Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
John Carter of Mars Quickstart
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2019 12:36:24

This work (which comes as a landscape format PDF, which doesn't work well on screen - except perhaps on a tablet - and even worse if printed out) begins by explaining the 2d20 'Momentum' system that is used for this game. Ideally you need to purchase a special d6 marked with special symbols to use as a Combat Die, but as you probably won't have one, there's a quick chart to enable the use of an ordinary d6 instead. It then explains that each character is described by six attributes: Cunning, Daring, Empathy, Might, Passion and Reason. There are brief descriptions of each, along with notes on how they are used in Attribute Tests, rolled whenever a character undertakes an action with an uncertain outcome. To make an Attribute Test, pick two attributes that make sense for the situation which give you a target number and roll 2d20. Each die that rolls equal to or under the target number scores one success, and each die that scores equal to or less than the character's weaker Attribute scores two successes. The Narrator (GM) assigns a Difficulty to the task, which determines how many successes in the Attribute Test are required for the character to accomplish whatever they wanted to do. Brief examples and advice on setting Difficulty are provided, and Complications and Momentum - the game mechanic from which the system gets its name, are explained.

You gain Momentum every time you score more successes than you actually require. These extra successes can be used to make your action even more mind-blowingly epic, or saved up to bolster a later roll by adding extra d20s. If two characters are operating in opposition to each other, it's called an Opposed Test, and they both have to not only succeed in the Attribute Test, but get more successes than the other character to win out. If you are looking to increase your chances of success, as well as adding bonus dice through Momentum, you can call on your Luck - each point of luck gives you a success. Teamwork and assistance from other players can also help. The whole idea of Momentum is that one success often leads to another, and fits well with the heroic protagonist like John Carter of Mars... but there is another side to the coin, Threat. This works for the Narrator in a similar manner, with all their NPCs sharing a pool of Threat that begins equal to the amount of Luck the PCs have, and fluctuates during play in the same way as each individual PC's Momentum does. Characters can do other things with Luck as well as boost their die rolls, and gain them by doing noteworthy things during a game. The discussion then moves on to Action Scenes and how they are played out. It's a turn-based system, with each character (and NPC) acting in turn until all have had a go. PCs normally go first unless the Narrator uses a Threat point to have an NPC go first - but unusually, there's no 'initiative', the players get to choose who goes first, and each player decides who acts after them! There are many things that can be done in a turn, which are explained here; along with the results of combat such as taking damage... how to recover from damage is also explained. OK, now you know enough to have a go at the playtest adventure.

Pregenerated characters are provided for a short but dramatic adventure in which the party - including John Carter and Dejah Thoris themselves - on a diplomatic errand to the kingdom of Vonika which wishes to enter into an alliance with Helium. There's an opportunity for role-play as the party settles down and gets to know each others - there are suggestions for various pastimes, and notes on how to adjudicate them - and then the peace of the trip is rudely disturbed by another flier attempting to ram the party's craft! It doesn't matter who wins the ensuing fight, both outcomes are catered for, and in any case, the remaining fliers will need repairs before continuing on their way, and this will not be as straightforward as you might think.

As an adventure it is very much an exerpt, but it brings over the flavour of the game well, and introduces the Momentum system if you've not played it before. It's a great way to discover if this game is for you and your group... and if it is, the core rulebook and other materials await!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
John Carter of Mars Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
by Joachim D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2019 10:14:19

First of all I tought that FFG`s WH40K game was the most jumbled RPG so far until I got this book. There is no-absoluetly no-information on any technological items game effect except for weapons and personal defense. There is in all honesty a usless long explanation of what a Tricorder is, but nothing about how to use it in game. I am lucky that I am only going to play this game and not GMìng it. Should be interessting tough. I will get everything out of my Equipment that is not too far fetched, because there is no rule but sanity itself on what that equipment is capable of or not. :) Otherwise I give points for the artwork, the idea to be able to play an officer and to have spaceships that really involve the players. Problematic about this is the fact that under "Operating a Starship" you will not find any game rules, only fluff text. I fear one has to read the entire book to find everything as it seems strewn far across the pages. And that is a major problem with anything. Interesting to note is that "Starship Combat" is very clearly detailed. So I think this game will be easiest if you just play combat oriented adventures.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2019 18:59:35

The amzingly high quality of this product expresses an enthusiasm for the material by the creators. Delving into the Greek elements without overdoing them is great so that players and dungeon masters can choose how far into the mythology they want to go. Looking forward to playing this one with my group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
by Wizard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2019 17:41:11

This Player's Guide is so awesome, it gets me soooo excited about the full campagn book. The quality of this is abosultly amazing (especially considering its free!), from the artwork to accecability of information. I love greek mythology (both modern fantastical and historical) so it is refreshing to have a solid campagn setting that I think my players will really get into.

A few highlights and critiques from me:

  • Love, love, love the art. It really helps set the mood, is tasteful and high quality.
  • A few of the Flavor texts for the inworld character voice (with the little colored background) can be difficult to read, but maybe its me and my old eyes ;) its only a sentence or two here and there so I'm not really worrried about that.
  • Really like the idea of Epic backgrounds, i think they are going to add a level of immersion for my players. I can't wait like to see how they are incorportate into the Campagin book story.
  • Order of content is well thought out and presented. As a player (and GM) its very digestable, and I'm guessing as a suppliment for the campaign that player will be able to reference back fairly easily (Factions, Names, Gods, etc).
  • Love the maps!
  • Not sure how the Curses will work, they seem really cool, but will they be happening all the time or just every now and then - I guess its also open to the GM to decide how to use this mechanic.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2019 09:47:41

As a preview for their full product, I'm excited. The art, layout, and other production elements are all top notch and I like that it's greek inspired and not just greek myth with all the nouns remade. The epic destinies are particularly cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
by Sara Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 13:44:00

This setting while promising, pays only lip service to the Ancient Greek mythology and history it claims to be inspired by. There are the trappings of Greek myth, a Gaia and Ouranos figure, a Titanic progenitor race of gods, and the modern gods. But it goes no farther than this. The setting seems to be stuck in a very modern idea of how the ancient world worked, and it suffers for it. In addition to this, the original portions seem singularly uninspired and noninclusive. Why have the authors fridged the goddess of war? Why are gods that remain so aggressively bland? Why is there no LGBT+ rep in the entire setting? Why are there female satyrs and why in the name of everything good do they shave their arms and bodies? The entire setting seems specifically designed to appeal to one specific demographic: straight, white men who read Percy Jackson when they were younger. There's nothing wrong with appealing to specific demographics, of course, but why hobble yourself in this way when all it would take is a little more inclusion to widen your audience? The setting has promise, but it needs a lot of work.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
by Russ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2019 08:43:06

This is a promising start to a world that I'm interested in exploring!

The selling point for me, outside of it being free, was the Ancient Greek mythology inspiration for this setting. As someone who has played TTRPG's for over a decade now, I am well versed in how difficult it can be to draw new players into a setting with zero ties to real life. This book was an easy read and most importantly, it was easy to absorb. I've seen lots of settings that get a little too full of their own product and their books start to make as much sense as IKEA instructions. I like that there were nine deities and not forty. This setting seems to be very DM friendly with simple to understand (but left open for personal expansion if that's your thing) lore, flavor, and names.

My only critique of the setting are the two added races. Their base movement speed is a little too high in my opinion. An additional 10 feet for satrys seems odd to me, but that's just me. I think I'll be replacing centaurs with orcs for when I run my campaign in this setting in order to appease my players, but that honestly seems very easy to do.

I am very much going to purchase this setting in May, I think that I saw it releases in May. I think that the maps are beautiful and functional as well. Please include maps of all the major settlements in the full release. I swear that every setting I look into that only has one or two city maps is hard for me get my players into because they want to see the map, and I feel that it's fair for them to have one so they can explore the city without having to stop every two seconds to ask me what direction is something in or if there is a .... shop around here. If I have to find maps myself then there is a clear difference in look, feel, and the quality of the game suffers. If I may also make a small request; Please include names for things like shops and NPC's. I love reading that stuff and having quick reference for my table when my party hits a city. That may just be me, but I love having those details.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Science Division Supplement
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2019 09:48:56

The Science Division are often the unsung heroes of Star Trek - a bit odd when you consider the whole mission is about exploration and discovery, things that scientists are good at. Apart from Spock, who was Science Officer as well as the second-in-command of Kirk's Enterprise, the on-board scientists are just produced when there's a problem that science can solve, then sent back whence they came until the next time. Apart from the medics, that is, who are part of Science Division but with a much higher profile. Here's a chance to redress the balance!

The Introduction - To Seek and to Know - talks of science and medicine being at the centre of the urge to explore space. Finding out what's going on is a key driver for exploration and explorers have to be kept healthy whilst doing so. When not treating patients, medics are also interested in exploration - perhaps they'll find a medicinal plant or medical knowledge hitherto undreampt-of on the next planet. However, those scientific and medical professionals who join Star Fleet are quite special. Adventurous, certainly, but this is a part of the organisation that recruits seasoned professionals, older people, as well as train their own at the Academy. With a note from a grateful student whose training saved the day during an exercise, we move on to an outline of the contents of the book. There's also an example of individuals from various branches within the Science Division working together to resolve a potentially lethal problem, and a note indicating that technologies differ depending on which Era you game is set in, and how these are to be highlighted through the rest of the text.

Chapter 1: Science Division goes into detail about training, organisation, responsibilities and so on, with three main strands of scientists, medics, and counsellors. This is presented in the style of a briefing document for new Science Division officers and makes for a fascinating read. It outlines the protocols for exploration missions and science missions, and discusses the Prime Directive at length with some ideas on how to deal with breaches thereof. It also touches on time travel. There is a Department of Temporal Investigation in the assumed present day (TNE era), and some inklings of a Temporal Integrity Commission which appears to have been established in the future (29th century) - their agents won't reveal much, for obvious reasons.

Next Chapter 3: Science Division Characters looks at expanding the core rulebook's character generation process to make more detailed and diverse Science Division characters via extra Lifepath options and new Focuses and Talents. This allows for the sort of specialisation that you'd likely see - geologists and botanists, trauma surgeons and infectious disease specialists, and so on.

Then, Chapter 4: Research and Development examines the vast range of specialised equipment available particularly in the field of medicine, from hand-held devices to fully-equipped hospital ships. There are also details of lifeforms and other phenomena that have been encountered with ideas for further research and a discussion of the Q Continuum and ideas of dealing with encouters there. I'd say 'stay away' but sometimes it comes to visit anyway...

Chapter 5: Using the Science Division is crammed with ideas, providing rules for creating everything from medical emergencies to xeno-biological mysteries (why does every habitable planet grow something that looks exactly like Earth grass, I wonder) and running missions with a science/exploration focus. There's also suggestions for how to run adventures that involve medical interventions to save a ship's company, a planet or even the entirety of known space. This chapter also contains rules to aid the development of new alien lifeforms, sentient and otherwise, even those that live in places an unprotected human could not go. Finally Chapter 6: Sciences Personnel provides an array of fully-developed characters to use as NPCs - perhaps when an exotic specialism is required - or as an example for generating your own.

This is an excellent resource that should inspire you and your group to 'boldly go' like you never have before, with loads of ideas to help your exploration missions make many discoveries - and generate a mound of academic papers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Science Division Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Science Division Supplement
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 15:43:00

Great supplement for lots of Trek lore and inspiration. As with all the division books, a good section of creatures and characters to interact with. However, I'm taking one star away for giving very very little player content. There are talents and suggested focuses, but no new races or ships. Where are the science oriented iterations of both?!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kult: Divinity Lost - 4th Edition of Kult, Core Rules
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2019 05:38:23

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2019/01/20/ersteindruck-kult-divinity-lost-powered-by-the-apokalypse/

Nach vielen langen Jahren des Schlummers erwachte eines der kontroversesten Horrorsysteme der 1990er durch einen Kickstarter wieder zum Leben. Kult, die klassische Nummer Drei der Horrorrollenspiele, ist zurück. Kann die Neuauflage an alte Tage anschließen, oder hat man es eher mit einem müden Aufguss zu tun?

In den 90er Jahren waren Vampire: The Masquerade und Call of Cthulhu die großen Namen, wenn es um Horror-Rollenspiel ging. Der eingefleischte Fan wusste aber mindestens auch noch von Kult, dass damals sehr erfolgreich seine Nische besetzte. Während die Vampire sich in düster-romantischen Intrigen oder mit fliegenden Ledertrenchcoats gegenseitig beharkten und die Mythos-Ermittler der 1920er reihenweise dem pitoresquen Wahnsinn verfielen, da konnte man mit Kult in aller Ruhe ehrlichen Splatterpunk-Horror spielen, ohne sich etwas vorzumachen.

Das Spiel bot zwar auch einen reichhaltigen Hintergrund, der sich vor allem aus Elementen christlicher und jüdischer Mystik und der Gnostik speiste, aber der Hauptkaufgrund war das wahrscheinlich in den seltensten Fällen.

Nun ist seit 1992 eine Menge Zeit vergangen. Auch die begrenzte deutsche Neuauflage von Ulisses Spiele aus dem Jahre 2009 liegt bald eine Dekade zurück, aber trotzdem hatte Kult nach wie vor seine Fangemeinde. Offenbar Grund genug für den schwedischen Verlag Helmgast 2016 per Kickstarter eine Neuauflage des Spiels an den Start zu bringen. Knapp zwei Jahre – und eine turbulente Produktionsgeschichte später – ist Kult Ende vergangenen Jahres erschienen und sucht nun seine Lücke in der sehr breit gewordenen Nische des Horror-Rollenspiels.

Die Spielwelt Die Spielwelt von Kult vermischt geschickt mehrere populäre Quellen. Am stärksten erkennbar – da auch auf den Charakterbögen verewigt – ist der Einfluss der jüdischen Kaballah-Mystik. Der Sephiroth wird hier benutzt, um die verschiedenen Werte des Charakters bildlich darzustellen. Aber da die Erwähnung jüdischer Mystik allein so aufschlussreich ist wie die meisten numerologischen Fachaufsätze, sollte etwas früher begonnen werden.

Der Kult-Hintergrund geht davon aus, dass Menschen zu einer bestimmten Zeit einmal göttlich-erleuchtete Geschöpfe waren, die das wahre Wesen der Dinge erkennen konnten. Diese Göttlichkeit wurde den Menschen allerdings von den sinisteren Kräften des Demiurgen genommen und die wahre Natur der Welt hinter Illusionen und Spiegelbildern verborgen. Der göttliche Funke wurde soweit gedämpft, dass der durchschnittliche Mensch kaum mehr als ein Schlafwandler in seiner eigenen Welt ist.

Eine göttliche Macht residierte im Zentrum des neuen Lügennetzes, das die Menschheit einhegte. Eines Tages aber verschwand diese Macht und ließ seine Diener mit einem verfallenden Mechanismus zurück. Damit allein nicht genug, auch uralte Widersacher erwachten in ihren infernalischen Dimensionen und begannen nach dem Sitz der göttlichen Macht zu greifen.

Während nun also – vereinfacht gesprochen - Engel und Dämonen ihren Kampf um die Macht im Universum austragen, beginnt als Folge der Abwesenheit des Demiurgen das Gefängnis aus Lügen und Illusionen, das die Menschheit gedämpft und eingesperrt hielt, zu bröckeln. Die bewahrenden Kräfte der Illusionen sind geschwächt, aber noch lange nicht besiegt. Zwar beginnen immer mehr Menschen die Risse in der Illusion zu erkennen und die Fesseln ihres kollektiven Wachkomas abzustreifen, aber mediale Beschäftigungstherapie, religiöser Fanatismus und nihilistischer Konsumegoismus haben den Kampf aufgenommen.

In diesen Schattenkrieg werden nun die Charaktere hineingezogen. Sie sind „Erwachte“, also Menschen, die wissen oder zumindest ahnen, dass in dieser Welt nicht alles mit rechten Dingen zugeht. Sie haben die Risse in den Illusionen gesehen und beschlossen zu handeln statt zu rationalisieren. Damit haben sie sich mächtige Feinde gemacht, denn Engel und Dämonen fürchten das Erwachen der Menschheit. Schließlich war die Menschheit einmal selbst göttlich und könnte es wieder werden, wenn sie die Illusion abstreift. Eine göttliche Menschheit könnte Engel und Dämonen aber vernichten, weswegen sie alles daransetzen, die Illusion aufrecht zu halten und Abweichler zu jagen.

Charaktere in Kult sind also oft gehetzte Randgestalten der Gesellschaft, deren noble Mission zur Erweckung der Menschheit von der schlafenden Masse nicht gewürdigt wird, während sie gleichzeitig von finsteren, rachsüchtigen, übernatürlichen Entitäten gejagt werden. Denn im Gegensatz zu den zutiefst fremdartigen Geschöpfen des Cthulhu-Mythos oder den glorifizierten Parasiten der Welt der Dunkelheit, haben die Widersacher im Kult-Universum keinen traditionsreichen Moralkodex oder kosmische Indifferenz, die die Menschen vor ihnen schützt. Die Welt von Kult ist ein düsteres, apokalyptisches und brutales Zerrbild unserer Welt, die selbst den eingefleischtesten Aluhüten Angst und Schrecken einjagen sollte.

Die Regeln Bei der Neuauflage des Spiels wurde das alte Würfelsystem der 90er Jahre komplett über Bord geworfen. Stattdessen läuft das Spiel nun unter dem Label Powered by the Apocalypse, was wohl bei keinem Spiel bisher eine so passende Doppelbedeutung hatte. Im Kern basiert das von Vincent Baker für Apocalypse World entwickelte System darauf, dass es spezifische Genres emulieren möchte. Dazu erhalten alle Figuren – Spieler und Spielleiterfiguren – so genannte Moves, die ihnen erlauben, bei spezifischen Triggern bestimmte Aktionen durchzuführen.

Diese sind thematisch so gestaltet, dass sie Archetypen des Genres widerspiegeln. Beispielsweise kann ein Charakter, der in Kult über den Move „Escape Artist“ verfügt, auch dann versuchen aus einer Gefangenschaft zu entkommen, wenn er mit Ketten gefesselt in ein Hafenbecken geworfen wird. Er kann also einen Wurf machen, wo andere Charaktere sicher das Zeitliche gesegnet hätten oder auf Hilfe von außen angewiesen sein würden.  

Natürlich macht Kult auch ein paar Dinge anders, als es in der Urform des Regelsystems vorgesehen war. Der größte Unterschied ist wohl, dass statt mit 2W6 mit 2W10 gewürfelt wird. Das Ergebnis wird dann noch mit charakterspezifischen Boni und oder Mali modifiziert und geht – typisch für PbtA-Spiele – gegen eine feste Schwierigkeit, die festlegt, ob man einen Fehlschlag, einen Erfolg mit Einschränkungen oder einen vollen Erfolg erzielt.

Da PbtA-Spiele mittlerweile ebenso verbreitet sind wie Fate-Derivate, wird in der Folge davon ausgegangen, dass der Leser mit den grundlegenden Regelmechanismen vertraut ist. Wer sich aber erst einmal einlesen will oder aber seine Erinnerung auffrischen möchte, dem sei die Systemvorstellung zu PbtA ans Herz gelegt.

Insgesamt ist das sehr narrativ angelegte PbtA-System eine gute Wahl für Kult. Horrorthemen tun sich ohnehin notorisch schwer damit, sich in Simulationssysteme einzufügen. Grusel und unterschwellige Anspannung kommen eben schwer auf, wenn man beständig auf detaillierte Skilllisten schaut und Subsysteme zu (temporären) Wahnsinn, Verfolgungsjagden oder Ritualzauberei im Kopf haben muss. Das bedeutet nun nicht, dass Kult zu einem Freeform-System geworden wäre. Im Gegenteil. Zwar bietet das neue Regelsystem gewisse narrative Freiheiten, diese werden aber damit erkauft, dass der Neuspieler sich erst einmal in die eigene Apocalypse-Engine-Logik eindenken muss.

Ähnlich wie Fate findet ein großer Teil des mechanischen Ablaufs auf einer Metaebene statt, bei der Spielleitung und Spieler versuchen, regeltechnische Effekte aus narrativen Elementen ab- oder herzuleiten. Bis das flüssig funktioniert kann schon einmal der ein oder andere Spielabend ins Land ziehen, vor allem wenn die Spielerschaft Horror-Rollenspiele wie Cthulhu, Delta Green oder die World of Darkness-Systeme gewohnt ist.

Auch Fate-Spieler könnten sich zu Beginn etwas umstellen müssen, denn anders als das Haussystem von Evil Hat Productions, steht Player Empowerment nicht unbedingt an erster Stelle. Kult wählt hier – auch typisch für alle PbtA-Spiele – einen ausgewogeneren Ansatz, indem auch die Spielleitung Moves bekommt, mit denen sie den Charakteren das Leben gehörig schwer machen kann.

Ein Teil des Spaßes ist es hier, dem eigenen Charakter dabei zuzusehen, wie er von einer schlimmen Situation in die nächste läuft und nur hin und wieder Momente der Ruhe erlebt. Sobald man aber diese Einstiegshürden genommen hat, laufen die Spielabende erfahrungsgemäß recht flüssig und dynamisch. Wenn man also bereit ist sich auf das narrative Hin- und Her einzulassen, kann es zu einer sehr bereichernden Erfahrung werden.

Charaktererschaffung Die Charaktererschaffung funktioniert, wie bei PbtA-Spielen typisch, anhand von Playbooks, die in diesem Fall Archetypen heißen. Ein Archetyp ist dabei genau das: Eine Art Abziehbild bzw. Idealtyp einer genretypischen Rolle. Mag man es klassisch, kann man zwischen so illustren Gestalten wie dem „Professor“ dem „Geheimagenten“ dem „Okkultisten“ oder dem „Wissenschaftler“ wählen. Wenn man schon zu Beginn bereit ist, die inhärente Düsternis des Systems anzunehmen, kann man Rollen wie den „Gebrochenen“ den „Verfluchten“ oder die „Puppe“ wählen. Findet man für seine Charakteridee keinen passenden Archetypen, dann gibt einem Kult auch einen Baukastenansatz mit, mit dessen Hilfe ein neuer Archetyp erschaffen werden kann.

Hat man sich einen Archetyp ausgesucht, folgen einige wenige Schritte bis zum fertigen Charakter. Zuerst einmal sucht man seine genaue Beschäftigung aus, also welche besondere Erscheinungsform des Archetyps man darstellen möchte. So kann der „Veteran“ beispielsweise ein eiskalter Profikiller sein, der sein Geld als Auftragsmörder oder Bodyguard verdient, oder auch eine gebrochene, obdachlose Gestalt, die den Schrecken des Krieges nicht ertragen konnte und nun die Mitglieder der Gesellschaft um Almosen anbetteln muss, deren Existenz er mit seinem Körper und Verstand verteidigt hat.

Wie es sich für das Genre gehört, wählt der Spieler danach ein dunkles Geheimnis für seinen Charakter aus. Dieses Geheimnis kann von der Spielleitung genutzt werden, um Szenarien persönlicher zu gestalten oder auch gesamte Szenarien darauf aufzubauen. Außerdem ist es der Grundstein des persönlichen Plots des Spielers, von dem aus sich die Geschichte entfalten kann.

Danach werden noch zwei Nach- und drei Vorteile ausgewählt, die den eigenen Charakter weiter spezifizieren und ihm und der Spielleitung Zugriff auf bestimmte Moves geben, die nicht jedem Archetyp zur Verfügung stehen.

Ist das erledigt, werden noch Modifikatoren von -2 bis +2 auf die Attribute verteilt, Namen und Aussehen vergeben und dann ist man nahezu fertig. Einzig das Beziehungsnetz des Charakters fehlt noch. Da Kult sich auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat, möglichst nah an den einzelnen Charakteren und ihren Geschichten zu sein, sind vollkommen losgelöste Einsame Wölfe natürlich keine besonders geeigneten Charaktere. Jeder Charakter hat mindestens zwei Verknüpfungen zu den anderen Charakteren der Gruppe und darüber hinaus noch neutrale, bedeutsame oder sogar lebenswichtige Beziehungen zu NSC.

Dieser Mechanismus soll verhindern, dass die Charaktere schon im ersten Abenteuer eigentlich keinen Sinn darin sehen, miteinander zu arbeiten und stattdessen lieber als Einsiedler oder Drifter in die Wildnis verschwinden. Außerdem finden so eine gewisse Erdung und Verankerung der Charaktere statt, die der Spielleitung ermöglicht, schnell emotionale Verbindungen zum Plot herzustellen oder neue Plots aus den Hintergründen der Charaktere zu entwickeln.    

Erscheinungsbild Eine gedruckte Version lag leider nicht vor, weswegen die PDF-Fassung Grundlage aller folgenden Aussagen darstellt. Diese ist mit aktuell gut 32 EUR bei DriveThru nicht gerade günstig, aber handwerklich sehr gut gemacht. Das Inhaltsverzeichnis ist komplett verlinkt und sowohl scrollen wie auch springen durch das Dokument geht angenehm schnell und ohne lange Wartepausen vonstatten. Der Index ist zwar hilfreich, aber leider nicht verlinkt, was ihn sich in der PDF-Fassung also leider nicht zu seinem vollen Potential entfalten lassen lässt.

Das gesamte Werk ist durchgehend farbig gedruckt und reichhaltig illustriert. Der vergleichsweise hohe Preis der Druckausgabe lässt sich wohl auch durch die vielen Illustrationen und das durchgängig hochwertige Layout des Bandes erklären. Hier liegen aber auch die Schwachstellen des Bandes. Das Layout ist zwar durchgehend originell, aber leider nicht durchgehend auf Benutzungsfreundlichkeit getrimmt. Die Spalten sind mitunter angeschnitten und ähneln eher Trapezen als Säulen, was zwar durch seine leicht verstörende Wirkung die Stimmung des Bandes unterstützt, aber im Eifer des Gefechts auch nerven kann.

Zum Schluss müssen wir über die Illustrationen des Bandes sprechen, denn die haben es in sich. So sehr sogar, dass die Cover-Illustration für eine Verzögerung des Drucks gesorgt hat, da dem weiblichen Engel, der ursprünglich mit blutendem Oberkörper gezeigt wurde, erst einmal eine Bronzerüstung per Photoshop verpasst werden musste. Aber auch ansonsten finden sich harte Themen in der Bebilderung, von Medikamentenabhängigkeiten über Selbst- bis hin zu implizierten Kindsmord wird so ziemlich jeder vorhandene psychologische Trigger bedient.

Von sexualisierten und Fetish-Abbildungen ganz zu schweigen. Das Buch gibt sich aufrichtig Mühe, sein Label „This game explores mature themes“ und die folgende Triggerwarnung zu rechtfertigen. Ob man das für gelungen und angemessen hält, ist sicherlich Geschmackssache, aber in jedem Fall sollte man wissen, worauf man sich einlässt. Die Art des Horrors in Kult ist wesentlich menschlicher als die kosmischen Schrecken des Mythos und damit auch verstörender. Das bringen die Illustrationen in jedem Fall hervorragend rüber.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Im Rahmen der Kickstarter-Kampagne wurde das Einführungsabenteuer Oakwood Heights gratis veröffentlicht und ist mit dem ebenfalls kostenlosen Schnellstarter spielbar. Darüber hinaus gab es zum Veröffentlichungstermin dieses Ersteindrucks keinen weiteren Bonuscontent zum Download.

Fazit Mit der Kickstarter-finanzierten Neuauflage ist der Horrorklassiker Kult erfolgreich in der Gegenwart angekommen. Angetrieben durch die Apocalypse World-Engine präsentiert sich Kult: Divinity Lost als modernes, narratives Horrorspiel. Inhalt und Tonfall des Spiels richten sich dabei wie eh und je an Spieler, die keine Scheu vor harten und mitunter verstörenden Themen haben und eine gute Portion Verschwörungstheorie, gemischt mit judäochristlicher Mystik, zu schätzen wissen.

Wem der letzte Satz nicht gefallen hat, der sollte allerdings besser die Finger von Kult lassen, denn diese Themen durchdringen jede Seite des Buchs. Das teilweise merkwürdige Layout und die grenzwertigen Illustrationen können für manchen Leser abschreckend sein, aber Fans eines guten Horrorspiels kommen voll auf ihre Kosten. Für Genrefans eine definitive Empfehlung. Für Neueinsteiger in das Genre allerdings ein Sprung ins eiskalte Wasser.

Der Ersteindruck basiert auf der Lektüre des Buches und dem Spielen und Leiten des Abenteuers Oakwood Heights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kult: Divinity Lost - 4th Edition of Kult, Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Kult: Divinity Lost - 4th Edition of Kult, Core Rules
by Dale H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2019 21:29:36
This is the single greatest RPG book I have ever owned ... physically it is a literal masterpiece in quality and layout (Black Special Edition). Customer Service is amazing, rules and content are probably the best narrative storytelling game made to date. Compelling and intriguing characters from the beginning that are stitched into the flesh of the plot from the start. Anyone on the fence for this one just buy it, once you get into this system you will most likely abandon CoD/WoD (God Machine). You will never miss the unnecessary rolls and crunch of other systems. Pure forward moving character development. Mature Content is an understatement here, be advised . . . however, it is not vital to the game to include. There are already many modules and the epic Black Madonna as well as a number of useful resources such as fillable charachter sheets. This is one of those games that truly is inspirational and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles Dark Soul Source Book
by Ben R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 18:38:53

A phenomenal, well writen, source book that details new information about the primary antagonists of the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Chronicles Dark Soul Source Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2019 15:27:12

A game is more than just a set of rules. It's the feeling you get when you play it. I have never seen a better job of crafting the appropriate feeling for a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Conan PDF Master Collection
by Wacey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2019 09:44:59

I'm a lifelong Conan fan and this bundle is amazing. This collection is best used purely for the setting. 2D20 has its critics and in my opinion, deservingly so, but they did a wonderful job at expanding Robert E. Howard's Hyborian Age. The Monolith Source Book is particularly wonderful and a complete must buy if you own the board game. The Solo/Co-op campaign for the board game in this book is one of the best Conan experiences in gaming I've had. The art in this collection is something else entirely to be marveled at. It will not only capture you with its beauty, but it is near magical how it can conjure wonderful ideas for your gaming needs. Even if 2D20 isn't your thing, this setting is so well done that these books and stories would be a wonderful addition to your idea pool for any of your RPG needs. I've personally used it for rules lite rpgs when running one shots. I've borrowed heavily from it for my DnD games. I've also enjoyed many a night playing it straight out of the source in the 2d20 world. This collection is a pricey investment, but worth every penny. Happy gaming Dog Brothers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan PDF Master Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cogs, Cakes & Swordsticks - In the Bleak Midsummer
by Julie Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2018 15:14:07

I ran this adventure for my group this week, and everyone had a blast. The adventure has a nice, strong hook that will pull the players into the investigation easily, even if they don't use the pregenerated characters provided (we didn't). The most obvious lines of investigation are covered, giving the GM a good deal of material to work with. The climactic combat against the Nussknackers in the pie factory was brutal! I provided one per character, and there were times when I thought someone might go down. In hindsight, I'd suggest one fewer Nussknacker than the number of PCs, allowing the PCs to gang up on them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cogs, Cakes & Swordsticks - In the Bleak Midsummer
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 281 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates