Wargame Vault
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2022 15:30:22

I realize this is long past the "party", but I just wanted to highlight what an ingenious system this is (and hope it give it a good bump and maybe incentive to update it--see below). I ran across it after downloading their "Salvage" product because I was looking for interesting scenarios for the scifi skirmish system of my choice (and I will definitely be using some its concepts) but I became very curious about the QILS stats I found there.

Of course, the price is right (free), so I decided to check it out. It's a wonderfully unique DIY system that involves coloring the pips of a 6-sided die one of three primary colors (red=melee, yellow=ranged, blue=defense). This may be too much effort for some, but being a miniature painter myself, it seems incredibly simple and, more importantly, totally worth the ease of play it ultimately allows. Some figures may have and roll more than a single die, but the player will still only count the best single die result for the action the figure is attempting (i.e. melee, shoot, or defend).

Additional rules allow for some pips to have multiple results (red + yellow = orange, blue + yellow = green, etc). There are also optional rules for flight, command, opportunity attacks, magic, and teams. All in all, an interesting system adaptable to many genres. For me, it's exactly what I've been looking for with my 15mm superspy figures, where you might have 20+ figures for each side, with a definite "superspy" (i.e. 4-5 dice figure) and minion hordes (i.e. ninjas and the boiler suit guys).

So, what updates are required?

Well, the first would be to clarify close and ranged combat. Can a figure in close combat use a ranged attack? Is it at a disadvantage? What happens if they break away from close combat. I have my own interpretation, but something official might be nice.

The second would be rules that are clearly in some later product but haven't made it back into the basic set yet. There are the "white" dice, all white pip die which seems to give their figure extra hits and some extra movement, but I've yet to find anything official. There are also "gold" pips, again which seem to give the figure an area effect attack but I can't find anything official.

Hopefully, this game can continue to grow and get the appreciation it deserves!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
by Alejandro J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 09:42:29

While the idea of this game is simple enough, the fact that you need to colour in the pips on several dice, and learn how to quickly tell them apart, represent and unnecessary barrier to play. I won't wait until I get some new dice to colour, so I will pass on this one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
a Pathology of Lycanthropy and Vampirism
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2014 14:16:03

if you want to add werewolf or werebear or other werebeast too a game very good and easy to use



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
a Pathology of Lycanthropy and Vampirism
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Allenstein
by Arthur H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2014 06:17:59

This is an attempt to wargame a First World War battle using the QILS system for fantasy skirmishes. It has the merit of being easy to understand and simple to play, apart from the need to create special d6 by painting the spots on each face in combinations of different colours to determine each unit's effect upon the enemy. Unfortunately, the designer provides no explanation or rationale for the colour combinations on the various dice, so it is difficult for the reader to judge - or alter - them. An example of a rules system being over-extended into a period and level for which QILS was never intended? An interesting, but ultimately unsatisfying experiment.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Allenstein
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
by Arthur H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2014 06:10:14

These rules use an interesting system of varying the colour of the spots on each face of a d6 to indicate whether damage is inflicted on each different type of enemy. Given the variety of character/troop types in a fantasy game, this could require the repainting of the spots of numerous dice. Although this may only have to be done once, some may find this too onerous a chore to play such a simple game. Apart from that, QILS is a straightforward, simple system that would be easily accessible by youngsters or newcomers to the hobby and is worth experimenting with, as it is free.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2013 21:04:05

It's "loses" - not "looses."

Looks like a nice, simple system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Quick Intermediate Level Skirmish
by Carl W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2012 18:09:10

Thses rules provided a quick game involving thought. No higher praise. Very good for convention games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Howling Desert
by Shawn K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 21:26:09

Get this! This is released as a free item but it is better than many of the items I have payed for. It is a very fun scenerio that is generic in nature so that you may use your favorite skirmish rules to run it. The "Howling Desert" is fully explained and you are given three different methods to choose from on how to operate the moving desert storm. There are also several variants given to change up the scenerio to help keep it fresh. The howling storm is a mechanic you will be able to import into many of your own scenerios to give them a new twist. I am very impressed with this product and plan to get a lot of use out of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Howling Desert
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates