Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Coyote Trail: More Trails
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 00:12:01

This is a great supplement for all of GDi, not just Coyote Trails. You can build sniper-type characters or enhance firearms combat using the optional advanced combat action rules here. They include: Precision Ranged Attacks, Precision Damage, 2D6 Head Damage Chart, Random Hit Location chart with alternates for punching and kicking, Cover Modifiers, and modifiers for bracing (a firearm), silhouetted targets, and off-hand shooting. Oh, and a table of difficulty levels for detecting gunshots. All of these would seem to work great in modern or even future settings with little or no modification. Thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail: More Trails
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 2: Humanoids
by Ian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2021 19:02:44

The size of the A-frame miniatures are appropriate for 15mm scale at 100% scale when printing. Scaling your print to 110% makes them closer to 28mm scale, but then the miniatures are cut off by the printer's minimal margins. You'll have to print on a larger paper than normal 8.5x11 inch paper/cardstock and adjust the scale to make the minis closer to 28mm. Other than that, the images are good. You may wish to label the minis to remember what's what as Precis only uses a number code.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 2: Humanoids
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Stormrift RPG
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2021 22:32:16

Stormrift is a really impressive RPG package in a book. You get more than enough story and system detail to fire the imagination. Also I get the feeling that it would be really, really easy to play kaiju-type games with this book, because some of the creatures are huge and literally named things like "Kajii" which I hope wasn't a coincidence!

GenreDiversion 3E is really simple to use but also has a reasonable amount of crunch to it. You'll find a lot of charts and values for characters, creatures, and vehicles, but the book also includes a lot of helpful examples to aid new players and GMs.

This is a terrific value in a fun product that can easily get the imagination going. Thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stormrift RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to add your thoughts.
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2021 17:48:08

This is a terrific deal on a space RPG. It is really well-designed and pleasant to read. There are tons of extras included, like a lot of different pre-gen character templates you can use.

If you love space RPGs, pick this one up for sure. If you are a beginner to space RPGs, you might like the way this game has all the batteries included.

The publisher has also made it clear that you can use their newer genereDiversion 3E system with this game, making the gameplay even easier on the GM and players. It's also less of a deadly system.

Finally I'll just mention that I loved seeing that there's an included scenario which is basically Disney's "Black Hole" with the names changed. It was a lot of fun to imagine my Sligg (amorphous blob) character playing a role in the plot.

The publisher also sells HardNova II printable character standees and there are some additional free downloads on their website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Revised & Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Character Archaic FRP (Vol 1: The Primer)
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 10:44:30

I had hoped The Character Archaic was a distillation of the noted games from which the author claims inspiration with an addition of something original. Unfortunately, this game is merely derivative and unnecessarily crunchy.

First, the writing and layout are both clear. Thank you! That earns three stars in itself and sets this game apart from the masses. No amount of artwork and layout genius compensates for poor copy. Well done.

The Character Archaic (TCA) uses four primary character attributes: Prowess, Brawn, Insight and Wit. In terms of the classic six atributes, these are roughly: DEX, STR, INT, CHA. However, any time you go from the classic six to fewer, there is some overlap.

The primary attributes are fine, but TCA uses the term Compond Attributes for attribute modifiers. I think the term Compond Attributes is less clear than Skills, Talents of even Specialisms (though I loathe that particular term). Examples of Compond Attributes include three types. Here is a sampling: SIMPLE: vivacious +1, quick-witted +1 EXPLANATORY: more charming than a bar wench +1, can see well in the dark +2 SPECIFIC TO PRIMARY ATTRIBUTES: good lung capacity +1 (Brawn), cerebral +1 (Insight), worst aim in history -3 (Prowess)

Finally, TCA includes Special Attributes, "Special Attributes describe an unusual talent, power, or disadvantage." An example of a Special Attribute is the Dwarves cultural (not racial!) ability to See in Darkness.

Once you get past the overuse of "attribute," TCA generally uses a roll + modifiers versus a GM-assigned target number. All dice are d6, with the base roll being 2d6 (though TCA abbreviated 2D). Rolling high is good. A roll of twelve (boxcars) explodes as does a two (snake eyes).

TCA uses two types of health, wounds and stress, both with scales to penalize attribute rolls as your character becomes more injured. Both stress and wounds heal with time, but time frames leaning more toward reality than the insta-heal naps that power murder-hobo games. There are rules for first aid, potions and magical healing, though a magic system is not included in this volume.

The equipment and armor lists are very nice, but the section on Equipment is full on crunch for tracking encumbrance, armor per hit location, different protection based on the armor in each location, etc. Not for me, thank you.

As you might guess from the armor focus, combat is a ticky afair, too. In addition to the simple math (attacker's (Prowess Attribute+Compound Attribute) vs defender's (Prowess Attribute+Compound Attribute)), there are rules for grappling, charging, determing the impact of a missed ranged attack, parry, block, hide, hit locations, different damage effects by weapon type... Had enough? I have, so I'll not detail the several other rules for different types of damage. By this point, I know I have no interest in playing this game. I'd rather play something narrative and fun without the bookkeeping and tracking of rules.

In summary, The Character Archaic is a well written, clearly presented game full of crunch. It isn't Rolemaster-level crunch, but more old school than I care to play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Character Archaic FRP (Vol 1: The Primer)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback. The crunch level is between genreDiversion 3E and MasterBook, closer to the former with a damage system similar to the latter. Generally speaking, it is not all that crunchy. You have a basic mechanic and then a few options here and there for adding more detail to combat exchanges. There is a basic and an advanced method for applying damage for those who like simple and those who prefer being able to produce other effects (like damaging armor/weapons and knocking someone over or back), respectively.
Swords & Six-Siders Expanded Edition
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2021 16:08:41

Swords & Six Siders is a very simple "rules light" RPG meant to evoke an experience similar to the very first RPG (fans of OSR will know which one I'm talking about). The game uses a single d6 die to resolve everything and is incredibly easy to learn. Don't let the simplicity fool you, there's still a very solid and fun gaming experience to be had. Character generation takes literally minutes (I'm not exaggerating, the time it takes you to roll up stats, pick a race & class, and choose a name, some weapons, armor, misc. gear, and spells is about 5-6 minutes). Characters start at level 1 and can advance up to 6th level, however there are rules that allow for progression beyond that point should everyone wish to continue using their characters. In the grand tradition of OSR, you'll find combat to be very fast yet deadly (even for higher level characters). Enemies are represented with a single stat which encompases things like how hard they are to hit in combat (their "armor class" if you will), and how many hit points they have. You'll find all the "classic" enemies like orcs, goblins, hobgoblins, skeletons, and dragons, along with high tech enemies like robots. If it's not immediately obvious, this game is very rules light, so players (and GMs) that want more "crunch" to the rules might want to look at slightly more crunchy rules-light systems like Sharp Swords & Sinister Spells. For the price of a cheap pizza you & your friends will find a nice enjoyable game to play either in-between campaigns or as a nice change of pace. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Lasers & Six-Siders
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2020 14:29:30

Well, first I tried the Hero Kids RPG system with The Smugglers' Port Hero Gamebook (also on DriveThruRPG). This adventure is 90 pages long and has 105 “chapters”. I used the Brute character from the original rule set. My brute did not make it all the way to the end. He was killed by Lord Zantar’s two attack droids. - - So, I decided to try it again with a free RPG system: Lasers & Six-Siders (DriveThruRPG). It has 71 pages and uses six-sided dice. I rolled up a tech guy who liked to fix up drones. He was an interesting character who made it further in the adventure. He found a healing potion, an interesting ring, and two damaged drones that he could fix later. However, when he had to fight Rex the Bounty Hunter he died. When I try this the third time I am going to bring out the Big Guns! Give this RPG a try!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lasers & Six-Siders
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

EarthAD.2 Expanded RPG
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 14:03:59

This is a really incredible deal for a full RPG with tons of extras. I am using EarthAD.2 to enhance a campaign in the Twighlight:2000 universe, and it has given me a lot of creative ideas that I'm excited to integrate. The system is easy to learn and there is a lot of support, as well.

Not only does the book have a page full of guidelines for conversions from other RPG systems, but the RPG itself uses GDi, so you can easily combine EarthAD.2 with the other GDi games. For example you could integrate HardNova II races, characters, or spaceships for a First Contact campaign, or use the Forts rules from Colonial Record to make various post-apocalyptic shelters, barricades, castles, or armies.

A big Thank You to Precis for releasing this title.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EarthAD.2 Expanded RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2020 22:09:22

I am in contact via email with Precis Intermedia and I hope we will have a long relationship. I am so engrossed into Precis Intermedia's RPG variety. This Enhancement Pack is essential even if you have the newest release of Hardnova II which comes expanded. Only about 1/4 of this Enhancment Pack is new; the rest is in the expanded new edition. There is information in this Enhancement Pack that details how to level up anything as well as linking weapon systems to fire with eachother instead of taking two triggers/two actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2 Enhancement Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:12:54

I LOVE the artwork in this book. It really primes the imagination. The GM Guide's hilariously macabre airlock (prank?) illustration on page 41, the tense liftoff scene on page 53, the "Abe Lincoln, space sniper" portrait on Player Guide page 13...just to name a few. It's a terrific book for space sci-fi inspiration. This is another great value from the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shatterzone (Classic Reprint)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

HardNova 2: The Intercosm
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:04:14

This is a terrific add-on for HardNova. I bought HardNova II and couldn't wait to pick this one up afterward. The sheer number of pre-built characters, ships, and other background information is really appreciated and makes the game more colorful. I've already printed off some of the characters to run a space dungeon crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HardNova 2: The Intercosm
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:02:03

I really appreciate that Precis are supporting HardNova with this product. The art is creative and colorful. The Migado Diplomat cracked me up and my kids enjoyed examining the various characters. I really recommend this set if you're running HardNova or just like the Sci-Fi theme. The printing options are also appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Sci-Fi Statix 1: HardNova
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:58:30

You get a lot of value out of this set, and you can choose from a variety of styles for printing. I have an old 1990s synthesizer keyboard and had to laugh when I rested a few of these figures on the keyboard, and realized it looked just like a cyberpunk landscape. Way to go Precis and thanks for the variety of formats and instructions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Cyberpunk Statix 3 (2020)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 17:56:22

This download is absolutely packed with value. You really can't go wrong if you're interested in the wild west. I hope to use some of the other systems to play a first contact scenario using HardNova II, or involve some other sci-fi or horror elements (Ghostories). Big thanks to Precis for their value-added approach to these games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Dark Horrors & Hidden Places RPG
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 22:20:08

The link to this game appeared in my inbox a few days ago. What a pleasant surprise.

Here is a game, nominally set in the post near-apocalyptic world of 1884. I say nominally as the only real reference to the period is a brief timeline setting out the calamity that struck, and forever changed, the earth.

Firstly, a very few negatives, some of the prose seems a little haphazard and despite the low page count, rambles a little in places The Precis rigourous level of editing, seems lacking. Secondly, this world-shaking (literally) event is referred to in the book as “The Tremors”. I don’t know whether this is intended to be ironic, but it sounds a little underwhelming; a bit like describing The Great War as, “A bit of a misunderstanding”.

Two neutral points: As mentioned above there is no real background to the game, no sense of setting. However, the author quite rightly suggests turning to Google. Indeed, a wealth of information is merely a click away. Also, the game is described as entry into the wealth of OSR material. I am not so sure about this but the basics are there, the iconic abilities, Armour Class, HP and so on.

Now the good stuff; tempered by a few observations.

Character generation is extremely fast and a hoot. It turns out capable characters and includes a selection of skills to further distinguish them even those belonging to the same class. Each ability is generated with a 4-dice roll and each class gains to bonuses to the result. All characters have key secondary statistics such as AC and Health (HP) determined by reference the abilities rather than consulting a class-based table.

Characters have two additional stats, Moxy which is spent to use Advantage in the same manner as D&D fifth edition; and Sanity which serves in a similar fashion to Cthulhu Sanity points.

There is a very small shopping list of equipment but I’m OK with this, I don’t want the players to be pouring over a table of irrelevant items. Additionally, new characters start off all but destitute so a list of goodies would prove irrelevant. The weapons and armour are defined by damage, range, and categorised by utility: Light, Medium and Heavy.

Character generation includes a few spells for a new Arcanist (magic-user) to select from. It’s a very narrow range with most not only being combat-related but some are duplicates of others presented in the same list. Different names but identical effects. This is not a huge issue as the players are encouraged to create their own and there is an excellent table to assist with this.

The basic mechanics are discussed in the chapter “GettingThings Done”. I’m curious about this…to succeed in an activity other than combat the player throws 1d20 and adds the character’s ability score aiming for a result of 21 or more. To my mind this makes every action just a little bit easy. Abilities are generated with 4d6, dropping the lowest die giving an average of 13. That sees a typical character requiring 8+ to succeed. In the example play-through, none of the players fail an action check.

Combat is concise and applies no modifiers, with the exception of Advantage. I see this as a good thing, all the characters are equally capable, and I enjoy a simple resolution system.

Health, Moxy and Sanity are recovered through short and long rests; similar to D&D but the scale is grittier – with the intervals lasting 3-hours and long rests lasting up to 8 hours. This doesn’t seem quite gritty enough and when I ran my first game, I used a short rest of 8 hours and a long rest of 72 which suited me much better.

Spell casting requires a Wisdom roll which negates the need for the target to make a saving throw which I like. Failing a casting roll results in Sanity loss. Dropping to zero Sanity requires a roll on a short table describing possible effects of temporary or permanent insanity. Fun for all the family.

The monsters are an excellent mix of evocative enemies: The Devil Sisters are evil nuns; Injectors are sadistic women holding grudges against men (is there a trend here?) and the Razormaw is a technologically altered horror that can move on two or four limbs. Referee aids contain a slew of 1d20 tables that quickly generate scenarios, new and yet more horrible monsters, colourful NPCs, exotic weapons, magic items, and spells. Excellent.

Finally, I was delighted to find not one but two adventures. Many games fail to provide an adventure that reveals the author’s intentions for his world and this is always a mistake.

The first is a basic dungeon crawl, and the author admits as much. I imagine it serves the purpose of introducing players to a new game and new-ish system. However, next we have a full-blown sandbox adventure that is quite simply excellent. This chapter alone is probably worth the asking price. It includes great locations and fascinating characters, fully defined in the same manner as the PCs. Brilliant.

Finally, although you may or may not like the sound of the game from my review as it needs a tidy up and drifts a fair distance from your typical OSR ruleset. However, you cannot deny that for the quality of content, this game is ridiculously cheap.

If you’re interested, here’s a link to the adventure I wrote for my first session. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ocHqkNVSiQx5IoP_ELUn4mdpC1X6SCII/view?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Horrors & Hidden Places RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 334 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates