Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
East Of Fabassea
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 20:19:30

Not many sequels match the first in any series. Delightfully, EoF not only performs this feat, it actually surpasses it! The NPCs are well rounded, and feel very (you should pardon the expression) human. Nor did I feel railroaded as I played this. And I shall surely play it again. It's fun to play and the art is a feast for the eyes. This is one of the greater solos which will be remembered long after you've played it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
East Of Fabassea
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2012 09:56:37

Not going to write a long review. Would defeat purpose of this elegant game. Want to know lots about Bean? Read other reviews. Game is almost shorter than reviews. Quick to get into, simple to run and play, abke to concentrate on role play. Only one thing to say about Jeff's art and his game:

MORE!

-------Herbie Popnecker



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2012 12:46:12

This sourcebook strikes a great balance between "detailed" and "open to player/GM input." There's a ton of info here, and the world is very well established, but the opportunity to mold the world and to let the players discover it is not stifled by reams of overly specified minutiae. The World of Bean is fun, creative, and best of all, inviting to both players and GMs alike. Excellent work all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Of BEAN! Sourcebook for BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gone To The Dogs
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2012 15:32:06

This is another fun, well-written adventure that should really let your players give the Bean! system a nice workout. There is a fairly strong element of railroading involved, especially in one major plot element, but if the players are willing to go along with in the light-hearted spirit of this game, that one element should make things even more fun than usual. I am really anxious to run these adventures with my group, and I am starting to get the itch to write some of my own!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gone To The Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Princely Ransom
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2012 15:27:50

A fun, well-written GM adventure that does a great job of giving players a chance to test out many aspects of the Bean! system. So far, I've only read it, but I plan on running this (and Gone to the Dogs) with some of my friends soon. There is some mild rail-roading that is written in to part of this adventure, but it's nothing that I think would ruin the overall fun playing through it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Princely Ransom
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2012 13:57:48

This is one of my favorite RPG discoveries of the last several years. Refreshingly simple, flexible, and yet it all feels rock-solid and complete. The writing style and the presentation are charming and informative, and the whole experience of even just reading the rules is downright fun. I am officially a convert to the way of the Bean!, and anyone who still thinks that a good RPG can be still be fun should buy this game without hesitation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Delete This Entry?
by Tavernmaster G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2012 10:36:03

I know this review could be considered biased as Jeff Freels is a friend of mine and I have contributed to this and other BEAN! products from Fabled Worlds. However, since I'm being up front about my potential conflict of interests perhaps you'll take the time to read what I have to say.

Beanworld has been long in construction and I think that is reflected in the quality of all parts of it. As always, Jeff's artwork is brilliant and in particular the fantastic maps of the many and varied continents, islands and peninsulas that go to making up the habitable lands of the planet of the bean folk. Each country has its own section where the topography, fauna and sentient races present are discussed.

The beauty of Beanworld is that it provides enough detail to get any prospective BeanMaster's creative juices flowing but there is enough room to add all sorts of places, monsters and adventures of your own. Mad Roy Cram has produced a massive bestiary of Beanworld (the beanstiary) which adds so many potential opponents or allies to those found in the original rulebook. On top of this, Jeff has constructed all sorts of civilisations from the neolithic to steampunk and beyond for you to use in your adventures.

Trust me, if you like playing BEAN!, or you haven't yet explored the delights of the only D2 RPG, this supplement is a must.

Sid Orpin



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delete This Entry?
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Escape From Khosht
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2012 18:56:32

I'll admit that I'm really tired of playing thief types. For this solo, I'll make an exception. It's that good. The versimiltude is strong and the suspense is TENSE. Characters and events come alive, and the art is to die for! This should be priced at $10 or more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Escape From Khosht
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Stock Art Collection 2: ZOMBIES
by Jerry T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 13:35:00

Exceeded all expectations. Images are high resolution and very easy to re-size. Thanks Jeff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Collection 2: ZOMBIES
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Kev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2011 11:53:03

This is a fantastic product and well worth the price, to be honest I would have happily paid more. Bean! is one of the best new RPG's I've seen for a long time. It's easy to learn, easy to play, great for kids and adults. I've not only had the regular magic the gathering group meetup playing this recently but also my children.

My son is only 5 and he loved drawing a picture of his Bean! character (he didn't look very Bean! like but he had fun). As it states in the rules the system is so simple it gives gives the reader no difficulty in being able to change it from a fantasy setting to - for example a sci-fi or even horror. nd this takes no time at all. And if you do use beans the kids love this. There are no guidelines for other settings and you are only given 3 fantasy archetypes and a few skills for these, but again the system is so simple it's easy to put something together and come up with some new skills.

The D2 system is just bliss and again is simple to understand and play. I'm not going to go into this as the price of the game alone is really a 'come and have a look'. Sometimes games this cheap leave you with a 'there is something missing' feeling, not Bean!. Buy it and play it, I'm keeping my fingers crossed there will be more Bean! products to buy soon. After I had read through the first time I thought, 'why is this so cheap'.

The inside is all black and white, with just the cover being in colour. The black and white artwork is quite simple and has that 'old school feel to it but does the job and I love the feel of reading through this and seeing the art it all comes together really nicely.

I've Bean!! playing since the first edition came out and this just improves on the 1st edition. I'm not going to go into any more detail, buy it, it's worth the price. Jeff has done a fantastic job here and I will look forward for what is to come. Bean! is rpg simplicity at it's very best, it wouldn't surprise me if this were picked up by a bigger publisher to be on the shelves in your local games shop in the next year or so. Fantastic!!!!!!!!

Cheers

Kev (Trollhalla: Gevn)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 15:20:04

Wow. Great game. I see now what all the hype was about. Very simple but complete system useing a dice (bean?) pool. Who'd a thought d2 could be so interesting. The game presumes a Bean World were the fantasy tkes place among a world populated by sentient bean people, but it dosen't have to be. This game system can easily be made to fit any genre. The artwork is clever and the cover is great. The game is so simple to learn that ths game makes a great gateway to gaming for younger players. Whats realy nice is that its getting constant support. SOmething you don't usually fine in small, independent rpgs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Phrogg Attack
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2011 09:14:08

A fun fantasy romp. Very much a Ken St Andre adventure. Some good laughs, plenty of choices, and the deadly Marshkeetos. My one real complaint is that it is too short. But for a free adventure it is well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death Phrogg Attack
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2011 09:06:56

BEAN! Goes Gothic. This fun little solo brings a gothic horror dungeon crawl to BEAN.

"Zombeans" and ghosts a plenty, a horrible secret to uncover. Chills, thrills, and even a few laughs.

This is an excellent little solo and well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Escape From Khosht
by recchioni r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2011 03:18:21

I love T&T and the solo game. E' ridicolo chiedere una recensione prima di aver avuto la possibilità di provare il prodotto.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Escape From Khosht
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2011 03:32:15

BEAN! The D2 RPG is a very simple and effective system which works best as an introductory system for young or new role players.

This being said there's no reason why you can't have a lot of fun with this game, especially in one shots or shorter games.

The basic mechanic involves you "rolling beans" which is an Attribute dice pool best represented by coins, marked beans or anything else that has two sides where one side is a success the other is not (although a bunch of D6's with odds and evens would be fine). Success are then compared against a difficulty number.

Skills are in anything you wish and allow you to reduce the difficulty of a task by one. Combat is as simple as comparing positives, certain equipment giving you extra beans to roll and the winner inflicts damage (after any armour) by subtracting the success of their opponent.

There is a good sample of equipment, spells and monsters and whilst there's no in-depth monster creator there really is no need, it's very simple to just file off the names of those already in the bestiary.

Whilst there is a very short solo adventure (think fighting fantasy) and group scenario to get you going there isn't any setting as such - other than it's set in "Bean Land" which is really only an excuse to put in the wonderfully silly and gentle artwork that seems to be excellently placed for its target audience (new or young gamers for the most part). However Bean! is aimed at fantasy more than anything but coming up with a generic game isn't difficult, especially when the rules are so simple.

Obviously not intended for long running gritty games BEAN! is none-the-less a delightfully simple and humourous set of rules that works much better than expected, allowing quick gaming for those days where you really don't want to spend much time on a game but want something fun and enjoyable for your players (young or old).

I would mention finally that the price is excellent, and because of it I end up purchasing the print version which is of excellent quality and great for passing around the gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates