Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gruntz Free Templates
by Robin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 04:15:59

Although I had to cut them out and put onto cardboard they did the job they were designed to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz Free Templates
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gruntz Free Condition Tokens
by Robin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2016 04:14:31

Very good as expected would deal with this company again



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz Free Condition Tokens
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
by Tim G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2015 21:40:13

Works in Linux using WINE. I bought it before I've even played a game of Gruntz just to see.

I rated it 5 stars because it does what it says it should as far as I can tell, but obviously as I'm running it outside of it's native operating environment I'm not getting a "normal experience" so I didn't want to mark it down any.

Ubuntu 14.10 and WINE 1.6.2 installed from repositories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
by Adrian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 19:44:56

A very useful product which is essential for the Gruntz rules, and a great tool for preparing games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
by Gary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2014 13:35:10

Excellent product. Making a forces rosta so easy. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
by Francisco E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 20:10:10

I'm very impressed with this product. Simple and elegant. I use it in MAC.

If I find any bugs I'll update the review but so far.. kudos !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2014 18:05:08

here Is a game I've been following for a while in it's development. It's a real labour of love from the dev, who continuously is looking at additions and tweaks for the system. it's a fairly easily played system that combines the best ideas of many products, along with a few novel ones to come up with a enjoyable easy play system that does not overly sacrifice realism.

Definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Gino B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 12:59:53

A simple and fast-paced wargame, basically platoon sized. The combat mechanics are not completely new, but they are blended in a very fluid and dynamic way. It's perfect for a not too intensive use and maybe campaign, and they look highly customizable too.

The unit creation tool is simply awesome, allows you to create an enormous variety of different archetipes and vehicles. The point system is sometimes buggy though, and you should use some mind to avoid overpowered results. However, it's the best creation tool i've seen around so far. There's a free version online here: http://www.gruntomatic.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Яы . [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2013 23:13:43

Great point based 15mm rule system. Comes complete with custom builders so there's not need for army books etc. to build a tabletop force. High production value and good artwork.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
by jonathan c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 18:11:01

The barracks program really speeds up unit creation. The ability to rename weapons and add photos is a nice touch too. There is a few problems with weapons stats being incorrect like the assault missile being AE2 not 4 and being able to assign perks and mods that break the rules, e.g swarm for units with ranged weapons, engineer and medic on the same specialist, two perks or mods of the same type like weapons or mobility etc. but hopefully these issues will be fixed with the next update. I would recommend this product as overall the builder is well laid out and easy to use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barracks for Gruntz 15mm 1.25
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Ville O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 02:03:54

What can I say. One of the best miniature rulesets to come out in the last couple of years. While it is nominally presented at 15mm skirmish scale, the rules work equally well with 6mm, 10mm, 20mm and 28mm scales. Even larger if you prefer. Just adjust ranges accordingly. Personally I've played Gruntz with 15mm and 28mm/30mm scales and only range conversion needed was moving from centimeters to inches. The game plays reasonably fast but still feels that your force's tactical flexibility is not limited. There's also quite extensive alternative rules section to customize the game your personal preference and miniature collection.

One of the biggest draws of Gruntz is that it has point buy unit builder. All the sample armylists are build with the same structure and can be customized to your liking. Ever had a cool idea for a character, a vehicle or a unit but the fixed armylists don't really reflect your idea. With Gruntz you can do this. Downside of this is that unless you have a really clear idea what you want from your army units, the unit building can be a bit much for new players. Luckily the book gives good examples.

All in all, highly recommended for experienced miniature gamers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Mick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2013 20:38:23

A solid, good quality ruleset with lots of examples and diagrams. Sharing many game mechanics with Warmachine (minus the cheesiness) means it has a familiar and well-proven core system. Obviously made for gamers, by a gamer. It's a game, not a simulation - it feels more space opera than gritty near future sci fi. The "build your own unit" system and support from pretty much every 15mm manufacturer is a major drawcard (although I'd say opponents could "min-max" a bit when making units if they were unscrupulous - I wouldn't call it a "competition" ruleset) Along with the grittier Tomorrow's War rules, I'd say this is pretty much a compulsory purchase if you are into 15mm sci fi.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Nathan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2012 13:20:54

I was pleasantly surprised by this game.

I'm a long time Warmachine player and it was neat to see someone take a similar basic mechanic and take it in a completely different direction. Gruntz is about solid sci-fi wargaming and not at all about warcasters and combinations of powers and stuff like Warmachine.

Grabbed some miniatures from my collection, statted them up using the force building system and had a game. Played great. Rewarded sound tactics.

I'ts what a sci-fi miniatures rules set should be. I especially like the model count not being in the hundred of miniatures. 30 or so and a couple vehicles and you've got a big game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 15:57:21

Just reading the rules I know I will love this game. It has enough information for those that like pre-made army lists, but is generic enough to design ones own armys. Though it is written to a sci-fi or near future setting, it can be easily adapted to any genere where firearms are used. Game play is simple, though the game can be made more complex with the addition of more units and vehicles. As an added bonus the rules provide all the information to create scenarios based on B-Movies. If you want a Bug hunt, its there. You want zombies? The rules provide. You can even recreate such classics as an army vs. Giant monster scenarios. I also play games from Two Hour Wargames, but I think this game will become my goto rules for military action.

I must mention though that the rules did have a number of typos, but that is often normal and its still not as bad as other games I've read. The rules themselves seem to be put together rather nicely. Full color graphics throughout with plenty of diagrams to explain combat and movement. There is also a lot of support for the game. There is a blog and a yahoo group devoted to the game. Both offer numerous playing aids and army lists. There is also a unit building program in the works. The game is also support by a number of 15mm miniature companies both in the UK and the USA.

If your looking for quality 15mm scifi game rules and ease of play, you can't do much better then Gruntz 15mm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gruntz 15mm SCI-FI
by Greg F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2012 04:51:08

Excellent rule-system. Good mechanics, fast moving, tactical and I love being able to stat up any 15mm models for it however I want!

I don't think the point builder is super-balanced, so I think it could end up with imbalanced games between someone who min-maxes their force and someone who builds a force for stylistic reasons. All good as long as you and your opponents are similarly cheesy/otherwise ;)

That's really looking for a negative to balance this review though, I REALLY like this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates