Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
05: Black Daggers
by Brandon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2020 22:43:41

This proved to be a perfectly paced and managable one-shot rpg. I adapted it for my group's John Carter of Mars sessions and found the central moral delemma far more satisfying than many of the other planetary romance scenarios we'd tried before. I plan on adapting more of these Gorean scenarios for my group's adventures on Barsoom in the near future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
05: Black Daggers
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cloak of Steel
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2019 13:35:18

I'm a sucker for mecha in fantasy settings.. and this book does an excellent job of making a D20 game of it.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Nice art work, the various kingdoms are well thought out and interlock in history. Also loved the vehicle design system.. very simple and keeping the flavor of the setting.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: needed an index.. really really needs an index<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>

I had forgotten I had this, but found the printed copy I made. :D This game plays well and has a lot of background. It actually does have an index the version on line now. :D Postmortem should do a little editing and maybe upgrate the rules to more of a 5e-ish thing (lots of modifiers in this game but not that hard to keep track of).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cloak of Steel
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Just checked my proofs and there IS an index, at the end of the book no less :) Unless you mean a hotlinking index, which appears to have somehow vanished from the uploaded version. Something I'll amend as soon as I'm able (Have just moved house) Cheers for the feedback!
Feast of Crows
by Itai R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 10:37:14

It's actually just fine. Not all games need a massive combat system, but those who do, could do much worse.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Feast of Crows
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

100 Conspirators
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:52:18

These are all drawn from existing/historical/fabled groups. They aren't whimsical, comic book stylings, but details on actual groups which many paranoid people are actually suspicious and afraid of. The document features one page per group of conspirators with: some history, motivations, possible connections to named conspiracies (correlated by number in which they appear and are described another publication by the same author) and three adventure hooks for a GM looking to run with any of them. The amount of information is just enough to give you a sense of how it could play and clearly points you in the direction for your own research if you wish to flesh it out (into both the group and possible plots). In the 100 groups described, the author included all of my faves: Bohemian Grove, OTO, Rosicrucians, Majestic 12, Bilderberg Group. But he also threw in a bunch that I hadn't even considered like: WHO, atheists and, the one I am now going to build a campaign around, NASA. After reading this, suddenly it's easier (for me) to imagine the massive secret agendas virtually any group might have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Conspirators
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Neverwhere
by G.H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2019 18:52:06

I like the idea of using descriptors, but still have to playtest this!.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Neverwhere
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Neverwhere
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2019 18:48:03

Great first attempt at making Gaiman's Neverwhere, playable. Would have prefered maps and detailed chronologies of sites and locations throughout London.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pinup Dungeon 1 - Dark Elf, Grick, Mimic, Goblin, Mephit
by Giorgio G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 07:30:49

Five digital "japan style" paper minis for about 5 $?

With a black back silhouette. So without any rear art.

Imho it is a product too expensive for what it offers, incomplete ( almost all paper minis today have front and back art ) and with no description about lack of back art.

Drawings are good.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pinup Dungeon 1 - Dark Elf, Grick, Mimic, Goblin, Mephit
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tunnels & Trolls: Specialists
by Leo E T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2018 23:10:59

Well I think it's great. Certainly got me thinking about possibilities beyond what's provided in the Elaborations section of the DT&T rules book. A little tinkering to bring it in to line with current DT&T mechanics -- but not much -- and you're set. Speaking of which, I love the idea of the Tinker detailed in this PDF. Kudos for that one. Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls: Specialists
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
by ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 02:45:01

if you want to make even more things in your life about skin color



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I think you missed the overall message, which was against that.
Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2017 08:49:39

The Introduction, along with recommending that this book is used with its companion World of Gor (which provides more detailed descriptions of the setting and background to the game), confronts the fact that John Norman's Gorean Chronicles are not 'politically correct' head-on, as the author describes how he first encountered the stories and the part they played in his life. Then we hear how the growth of the Internet has ensured the survival, indeed popularity, of this setting in the face of criticism by those who cannot get off their soapboxes and enjoy a piece of fiction for what it is: someplace imaginary. You might not want to live there, but it is fun to visit... and a richer, better-imagined, coherent world it is hard to find.

Next, Scribe of Gor introduces the concepts and themes of the setting and of the game, for the two are intertwined to perfection. It provides the obligatory introduction to role-playing, a particularly good one which is fitting as one of the aims of these books is to introduce the legions of Gor fans to role-playing, as well as to provided existing role-players with a unique and intriguing setting. There are further reminders that this is a fictional setting, pure escapism, rather than a vision of how the world ought to be; and that it's only the 'professionally offended' who complain about what could be seen, if taken out of context of the setting, as rampant racism, imperialist fantasy and misogyny. If even fictional female slaves prized for their skills in the bedroom make you feel uncomfortable, it's quite simple - put this down and find a different game to play. We then are treated to a brief synopsis of the 30-odd novels that make up the Gorean Chronicles. Again, if you don't want to read the books after going through these notes, this is probably not the game for you.

This is followed by Tales of Gor, which provides a quite extensive guide to the setting (although not as detailed as World of Gor it should do for player use). It explains the various power blocs, and details how the views about the role of gender have arisen. Unfortunately, this section needs some proofreading, there are a few typos here. Here we read of Priest-Kings and Kur, and of the Steel Worlds, as well as of Gor itself. 'Civilised' Gor is dominated by city-states and we read of some of the best-known, as well as alliances, nations and other places from trackless deserts to the frozen north. Nomadic tribes and dwellers in deep jungles of the interior are also covered, before the discussion moves on to Gorean society. Here we read of the caste structure, and of clans, families, and slavery.

Now that we have a basic grounding in the setting, the next section - Silver Ship - deals with character creation. The section title refers to the ships used to transport captives from Earth to Gor - perhaps this is a good way to introduce the party to the setting, especially if they don't already know it well. It starts off by explaining the basics of the rules, so that informed choices can be made once you start creating your character. The system is Open D6. Natural abilities are measured in terms of the number of D6s you roll when using them, with any skills you have increasing the number of dice you roll. The list of skills is quite comprehensive. A couple of stand-out ones are Care - to be used when you are taking especial care over what you are doing, e.g. carrying a full vessel - and Pleasure. In a game that has Pleasure Slaves, I think we can guess what that's all about, and it is interesting to see it codified and recognised as a skill both men and women can become adept in. You can further customise your character with one to three Traits, with each conferring both advantages and disadvantages on your character. Template characters, with scope for customisation, are provided, ordered by caste.

The Will of the Priest Kings section then goes into copious details of the rules governing play, and how to use them to effect. There's a lot here but it's all fairly straightforward to grasp and will soon become natural after you've played a few times.

We then reach Game Master territory with a section called Secrets of the Nest. This talks about the different sorts of adventures you can run on Gor, and once you have decided that, there are notes on how to structure your adventure into a compelling plot. Much of this is applicable whatever you're playing. Interestingly there are some remarks about what makes for a poor GM, to help you avoid some common pitfalls particularly if you are new to GMing. There's an extensive bestiary here, too... and notes on sentient adversaries as well.

Finally, Shield and Spear covers a vast range of items, not just weapons and what little armour Goreans use (rarely more than a helmet and a shield). Appendices include more character templates, a short introductory adventure, and notes on playing online and roleplaying sexual encounters. The adventure, The Traitoress, provides some pre-generated characters and is designed to start your adventures off with the hunt for a traitoress escaping Ar after she regained her freedom from Cos (based on events in the later part of the Gorean Chronicles series).

Overall, it is a faithful yet tasteful presentation of the Gorean Chronicles in game form. If you enjoy the stories already, or like detailed and imaginative well-constructed worlds to adventure in, it is well worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Little Grey Book
by Wendy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2017 13:26:30

The game is a political arguement, regardless if I agree or not, the whole thing reads like someone trying to make a point rather than a game. That said, I really think a game about rule's lawyering can be found in it, one that's fun and creative. The writer should be commended for his originality and creativity, but the blatant political bias ruins it.

The irony of the game, is that the writer seems to have committed the same political aggrandizement he was protesting when he made it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Little Grey Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 16:13:01

Thisis an amazing achievement for source material that is extensive. Not only is the feel authentic and unique, the gameplay is very effective and natural.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

World of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying World Encyclopaedia
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2017 01:38:13

The World of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying World Encyclopedia is a fantastic addition to the Tales of Gor rpg. First the technical points. The pdf's organization was well done. It contains an introduction section on Gor, followed by the author's experience with Gor, a summation of all 34 Gorean series books, and then a chapter by chapter, A to Z encyclopedia. I'm a sucker for a well laid out book.

The content itself is phenomenal. The book is worth it even if you don't play the rpg but just enjoy the book series. I know from now on, that when I read Norman's books, I'll have this handy so I can look things up quickly and easily. As a gaming tool, it'll make explaining aspects of Gor to the group a breeze. For example, castes can be a rather daunting task to explain. With the encyclopedia, I have an entry for each caste, that describes their profession, dress, and general lot in life. Great detail has been given to each entry within.

The encyclopedia doesn't just tackle the "low hanging fruit" either by just giving certain topics like slavery one entry. But instead, we get the whole picture. I now can confidently understand and explain the intricate and complicated concepts of Gorean slavery to my group. Or Kaissa, a game like chess on Gor, could have had a simple entry but instead we essentially get the game explained to us. With entries such as this, my Gor rpg can come alive for my players because it gives me the tools to do so.

Normally, I'd have to go to various websites to prepare background information or go from book to book of Norman's work to prepare for a game like Gor. Now, it is all at my fingertips. If you are a fan of Gor, I recommend this book, just like I did the actual rpg. They are wonderful reading enhancements to the world. And if you are a Gor rpg player, then to me, this is a must! Also, the price is very, very fair for the amount of time and work that must have went into creating this encyclopedia!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying World Encyclopaedia
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

World of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying World Encyclopaedia
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/10/2017 10:19:55

This massive work is intended as a companion to the Tales of Gor Role-playing Game or, for those who don't role-play, as supporting material for the Gorean Chronicles series of books by John Norman. The Introduction explains the history and background to the books - and how this book's author was introduced to them in his teens and fell in love with them (just as I did when not very much older). The turbulent history of the series, with its themes clashing with prudishness when first launched and later falling foul of political correctness, is discussed sympathetically: it is what it is and if your prejudices lead you to dislike the fact that Gorean society accepts slavery as normal, and has sexual practises that could be deemed 'kinky' (bondage, dominance and submission in the main), there's ample warning to suggest you find a different fantasy world. Because that's what it is, fantasy. Nobody's suggesting it is real or even desirable, just that this is what Gor is like. To be fair, I have read essays that suggest John Norman wrote the books as a protest against rampant political correctness, but I don't know how true that is!

Next comes a summary of the thirty-four (at time of writing) books in the series, drawn from the cover 'blurbs' (so no spoilers for books you haven't read yet!). Then without further ado, the encyclopaedia entries begin...

In strict alphabetical order, the entries cover everything from prominent individuals to flora and fauna, popular beliefs and customs, and matters of everyday life. They are illustrated by relevant quotations from the books as well as splendid pen-and-ink drawings that capture the exotic feel of the world well. Even where slaves are involved, they remain tastefully done... and are particularly fascinating when they depict the exotic animals of Gor.

Perhaps you want to know about the various castes of Gor, mix of professional/trade associations and inherited positions, or maybe you'd like to know what cards make up the Gorean Tarot or how to play kaissa. Musical instruments, weapons, diseases, clothing... all these and more are described. There are even details of kaissa should you fancy trying to play. Finally, an appendix outlines the Gorean calendar. It is very much a reference book, as one might expect from the title, rather than a thematic discussion of all things Gorean; but should you want to know, for example, what a Horned Gim looks like (a small, purplish owl-like bird, as it happens), you can look it up very easily (although the PDF version could be enhanced by the use of bookmarks and hyperlinks).

This is an excellent resource for all those who wish to understand the world of Gor in all its splendor. Whether you play the RPG or just enjoy the books, this is a useful adjunct to your game or reading.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
by CARLOS E. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 01:05:37

Finally an official tabletop Gorean roleplaying game. I like it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of Gor: Gorean Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 369 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates