the way of rules-based content. On that basis, it's way overpriced. As an inspiration for ideas, it's weaker than some of the free PDFs for the game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Anarch (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: BRIEFS 002 - Disasters
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 16:53:02

This product is a collection of short adventure ideas that cover star trek from TOS-STNG-DS9 eras. Each adventure has a focus player class like the doctor, engineer, or captain for example. The adventures can be used in any era, though some might need a little reworking. These can easily be used in a regular sized group or in a small group which I thought was a useful as sometimes you do not always have the entire group availiable to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: BRIEFS 002 - Disasters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 16:46:44

The layout and quality of the maps are very helpful. If you are not familar with this system the layout and notes are very useful in heping you understand the rule system and in running the adventure. If you are not very knowledgeable about world war 2 thats ok as the gm notes tell you exactly what you need to know historically up to that point. If you like chulhu or world war 2 adventures you find this adventure useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2021 07:55:15

This 28 page product gets you right into the mission, which is great for any short adventure. It includes some historical background that to me is a must for any real world adventure not based in the current era. The maps and player handouts are good quality images and the story allows for the players to choose their own way while not feelimg railroaded. Although it's a sequel to A Quick Trip to France, you don't need to run that adventure first (Though it's free so why not?) Finally at the end, a few ideas for what might happen once the adventure is over are suggested for those who wish to continue to plot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
by Noah P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2021 14:44:09

This PDF is a terrible starting point for VTM V5. Rules are mixed in with the module itself, so I had to spend the better part of an hour deleting pages and redacting pages that mixed rules with story.

The pre-gen characters included are fine. Just be sure to read over their abilities as a storyteller, I was caught off guard by the Malkavian's ability to get visions about things he investigates.

The module itself is a freaking mess. It tries to keep secrets from the storyteller, I had to read it several times to understand what the hell was going on. One standout flaw is a situation where an NPC might have killed someone but the module doesn't even tell the storyteller whether they or someone else did it. You just have to guess. There is also a really confusing flashback sequence taking place in a hotel with a bizarre, nonsensical layout that seems to consist of nothing but doorless hallways and rooms.

Several investigation scenes are given precious little detail. I had to improv a lot of things that nearly derailed the investigation because the module barely describes how the victims died.

Spoilers Ahead

So for curious storytellers, here's a breakdown of the plot and more specific reasons why I hate it.

Dramatis Personae:

Sheriff Sam: Not actually a camarilla or police sheriff, she's just called sheriff for no reason.

Red herring: I forgot his name, he's a stalker fan and drunkenly broke into his idol's house to profess his love. She declined obviously and he hit her and left. She was found dead the next day. This is litterally all you know as a ST about what the hell happened.

Detective: Sam's ghoul in the police force. He's there to be grumpy and pass supernatural cases on to the coterie.

The killer: She gets a vague description in this section of the PDF, it is not really useful. Basically, the coterie killed her daughter, so now she wants to become a serial killer to lure out the coterie.

The Mess of a Plot I am ommitting some details, as the plot was fairly long. The coterie gets told about vampire like killing they need to investigate. This part of the module is fine and dandy, though we took so much time on it that we had to break the module into two sessions. Then a few more bodies drop and the Red Herring gets released from prison. An angry mob tries to kill him and the coterie has the choice to try to help him escape, or get him killed. My group saved him. The third victim is at an abandoned apartment and there's an encounter with amateur "hunters". This encounter was pretty fun honestly.

The module says that when questioned he genuinly believes he did not kill his idol. It is never clarified in the text what really happened. Anyway, the fourth and final body drops at a hotel, but this time the coterie can get there to investigate before the cops. This is where the module falls apart. The coterie gets in and finds the mutilated body of the fourth victim along with a message in blood on the wall reading Four for Four. Thus begins the awful flashback section.

Through a three or four stage set of flashbacks (which are out of order to deliberatly make it more confusing) the coterie learns that they killed two people during a frenzy when they were embraced in the 80s. Somehow immortal, undead, superhuman creatures forgot this traumatic event. Then Sheriff Sam waltzes in and offers to help them if the coterie starts working for her. Then the module says "One of your players will suggest that they should kill more people to pad the numbers and make the killings look like the work of a nonexistent serial killer". This is a huge assumption, and I had to have Sam present the idea because my players are not all knowing. Also Sam set this series of events up to get the coterie under her control, but there's no way for the players to learn this.

Now we get back to modern day after the revalatory flashback sequence. Oh no, we killed some people 30-40 years ago in a frenzy. Amusingly for a module about how bad a vampire's frenzy is, this one does not include the rules for frenzying. The coterie is then supposed to do research about the victims of the 80s to find a surviving relative with a grudge. It does not specify which victim this killer is related to. The coterie then drives to this lady's house and she tries to kill them in a gas explosion (or in other ways, it provides multiple options at least). My group opted for saving themselves and her from the explosion to turn her over to an optional NPC who collects blood clots from serial killers.

In summation, this module is pretty good until the flashback sequence. The meeting with the serial killer at the end is non-satisfactory and just dumb. The coterie's connection to her is only established minutes before they meet her, and they're expected to feel guilt for something they didn't know they did until 6 hours into this mess. A further issue with this woman being the killer is the fact that she is 60-70 years old at minimum. My players spent 45 minutes trying to figure out "who the real killer was" because it made no sense to them that someone this old was able to kill a bunch of young people and drag their corpses around. The mystery cannot actually be solved by the players, they just have to wait for meaningless killings to happen until an arbitrary flashback happens to retroactively give meaning to the killings.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 447 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates