Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Exigents: Out of the Ashes
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2024 20:25:11

Easily the best addition to the 3rd edition of Exalted, the Exigent Exalted, the chosen of the Little Gods, get their own book. The dive into the history of these characters, and their relations with the various power blocs in the setting are really interesting. Love the deeper look at Great Forks, always been a favorite locale in the setting. Sad we didn't get a map for the city, but so it goes. All of the Exigents explored are fascinating. Personally most excited for the Architects and the Sovereigns. In both cases, Across the 8 Directions will be a huge boon to games involving either of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exigents: Out of the Ashes
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gearing Up 1: Core
by Brian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2024 09:41:35

If you need a lot of mundane but vital tools and items for a game, including some as Edges, this book has what you need. Some of the concepts are interesting and come with new rules that even if you don't use the associated item, can inspire your own rules and takes on them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gearing Up 1: Core
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Quantum Mechanics
by Brian [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2024 09:38:13

While there are other good nexus supplements that deal with the super science system, this one also focuses on how that interacts with novas, and it has so much going for it. It's not just rules, but has various devices, and is well worth the price. Honestly, if you ask me, I think it should be a dollar or two more but I know how much work goes into these books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Mechanics
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Ferrell [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2024 18:56:34

This is probably my favorite game to run. The rules are pretty easy to follow and allow for a lot of input from players. It is cinematic and spoofy to the max. Where this game shines is how it fits in perfectly for mini-campaigns and one-shots. They Came From Beyond the Grave very much fulfills what it sets out to do by emulating B-movie horror from the 50's through the 70's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Hedge
by Jacob T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2024 12:52:05

Ngl. I was satisfied seeing how this baby finishes. The Changeling Capstone comes with dismay at not learning more about this whimsical and horrific aspect to the CofD mythos, but I'm glad that the Hedge didn't get the Fallen Worlds treatment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hedge
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dreams of Avarice
by REMI [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2024 13:32:54

This book is an amazing read, full of legends and mythology, the history of the Heretic (a famous character in the lore), and it reveals everything you need about the Mummy secrets.

Read this book if you're in love with Book of the Deceived.

Impressive work as always with the Mummy the Curse line!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of Avarice
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
by Noël [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2024 05:05:33

I got the hardcover version and it arrived in perfect (and I mean perfect) condition. I have not yet read all of it, but I have already needed it to make a character and it got me through it pretty well. Definitely suggest you get some help from your GM or someone else though, because boy is it many words ^^' definitely glad I got the book from drivethrurpg, I'll remember it for whenever I need more nerdy literature, and I look forward to reading all of it when I'm not so busy. (Yes, I read game manuals for fun)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Scion: God
by Joel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2024 15:48:07

I got the PDF version and was highly disappointed. Not in the content, but the fact it was in black and white and the fact that many places were left blank, where the imbedded art is supposed be.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: God
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From the Cyclops's Cave!
by Nicolas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2024 18:06:34

What a fascinating book, it really encapsulates down what's Onyx Path Publishing is best at I like that the book is humorous but without being so humourous it can't be taken seriously It strikes a perfect balance



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From the Cyclops's Cave!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Many-Faced Strangers
by Timothy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2024 12:45:53

This is a fantastic book that I would highly recommend for anyone with Lunars in their game. It is well written and contains both useful setting information and new mechanics. I am particularly fond of Thousand Blade Style as an obviously magical martial art, though I understand that is controversial to some. Overall, I think the first chapter which among other things details more about the history and relationships of the Lunars is particularly helpful.

Now, they just need to release a Solar's Companion of this quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Many-Faced Strangers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From the Cyclops's Cave!
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2024 13:49:53

I bought this on a lark, as something as a fan of several of the films that inspired this game, and it was worth every penny! I already had some familiarity with the Storypath System thanks to Scion 2nd Edition, but TCFtCC! uses inspiration from Storypath Ultra and greatly benefits from the streamlining it provides. If you're a fan of any kitschy fantasy film or series from the 1950s to the 1990s, you'll almost certainly love this game and find at least one homage or reference to your favorite somewhere in here.

Tongue planted firmly in cheek, this game embraces the kitsch and camp of its inspirational material rather than fight against it, yet at the same time offers a wide range of tonal options from outright comedy to edgelord territory.

Rather than try and go for in-world categories such as warrior and mage fin a class or classlike system, TCFtCC! opts for narrative Archetypes as major determinants for character specifications. The six Archetypes in the book are Champion (think of a knight in shining armor in a medieval-ish setting, or a demigod-hero in sword-and-sandal), Dreamer (A quick-witted and/or charismatic inspirer), Inhuman (the token human-sized or larger nonhuman with special abilities; although human, Andre the Giant’s Fezzik from The Princess Bride is a good example), the Puppet (named as such because this usually diminutive nonhuman is often played by a puppet onscreen; think Bubo the mechanical owl from the 1981 Clash of the Titans), the Sage (the wise mentor or wizardly type, à la Gandalf), and the roguish Scoundrel (although from a nominally science fiction franchise, Han Solo from the original Star Wars trilogy is a good wit in temperament and personality).

Each Archetype has its own list of potential Connections. Trademarks, Quips, and Tropes, though for the last group of abilities allows for some cross-archetype versatility.

The game also offers much by way of customization and advice for the players and the Director (TCF!’s term for Gamemaster) in the form of Cinematic Powers to influence the narrative and acknowledge the meta nature of playing such fantasy in the 21st century. Fiends most Foul (i.e. monsters for the most part) offers a broad selection of foes for various camp/kitsch fantasy sub-genres, whether sword-and-sandal, sword-and-sorcery, pseudo-medieval, or quasi-Arabian Nights. There is also a whole chapter dedicated to running the game for the Director, both offering set decoration options and addressing story structure and sensitivity concerns in homaging works from the latter half of the 21st century in 2024.

If you have a guilty (or especially not-so-guilty) pleasure from the inspirational films and shows that inspire this game, from 1975’s Monty Python and the Holy Grail to 1982’s Conan the Barbarian to 1995-2001’s Xena: Warrior Princess, there’s something in They Came From the Cyclops’s cave for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From the Cyclops's Cave!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From the Cyclops's Cave!
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 07:33:23

Whether you're an oldster like myself who grew up on classic stop motion fantasy epics and swords & sandals fare, a fan of the more recent Xena and Hercules shows, or a lover of 80s-90s action fantasy like Sword and the Sorcerer, Conan, and Willow, I think you'll enjoy what Cyclop's Cave is offering. Whether played straight or with an MST3K appreciation for the B qualities of these shows and movies, the book is full of goodness, including a simple, clever way of managing magic through the extant Cinematic system.

My players and I are big fans of this series of games, and I expect at least one or two of them to be well worth your time. They're especially great for short adventures to toss in when your schedule allows or between stories in your longer-running games. Lots of good times with "They Came from...!"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
They Came From CLASSIFIED!
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 07:22:43

For lovers of impossible missions, especially those with the comedic feel of "Get Smart!," this is a great option. The "They Came from...!" games are especially useful to plop in the middle of other long-running games as a break, though you can run long-term chronicles of course. They also mix and match well, so you could have your secret agents going ghost-busting, for instance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From CLASSIFIED!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
They Came From CLASSIFIED!
by Dominik [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 05:39:02

Having read through it, it's an evocative love letter to spy media of all sorts with a variable (low to mid) crunch mechanics that seem to support the genre well. Prose is a little bit on the indulgent side; Onyx Path regulars should be used to it but even grumps like myself found the writing entertaining enough and at times even downright useful.

If you're looking for a campy spy game, you can't go wrong with this one. But even if you want to play thing straight, there's enough meat to support your serious operations inside.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Kimberly G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2024 10:59:35

This game is great for episodic adventures or one shots. It's a game with a low barrier for entry, making it a beginner friendly system to introduce your friends too. They Came from Beyond the Grave lends itself to campy horror but it can quite easily lend itself to serious play. I've had a ton of fun playing and running TCfBtG! This is the game that really sold me on They Came From as a gameline. You have everything you need to play in this one book. It's one of my favorite games to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1792 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates